Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Report and Summary of Proceedings: Minister's 2008 Round Table

Second Minister's Roundtable on species at Risk. December 16, 2008. Ottawa, Ontario

Minister's 2008 Round Table on the Species at Risk Act: Summary Report

December 16, 2008

Meeting Overview

The Species at Risk Act (SARA) requires that the federal Minister of the Environment convene a roundtable of persons interested in matters respecting the protection of wildlife species at risk in Canada to advise the Minister on those matters. The second SARA roundtable was held in Ottawa on December 16, 2008 and discussions focused on implementation of the Act to provide the Minister with information that would assist in continuing to improve the implementation of the Act as well as inform him in advance of the 5-year review of the Act. The roundtable discussion involved a subset of stakeholders with an interest in the Species at Risk Act including representatives from: territorial governments; the environmental non-government community; industry groups; and Aboriginal groups.

Highlights of the discussion and ensuing recommendations are provided below and are organized according to the various steps in the process of the species at risk program. Throughout the discussion, Aboriginal engagement was an overarching theme that emerged.

Species Assessment and the Role of COSEWIC

Species assessment is a key part of the SARA process. Through this step, the status of species in Canada is assessed as extirpated, endangered, threatened, of special concern, or not at risk. The inclusion of Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge (ATK) in the COSEWIC assessment process and its consideration along side western research science was seen as an illustration of the opportunities for aboriginal involvement in the SARA. It was also noted that there is a need to consider ATK with western science when determining priorities for species' assessments. Given that ATK may be considered at many steps in the SARA process, and not just for assessment, concern was expressed that this could result in multiple collections of ATK and be burdensome to knowledge holders.

The discussion also highlighted that the involvement of federal government scientists on COSEWIC could potentially detract from COSEWIC's operation as an arms-length organization. Several participants commented that increased transparency in the COSEWIC process (for example, by making publicly available the draft reports that are considered by COSEWIC in making their assessments) would help to ensure that the best available information was being used in the assessment process.

Top of page

Listing and Legal Protection

The federal government's role in species protection begins when the Governor in Council (GIC), upon the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, adds a species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk set out in Schedule 1 of SARA. Once a species is listed under Schedule 1 of SARA the protection powers of SARA can be applied. In discussions on the listing process and the ensuing legal protection afforded to certain species listed under the SARA, some roundtable participants re-enforced that socio-economic cost-benefit analysis information should be considered prior to the listing decision. The importance of evaluating "trade-offs" in the socio-economic analysis was also noted. For example, if a given activity were to result in the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions (to the benefit of many species) this should be weighed against the negative impacts of the activity on a single species. It was also noted that the impact of listing could be better communicated to affected organizations and communities.

Recovery Planning and Implementation

When a species is added to Schedule 1 of the Act, recovery planning as required under the Act begins and implementation then follows. Recovery planning and implementation were discussed in an integrated manner at the Roundtable. Roundtable participants discussed the fact that there remains a significant backlog of species for which recovery strategies are required, given the large number of species listed when the Act was proclaimed in 2003. It was further noted that implementation of recovery action plans tends to focus on the protection of critical habitat which can result in less focus on the importance of other types of threats to species. Participants stressed that the government should use the full range of options under SARA to accomplish recovery goals, such as stewardship agreements. Roundtable participants noted a need to clarify some of the key terms used in the Act including residence and critical habitat. Other implementation challenges noted included a perceived overlap between the SARA and provincial/territorial legislation and the need to improve cooperation with provincial tools and action and also with federal statutes (e.g., the Migratory Bird Convention Act). Finally, it was noted that the detailed and time-consuming recovery planning process required under SARA may not be appropriate for all species and can lead to a reduction of effort on those species requiring more attention.

Monitoring and Evaluation

In discussing the challenges of monitoring and evaluating implementation of the Act it was noted that the true measure of successfully implementing the Act is the recovery of species at risk, yet evaluating this can take a very long time. In particular, it was noted that key to recovering species is identifying habitat requirements and determining appropriate conservation actions. This work is a significant effort given both a large number of species and the significant amount of effort required to both undertake the necessary planning and to facilitate the collaboration required to identify and secure habitats and address other threats. It was noted that the key to effective monitoring and evaluation is the development and use of indicators for how well species are doing in the longer term.

