Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Leatherback Turtle

Recovery Strategy for the Leatherback Turtle (Dermochelys coriacea) in Atlantic Canada

Leatherblack Turtle

Leatherblack Turtle

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act(SARA)?

  SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is “to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.”

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation,recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened or extirpated species is arrested or reversed, and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species’ persistence in the wild. A species will be consideredrecovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk.  Sections 37–46 of SARA (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/the_act/default_e.cfm) spell out both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk.  Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What’s next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

 To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/)and the web site of the Recovery Secretariat    (http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/recovery/default_e.cfm ).

Recovery Strategy for Leatherback Turtle (Dermochelys coriacea) in Atlantic Canada [Proposed]

June 2006

Recommended citation:

Atlantic Leatherback Turtle Recovery Team 2006. Recovery Strategy for Leatherback Turtle (Dermochelys coriacea) in Atlantic Canada [Proposed]. In Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Ottawa: Fisheries and Oceans Canada. XX pp.

Additional copies:

You can download additional copies from the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/ )

Cover illustration: J. Daum for Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Également disponible en français sous le titre

« Programme de rétablissement pour Tortue luth dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, 2006. All rights reserved.

ISBN   To come

Cat. no.  To come

Content (excluding the cover illustration) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Decleration

This proposed recovery strategy for the Leatherback turtle in Atlantic Canada has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions described in the Preface.  Fisheries and Oceans Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the Leatherback turtle as required by the Species at Risk Act.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Fisheries and Oceans Canada or any other jurisdiction alone.  In the spirit of the National Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans invites all Canadians to join Fisheries and Oceans Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the Leatherback turtle and Canadian society as a whole.  Fisheries and Oceans Canada will support implementation of this strategy to the extent possible, given available resources and its overall responsibility for species at risk conservation.  The Minister will report on progress within five years.

This strategy will be complemented by one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species.  The Minister will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians interested in or affected by these measures will be consulted.

Responsable juridictions

The responsible jurisdiction for the Leatherback turtle is Fisheries and Oceans Canada.  Leatherback turtles occur in the Atlantic and Pacific Oceans and this document deals with the Atlantic component of this species including individuals occurring off of the coast of the following provinces and/or territories.  Their respective governments also cooperated in the production of this recovery strategy:

Québec

New Brunswick

Prince Edward Island

Nova Scotia

Newfoundland

Authors

This document was prepared by the Atlantic Leatherback Turtle Recovery Team.

The Atlantic Leatherback Turtle Recovery Team was formed in 2002 in order to develop a recovery strategy that fosters the recovery of Leatherback turtles by minimizing human-induced mortality in Canadian Atlantic waters.  Team membership was sought from a variety of organizations expressing interest in the species.  The Team attempted to create and maintain an inclusive and transparent process throughout its tenure.  The stated role of the Team was to ‘provide advice to relevant governmental agencies and stakeholders through the development of a Recovery Strategy that outlines objectives and approaches for the mitigation of human impacts on the leatherback turtles related to Canadian activities in the Atlantic Ocean.’

Membership
NameFunctions or associations
Robert JonesDFO, Science(Ottawa)
Cathy MerrimanWorld Wildlife Fund
Troy AtkinsonNova Scotia Swordfishermen's Association
Sherman BoatesNova Scotia Department of Natural Resources
Mark ButlerEcology Action Centre
Jerry ConwayDFO, Fisheries Management (Maritimes)
Penny DohertyEcology Action Centre
Derek FentonDFO, Oceans(Maritimes)
Bert FrickerNSLTWG/Commercial Fisherman
Patrick GrayAtlantic Shark Association
Chris Harvey-ClarkeDalhousie University
Andrew HebdaNova Scotia Museum of Natural History
Catherine HoodDFO, Newfoundland
Justin HustonNova Scotia AgricultureandFisheries
Mike JamesDalhousie University
Dave KulkaDFO, Newfoundland Region
Kathleen MartinNova Scotia Leatherback Turtle Working Group(NSLTWG)
Don McAlpineNew Brunswick Museum
Jim McMillanDFO, Science(Maritimes)
Carl MyersDFO, Communications(Maritimes)
Mark LanteigneDFO, GulfRegion
Christine PenneyClearwater
Kirsten QuerbachDFO, SpeciesatRisk(Maritimes)
Frank RingDFO, GulfRegion
Murray Rudd DFO, PolicyandEconomics(Maritimes)
Cheryl Ryder U.S.National Marine Fisheries Service(NMFS)–Office of Protected Resources
Chantale Thiboutot DFO, Quebec Region
Gary WeberDFO, Fisheries Management (Maritimes

