Nooksack Dace in Canada: Critical Habitat Protection Statement

 

This is a statement of how the critical habitat of Nooksack dace (Rhinichthys cataractae ssp.)is legally protected. This statement is pursuant to, and in compliance with, Section 58 (5) of the Species at Risk Act (SARA), S. C. 2002, c. 29. Critical habitat for the Nooksack dace was identified in the Final Recovery Strategy for this species, posted in June 2008 on the SARA Public Registry. Please refer to the Recovery Strategy for details about the identified critical habitat.

Human activities which could potentially destroy critical habitat for this species, as identified in the Final Recovery Strategy, and the federal legislation which would be used to provide protection against such destruction, are:

ThreatsFederal Legislation
Water extraction from surface and groundwater sources can lead to dewatering of riffles during periods of the year.Where water withdrawals result in dewatering of riffles to the extent that there is a harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat Section 35 of the Fisheries Act offers protection.
High flows from urban storm water systems entering streams can cause scouring of gravel from riffles.Where the volume of stormwater is serious enough to result in destruction of a riffle, Section 35 of the Fisheries Act offers protection.
Agricultural grazing where livestock have unimpeded access to streams can damage gravel by compression impacting its structure.Section 35 of the Fisheries Act offers protection where such works or undertakings result in the harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat.
Gravel mining, land development, and agricultural activities can remove riparian vegetation that provides protection from invasive species, nutrients and runoff.Section 35 of the Fisheries Act offers protection where such works or undertakings result in the harmful alteration, disruption and destruction of fish habitat through the removal of riparian vegetation.
Gravel mining, land development, and agricultural activities can result in nutrients entering the water causing low oxygen levels or lead to the runoff of waters or the generation of sediment that can clog riffles or be toxic to Nooksack dace.Section 35 of the Fisheries Act offers protection where such works or undertakings result in the harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat and Section 36 prohibits the release of a deleterious substance into waters frequented by fish.
Instream works such as stream crossings, dredging and ditch maintenance, man-made dams and weirs that can destroy riffles and riparian habitat.Section 35 of the Fisheries Act offers protection where such works or undertakings result in the harmful alteration, disruption or destruction of fish habitat.

 

Fisheries and Oceans Canada will continue to support and implement activities directed towards informing and sensitising Canadians on the threats to Nooksack dace critical habitat, and to individuals and populations to aid in the protection and recovery of the species. As additional knowledge is gained regarding potential threats and effectiveness of protection measures, additional management and mitigation measures will be developed and implemented as appropriate.

| Introductory Page |

Le naseux de Nooksack au Canada : Déclaration de protection de l'habitat essentiel

Il s’agit d’une déclaration énonçant comment l’habitat essentiel du naseux de Nooksack (Rhinichthys cataractae ssp.) est légalement protégé. Cette déclaration est conforme au paragraphe 58 (5) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), L.C. 2002, ch. 29. L’habitat essentiel du naseux de Nooksack a été désigné dans le texte définitif du Programme de rétablissement à l’égard de cette espèce, qui a été publié en juin 2008 dans le Registre public des espèces en péril. Veuillez vous référer au Programme de rétablissement pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur l’habitat essentiel désigné.

Les activités humaines qui pourraient éventuellement détruire l’habitat essentiel de cette espèce, telles qu’elles sont décrites dans le texte définitif du Programme de rétablissement, et la législation fédérale à laquelle on aura recours pour protéger l’habitat essentiel d’une telle destruction, sont les suivantes :

MenacesLégislation fédérale
Le captage d’eau de surface et de sources d’eau souterraines peut entraîner l’assèchement des rapides pendant certaines périodes de l’année.Lorsque les retraits d’eau entraînent l’assèchement des rapides jusqu’au point où il y a détérioration, perturbation ou destruction de l’habitat du poisson, l’article 35 de la Loi sur les pêches offre la protection nécessaire.
Les débits élevés des systèmes d’égouts pluviaux qui peuvent se déverser dans les cours d’eau peuvent créer l’affouillement du gravier des rapides.Lorsque le volume des eaux de ruissellement est suffisamment élevé pour entraîner la destruction d’un rapide, l’article 35 de la Loi sur les pêches offre la protection nécessaire.
Le pacage sur des terres agricoles où le bétail a libre accès aux cours d’eau peut endommager le gravier par compression en ayant un effet sur sa structure.L’article 35 de la Loi sur les pêches offre la protection nécessaire lorsque de tels ouvrages ou entreprises entraînent la détérioration, la perturbation ou la destruction de l’habitat du poisson.
Les carrières de gravier, les aménagements de terrain et les activités agricoles peuvent nécessiter l’enlèvement de la végétation riveraine qui offre une protection contre les espèces envahissantes, les nutriants et les écoulements.

L’article 35 de la Loi sur les pêches offre la protection nécessaire lorsque de tels ouvrages ou entreprises entraînent la détérioration, la perturbation ou la destruction de l’habitat du poisson par l’enlèvement de la végétation riveraine.

 

Les carrières de gravier, les aménagements de terrain et les activités agricoles peuvent amener des nutriants à pénétrer dans l’eau et ainsi y affaiblir les niveaux d'oxygène, ou créer des écoulements d’eau, ou encore, produire des sédiments qui pourraient bloquer des rapides ou être toxiques pour le naseux de Nooksack.L’article 35 de la Loi sur les pêches offre la protection nécessaire lorsque de tels ouvrages ou entreprises entraînent la détérioration, la perturbation ou la destruction de l’habitat du poisson, et l’article 36 interdit le rejet de substances nocives dans les eaux où vivent des poissons.
Les ouvrages dans les cours d’eau, comme les franchissements de cours d’eau, le dragage et l’entretien des fossés, les barrages et digues artificiels, peuvent détruire l’habitat riverain et les rapides.L’article 35 de la Loi sur les pêches offre la protection nécessaire lorsque de tels ouvrages ou entreprises entraînent la détérioration, la perturbation ou la destruction de l’habitat du poisson.

 

Pêches et Océans Canada continuera de soutenir et de mener des activités qui visent à informer et à sensibiliser les Canadiens à l’égard des menaces qui pèsent sur l’habitat essentiel du naseux de Nooksack et sur ses individus et ses populations afin de contribuer à la protection et au rétablissement de l’espèce. Plus on acquiert de nouvelles connaissances concernant les menaces éventuelles et l’efficacité des mesures de protection, plus on sera en mesure d’élaborer et de mettre au point de nouvelles mesures de gestion et d’atténuation, s’il y a lieu.

| Page d'introduction |