Aboriginal Issues under SARA

Throughout the discussion, roundtable participants discussed engagement of Aboriginal people in various aspects of the SARA and associated programs. It was noted that consideration needs to be given to enhancing opportunities to engage Aboriginal peoples in a meaningful way, given the important implications of the SARA for Aboriginal communities. Barriers to engagement were noted including lack of resources to support involvement of Aboriginal peoples and the lack of processes or mechanisms in place to enable proper engagement. Roundtable participants also raised the issue of whether subsistence hunting by Aboriginal peoples could be allowed under s. 32 (general prohibitions against killing, harming, etc). Amongst participants there was a general consensus that Aboriginal subsistence hunting could be allowed.

Top of page

Specific Recommendations

The roundtable resulted in the following recommendations:

  1. The Minister release the scientific review for the identification of critical habitat for the Woodland Caribou, Boreal Population.
  2. Environment Canada gather Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge and consult with Aboriginal peoples on the critical habitat needs for the Woodland Caribou, Boreal Population.
  3. The Species at Risk Act should be amended to provide electricity facilities that pre-date the legislation with an exemption from the prohibitions in section 32,33 and 58, provided those facilities have either applied for an agreement or permit under section 73 or are engaged in recovery planning under the Act.
  4. Paragraph 73(3) (a) the Act should be amended to allow it to be applied to existing facilities to allow for permitting. This would mean that SARA permits would be allowed for existing facilities when all reasonable alternatives to the activity that would reduce the impact on the species have been considered and the best solution has been adopted.
  5. Subsection 73 (9), which defines the maximum terms for SARA permits and agreements should be amended so that the term of a permit is related to the particular context for a given species at risk, rather than being held to a predetermined maximum term.
  6. A regulation should be made to specify how permit renewals can be obtained in an efficient manner.
  7. The definition of "residence" be amended to recognize that it only applies to aquatic species once the competent Minister has identified, described or defined the aquatic species residence and has published this in the Public Registry. Alternatively, a new sub-section can be added to section 33 noting that it does not apply to the residence of an aquatic species unless the residence for the species has been identified geographically and published in the public registry.
  8. Environment Canada should publish clear policy guidelines on how to apply the definitions of habitat and critical habitat in a consistent manner. In particular, the Government should define critical habitat as that habitat which is so rare or important that the loss of it would impair the ability of the species to recover to its stated recovery goals.
  9. A regulation should be made under section 41 (4) of the Act to require the Minister to provide explanation for the designation of a habitat as a critical habitat, including an explanation of how the critical habitat was identified and why this critical habitat is necessary for the survival or recovery of the species.
  10. Subsection 27 (2) of the Act should be amended to require that the Minister consider the socio-economic costs and benefits associated with listing the species before the listing decision is made.
  11. Subsection 41 (1) of the Act should be amended to require that the recovery strategy include an evaluation of the socioeconomic costs and benefits associated with the recovery strategy.
  12. A list be prepared of authorizations under other regulatory regimes that would satisfy the permitting requirements found in section 74 or section 78 of SARA including authorizations under the Fisheries Act, the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994, the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, and provincial legislation. This list of authorizations under other regulatory regimes should be defined in non-binding policy guidelines or in a regulation under SARA.

Top of page

Ministerial Response

With the Parliamentary 5 Year Review now assigned to the House Committee of Environment and Sustainable Development, amendments to the Act would only be considered by the Government once the Committee has completed its work and made recommendations. To propose recommendations before the Committee has completed its work could be seen to preempt the work of the Committee.

With respect to Woodland Caribou, Boreal Population, the scientific review for the identification of critical habitat was released April 9, 2009. Planning is now underway to collect the Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge and conduct the necessary western science studies that will be necessary for the development of the recovery strategy. The proposed recovery strategy will be posted on the SARA Registry when this information has been considered and incorporated into the strategy.

With respect to permitting, the department will work to outline an effective process for applications for permits and their renewal. While it is not possible to be exempted from permitting requirements under the current legislation, the department will work to explain in guidance material the factors that are considered when determining whether or not a permit can be issued in accordance with the criteria set out in the Act. As part of this process, the departments will also consider if regulations for permit renewals are required. Any guidance material or regulation that outlines a process for a permit renewal would clarify what is considered in issuing a permit but would not guarantee the renewal of the permit.