Acknowledgement

Fisheries and Oceans would like to acknowledge all members of the recovery team for their dedicated efforts in providing information, expertise and perspectives in the development of this recovery strategy document.  In particular, DFO wishes to thank Mike James and Kathleen Martin of the Nova Scotia Leatherback turtle working group (NSLTWG) and Don McAlpine of the New Brunswick Museum for contributing information, maps and/or figures.  Furthermore, DFO wishes to recognize the invaluable input provided by the broader interested public in the consultations process. 

Preface

The Leatherback turtle is a marine reptile and is under the jurisdiction of the federal government.  The Species at Risk Act (SARA, Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species.  The Leatherback turtle was listed as endangered under SARA in June 2003.  Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Maritimes Region, led the development of this recovery strategy.  The proposed strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39-41).  It was developed in cooperation or consultation with:

  • Jurisdictions
  • Aboriginal groups
  • Environmental non-government groups
  • Industry stakeholders
  • International partners

Strategic Environmental Assessment

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with theCabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals.  The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general.  However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits.  The recovery planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats.  The results of the SEA are incorporated directly in the strategy itself, but are also summarized below.

This recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the Leatherback turtle.  The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered; however, because the recovery objectives recommend additional research on the species and education and outreach initiatives, the SEA concluded that this strategy will clearly benefit the environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects.

Table of Contents

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth

Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth (dermochelys coriacea) dans les eaux canadiennes de l'Atlantique

Tortue Luth

Tortue Luth

La série de Programmes de rétablissement de laLoi sur les espèces en péril

Qu’est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi développée par le gouvernement fédéral comme une contribution importante à l’effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. La LEP est en vigueur depuis 2003 et un de ses objets est de permettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Qu’est-ce que le rétablissement ?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus suivant lequel le décroissance d’une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêtée ou renversée et les menaces sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter les chances de maintien en nature de l’espèce. Une espèce sera considérée rétablie lorsque son maintien à long terme en nature sera acquis.

Qu’est-ce qu’un programme de rétablissement ?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou renverser le déclin d’une espèce. Il établit un but et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs d’activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l’étape du plan d’action.

Le développement de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et territoires ainsi que de trois agences fédérales -- Environnement Canada, l’Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada -- dans le cadre de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu que doit avoir un programme de rétablissement publié dans cette série ainsi que le processus requis pour le développer (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/the_act/default_f.cfm).

Selon le statut de l’espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé entre un et deux ans après son inscription sur la Liste des espèces en péril. Pour les espèces qui furent annexées à la LEP lorsque celle-ci fut adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre années.

 Et après?

Dans la plupart des cas un ou plusieurs plans d’action seront développés pour définir et guider la mise en oeuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les orientations prises dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour commencer à impliquer les communautés, ceux qui utilisent le territoire et ceux qui promeuvent la conservation dans la mise en oeuvre. Le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes pour prévenir la disparition ou la décroissance d’une espèce.

La série

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement développés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s’ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites sur la Liste et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/) et le site Web du Secrétariat du rétablissement (http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/recovery/default_f.cfm)

Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth (Dermochelys coriacea) dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique [proposé]

Juin 2006

Citation recommandée

Équipe de rétablissement de la tortue luth dans l'Atlantique 2006. Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth (Dermochelys coriacea) dans les eaux canadiennes de l'Atlantique [proposé]. In Programmes de rétablissement en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Ottawa : Pêches et Océans Canada. XX pp.

