Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Black-footed Ferret (Mustela nigripes) in Canada

Species at Risk Act recovery strategy series, recovery strategy for the Black-footed Ferret (Mustela nigripes) in Canada.

Species at Risk Act
Recovery strategy series

Black-footed Ferret

June 2009

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is "to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity."

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened or extirpated species is arrested or reversed, and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species' persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk. Sections 37–46 of SARA outline both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What's next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species are listed and strategies updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry.


Recovery Strategy for the Black-footed Ferret (Mustela nigripes) in Canada

June 2009

Recommended citation:

Tuckwell, J. and T. Everest. 2009. Recovery Strategy for the Black-footed Ferret (Mustela nigripes) in Canada. Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Parks Canada Agency, Ottawa. vii + 36 pp.

Additional copies:

Additional copies can be downloaded from the SARA Public Registry.

Cover illustration Credit

The Calgary Zoological Society

Également disponible en français sous le titre « Programme de rétablissement pour le Putois d'Amérique (Mustela nigripes) au Canada. »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of the Environment, 2009. All rights reserved.

Content (excluding the cover illustration) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Declaration

Under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk (1996), the federal, provincial, and territorial governments agreed to work together on legislation, programs, and policies to protect wildlife species at risk throughout Canada. The Species at Risk Act (S.C. 2002, c.29) (SARA) requires that federal competent minister(s) prepare recovery strategies for listed Extirpated, Endangered and Threatened species.

The Minister of the Environment presents this document as the recovery strategy for the black-footed ferret as required under SARA. It has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions responsible for the species, as described in the Preface. The Minister invites other jurisdictions and organizations that may be involved in recovering the species to use this recovery strategy as advice to guide their actions.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new findings and revised objectives.

This recovery strategy will be the basis for one or more action plans that will provide further details regarding measures to be taken to support protection and recovery of the species. Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the actions identified in this strategy. In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, all Canadians are invited to join in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the species and of Canadian society as a whole. The Minister of the Environment will report on progress within five years.

Authors

This strategy was written by Joanne Tuckwell, Parks Canada Agency, Winnipeg, Manitoba and Tian Everest, Calgary Zoological Society, Calgary, Alberta, and in collaboration with the Canadian Black-footed Ferret / Black-tailed Prairie Dog Recovery Team.

Acknowledgements

This document required the dedication and commitment of many organizations and individuals across North America. The editors are especially indebted to the members of the Canadian Black-footed Ferret / Black-tailed Prairie Dog Recovery Team for their extensive contributions to this strategy.

Co-chairs:

Pat Fargey, Parks Canada Agency
Joanne Tuckwell, Parks Canada Agency

Members:

Bill Bristol, Agri-Environment Services Branch, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Brad Dixon, Affected Landowner
Tian Everest, Calgary Zoological Society
Maria Franke, Toronto Zoo
David Gummer, Parks Canada Agency, formerly with the Royal Alberta Museum
Geoff Holroyd, Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada
Karson Legault, Rural Municipality of Val Marie
Sue McAdam, Ministry of Environment, Saskatchewan
Robert Sissons, Parks Canada Agency
Lorne Veitch, Saskatchewan Agriculture and Food

Associate Members:

Steve Forrest, World Wildlife Fund (U.S.)
J. Michael Lockhart, formerly of the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
Travis Livieri, Prairie Wildlife Research

Special thanks are extended to the participants, organizers and financial supporters of four key workshops:

  • Towards a Management Strategy for Black-tailed Prairie Dog and Black-footed Ferrets in Southwestern Saskatchewan (June 8 - 9, 2004 in Val Marie, Saskatchewan)
  • International Black-footed Ferret Recovery Workshop (April 1 - 4, 2005, Calgary Alberta)
  • Black-footed Ferret Recovery Strategy Workshop (September 8 - 10, 2005, Val Marie Saskatchewan)
  • Black-footed Ferret/Black-tailed Prairie Dog Recovery Team meeting (Sept 5 - 7, 2007 in Toronto, Ontario).

Knowledge contributions provided by the participants of these workshops are the basis for extensive sections of this document. Steve Forrest, Travis Livieri (Prairie Wildlife Research), Rurik List (Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico), J. Michael Lockhart, Paul Marinari (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service) and Randy Matchett (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service) contributed valuable insights into black-footed ferret ecology and ferret recovery experiences in the U.S. and Mexico.