As work on the SARA policies and other guidance proceeds, the departments will continue to clarify what is considered to be a residence, habitat and critical habitat under SARA. Further guidance would also explain what the department considers in identifying critical habitat.

With respect to socio-economic costs, the three responsible federal departments are already assessing these factors and they are considered in the decision-making process to add a species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Further, it is a requirement of the government that every regulation include an assessment of costs and benefits and these are published with regulatory proposals in Part 1 of the Canada Gazette. In making its decision, the Governor in Council always considers these costs. The department will continue to work with advisory bodies on the tools used for this assessment in an effort to improve their robustness. The recovery strategy is a document that integrates science, Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge and community knowledge in setting recovery goals and objectives. Socio-economic analysis will be considered as recovery action plans are developed in concert with interested parties.

With respect to authorizations or permits issued under other legislation, the three responsible federal departments are committed to clarifying the factors that would be considered when determining whether a permit or authorization under another piece of federal legislation or provincial/territorial regimes can be considered to have the same effect as a SARA permit. At this stage in the implementation of the legislation, a list of equivalent authorizations would not be developed. Given that from one species to another the factors that can threaten the species or its critical habitat may vary, each permit will need to be considered separately to determine if it meets the criteria of having the same effect as a SARA permit.

Annex – List of Meeting Participants

Attendees:

Ellen AdelbergA/Executive DirectorCanadian Parks and Wilderness Society (CPAWS)
Catherine CobdenVP EnvironmentForest Products Association of Canada (FPAC)
Kevin DanielsVice ChiefCongress of Aboriginal Peoples (CAP)
Stewart ElgieAssociate ProfessorUniversity of Ottawa
Pierre GuimondPresident & CEOCanadian Electricity Association (CEA)
Hon. Daniel ShewchukMinister of EnvironmentGovernment of Nunavut
Mary SimonPresidentInuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK)


Top of page

| Introductory Page|

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Rapport et Résumé du compte rendu sur la table ronde du ministre tenue en 2008


Table ronde 2008 du ministre concernant la Loi sur les espèces en péril : Rapport sommaire

Le 16 décembre 2008

Aperçu de la réunion

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) stipule que le ministre fédéral de l’Environnement doit convoquer une table ronde de personnes intéressées par la protection des espèces sauvages en péril au Canada qui le conseilleront sur ce sujet. Dans le cadre de la deuxième table ronde sur la LEP tenue à Ottawa le 16 décembre 2008, les discussions ont porté sur la mise en œuvre de la Loi de façon à procurer au ministre les renseignements nécessaires pour en améliorer la mise en œuvre et l'informer à l'avance de la tenue de l'examen quinquennal de la loi. La table ronde regroupait un éventail d’intervenants intéressés par la Loi sur les espèces en péril, dont des représentants des gouvernements territoriaux, des regroupements non gouvernementaux intéressés à l'environnement, de groupes de l'industrie et de groupes autochtones.

Le texte ci-dessous dresse les grandes lignes de la discussion et résume les recommandations qui en ont découlé. Celles-ci sont présentées selon les différentes étapes du programme sur les espèces en péril. Tout au long de la discussion, ont a fait état à maintes reprises de la participation des peuples autochtones.

Évaluation des espèces et rôle du COSEPAC

L'évaluation des espèces est un élément clé du processus sur la LEP. Ce processus permet de déterminer l’état des espèces en péril au Canada, à savoir si elles sont disparues, en péril, menacées, préoccupantes ou non en péril. L’inclusion des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones (CTA) dans le processus d’évaluation du COSEPAC et leur prise en compte par la recherche occidentale ont été perçues comme des occasions de participation des peuples autochtones à la LEP. On a par ailleurs souligné la nécessité d'intégrer les CTA dans les sciences occidentales quand vient le temps d'établir les priorités en matière d'évaluation des espèces. Étant donné que les CTA touchent plusieurs étapes du processus sur la LEP autres que l'évaluation, on craint un chevauchement dans la collecte des CTA risquant de devenir irritant pour les détenteurs des connaissances. On a également souligné que la participation au COSEPAC des scientifiques du gouvernement fédéral risque de miner l'indépendance de ce Comité. Plusieurs participants ont mentionné qu’une transparence accrue du processus du COSEPAC (par exemple, en rendant accessible au public les rapports préliminaires qui aident le COSEPAC à effectuer ses évaluations) aiderait à garantir qu'on utilise les meilleurs renseignements disponibles dans le processus d'évaluation.

