Description of Residence for Burrowing owl (Athene cunicularia) in Canada

Section 33 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) prohibits damaging or destroying the residence of a listed threatened, endangered, or extirpated species. SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating” [s.2(1)].

The prohibition comes into effect in different ways depending on the jurisdiction responsible for the species.  Because the Burrowing Owl is not under pre-existing federal jurisdiction, the residence prohibition is only automatically in effect on federal lands on which the species occurs.  SARA also contains a provision to prohibit the destruction of non-federal species’ residences on provincial, territorial, and private lands by way of an Order by the Governor in Council (GIC), if the Minister of the Environment recommends it necessary to do so [s.34(2), 35(2)].  Unless such an Order is made, responsibility for this species remains with Provinces and Territories.

The following description of residence for the Burrowing Owl (Athene cunicularia) was created for the purposes of increasing public awareness and aiding enforcement of the above prohibition.  Burrowing Owls are known to have two different types of residences nest burrows and roost burrows.  There is some overlap between these two types of residences in that a nest burrow is also often used as a roost burrow, although roost burrows are not always used as nest burrows.

Species Information:

Common Name – Burrowing Owl

Scientific Name – Athene cunicularia

Current COSEWIC Status & Year of Designation – Endangered (1995)

Occurrence in Canada –Alberta and Saskatchewan (infrequent occurrences in British Columbia) (Fig. 1)

Rationale for Designation – In decline; still facing habitat loss and fragmentation, increased use of pesticides; increased predator populations. 

Burrowing Owl Range Map

Figure 1. Known current distribution of the Burrowing Owl in Canada.

 

1) The Nest Burrow

 Physical Appearance and Context 

Any place used as a nest by Burrowing Owls.  In Canada, Burrowing Owls nest underground, in the abandoned burrows of digging mammals such as badgers (Taxidea taxus), ground squirrels (Spermophilus spp.), prairie dogs (Cynomys ludovicianus), marmots (Marmota spp.) and occasionally foxes (Vulpes spp.) or coyotes (Canis latrans). Figure 2.  Typical Burrowing Owl nest burrow

Nest burrows are typically located on flat to gently rolling grasslands1 (usually grazed cattle pastures, but also roadside ditches, golf courses or other areas with lawn, and occasionally cultivated land) (Fig. 2).  Nests are usually surrounded by a high density of other burrows2,3 that serve as roosts for the adult male or for the young when they start to disperse from the nest.  Nest burrow tunnels are typically 1-5 m long (although they can be as much as 7 m in length (T.I. Wellicome, unpublished data)) with one or more turns, an enlarged cavity at the end of the tunnel that functions as the nest chamber, and a mound of soil at the entrance4.  The nest chamber is normally between 15 and 120 cm below ground (Fig. 3).  Owls modify and maintain the entrance to the burrow by scratching and digging, and line the tunnel and nest chamber with shredded livestock manure, grass tufts, or litter.  Nest burrows can often be recognized by the owl feces (‘whitewash’) and shredded manure that surrounds the entrance and mound.

The average clutch size is 9 eggs (ranging from 6-12 eggs)5 .  Eggs are smooth, white, and round to oval in shape, measuring approximately 32 mm x 26 mm.  Chicks are altricial (born featherless, blind, and helpless) and remain underground inside the nest for approximately 10-12 days after hatch, after which time they begin to occasionally emerge from the nest, walking short distances to nearby burrows or waiting for prey deliveries from parents.  After owlets are capable of sustained flight (approximately 5 weeks post-hatch), they wander from nest burrows to occupy roost burrows up to a few kilometres away from the nest, although some members of the brood may remain at their natal burrow for the entire summer6

Function

The nest burrow functions as a place for the eggs to be laid and incubated, providing shelter, appropriate conditions, and protection for the eggs and chicks until fledging.  The nest burrow also provides shelter and protection for the adults and storage space for vertebrate prey.  After fledging (mid-July – August), the function of the nest burrow changes to that of a roost – owls spend less time inside the nest chamber, but continue to use the burrow mound for roosting and the tunnel entrance as shelter from inclement weather and as protection from potential predators (see Roost Burrows below).

Damage and Destruction of the Residence

Burrowing Owls are most sensitive to disturbance that causes abandonment immediately prior to, or during, the early stages of egg-laying (late April – mid-May).  However, any activity that destroys the function of the nest burrow at any time would constitute damage or destruction of the residence.  Examples include, but are not limited to, physical destruction of the burrow (collapsing or filling all or part of the nest chamber or tunnel), blocking the burrow entrance or tunnel so that the owls cannot access the nest chamber, or disturbance nearby causing the burrow to collapse or causing owls to abandon their nest (such as blasting or heavy machinery movement nearby, or a constant, new disturbance after the pair has established occupancy).  Attempting to move the burrow system and brood would also damage or destroy a Burrowing Owl residence.

