Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy and Action Plan for the Banff Springs Snail (Physella johnsoni) in Canada (Proposed)

Illustration of Banff Springs Snail by D.A.W. Lepitzki


Banff Springs Snail

 

September 2006

 

Authors
Acknowledgements
Strategic Environmental Assessment Statement
Preface

 

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is“to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.”

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened, or extirpated species is arrested or reversed and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species’ persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk. Sections 37–46 of SARA outline both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What’s next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry and the Web site of the Recovery Secretariat (http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/recovery/).

Recommended citation:

Lepitzki, D.A.W. and C. Pacas. 2006. Recovery Strategy and Action Plan for the Banff Springs Snail (Physella johnsoni), in Canada [Proposed]. Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Parks Canada Agency, Ottawa. 58 pp.


Additional copies:

You can download additional copies from the SARA Public Registry.

Cover illustration: D.A.W. Lepitzki

Également disponible en français sous le titre :

«  Programme de rétablissement et plan d'action visant la physe des fontaines de Banff (Physella johnsoni) au Canada [proposition] »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of the Environment, 2006. All rights reserved.

Content (excluding the cover illustration) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Authors

  • Dwayne A. W. Lepitzki, Wildlife Systems Research, Banff
  • Charlie Pacas, Aquatics Specialist, Parks Canada, Banff National Park, Banff

Recovery Team Members:

  • Charlie Pacas, Aquatics Specialist, Banff National Park of Canada (Chair)
  • Dale Redford, Asset Manager Engineer, Banff National Park of Canada
  • David Poll, Species at Risk Coordinator, Western Canada Service Center, Calgary
  • Dwayne A.W. Lepitzki, Wildlife Systems Research, Banff
  • Ian Syme, Chief Park Warden, Banff National Park of Canada
  • Lynn Barrett, Operations Manager, Banff Upper Hot Springs, Banff National Park of Canada
  • Mary Dalman, Communications Officer, Banff National Park of Canada
  • Rob Harding, Heritage Programs Manager, Banff National Park of Canada
  • Stephen Anderson, Park Warden Operations, Banff National Park of Canada
  • Steve Malins, Historic Sites Supervisor, Banff National Park of Canada
  • Walter Guest, Program Manager, Public Works and Government Services, Calgary

Acknowledgments

Brenda Lepitzki provided excellent field assistance for the collection of data on which this plan is based. Dave Dalman, Dave Hunter, and Joanne Cairns were instrumental in initiating research on the Banff Springs Snail in 1996, which has since continued under the direction of Charlie Pacas, Aquatic Specialist for BNP. The assistance and participation of Parks Canada maintenance personnel, Protection Operations staff, Communication Specialists, and staff at the C&BNHS is gratefully acknowledged. Funding for the Banff Springs Snail Research and Recovery Program has been provided by Parks Canada (Aquatics Section of BNP, Parks Canada Species at Risk Fund, and the Hot Springs Enterprise Unit), the Endangered Species Recovery Fund (sponsored by World Wildlife Fund - Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service, and the Canadian Millennium Partnership Program), the Friends of Banff National Park, and the Bow Valley Naturalists. Comments on earlier drafts of the Banff National Park approved Resource Management Plan (RMP), on which this National Recovery Plan is based, were provided by Peter Achuff, Christine Aikens, Theresa Aniskowicz-Fowler, Lynn Barrett, Danielle Bellefleur, Dave Dalman, Rex Delay, Doug Eastcott, Leah de Forest, Bill Fisher, Ken Fisher, Carolyn Fysh, Steve Grasby, Walter Guest, Rob Harding, Dennis Herman, Bill Hunt, Steve Malins, Ann Morrow, David Poll, Kent Prior, Don Rivard, Mary Rothfels, Gilles Seutin, Ian Syme, Ron Tessolini, Lisa Twolan, and Cliff White, and four anonymous reviewers. Jessica Penno compiled and formatted an earlier draft of this document; Holly Bickerton edited and compiled the first drafts of the Recovery Strategy and Action Plan. David Poll, ensured that it is SARA-compliant. Katherine Cumming and Kristy Forrestall completed the Strategic Environmental Assessment. Lindsay Rodger, Marie-Josée Laberge, Maryse Mahy, Richard Pither, Kent Prior, and David Poll undertook national program review.