Haut de la page

Établissement de la liste et protection juridique

Le rôle du gouvernement fédéral dans la protection d’une espèce commence quand le gouverneur en conseil (GC), à la recommandation du ministre de l'Environnement, ajoute cette espèce à la liste des espèces en péril, à l'annexe 1 de la LEP. Une fois cette espèce sur la liste de l’annexe 1 de la LEP, on peut appliquer les mécanismes de protection de celle-ci. Lors de la discussion sur l'établissement de la liste et la protection juridique accordée à certaines espèces répertoriées en vertu de la LEP, certains participants ont réitéré qu’il serait souhaitable de tenir compte des données d'une analyse socioéconomique des coûts et des avantages avant de décider d’inscrire une espèce sur la liste. On a également mentionné l’importance d’évaluer le « rendement » dans le cadre d'une analyse socioéconomique. Prenons le cas d'une activité qui occasionne une réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre (favorable à de nombreuses espèces). Cet élément pourrait être pris en considération dans l'évaluation de son impact sur une seule espèce. On a également souligné la nécessité de mieux communiquer aux organismes et collectivités concernés les conséquences de l’inscription d'une espèce sur la liste.

Planification et mise en œuvre du rétablissement

Lorsqu'une espèce est ajoutée à l'annexe 1 de la Loi, on procède à la planification, puis à la mise en œuvre de son rétablissement en vertu de la Loi. La planification et la mise en œuvre du rétablissement ont fait l’objet d’une discussion. Les participants à la table ronde ont débattu le fait que de nombreuses espèces attendent encore des stratégies de rétablissement étant donné le grand nombre d'espèces répertoriées lors de l'édiction de la Loi en 2003. On a par ailleurs mentionné que la mise en œuvre de plans de rétablissement s'intéresse tout particulièrement à la protection de l'habitat essentiel, d’où un risque de négligence des autres menaces envers les espèces. Les participants ont souligné que le gouvernement devrait exploiter toute une gamme d’options en vertu de la LEP afin d’atteindre les objectifs de rétablissement, par exemple pour conclure des ententes d'intendance. Les participants à la table ronde ont souligné la nécessité de clarifier certains des termes clés utilisés dans la Loi, dont les termes « résidence » et « habitat essentiel ». Entre autres enjeux liés à la mise en œuvre, on a mentionné un possible chevauchement entre la LEP et les lois provinciales et territoriales, et la nécessité de raffermir la collaboration avec les mécanismes et outils provinciaux et certaines autres lois fédérales, dont la Loi sur la Convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs. En dernier lieu, on a souligné que le processus de planification détaillé du rétablissement exigé par la LEP, qui nécessite beaucoup de temps, peut ne pas convenir à toutes les espèces et risque de réduire les efforts consacrés aux espèces qui en ont le plus besoin.

Surveillance et évaluation

Au cours de la discussion sur les défis que posent la surveillance et l’évaluation de la mise en œuvre de la Loi, on a souligné que la juste mesure d’une mise en œuvre réussie de la Loi est le rétablissement d’espèces en péril mais cela nécessite énormément de temps. On a notamment souligné que la détermination des exigences en matière d’habitat et des mesures appropriées de rétablissement est essentielle au rétablissement des espèces. Ce travail exige un effort important vu le grand nombre d'espèces et le travail exigé pour entreprendre la planification requise et pour faciliter la collaboration nécessaire à la détermination et à la conservation des habitats et à l’élimination des autres menaces. On a souligné qu’une surveillance et une évaluation efficaces passent par le développement et l’utilisation d’indicateurs sur l’évolution à long terme des espèces.