Exemplaires supplémentaires

Des exemplaires supplémentaires peuvent être téléchargés du Registre public de la LEP (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/)

Illustration de la couverture:J. Daum, pour Pêches et Océans Canada

Also available in English under :

“ Recovery Strategy for Leatherback Turtle (Dermochelys coriacea)

in Atlantic Canada”

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, 2006. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN À venir

Nº de cat. À venir 

Le contenu du présent document (sauf l'illustration de la couverture) peut être utilisé sans permission, à condition que la source en soit dûment mentionnée.

Déclaration

Le « Programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique » qui est proposé ici a été élaboré en collaboration avec les autorités indiquées dans la préface. Pêches et Océans Canada a examiné le document et l'a adopté comme programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth conformément à la Loi sur les espèces en péril. 

Pour que le rétablissement de la tortue luth soit couronné de succès, il faudra compter sur la détermination et la coopération des nombreux intervenants qui participeront à la mise en oeuvre du présent programme, car ni Pêches et Océans Canada ni aucune autre autorité compétente ne pourraient à eux seuls y parvenir. Dans l'esprit de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans invite toute la population canadienne à unir ses forces à celles de son ministère pour soutenir et appliquer le présent programme, qui profitera à la fois à la tortue luth et à l'ensemble de la société canadienne. Pêches et Océans Canada appuiera la mise en oeuvre du programme dans toute la mesure du possible, en se fondant sur les ressources dont il disposera et sur sa responsabilité générale en matière de conservation des espèces en péril. Tous les cinq ans, le Ministre rendra compte des progrès réalisés. 

Le présent programme sera complété par un ou plusieurs plans d'action, qui exposeront en détail les mesures de rétablissement devant être prises pour favoriser la conservation de l'espèce visée par le programme. Le Ministre fera le nécessaire pour que les Canadiens intéressés ou touchés par ces mesures soient autant que possible consultés.

AUTORITÉS RESPONSABLES

En ce qui concerne la tortue luth, l’autorité responsable est Pêches et Océans Canada. La tortue luth est présente dans les océans Atlantique et Pacifique et le présent document porte sur la composante de sa population qui évolue dans les eaux de l’Atlantique situées au large des côtes des provinces ou territoires suivants, dont les gouvernements ont collaboré à la production de ce programme de rétablissement :  

  • Québec
  • Nouveau-Brunswick
  • Île-du-Prince-Édouard
  • Nouvelle-Écosse
  • Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Auteurs

Le présent document a été rédigé par l’Équipe de rétablissement de la tortue luth de l’Atlantique.

L’équipe a été formée en 2002 pour élaborer un programme de rétablissement de la tortue luth axé sur la réduction de la mortalité attribuable aux activités humaines ayant cours dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique. Les membres ont été recrutés auprès de plusieurs organismes intéressés. L’équipe a cherché à conserver une attitude ouverte et transparente tout au long du processus. Son rôle était de conseiller les organismes, gouvernementaux et autres, responsables de l’élaboration du programme et de la définition d’objectifs et de stratégies pour atténuer l’impact sur l’espèce des activités pratiquées dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique.