Strategic Environmental Assessment Statement

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan, and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that recovery strategies and action plans may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are summarized below.

While this Banff Springs Snail Recovery and Action Plan will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the Banff Springs Snail, several potentially adverse effects were also considered.

The potential for recovery actions to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered. Recent surveys have shown that the Sulphur Mountain thermal springs in BNP harbour high numbers of rare species among several taxa. In addition to the Banff Springs Snail, survey work found two rare damselflies, 28 rare mosses (including one new provincial record), six rare liverworts, eight rare plants, and three rare amphibians.

It was determined that actions requiring the physical alteration of hot springs have the potential to adversely affect the mosses, liverworts and plants through direct physical damage to them or the substrates they require to grow. Water flow changes as a result of such physical alterations could leave mosses and liverworts submerged or result in them drying out. Water flow changes resulting in a reduction of cooler free-flowing water could lead to a reduction in damselfly larval habitat. In addition, the development of policies to address population lows, including such potential activities as supplemental feeding and modification of lighting, have the potential to cause adverse effects on the microbial community (algae and bacteria). Altered light regimes could lead to greater or lesser microbial growth, or changes in microbial community composition which could in turn effect the Banff Springs Snail as the microbial community makes up a large part of its diet. These proposed activities would be subject to specific environmental assessments prior to approval. For each environmental assessment the potential effects on other species, including the rare mosses, liverworts, vascular plants, damselflies and amphibians, must be included. Increasing ecosystem knowledge through designing a multi-species or ecosystem recovery strategy would have a large positive effect on all species, including the rare mosses, liverworts, vascular plants, and amphibians, that inhabit the Sulphur Mountain thermal springs.

The SEA also looked at the potential effects of proposed actions on visitor experience and commemorative integrity. It was determined that the additional pickets added to guide rails along sections of boardwalk and the possibility of constructing a touching pool have the potential to affect both visitor experience and the commemorative integrity of the site by altering the natural physical attributes and sensory experience.

Preventing limb-dipping completely (through some sort of physical barrier) may affect both visitor experience and commemorative integrity, while allowing it could potentially cause harm to the Banff Springs Snail. The recovery strategy and action plan suggests evaluating the feasibility of constructing a specific thermal water touching pool. It is recommended that the proposal to build a specific touching pool be addressed in the Cave & Basin National Historic Site of Canada management planning and environmental assessment processes to ensure that it is addressed in the context of visitor experience and commemorative integrity for the entire site. It is also recommended that research be initiated into the effects of limb-dipping on the Banff Springs Snail.

If the re-establishment of snails at the Upper Hot Spring is biologically feasible effects on visitor experience and cultural resources will need to be evaluated.

Further information is presented in the Strategic Environmental Assessment for the Recovery Strategy and Action Plan for the Banff Springs Snail (Physella johnsoni) in Canada (Parks Canada 2006). Taking these mitigation measures into account, it was concluded that the strategy will not cause any significant adverse effects. Implementation of the recovery strategy and action plan will mitigate the effects of threats, protect and enhance critical habitat and improve upon knowledge gaps, thereby resulting in positive impacts to the species and its thermal spring habitat.

Preface

This Recovery Strategy and Action Plan addresses the recovery of the Banff Spring Snail. In Canada, this species range is limited to Banff National Park of Canada (BNP).

Under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996), the federal, provincial, and territorial governments agreed to work together on legislation, programs, and policies to protect wildlife species at risk throughout Canada. The Species at Risk Act (S.C. 2002, c.29) (SARA) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed Extirpated, Endangered and Threatened species.