Questions autochtones en vertu de la LEP

Tout au long de la table ronde, les participants ont discuté de la participation des peuples autochtones à divers aspects de la LEP et aux programmes connexes. On a souligné qu’il convient de favoriser les occasions d’une participation significative des peuples autochtones étant donné les importantes répercussions de la LEP sur leurs collectivités. On a fait état des obstacles à cette participation, dont le manque de ressources en soutien à leur participation et le manque de processus et de mécanismes pour une participation adéquate. Les participants à la table ronde se sont également demandé si l’on pourrait permettre la chasse de subsistance des peuples autochtones en vertu de l'article 32 (interdictions générales contre l’abattage, le harcèlement, etc.). Unanimement, les participants croient que la chasse de subsistance devrait être permise pour les peuples autochtones.

Haut de la page

Recommandations particulières

La table ronde a donné lieu aux recommandations suivantes :

  1. Le ministre autorise l'examen scientifique de l'habitat essentiel de la population boréale du caribou des bois.
  2. Environnement Canada recueillera les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones et consultera les peuples autochtones sur les besoins de la population boréale du caribou des bois en matière d'habitat essentiel.
  3. Il faut modifier la Loi sur les espèces en périlafin d'exempter les centrales électriques antérieures à la loi des interdictions des articles 32, 33 et 58 à condition que ces centrales aient fait une demande d’accord ou de permis en vertu de l’article 73 et qu’elles planifient un rétablissement en vertu de la Loi.
  4. L'alinéa 73(3) (a) de la Loi devrait être modifié pour permettre aux installations existantes d'obtenir un permis. Cela signifierait que des permis seraient délivrés en vertu de la LEP aux installations existantes qui adopteraient la meilleure des solutions quand toutes les autres solutions raisonnables à l'activité permettant de réduire les incidences sur les espèces auraient été évaluées.
  5. Le paragraphe 73 (9), qui définit la durée maximale d'un permis et d'un accord en vertu de la LEP, devrait être modifié pour que la durée d'un permis tienne compte de l'espèce en péril en particulier, au lieu d'être assujettie à une durée maximale déterminée à l'avance.
  6. On prendrait un règlement précisant un mode efficace de renouvellement des permis.
  7. On doit modifier la définition de « résidence » pour spécifier qu'elle ne s'applique qu'aux espèces aquatiques une fois que le ministre compétent aura déterminé, décrit ou défini la résidence des espèces aquatiques et aura publié cette définition dans le registre public. Et on pourra ajouter un nouveau paragraphe à l'article 33 précisant que ce dernier ne s'applique pas à une espèce aquatique sauf si la résidence de cette espèce est déterminée géographiquement et publiée dans le registre public.
  8. Environnement Canada devrait publier des lignes directrices claires d'une politique sur l'application cohérente des définitions de l'habitat et de l'habitat essentiel. Le gouvernement devrait notamment définir l’habitat essentiel comme un habitat si rare ou important que sa disparition mettrait en péril la capacité de l’espèce d’atteindre ses objectifs de rétablissement.
  9. Un règlement devrait être pris en vertu de l’article 41 (4) de la Loi exigeant du ministre de fournir une explication sur la désignation d’un habitat comme habitat essentiel, avec texte expliquant comment on en est venu à cette conclusion et pourquoi cet habitat est essentiel à la survie ou au rétablissement de l’espèce.
  10. Le paragraphe 27 (2) de la Loi devrait être modifié pour stipuler que le ministre doit tenir compte des coûts et des avantages socioéconomiques de l'inscription de l'espèce sur la liste avant qu’une décision ne soit prise.
  11. Le paragraphe 41 (1) devrait être modifié pour stipuler que la stratégie de rétablissement comporte une évaluation des coûts et avantages socioéconomiques afférents.
  12. On devrait dresser une liste d'autorisations en vertu d'un régime de réglementation qui satisferait les exigences habilitantes énoncées à l'article 74 ou à l'article 78 de la LEP, y compris des autorisations en vertu de la loi sur les pêches, de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs, de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale et des législations provinciales. Cette liste d’autorisations en vertu d’un régime de réglementation devrait être définie dans des lignes directrices de politique non exécutoire ou dans un règlement pris en vertu de la LEP.