Pat Fargey and Shelley Pruss (Parks Canada Agency) provided important information and guidance on recovery strategy planning and the requirements of this document. Axel Moehrenschlager (Calgary Zoological Society) provided support throughout the writing process as well as valuable editorial contributions. Judy Toews (Parks Canada Agency) also assisted with the editing of this document. The time and valuable insights contributed by the participants of the community focus groups are also greatly appreciated.

Strategic environmental assessment statement

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all Species at Risk Act recovery strategies, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals (2004). The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond their intended benefits. Environmental effects, including impacts to non-target species and the environment, were considered during recovery planning. The SEA is not a separate document, but is incorporated directly into the recovery strategy in sections section1.4.2, section1.7 and section2.7 and is summarized below.

This recovery strategy will benefit the environment by reintroducing and promoting the recovery of the black-footed ferret in an area it had historically occupied. The recovery strategy will also have indirect positive effects. Potential black-tailed prairie dog (Special Concern) colony expansion will increase habitat for species such as the Burrowing Owl (Endangered) and swift fox (Endangered) and increase prey abundance for species such as the Golden Eagle and Ferruginous Hawk (Special Concern). Potential negative effects as a result of the recovery strategy include increased disease potential, decreases in habitat such as sagebrush communities, and destruction of invertebrate communities. The importance of these effects is unknown and each has been addressed in greater detail in section 1.7. There will be significant mortality of black-tailed prairie dogs (Special Concern) due to direct predation by black-footed ferrets and there is also potential for ferret predation on Burrowing Owls (Endangered) and Greater Sage-Grouse (Endangered). However, it is believed that ferrets do not have population level effects on these species in areas of the U.S. (Rodger et al. 2004).

Mitigation of the potential negative effects on species at risk will be addressed by working cooperatively with the affected species recovery teams on a regular basis, and monitoring of ferret activities, diet and habitat use, as well as population monitoring of other species at risk in the reintroduction area. Effects on other species at risk will be closely evaluated and management strategies for the ferrets will be modified if any detrimental effects are detected. Mitigation measures for other associated species are discussed in section 2.7. Strategies to address potential negative effects will be developed prior to implementing recovery actions and will be included in the ferret action plan.

Residence

SARA defines residence as: a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating [Subsection 2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry.

Preface

This recovery strategy addresses the recovery of black-footed ferrets in Canada. Historically black-footed ferrets were found principally in southern Saskatchewan, although they also ranged into southern Alberta.

The Parks Canada Agency led the preparation of this recovery strategy with the members of the Canadian Black-footed Ferret / Black-tailed Prairie Dog Recovery Team. This strategy was developed in cooperation with the provincial and federal agencies responsible for this species and associated habitat (Saskatchewan Environment, Saskatchewan Agriculture and Food, Agri-Environment Services Branch of Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Canadian Wildlife Service) as well as the Toronto Zoo, the Calgary Zoological Society, the Royal Alberta Museum, the United States Fish and Wildlife Service, the World Wildlife Fund and Prairie Wildlife Research.

Executive summary

The black-footed ferret (Mustela nigripes) is a mid-sized member of the weasel family that inhabits grassland ecosystems where prairie dogs are present (Cynomys spp.). Once thought to be globally extinct, black-footed ferrets have been reintroduced in the United States, but remain extirpated in Canada. Historical data suggests the ferret's range once included southern Saskatchewan and southern Alberta. Recovering and reintroducing black-footed ferrets in Canada will contribute to North American ferret conservation efforts by re-establishing a wild-functioning ferret population at the northern edge of the species' distribution.

A successful conservation breeding program has been providing black-footed ferrets for reintroduction in the U.S. and Mexico since 1991. Sufficient animals are being produced from this program to facilitate reintroductions in Canada as well. The U.S. Black-footed Ferret Recovery Implementation Team (BFFRIT), coordinated by the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, will apply their knowledge and experience in managing black-footed ferrets to assist in a reintroduction in Canada. Extensive analyses and planning have already been completed in an effort to prepare for this reintroduction and will be detailed in an action plan that will follow this recovery strategy. This experimental reintroduction will be adaptively managed, involving frequent monitoring to mitigate threats and bolster the population with additional individuals when necessary. The lessons learned from the Canadian reintroduction will help inform other efforts to reintroduce black-footed ferrets across the international range of the species.