Period and Frequency of Occupancy

Burrowing Owls reside in Canada from April to October (approximately 180-200 days).  The same burrows are often re-used in subsequent breeding seasons, and can be re-occupied after a year of absence (i.e., can skip a year of occupancy).  Consequently, Burrowing Owl nest burrows should be considered residences, and therefore protected, year round.  Nest burrows should be considered a residence for two full years after the last known month of occupation (i.e. October).  If the exact date of last occupation is unknown, any burrow with signs indicating it had been used as a nest in the past (e.g., bones and other prey remains, evidence of manure, whitewash, pellets, or feathers) should receive a mandatory protection of one year from October of the year of discovery.

Man-made nest boxes have been installed for Burrowing Owls in Saskatchewan and British Columbia since the early 1980s.  If correctly installed, there is no outward difference in appearance (above ground) between a nest box burrow and a natural burrow.  With annual cleaning and maintenance, properly constructed nest box burrows7 provide for the same functions as natural burrows that are created by burrowing mammals.  Nest boxes can also be reoccupied in several successive years, or after a year or more of being unoccupied.  Therefore, nest boxes should receive the same mandatory protections as natural burrows:  two full years after the last known month of occupation (October).

2) The Roost Burrow

Physical Appearance and Context

Any burrow (or nest box) habitually used by Burrowing Owls as a roost.  Roost burrows have the same general characteristics as nest burrows (i.e., originally excavated by badgers, ground squirrels, prairie dogs, marmots, or foxes), and can be used as nest burrows in subsequent years, provided there is an adequate nesting chamber.  Like nest burrows, roosts typically have ‘whitewash’ and food pellets around their entrance and mound, but lack the characteristic accumulation of shredded livestock manure (Fig. 4).  Breeding males typically have one or two favoured roost sites (usually within 150 m of the nest burrow) that they habitually occupy while the female is laying, incubating, and rearing the brood at the nest.  After fledging, each young owl from a brood occupies an average of 5 different roost burrows prior to migration6,9

 

Function

The roost burrow is generally used for resting, as a storage place for prey, for protection from predators such as hawks, falcons, eagles, large owls, or coyotes, or for shelter from inclement weather, such as strong winds, heavy rain, or hot sun. 

Damage and Destruction of the Residence

Any activity that destroys the function of the roost at any time would constitute damage or destruction of the residence.  See examples above for nest burrows.

 Period and Frequency of Occupancy

Burrowing Owls are found in association with burrows at all times throughout the breeding and post-fledging season1,4,8, and typically re-use the same roost burrows for many days or weeks.  Since they are often used in close association with nests, and can be reused after being temporarily unoccupied, roosts should receive the same length of protection as nests: 2 full years after the last known month of occupation (October).

 Additional Information

For more information on the Burrowing Owl, go to: http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/search/speciesDetails_e.cfm?SpeciesID=20

For more information on SARA, go to: http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/default_e.cfm

 References

1Wellicome, T.I., and E. A. Haug. 1995. Second update of status report on the Burrowing Owl in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC), Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, Ottawa, ON. 

2Todd, M. W. and P. C. James. 1989. Habitat selection in Canadian Burrowing Owls. Abstract from Raptor Research Foundation Conference, Veracruz, Mexico.

3Plumpton, D. L., R. S. Lutz. 1993. Nesting habitat use by Burrowing Owls in Colorado. Journal of Raptor Research 27:175-179.

4Haug, E. A., B. A. Millsap, and M. S. Martell. 1993. Burrowing Owl (Speotyto cunicularia). In The Birds of North America, No. 61 (A. Poole and F. Gill, Eds.). Philadelphia: The academy of Natural Sciences; Washington, D.C.: The American Ornithologists’ Union.

5Wellicome, T. I. 2000. Effects of food on reproduction in Burrowing Owls during three stages of the breeding season.  Ph.D. Thesis, University of Alberta.

6Todd, L. D. 2001. Survival and dispersal of juvenile Burrowing Owls (Athene cunicularia) during the post-fledging, pre-migratory period.  M.Sc. Thesis, University of Regina.

