Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Cultus Pygmy Sculpin

Recovery Strategy for Cultus Pygmy Sculpin (Cottus sp.) in Canada

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is “to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.”

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened or extirpated species is arrested or reversed, and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species’ persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk.  Sections 37–46 of SARA (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/the_act/default_e.cfm ) spell out both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk.  Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What’s next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/ ) and the web site of the Recovery Secretariat    (http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/recovery/default_e.cfm ).

Recovery Strategy for Cultus Pygmy Sculpin (Cottus sp.) in Canada

 October 2007

Recommended Citation:

National Recovery Team for Cultus Pygmy Sculpin. 2007. Recovery Strategy for Cultus Pygmy Sculpin (Cottus sp.) in Canada. Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ottawa, v + 21 pp.

 Additional copies:

You can download additional copies from the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/)

Cover illustration:    N/A

Également disponible en français sous le titre :

« Programme de rétablissement du chabot pygmé (Cottus sp.) au Canada »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, 2007. All rights reserved.

ISBN             978-0-662-46999-5

Cat. no.            En3-4/43-2007E-PDF

Content (excluding illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

DECLARATION

This recovery strategy for the Cultus pygmy sculpin has been prepared by Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the British Columbia Ministry of Environment.  Fisheries and Oceans Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the Cultus pygmy sculpin as required by the Species at Risk Act. The British Columbia Ministry of Environment has reviewed and accepts this document as scientific advice.

This document identifies the recovery strategies that are deemed necessary, based on the best available scientific and biological information, to recover Cultus pygmy sculpin populations in Canada. Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Fisheries and Oceans Canada or any other jurisdiction alone.  In the spirit of the National Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans invites all Canadians to join Fisheries and Oceans Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the Cultus pygmy sculpin and Canadian society as a whole. Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the BC Ministry of Environment will support implementation of this strategy to the extent possible, given available resources and its overall responsibility for species at risk conservation.  The Minister will report on progress within five years.

This strategy will be complemented by one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species.  The Minister will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians interested in or affected by these measures will be consulted.

RESPONSIBLE JURISDICTIONS

The responsible jurisdiction for Cultus pygmy sculpin under the Species at Risk Act is Fisheries and Oceans Canada.  The Province of British Columbia also collaborated in the development of this recovery strategy.

AUTHORS

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) and the Province of British Columbia cooperated in the development of this recovery strategy.  A recovery team was assembled to provide science-based recommendations to government with respect to the recovery of Cultus pygmy sculpin. Members of the Cultus pygmy sculpin Recovery Team are listed below:

 Jordan Rosenfeld, BC Ministry of Environment, (co-chair)

Dan Sneep, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, (co-chair)  

Todd Hatfield, Solander Ecological Research, (coordinator)

Don McPhail, University of British Columbia

John Richardson, University of British Columbia

Dolph Schluter, University of British Columbia

Eric Taylor, University of British Columbia

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS

Fisheries and Oceans Canada and the Province of BC are grateful to the technical experts involved in drafting this strategy, for their time and effort in attending meetings and reviewing the document.  Development of this strategy was partially funded by the Habitat Conservation Trust Fund of British Columbia. This strategy was based on an initial draft by Sue Pollard, Ministry of Environment, Victoria, BC.

STRATEGIC ENVIRONMENTAL ASSESSMENT STATEMENT

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, the purpose of a Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats.

This recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the Cultus pygmy sculpin.  The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered.  The SEA concluded that this strategy will clearly benefit the environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects.  Refer to the following sections of the document in particular: Description of the Species – General Biology, Ecological Role and Limiting Factors; Potential Management Impacts for Other Species; and Recommended Approach/Scale for Recovery.

RESIDENCE 

SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling -place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating” [SARA S2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry:

http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_e.cfm

PREFACE

Under the Species at Risk Act (SARA), the Cultus pygmy sculpin, a freshwater fish, is under the jurisdiction of Fisheries and Oceans Canada.  Section 37 of SARA requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species.  The Cultus pygmy sculpin was listed as threatened under SARA in June 2003.  Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Pacific Region co-led the development of this recovery strategy with the British Columbia Ministry of Environment.  The strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39-41).

Table of Contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du chabot pygmée

Programme de rétablissement du chabot pygmée (Cottus sp.) au Canada

La série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu’est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l’une des pierres d’assise de l’effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, àpermettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Qu’est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d’une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l’espèce à l’état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l’état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu’est-ce qu’un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d’une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs des activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l’étape du plan d’action.

L’élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux -- Environnement Canada, l’Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada -- dans le cadre de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d’un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l’élaborer (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/the_act/).

Selon le statut de l’espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l’inscription de l’espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle-ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Et ensuite?

Dans la plupart des cas, un ou plusieurs plans d’action seront élaborés pour définir et guider la mise en oeuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les recommandations contenues dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour permettre la participation des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des conservationnistes à la mise en oeuvre du rétablissement. Le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin d’une espèce.

La série de Programmes de rétablissement

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s’ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites à la Liste des espèces en péril et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca) et le site Web du Secrétariat du rétablissement (http://www.especesenperil.gc.ca/recovery/).


Programme de rétablissement du chabot pygmée (Cottus sp.)

au Canada

 Octobre 2007

Référence recommendée

Équipe nationale de rétablissement du chabot pygmée. 2007. Programme de rétablissement du chabot pygmée (Cottus sp.) au Canada. Série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Pêches et Océans Canada, Ottawa. v + 24 pp.