The primary threats to ferret recovery are sylvatic plague, natural disease (canine distemper virus and rabies) and predation. Additional threats include poisoning of Richardson's ground squirrels and black-tailed prairie dogs (Cynomys ludovicianus), climate change (increased drought frequency) and reduced genetic diversity.

With only approximately 1000 hectares of prairie dog colonies in Canada, habitat limitations may present a significant challenge to ferret recovery. Black-footed ferrets are highly dependant on prairie dogs for prey and on their burrows for shelter, escaping predators, and rearing their young. Significant efforts may be required to ensure sufficient habitat exists to support the ferret recovery goal.

Black-footed ferret recovery is considered feasible in Canada. The recovery goal is to establish a wild population of black-footed ferrets in Canada with at least 80 percent probability of persisting for 20 years (i.e., less than 20 percent probability of extinction in 20 years). The determination of specific goals for population size are not feasible at this time because the number of ferrets the Canadian range will be able to support is not known. Many factors will be evaluated after the initial reintroductions to enable estimates of population goals for the future.

Recovery objectives, knowledge gaps, actions to date, specific steps to achieve the recovery objectives and measures of success are all described in this recovery strategy.

Critical habitat for black-footed ferrets is identified in this document and is defined by the limits of the prairie dog colonies in Canada based on their boundaries mapped in 2007. A list of activities likely to result in its destruction and a schedule of studies to further refine the critical habitat are also included. An action plan outlining the proposed reintroduction methodology is currently in draft form and will be completed by September 2009. Initial releases of black-footed ferrets will take place in the fall of 2009.

Introduction

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement pour le putois d'Amérique (Mustela nigripes) au Canada

Loi sur les espèces en péril – Série des programmes de rétablissement, Programme de rétablissement pour le putois d’Amérique (Mustela nigripes) au Canada.

Loi sur les espèces en péril
Série des programmes de rétablissement

Putois d’Amérique

Juin 2009

La série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu’est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l'une des pierres d'assise de l'effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, à permettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Qu'est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d'une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l'espèce à l'état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l'état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu'est-ce qu'un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d'une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs des activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l'étape du plan d'action.

L'élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux - Environnement Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada - dans le cadre de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d'un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l'élaborer (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/approach/act/default_e.cfm).

Selon le statut de l'espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l'inscription de l'espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle-ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Et ensuite?

Dans la plupart des cas, un ou plusieurs plans d'action seront élaborés pour définir et guider la mise en oeuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les recommandations contenues dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour permettre la participation des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des conservationnistes à la mise en oeuvre du rétablissement. Le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin d'une espèce.

La série de Programmes de rétablissement

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s'ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites à la Liste des espèces en péril et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de conservation, veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril.


Programme de rétablissement pour le putois d'Amérique (Mustela nigripes) au Canada

Juin 2009

Citation recommandée

Tuckwell, J. et T. Everest. 2009. Programme de rétablissement pour le putois d'Amérique (Mustela nigripes) au Canada. Série des programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Agence Parcs Canada. Ottawa. viii + 41 pp.

Exemplaires supplémentaires

Il est possible de télécharger des exemplaires de la présente publication à partir du Registre public des espèces en péril.

Illustration de la couverture

The Calgary Zoological Society

Also available in English under the title “Recovery Strategy for the Black-footed Ferret (Mustela nigripes) in Canada”.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Environnement, 2009. Tous droits réservés.

Le contenu (à l'exception de l'illustration de la couverture) peut être utilisé sans permission, pourvu que la source soit dûment mentionnée.

Déclaration

En ratifiant l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril (1996), les gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et territoriaux ont convenu de collaborer à l'élaboration de lois, de programmes et de politiques en vue de protéger les espèces sauvages en péril à l'échelle du Canada. La Loi sur les espèces en péril (L.C. 2002, chap. 29) exige des ministres fédéraux compétents qu'ils préparent des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces inscrites à titre d'espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition et menacées.