7Poulin, R. G., T. I. Wellicome, R. Longmuir, and D. Scobie. 1998. Burrowing Owl Nest Box Construction and Installation Procedures.  Saskatchewan Environment & Resource Management, Fish & Wildlife Branch. 9 pp.

8Clayton, K. M. and J. K. Schmutz. 1999. Is the decline of Burrowing Owls Speotyto cunicularia in prairie Canada linked to changes in Great Plains ecosystems? Bird Conservation International 9:163-185.

9King, R. A. and J. R. Belthoff. 2001. Post-fledging dispersal of burrowing owls in southwestern Idaho: characterization of movements and use of satellite burrows. Condor 103:118-126.

Description de la résidence de la chevêche des terriers (Athene cunicularia) au Canada

L'article 33 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) interdit d'endommager ou de détruire la résidence d’une espèce inscrite comme menacée, en voie de disparition ou disparue du pays. La LEP définit la résidence comme suit : « Gîte – terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable – occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation » [paragr. 2(1)].

L'interdiction relative à la résidence prend effet de différentes façons, selon la compétence responsable de l’espèce. Comme la Chevêche des terriers ne relève pas d’une compétence fédérale déjà en place, l’interdiction ne s’applique automatiquement que sur le territoire domanial où se trouve l’espèce. La LEP renferme aussi une disposition interdisant la destruction des résidences des espèces ne relevant pas de la compétence fédérale et se trouvant sur les terres provinciales, territoriales et privées par décret du gouverneur en conseil si le ministre de l'Environnement le juge nécessaire [paragr. 34(2), 35(2)]. Tant qu’un tel décret n’est pas pris, la responsabilité de cette espèce demeure celle de la province ou du territoire.

La description ci-après de la résidence de la Chevêche des terriers (Athene cunicularia) a été produite afin d’accroître la sensibilisation publique et d’aider à l'application de l'interdiction mentionnée précédemment. On sait que les Chevêches de terriers ont deux types de résidence : les terriers servant à la nidification et les terriers destinés au repos. Les deux types peuvent se chevaucher, les terriers de nidification étant souvent utilisés également pour le repos, bien que les terriers de repos ne soient pas toujours utilisés à des fins de nidification.

Information sur l'espèce

Nom commun - Chevêche des terriers

Nom scientifique - Athene cunicularia

Statut COSEPAC actuel et année de désignation - En voie de disparition (1995)

Présence au Canada - Alberta et Saskatchewan (occurrences occasionnelles en Colombie-Britannique) (figure 1)

Justification de la désignation - En déclin; l’espèce fait toujours face à la perte et à la fragmentation de son habitat, à l'utilisation accrue de pesticides, ainsi qu’à des populations prédatrices plus nombreuses.

Figure 1. Aire de répartition connue actuelle de la Chevêche des terriers au Canada

Aire de répartition
Description longue de la figure 1

Autrefois, la Chevêche des terriers se reproduisait à partir de Winnipeg, au Manitoba, à l’est, jusqu’aux contreforts albertains des Rocheuses à l’ouest. On trouvait des populations disjointes dans les prairies de l’intérieur sud et dans le delta du fleuve Fraser de la Colombie-Britannique. Dans les Prairies, la Chevêche des terriers est maintenant confinée principalement au sud-est de l’Alberta et au sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan, et elle a disparu des régions de prairie-parc et de la prairie à fétuque du Nord. Au début des années 1980, la Chevêche des terriers était considérée comme disparue de la Colombie-Britannique (Howie, 1980) en tant qu’espèce reproductrice. Plusieurs essais de réintroduction ont été tentés au cours des années 1980 dans le secteur sud de la vallée de l’Okanagan et, depuis les années 1980 à aujourd’hui, dans la région Thompson-Nicola, en Colombie-Britannique. Bon nombre des chevêches nées en captivité se sont reproduites avec succès à l’état sauvage après avoir été relâchées à l’âge d’un an, et plusieurs sont revenues nicher après la migration au cours des années qui ont suivi leur mise en liberté. La population sauvage de la Colombie-Britannique n’est cependant pas encore autosuffisante (J. Surgenor, comm. pers., 2007). Au Manitoba, malgré une gestion intensive et des relocalisations effectuées entre la fin des années 1980 et le milieu des années 1990, la Chevêche des terriers est pratiquement disparue (De Smet, 1997). Toutefois, quelques individus et possiblement des couples nicheurs y sont encore observés certaines années, notamment en 2008, alors qu’un nombre record de 11 couples a été observé (K. De Smet, comm. pers., 2008).