The Parks Canada Agency (PCA) led the preparation of this Recovery Strategy and Action Plan with the members of the Banff Spring Snail Recovery Team. The Recovery Team has developed and will make all efforts to implement this Recovery Strategy and Action Plan through the authority and local direction of the BNP Superintendent. This document is based on the PCA-approved Resource Management Plan for the Recovery of the Banff Springs Snail in Banff National Park (2002), which previously provided direction for research and recovery.

While recovery is administered by one jurisdiction, the juxtaposition of the snail's thermal spring habitat within BNP and the Cave and Basin National Historic Site (C&BNHS) requires that recovery can only be achieved if both commemorative and ecological integrity1 values are fully integrated. The Species At Risk Act, the Canada National Parks Act (S.C. 200, c. 32), the BNP Management Plan, the C&BNHS Commemorative Integrity Statement, and the C&BNHS Management Plan provide the overall direction for this plan.

This document is intended to fulfill all SARA requirements for species recovery. It is a single species Recovery Strategy and Action Plan that covers the entire range of the Banff Springs Snail; the Action Plan for the species has been directly incorporated. A definition for and delineation of Critical Habitat have also been proposed.

In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk in Canada, all Canadians are invited to join in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the species and Canadian society as a whole. The Minister will report on progress within five years.


1 Parks Canada is committed to protecting “ecological integrity” in National Parks and ensuring “commemorative integrity (to protect, present and manage cultural resources)” at National Historic Sites. Protecting these takes precedence in acquiring, managing, and administering heritage places and programs. The integrity of natural and cultural heritage is maintained by striving to ensure that management decisions affecting these special places are made on both ecosystem-based management and sound cultural resource management practices.

Document Information

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement et plan d'action visant la physe des fontaines de Banff (Physella johnsoni) au Canada (Proposition)

Illustration d'une physe des fontaines de Banff par D.A.W. Lepitzki


Physe des fontaines de Banff

 

September 2006

 

Auteurs
Remerciements
Résumé de l'évaluation environnementale stratégique
Avant-propos

La série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l'une des pierres d'assise de l'effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, àpermettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Qu'est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d'une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l'espèce à l'état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l'état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d'une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs des activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l'étape du plan d'action.

L'élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux -- Environnement Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada -- dans le cadre de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d'un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l'élaborer.

Selon le statut de l'espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l'inscription de l'espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle-ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Et ensuite?

Dans la plupart des cas, un ou plusieurs plans d'action seront élaborés pour définir et guider la mise en oeuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les recommandations contenues dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour permettre la participation des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des conservationnistes à la mise en oeuvre du rétablissement. Le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin d'une espèce.

La série de Programmes de rétablissement

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s'ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites à la Liste des espèces en péril et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP et le site Web du Secrétariat du rétablissement (http://www.especesenperil.gc.ca/recovery/).

 

Citation recommandée :

Lepitzki, D.A.W., et C. Pacas. 2006. Programme de rétablissement et plan d'action visant la physe des fontaines de Banff (Physella johnsoni) au Canada [proposition]. Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Agence Parcs Canada, Ottawa. 67pp.


Pour obtenir des exemplaires additionnels de cette publication :

Des exemplaires additionnels de cette publication peuvent être téléchargés du Registre public de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Illustration de la couverture: D.A.W. Lepitzki

Also available in English under the title:

"Recovery Strategy and Action Plan for the Banff spring snail (Physella johnsoni) in Canada [proposed]".

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Environnement, 2006. Tous droits réservés.

On peut utiliser le contenu du présent document (à l'exception de l'illustration de la page couverture) sans permission, à condition d'en indiquer la source.