Le ministre de l'Environnement a l'honneur de soumettre le présent document, qui renferme le programme de rétablissement du putois d'Amérique, conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Ce programme a été élaboré en collaboration avec les compétences responsables de l'espèce, qui sont décrites dans l'avant-propos. Le ministre invite les autres compétences et organismes qui participent au rétablissement de l'espèce à se servir du présent programme de rétablissement comme guide.

Les buts, approches et objectifs énoncés dans le programme sont fondés sur les meilleures connaissances actuelles et sont sujets à modification en raison de nouvelles découvertes ou d'une révision des objectifs.

Le présent programme de rétablissement sera complété par un ou plusieurs plans d'action qui renfermeront plus de détails sur les mesures à prendre pour favoriser la protection et le rétablissement de l'espèce. Pour que les mesures de rétablissement produisent les résultats voulus, il faut pouvoir compter sur l'engagement et la coopération d'un grand nombre d'intervenants qui participeront à la mise en oeuvre des mesures définies dans le programme. Dans l'esprit de l'Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, toute la population canadienne est invitée à accorder son appui et à participer à l'exécution du programme, qui profitera à l'espèce aussi bien qu'à la société canadienne dans son ensemble. Le ministre de l'Environnement rendra compte des progrès accomplis d'ici cinq ans.

Auteurs

Le présent programme de rétablissement a été préparé par Joanne Tuckwell, Agence Parcs Canada, Winnipeg (Manitoba), et Tian Everest, Calgary Zoological Society, Calgary (Alberta), en collaboration avec l'équipe de rétablissement du putois d'Amérique et du chien de prairie.

Remerciements

Le présent document est le fruit du dévouement et de l'engagement de nombreuses personnes et organisations d'Amérique du Nord. Les rédacteurs tiennent à remercier tout particulièrement les membres de l'équipe de rétablissement du putois d'Amérique et du chien de prairie pour leur précieuse collaboration à la préparation de ce programme.

Coprésidents:

Pat Fargey, Agence Parcs Canada
Joanne Tuckwell, Agence Parcs Canada

Membres:

Bill Bristol, Direction générale des services agroenvironnementaux, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada
Brad Dixon, propriétaire foncier
Tian Everest, Calgary Zoological Society
Maria Franke, Toronto Zoo
David Gummer, Agence Parcs Canada, anciennement du Royal Alberta Museum
Geoff Holroyd, Service canadien de la faune, Environnement Canada
Karson Legault, Municipalité rurale de Val Marie
Sue McAdam, Ministry of Environment, Saskatchewan
Robert Sissons, Agence Parcs Canada
Lorne Veitch, Saskatchewan Agriculture and Food

Membres associés:

Steve Forrest, Fonds mondial pour la nature - États-Unis
J. Michael Lockhart, anciennement du U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
Travis Livieri, Prairie Wildlife Research

Nous remercions tout spécialement les participants et les organisateurs de nos quatre principaux ateliers ainsi que les organismes qui les ont financés:

  • Towards a Management Strategy for Black-tailed Prairie Dogs and Black-footed Ferrets in Southwestern Saskatchewan (8 et 9 juin 2004, Val Marie, Saskatchewan)
  • International Black-footed Ferret Recovery Workshop (1 au 4 avril 2005, Calgary, Alberta)
  • Black-footed Ferret Recovery Strategy Workshop (8 au 10 septembre 2005, Val Marie, Saskatchewan)
  • Rencontre de l'équipe de rétablissement du putois d'Amérique et du chien de prairie (5 au 7 septembre 2007, Toronto, Ontario).

Les connaissances transmises par les participants à ces ateliers constituent le fondement de vastes portions du présent document. Steve Forrest, Travis Livieri (Prairie Wildlife Research), Rurik List (Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico), J. Michael Lockhart, Paul Marinari (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service) et Randy Matchett (U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service) ont fourni des renseignements précieux sur l'écologie du putois d'Amérique et sur les expériences de rétablissement de cette espèce aux États-Unis et au Mexique.