Membres :
NomFonctions ou association
Robert JonesMPO, Sciences (Ottawa)
Cathy MerrimanFonds mondial pour la nature
Troy AtkinsonNova Scotia Swordfishermen's Association
Sherman BoatesNova Scotia Department of Natural Resources
Mark ButlerEcology Action Centre
Jerry ConwayMPO, Gestion des pêches (Maritimes)
Penny DohertyEcology Action Centre
Derek FentonMPO, Océans (Maritimes)
Bert FrickerNSLTWG/Pêcheurs commerciaux
Patrick GrayAtlantic Shark Association
Chris Harvey-ClarkeUniversité Dalhousie
Andrew HebdaNova Scotia Museum of Natural History
Catherine HoodMPO, Terre-Neuve
Justin HustonNova Scotia Agriculture and Fisheries
Mike JamesDalhousie University
Dave KulkaMPO, Terre-Neuve
Kathleen MartinNova Scotia Leatherback Turtle Working Group (NSLTWG)
Don McAlpineMusée du Nouveau-Brunswick
Jim McMillanMPO, Sciences (Maritimes)
Carl MyersMPO, Communications (Maritimes)
Mark LanteigneMPO, Région du Golfe
Christine PenneyClearwater
Kirsten QuerbachMPO, Espèces en péril (Maritimes)
Frank RingMPO, Région du Golfe
Murray Rudd MPO, Politiques et Économie (Maritimes)
Cheryl Ryder U.S. National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) – Office of Protected Resources
Chantale Thiboutot MPO, Région du Québec
Gary WeberMPO, Gestion des pêches (Maritimes)

Remerciements

 Pêches et Océans Canada remercie tous les membres de l’équipe de rétablissement du travail consciencieux qu’ils ont dû accomplir pour lui donner des renseignements, des conseils et des avis tout au long de l’élaboration du programme de rétablissement. Il remercie en particulier Mike James et Kathleen Martin du Nova Scotia Leatherback Turtle Working Group (NSLTWG) ainsi que Don McAlpine du Musée du Nouveau‑Brunswick de l’information, ainsi que des cartes ou des figures qu’ils lui ont communiqués. Enfin, le MPO souligne l’apport  précieux de toutes les personnes qui ont participé aux audiences publiques (annexe III).

Préface

La tortue luth est un reptile marin, qui relève de la compétence dugouvernement fédéral. La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP, article 37) exige que le ministre compétent établisse un programme de rétablissement à l’égard de toute espèce disparue, en voie de disparition ou menacée inscrite sur la liste des espèces en péril. La tortue luth a été inscrite sur cette liste en tant qu’espèce en voie de disparition aux termes de la LEP en juin 2003. La Région des Maritimes de Pêches et Océans Canada a été l’instigatrice de l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement, qui satisfait, du point de vue de son contenu et du processus qu’il établit, aux exiges de la LEP (articles 39-41). Ce programme a été élaboré en coopération ou en consultation avec les parties suivantes :   

  • Autorités gouvernementales
  • Groupes autochtones
  • Groupes environnementaux non gouvernementaux
  • Intervenants de l’industrie
  • Partenaires internationaux

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est réalisée pour tous les projets de rétablissement d'espèces en péril désignées aux termes de la LEP. Cette évaluation a pour but de veiller à ce qu’il soit tenu compte de l’environnement dans l’élaboration des politiques, plans et programmes publics, afin que les décisions qui seront prises soient écologiquement rationnelles.

Les programmes de rétablissement visent à profiter aux espèces en péril et à la biodiversité en général, mais ils peuvent aussi avoir des effets imprévus sur l'environnement. Le processus de planification, fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales, tient directement compte de tous ses effets environnementaux et tout particulièrement de ses incidences possibles sur des espèces non visées ou sur leur habitat. Les résultats de l'EES ont été intégrés au programme lui-même, mais ils sont également résumés ci-après.

En encourageant le rétablissement de la tortue luth, le présent programme de rétablissement sera clairement bénéfique à l’environnement. La possibilité qu’il puisse avoir des effets néfastes imprévus sur d’autres espèces a été envisagée. Toutefois, comme il est indiqué dans les objectifs de rétablissement établis qu’on recommande d’effectuer des recherches supplémentaires sur l’espèce et d’entreprendre des activités d’information et de sensibilisation, l’EES a déterminé que le programme sera clairement bénéfique à l’environnement et n’aura aucun effet néfaste important.

Table des Matières