Auteurs

  • Dwayne A. W. Lepitzki, Wildlife Systems Research, Banff
  • Charlie Pacas, spécialiste des écosystèmes aquatiques, Parcs Canada, parc national du Canada Banff, Banff

Membres de l'équipe de rétablissement

  • Charlie Pacas, spécialiste des écosystèmes aquatiques, parc national du Canada Banff (président)
  • Dale Redford, gestionnaire des biens, parc national du Canada Banff
  • David Poll, coordonnateur, espèces en péril, Western Canada Service Center, Calgary
  • Dwayne A.W. Lepitzki, Wildlife Systems Research, Banff
  • Ian Syme, gardien de parc en chef, parc national du Canada Banff
  • Lynn Barrett, gestionnaire des opérations, sources thermales Upper Hot Springs de Banff, Parc national du Canada Banff
  • Mary Dalman, agente de communications, parc national du Canada Banff
  • Rob Harding, gestionnaire des programmes du patrimoine, parc national du Canada Banff
  • Stephen Anderson, opérations – gardiens de parc, parc national du Canada Banff
  • Steve Malins, superviseur – lieux historiques, parc national du Canada Banff
  • Walter Guest, gestionnaire de programmes, Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux, Calgary

Remerciements

Nous tenons à souligner l'excellent travail accompli sur le terrain par Brenda Lepitzki lors de la collecte des données qui ont servi de fondement au présent plan. Dave Dalman, Dave Hunter et Joanne Cairns ont joué un rôle important dans la mise en œuvre en 1996 du projet de recherche sur la physe des fontaines de Banff, qui se poursuit depuis sous la direction de Charlie Pacas, spécialiste des écosystèmes aquatiques au parc national Banff (PNB). L'aide et la participation des employés de soutien de Parcs Canada, du personnel affecté à la protection, des spécialistes en communication et des employés du lieu historique national Cave and Basin (LHNC&B) ont été très appréciées. La mise en œuvre du programme de recherche et de rétablissement de la physe des fontaines de Banff a été rendue possible grâce au soutien financier de Parcs Canada (section des écosystèmes aquatiques du PNB, fonds pour les espèces en péril de Parcs Canada et unité d'entreprise de Parcs Canada affectée aux sources thermales), du Fonds de rétablissement des espèces en péril (parrainé par le Fonds mondial pour la nature - Canada, le Service canadien de la faune et le Programme des partenariats du millénaire), des Amis du parc national Banff et du club de naturalistes de la vallée de la Bow (Bow Valley Naturalists). Des commentaires fort utiles sur les versions antérieures du plan approuvé de gestion des ressources du parc national Banff, qui constitue le fondement du présent programme de rétablissement national, ont été fournis par Peter Achuff, Christine Aikens, Theresa Aniskowicz-Fowler, Lynn Barrett, Danielle Bellefleur, Dave Dalman, Rex Delay, Doug Eastcott, Leah de Forest, Bill Fisher, Ken Fisher, Carolyn Fysh, Steve Grasby, Walter Guest, Rob Harding, Dennis Herman, Bill Hunt, Steve Malins, Ann Morrow, David Poll, Kent Prior, Don Rivard, Mary Rothfels, Gilles Seutin, Ian Syme, Ron Tessolini, Lisa Twolan et Cliff White, ainsi que par quatre examinateurs anonymes. Jessica Penno a procédé à la saisie et au formatage d'une version préliminaire de ce document; Holly Bickerton s'est chargée de la mise en forme et de la compilation des premières ébauches du présent programme de rétablissement et plan d'action. David Poll a vérifié la conformité du document aux exigences de la LEP. Katherine Cumming et Kristy Forrestall ont réalisé l'évaluation environnementale stratégique. Lindsay Rodger, Marie-Josée Laberge, Maryse Mahy, Richard Pither, Kent Prior et David Poll ont effectué l'examen du programme national.

Résumé de l'évaluation environnementale stratégique

Tous les documents relatifs à la planification du rétablissement d'espèces visées par la LEP doivent faire l'objet d'une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. Le processus de planification du rétablissement vise à protéger les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il n'est cependant pas exclu que les programmes de rétablissement et plans d'action puissent avoir des effets environnementaux imprévus. Les conclusions de l'EES sont résumées dans les paragraphes qui suivent.