Pat Fargey et Shelley Pruss (Agence Parcs Canada) ont fourni des informations et des conseils utiles sur la planification du programme de rétablissement et les exigences relatives à la préparation du présent document. Axel Moehrenschlager (Calgary Zoological Society) a fourni une aide et des conseils précieux tout au long du processus de rédaction. Judy Toews (Agence Parcs Canada) a également participé à la rédaction du présent document. Le temps consacré au projet par les participants aux groupes de travail communautaires et les idées qu'ils ont partagées ont également été très appréciés.

Résumé de l'évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est réalisée pour tous les programmes de rétablissement établis en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril désignées aux termes de la LEP (2004). Le but de cette évaluation est de faire en sorte que les conséquences pour l'environnement des politiques, plans et programmes publics proposés soient prises en compte dès l'étape de leur élaboration, de manière à permettre une prise de décision éclairée.

Les programmes de rétablissement visent à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général, mais ils peuvent avoir des effets imprévus sur l'environnement. Les incidences environnementales, y compris les impacts sur les espèces non ciblées, ont été prises en compte pendant l'élaboration du programme. L'EES n'est pas un document séparé; elle est incorporée dans le programme de rétablissement aux sections section1.4.2, section1.7 et section2.7, et résumée ci-dessous.

Le présent programme de rétablissement profitera à l'environnement en réintroduisant le putois d'Amérique dans une zone qu'il occupait autrefois et en favorisant son rétablissement. Le programme aura également des effets positifs indirects. L'expansion éventuelle de l'aire de répartition du chien de prairie (espèce préoccupante) élargira l'habitat d'espèces comme la Chevêche des terriers et le renard véloce (espèces en voie de disparition) et augmentera le nombre de proies disponibles pour des espèces comme l'Aigle royal et la Buse rouilleuse (espèces préoccupantes). Le programme de rétablissement pourrait par contre présenter certains effets négatifs comme un risque accru de maladies, une réduction de certains habitats comme les communautés d'armoises, et la destruction de certaines communautés d'invertébrés. L'importance de ces effets reste inconnue; chacun d'eux sera examiné en détails à la section 1.7. Le taux de mortalité des chiens de prairie (espèce préoccupante) subira une hausse sensible à cause de la prédation directe du putois, et la Chevêche des terriers et le Tétras des armoises (espèces en voie de disparition) risquent également de souffrir de cette prédation. On considère toutefois que le putois n'a pas d'effet sur ces espèces, à l'échelle des populations, dans les régions des États-Unis où il se trouve (Rodger et al., 2004).

Pour atténuer les effets négatifs possibles sur les espèces en péril, il faudra collaborer régulièrement avec les équipes chargées du rétablissement de ces espèces et surveiller les activités et le régime alimentaire des putois ainsi que l'utilisation qu'ils font de l'habitat, et surveiller également l'évolution des autres espèces en péril dans l'aire de réintroduction. Les effets sur les autres espèces en péril seront évalués de près, et les stratégies de gestion des putois seront modifiées si des effets néfastes sont détectés. Les mesures d'atténuation qui visent les autres espèces associées sont examinées à la section 2.8. Les stratégies visant à contrer de possibles effets négatifs seront élaborées avant la mise en oeuvre des mesures de rétablissement et incluses dans le plan d'action pour putois d'Amérique.

Résidence

La LEP définit ainsi le terme "résidence": gîte - terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable - occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation [par. 2(1)].

Les descriptions de résidences et les motifs justifiant l'inapplicabilité du concept de résidence à une espèce donnée sont affichés dans le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Préface

Le présent programme porte sur le rétablissement du putois d'Amérique au Canada. Cette espèce se trouvait autrefois principalement dans le sud de la Saskatchewan, et pouvait également s'observer jusque dans le sud de l'Alberta.

L'Agence Parcs Canada a dirigé la préparation du présent programme de rétablissement avec les membres de l'équipe de rétablissement du putois d'Amérique et du chien de prairie. Le programme a été élaboré en collaboration avec les organismes provinciaux et fédéraux responsables de cette espèce et de son habitat (Saskatchewan Environment, Saskatchewan Agriculture and Food, Direction générale des services agroenvironnementaux d'Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et Service canadien de la faune), ainsi qu'avec le Toronto Zoo, la Calgary Zoological Society, le Royal Alberta Museum, le United States Fish and Wildlife Service, le Fonds mondial pour la nature et Prairie Wildlife Research.