 Exemplaires supplémentaires

Des exemplaires supplémentaires peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site Web du Registre public de la LEP (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/).

Illustration de la couverture:s.o.

Also available in English under the title

“Recovery Strategy for Cultus Pygmy Sculpin (Cottus sp.) in Canada ”.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, 2007. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN                          978-0-662-07365-9

No de catalogue            En3-4/43-2007F-PDF

Le contenu du présent document (sauf l’illustration de la couverture) peut être utilisé sans permission, à condition que la source soit adéquatement citée.

DÉCLARATION

Le présent programme de rétablissement du chabot pygmée a été élaboré par Pêches et Océans Canada et le ministère de l’Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique. Pêches et Océans Canada a passé en revue ce document et l’accepte en tant que programme de rétablissement pour le chabot pygmée, conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Le ministère de l’Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique a, quant à lui, passé en revue et accepté le présent document en tant qu’avis scientifique.

Le présent document précise les programmes de rétablissement qui sont jugés nécessaires, d’après les meilleures connaissances scientifiques et biologiques disponibles, pour le rétablissement des populations de chabot pygmée au Canada. La réussite du rétablissement de cette espèce dépendra de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre de parties qui participent à la mise en œuvre des orientations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer sur Pêches et Océans Canada ou sur une autre instance seulement. Dans l’esprit de l’Accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans invite tous les Canadiens à se joindre à Pêches et Océans Canada pour appuyer le présent programme et le mettre en œuvre au profit du chabot pygmée et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne. Pêches et Océans Canada et le ministère de l’Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique s’appliqueront à soutenir, dans la mesure du possible, l’exécution de ce programme avec les ressources disponibles et compte tenu de leurs responsabilités générales à l’égard de la conservation des espèces en péril. Le ministre rendra compte des progrès réalisés d’ici cinq ans.

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action détaillant les mesures de rétablissement qu’il faudra prendre pour appuyer la conservation de l’espèce viendront s’ajouter au présent programme. Le ministre mettra en œuvre des moyens pour s’assurer, dans la mesure du possible, que les Canadiens intéressés à ces mesures ou touchés par celles‑ci soient consultés.

COMPÉTENCES RESPONSABLES

En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Pêches et Océans Canada est l’autorité responsable du chabot pygmée. Le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique a également collaboré à l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.

AUTEURS

Pêches et Océans Canada (MPO) et le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique ont collaboré à l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement. On a réunit une équipe de rétablissement chargée de formuler des recommandations fondées sur des données scientifiques au gouvernement concernant le rétablissement du chabot pygmée. Les membres de l’équipe de rétablissement du chabot pygmée sont les suivants :

 Jordan Rosenfeld, ministère de l’Environnement de la C.-B. (coprésident);

Dan Sneep, Pêches et Océans Canada (coprésident);

Todd Hatfield, Solander Ecological Research(coordonateur);

Don McPhail, University of British Columbia;

John Richardson, University of British Columbia;

Dolph Schluter, University of British Columbia;

Eric Taylor, University of British Columbia.

REMERCIEMENTS

Pêches et Océans Canada et le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique remercient les experts techniques qui ont pris part à la rédaction du présent programme pour leur temps et les efforts qu’ils ont déployés pour assister aux réunions et examiner le document. L’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement a été financée en partie par le Habitat Conservation Trust Fund de la Colombie-Britannique.Le présent programme a été fondé sur une première ébauche rédigée par Sue Pollard, du ministère de l’Environnement, à Victoria.

ÉVALUATION ENVIRONNEMENTALE STRATÉGIQUE

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, le but de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES), qui est menée sur tous les documents de planification du rétablissement produits aux termes de la LEP, est d’incorporer les considérations environnementales dans l’élaboration de projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairée du point de vue environnemental.

La planification du rétablissement profitera aux espèces en péril et à la biodiversité en général. Il est toutefois reconnu que des programmes peuvent également produire, sans que cela ne soit voulu, des effets environnementaux négatifs qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification du rétablissement, fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales, tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des impacts possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l’EES sont directement compris dans le programme lui-même, mais sont également résumés ci‑après.

Le présent programme de rétablissement sera manifestement bénéfique pour l’environnement en favorisant le rétablissement du chabot pygmée. La possibilité que ce programme ait des effets négatifs non voulus sur d’autres espèces a été prise en considération. L’EES conclut que le présent programme profitera manifestement à l’environnement et qu’il n’entraînera aucun effet négatif important. Se reporter aux sections suivantes du document : Description de l’espèce – Biologie – généralités, Rôle écologique et Facteurs limitatifs; Impacts potentiels de la gestion sur d’autres espèces; Approche recommandée/Échelle du rétablissement.

RÉSIDENCE

Dans la LEP, la « résidence » est définie comme suit : « Gîte – terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable – occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation. » [paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s’applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP :http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_f.cfm.

PRÉFACE

Le chabot pygmée est un poisson d’eau douce qui relève de la compétence du gouvernement fédéral. Conformément à l’article 37 de la LEP, le ministre compétent doit préparer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces qui ont été désignées comme étant disparues du pays, menacées ou en voie de disparition. Le chabot pygmée a été désigné en tant qu’espèce menacée en vertu de la LEP en juin 2003. Pêches et Océans Canada – Région du Pacifique a codirigé, avec le ministère de l’Environnement de la Colombie‑Britannique, l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement. Le présent programme de rétablissement respecte les exigences de la LEP (articles 39 à 41) sur le plan du contenu et du processus.

Table des Matières