Le présent programme de rétablissement et plan d'action aura des retombées bénéfiques pour l'environnement en favorisant le rétablissement de la physe des fontaines de Banff (Physella johnsoni). En contribuant à atténuer les effets des menaces qui pèsent sur cette espèce en péril, à protéger et à restaurer son habitat essentiel et à combler les lacunes en matière de connaissances, il aura des effets positifs non seulement pour la physe elle-même et les sources thermales qui lui servent d'habitat, mais aussi pour les algues, les mousses, les hépatiques, les demoiselles, les plantes vasculaires, les amphibiens et les autres organismes qui partagent cet habitat. Toutefois, plusieurs projets en cours d'examen prévoyant notamment la dérivation de certains exutoires, le déplacement de structures naturelles, le rétablissement des débits naturels à la source Lower Cave and Basin et l'élaboration de politiques et protocoles destinés à prévenir l'effondrement des populations et divers événements autres que le tarissement des sources thermales, pourraient avoir des effets néfastes pour d'autres espèces rares (mousses, hépatiques, demoiselles, amphibiens, algues et plantes vasculaires) occupant l'écosystème des sources thermales. Si les mesures d'atténuation prévues sont appliquées et si le processus d'évaluation environnementale requis est mené à bien, le présent programme de rétablissement et plan d'action ne devrait pas avoir de répercussions négatives pour les autres espèces rares partageant l'écosystème des sources thermales. Bien au contraire, il devrait avoir des effets positifs pour la physe des fontaines de Banff, les nombreuses espèces rares avec lesquelles elle cohabite et les écosystèmes vulnérables qui leur servent d'habitat, grâce à la protection accrue qu'il leur accorde. Les mesures d'atténuation recommandées visent à :

  • protéger les populations d'autres espèces rares et prévenir leur disparition ou leur altération;
  • favoriser la protection des espèces rares de mousses et d'hépatiques qui vivent dans les sources thermales et éviter que ces populations ne disparaissent ou ne subissent des torts irréparables;
  • étendre les mesures de conservation des sources thermales aux eaux superficielles plus froides et aux bassins situés en aval des sources, ces milieux abritant la plus grande diversité et abondance d'espèces d'odonates et autres macro-invertébrés aquatiques (Rice, 2002);
  • préserver la végétation servant de refuge aux demoiselles adultes autour des bassins (les arbres dans le cas de l'Argia vivida, les graminées dans celui de l'Amphiagrion abbreviatum);
  • préserver des milieux appropriés afin d'y relocaliser les amphibiens durant les activités de construction;
  • assurer à l'échelle locale la protection des populations de plantes rares et des dépôts de tuf essentiels à la croissance de la végétation;
  • évaluer, avant d'entreprendre des travaux susceptibles d'altérer les conditions environnementales (p. ex. modification du régime d'éclairement, apport nutritif supplémentaire), les impacts de ces activités sur les communautés d'algues et de bactéries afin de prévenir la perte d'espèces non ciblées ou une réduction importante de leurs populations;
  • effectuer une analyse des diverses options visant à préserver l'intégrité physique de la caverne (c.-à-d. installation d'une membrane) dans le cas où la restauration du débit à la source Lower Cave and Basin s'avérerait réalisable.

Certaines des activités prévues dans le cadre de ce programme de rétablissement et plan d'action pourraient avoir un impact sur l'intégrité commémorative et l'expérience de séjour des visiteurs. Les trois activités suivantes pourraient avoir des effets négatifs : mise à jour des panneaux de signalisation, installation de lattes verticales additionnelles sur les rampes existantes et aménagement d'un bassin permettant aux visiteurs de toucher aux eaux thermales. En raison de leurs effets négatifs potentiels sur l'intégrité commémorative et l'expérience de séjour des visiteurs, une évaluation des mesures visant à protéger la physe des fontaines de Banff devrait être effectuée dans le cadre du processus de planification de la gestion du lieu historique national du Canada Cave and Basin. Cette évaluation devrait être menée à bien selon un système de classement accordant la préséance aux mesures les moins intrusives.