Sommaire

Le putois d'Amérique (Mustela nigripes) est un membre de taille moyenne de la famille des mustélidés qui habite les écosystèmes de prairies où se trouvent des chiens de prairie (Cynomys spp.). Cette espèce qu'on pensait disparue a été réintroduite aux États-Unis, mais est toujours considérée comme disparue du Canada. Les données historiques donnent à penser que l'aire de répartition du putois d'Amérique comprenait autrefois le sud de la Saskatchewan et de l'Alberta. La réintroduction et le rétablissement de cette espèce au Canada contribueront aux efforts de conservation déployés à l'échelle de l'Amérique du Nord en créant une population viable à l'état sauvage à la limite septentrionale de l'aire de répartition.

Un programme d'élevage fructueux produit des putois d'Amérique aux fins des efforts de réintroduction aux États-Unis et au Mexique depuis 1991. Il produit suffisamment d'animaux pour participer également aux efforts de réintroduction canadiens. La Black-footed Ferret Recovery Implementation Team (BFFRIT), qui s'occupe du rétablissement du putois d'Amérique aux États-Unis sous la coordination du U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, utilisera ses connaissances et son expérience de la gestion du putois d'Amérique pour aider à la réintroduction de l'espèce au Canada. Des travaux approfondis d'analyse et de planification ont déjà été effectués en vue de cette réintroduction; ils seront décrits en détails dans un plan d'action qui suivra le programme de rétablissement. Cette réintroduction expérimentale sera gérée avec souplesse; elle fera l'objet de contrôles fréquents pour atténuer les effets négatifs et stimuler au besoin la croissance de la population par l'ajout de sujets supplémentaires. Les enseignements de la campagne canadienne de réintroduction seront utiles aux autres efforts de réintroduction de l'espèce sur l'ensemble de son ancienne aire de répartition internationale.

La peste sylvatique, les maladies naturelles (virus de la maladie de Carré et de la rage) et la prédation sont les principales menaces au rétablissement du putois. D'autres menaces comme l'empoisonnement des spermophiles de Richardson et des chiens de prairie (Cynomys ludovicianus), le changement climatique (sécheresses plus fréquentes) et la réduction de la diversité génétique risquent également de faire obstacle aux efforts de rétablissement.

Comme les colonies canadiennes de chiens de prairie ne couvrent qu'environ 1 000 hectares, les limites de l'habitat propice risquent de nuire considérablement aux efforts de rétablissement du putois. Le putois d'Amérique est extrêmement dépendant des chiens de prairie qui sont pour lui une proie et dont les terriers lui permettent de s'abriter, d'échapper à ses prédateurs et d'élever ses petits. Des efforts importants pourraient être nécessaires pour faire en sorte que l'habitat des chiens de prairie soit assez grand pour permettre d'atteindre l'objectif de rétablissement du putois.

Le rétablissement du putois d'Amérique est jugé faisable au Canada. L'objectif consiste à établir une population sauvage de l'espèce dont la probabilité de survie sur 20 ans atteindra au moins 80 % (probabilité d'extinction inférieure à 20 % sur 20 ans). Il n'est pas possible à l'heure actuelle de fixer des objectifs précis pour la taille de la population puisqu'on ignore toujours quelle pourra être la capacité de charge de l'aire de répartition canadienne. De nombreux facteurs seront évalués après les réintroductions initiales pour permettre une estimation des objectifs futurs en matière de population.

Le présent programme décrit les objectifs de rétablissement, les lacunes des connaissances, les mesures prises jusqu'à ce jour, les étapes précises à franchir pour atteindre les objectifs de rétablissement et les succès remportés jusqu'à maintenant.

Le présent document définit l'habitat essentiel du putois d'Amérique, dont les limites coïncident avec celles des colonies canadiennes de chiens de prairie telles que cartographiées en 2007. Il présente également une liste des activités qui risquent de détruire cet habitat ainsi qu'un calendrier des travaux prévus pour l'améliorer. Un plan d'action décrivant les méthodes envisagées existe déjà à l'état d'ébauche et sera achevé d'ici septembre 2009. Les premiers lâchers de putois d'Amérique seront effectués à l'automne 2009.

Introduction