Haut de la page

Réponse du ministre

Étant donné l’examen quinquennal parlementaire que doit mener le Comité de la Chambre sur l’environnement et le développement durable, toute modification à la Loi ne pourra être étudiée par le gouvernement qu’après conclusion des travaux et présentation des recommandations du Comité. Les recommandations faites avant la fin des travaux du Comité pourraient être perçues comme une démarche à l'encontre de ceux-ci.

En ce qui concerne la population boréale du caribou des bois, l’examen pour la détermination d’un habitat essentiel a été publié le 9 avril 2009. On planifie actuellement la collecte des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones et l’exécution des études occidentales nécessaires à l'élaboration d'une stratégie de rétablissement. La stratégie de rétablissement proposée, une fois évaluée et prête, sera publiée dans le registre de la LEP.

En ce qui concerne les permis, le ministère dressera les grandes lignes d'un processus efficace de demandes et de renouvellement de ceux-ci. En vertu des lois actuelles, il est impossible d'être exempté des exigences sur la délivrance des permis. Le ministère préparera du matériel d’orientation qui expliquera les facteurs pris en compte pour délivrer ou non un permis en vertu des critères énoncés dans la Loi. Dans le cadre de ce processus, le ministère évaluera la nécessité d'un règlement sur le renouvellement des permis. Le matériel d’orientation ou le règlement sur un processus de renouvellement clarifierait les critères de délivrance d’un permis sans toutefois garantir son renouvellement.

Suivant le travail sur les politiques et autres documents d’orientation liés à la LEP, le ministère précisera les notions de résidence, d'habitat et d'habitat essentiel en vertu de la LEP. Un document d’orientation supplémentaire expliquera les critères dont tient compte le ministère dans la détermination d’un habitat essentiel.

À l’égard des coûts socioéconomiques, les trois ministères fédéraux responsables procèdent déjà à une évaluation de ces facteurs et sont censés avoir atteint l'étape décisionnelle afin d'ajouter des espèces à la liste des espèces en péril. En outre, le gouvernement exige que chaque règlement compose une évaluation des coûts et des avantages et que ces derniers soient publiés avec les projets de règlement dans la partie 1 de la Gazette du Canada. Le gouverneur en conseil tient toujours compte de ces coûts avant de prendre une décision. Le ministère continuera à développer les outils de cette évaluation en collaboration avec les organismes consultatifs afin de les améliorer. La stratégie de rétablissement est un document qui regroupe les données scientifiques, les connaissances traditionnelles autochtones et les connaissances d’une collectivité dans le but d’établir des objectifs en matière de rétablissement. Dans l'élaboration des mesures de rétablissement en collaboration avec les parties intéressées, on tient compte de l'analyse socioéconomique.

En ce qui concerne les autorisations ou les permis délivrés en vertu des lois en vigueur, les trois ministères fédéraux responsables s'engagent à clarifier les facteurs pris en compte pour délivrer ou non un permis ou une autorisation en vertu d’un autre document juridique fédéral ou de régimes provinciaux et territoriaux dont on considère qu'ils ont la même valeur qu'un permis délivré en vertu de la LEP. À ce point de la mise en œuvre de la loi, on ne prévoit pas dresser une liste des autorisations équivalentes. Étant donné que les menaces envers une espèce ou son habitat essentiel varient d'une espèce à l'autre, il conviendra d’évaluer chaque permis séparément pour déterminer s’il impose les mêmes critères qu'un permis équivalent de la LEP.

Annexe – Liste des participants à la réunion

Participants :

Participants :

Ellen AdelbergDirecteur général adjointSociété pour la nature et les parcs du Canada (SNAP)
Catherine CobdenV.-P. EnvironnementAssociation des produits forestiers du Canada (APFC)
Kevin DanielsVice-chefCongrès des Peuples Autochtones (CPA)
Stewart ElgieProfesseur agrégéUniversité d’Ottawa
Pierre GuimondPrésident et chef de la directionAssociation canadienne de l'électricité
Hon. Daniel ShewchukMinistre de l'EnvironnementGouvernement du Nunavut
Mary SimonPrésidenteInuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK)


Haut de la page

| Page d'introduction|