De plus amples renseignements sont présentés dans l'évaluation stratégique environnementale du programme de rétablissement et plan d'action visant la physe des fontaines de Banff (Physella johnsoni) au Canada (Strategic Environmental Assessment for the Recovery Strategy and Action Plan for the Banff Springs Snail (Physella johnsoni) in Canada (Parks Canada, 2006). Eu égard aux mesures d'atténuation proposées, le présent programme de rétablissement ne devrait pas causer d'effets négatifs importants.


Avant-propos

Le présent programme de rétablissement et plan d'action vise le rétablissement de la physe des fontaines de Banff. Au Canada, cette espèce se rencontre uniquement dans le parc national du Canada Banff (PNB).

En ratifiant l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont convenu de collaborer à l'élaboration de lois, de programmes et de politiques en vue de protéger les espèces sauvages en péril à l'échelle du Canada. En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (2002, ch. 29) (LEP), le ministre compétent doit préparer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces disparues, en voie de disparition et menacées.

L'Agence Parcs Canada (APC) a dirigé l'élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement et plan d'action en collaboration avec les membres de l'équipe de rétablissement de la physe des fontaines de Banff. L'équipe de rétablissement a élaboré ce programme de rétablissement et plan d'action et fera tout ce qui est en son pouvoir pour favoriser sa mise en œuvre sous l'autorité et la direction locale du directeur du PNB. Le présent document est fondé sur le plan de gestion des ressources pour le rétablissement de la physe des fontaines de Banff dans le parc national Banff (2002). Ce plan, approuvé par l'Agence Parcs Canada, énonçait les orientations futures en matière de recherche et de rétablissement requises aux fins du rétablissement de l'espèce.

Même si la gestion du rétablissement de la physe des fontaines de Banff incombe à une seule autorité, le fait que les sources thermales servant d'habitat à cette espèce se trouvent à la fois dans le PNB et le lieu historique national du Canada Cave and Basin (LHNC&B) fait en sorte que le rétablissement n'est envisageable que si les valeurs d'intégrité commémorative et d'intégrité écologique1 sont entièrement intégrées. La Loi sur les espèces en péril, la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada (2000, ch. 32), le plan de gestion du PNB, l'énoncé d'intégrité commémorative du LHNC&B et le plan de gestion du LHNC&B servent de fondement général à ce plan.

Le présent programme de rétablissement et plan d'action vise à répondre à toutes les exigences de la LEP relatives au rétablissement des espèces. Il ne concerne qu'une seule espèce et couvre l'ensemble de son aire de répartition; le plan d'action pour l'espèce a été directement incorporé. L'habitat essentiel de la physe des fontaines de Banff y est désigné, et ses limites y sont précisées.

Dans l'esprit de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril au Canada, tous les Canadiens sont invités à appuyer la mise en œuvre de ce programme et à en respecter les dispositions dans l'intérêt de l'espèce et de la société canadienne en général. Le ministre rendra compte des progrès réalisés d'ici cinq ans.


1 Parcs Canada a pour mandat de protéger l'intégrité écologique dans les parcs nationaux et de préserver l'intégrité commémorative (protéger, mettre en valeur et gérer les ressources culturelles) dans les lieux historiques nationaux. Dans l'acquisition, la gestion et l'administration des endroits et des programmes du patrimoine, la protection de l'intégrité écologique et la préservation de l'intégrité écologique doivent occuper la première place. Pour préserver l'intégrité des ressources naturelles et culturelles du patrimoine, Parcs Canada veille à ce que ses décisions se rattachant à la gestion de ces endroits spéciaux s'appuient sur de solides pratiques de gestion des écosystèmes et des ressources culturelles.

Information sur le document