1) Le terrier de nidification

Aspect physique et contexte

Tout endroit utilisé comme nid par les Chevêches des terriers. Au Canada, la Chevêche des terriers fait son nid sous terre, dans des terriers abandonnés par des mammifères fouisseurs, tels que les blaireaux d'Amérique (Taxidea taxus), les écureuils terrestres (Spermophilus spp.), les chiens de prairie (Cynomys ludovicianus), les marmottes (Marmota spp.) et parfois les renards (Vulpes spp.) ou les coyotes (Canis latrans).

Figure 2. Terrier de nidification typique de la Chevêche des terriers
Photo : R.G. Poulin

Figure 2. Terrier de nidification typique de la Chevêche des terriers. Photo : R.G. Poulin

Les terriers de nidification se trouvent habituellement dans des prairies herbeuses plates à légèrement vallonnées1 (habituellement des pâturages broutés, mais aussi des fossés le long des routes, des terrains de golf et autres endroits gazonnés et, parfois, des terres cultivées) (figure 2). Les nids sont normalement entourés d’un grand nombre d’autres terriers2,3 qui servent d'aires de repos au mâle adulte ou à l'oisillon lorsqu'il commence à quitter le nid. Les tunnels des terriers de nidification mesurent habituellement entre un et cinq mètres de long (bien qu'ils puissent atteindre jusqu’à sept mètres [T.I. Wellicome, données non publiées]), avec une ou plusieurs courbes et, au bout du tunnel, une cavité élargie servant de chambre de ponte, ainsi qu'un monticule de terre à l'entrée.4 La chambre de ponte se trouve habituellement à 15 - 120 cm sous terre (figure 3). Les Chevêches modifient et maintiennent l'entrée du terrier en grattant et en creusant la terre et tapissent les parois du tunnel et de la chambre de ponte avec des déjections de bétail déchiquetées, des touffes d'herbe ou autres déchets. On peut souvent repérer les terriers de nidification par la présence de matières fécales (fientes) des Chevêches et de fumier déchiqueté qui entourent l'entrée et le monticule.

Les pontes produisent en moyenne neuf œufs (généralement entre 6 à 12 oeufs)5. Les œufs sont ronds ou ovales, à coquille lisse et blanche, et mesurent environ 32 mm x 26 mm. Les oisillons sont nidicoles (naissant sans plumes, les yeux clos et totalement dépendants) et demeurent sous terre dans le nid pendant 10 à 12 jours après l’éclosion, avant de faire de brèves sorties sur de courtes distances jusqu'aux terriers avoisinants ou d’attendre le retour des parents nourriciers. Une fois capables de vol soutenu (environ cinq semaines après l'éclosion), les oisillons s'éloignent davantage des terriers de nidification pour occuper des terriers de repos situés à quelques kilomètres du nid, bien que certains membres de la couvée puissent rester dans le terrier natal tout l'été6.

Fonction

Le terrier de nidification est un lieu de ponte et d’incubation qui offre abri et protection, ainsi que des conditions propices, aux œufs et aux oisillons jusqu’à leur envol. Il offre également abri et protection aux adultes qui peuvent y entreposer leurs proies vertébrées. Après le départ des oisillons (de mi-juillet à août), le terrier de nidification devient un terrier de repos - les chevêches passent moins de temps à l'intérieur de la salle de ponte, mais elles continuent d’utiliser le monticule du terrier pour se percher et l'entrée du tunnel pour s’abriter des intempéries et se protéger contre les prédateurs éventuels (voir Terrier de repos ci-après).

Figure 3. Intérieur de la chambre de ponte d'un terrier typique de la Chevêche des terriers (vue plongeante).
Un terrier artificiel a été utilisé ici pour en faciliter la surveillance. La litière du nid est composée de fumier de bétails séché et déchiqueté.
Photo : R.G. Poulin

Figure 3. Intérieur de la chambre de ponte d'un terrier typique de la Chevêche des terriers (vue plongeante). Photo : R.G. Poulin

Endommagement et destruction de la résidence

Les Chevêches des terriers sont très sensibles aux perturbations qui provoquent l'abandon du nid immédiatement avant ou pendant les premières étapes de la ponte (de fin avril à mi-mai). Cependant, toute activité qui, à n’importe quel moment, aurait pour effet de détruire la fonction du terrier de nidification constituerait un acte d’endommagement ou de destruction de la résidence. Les exemples comprennent, entre autres, la destruction physique du terrier (effondrement ou remplissage, en totalité ou en partie, de la chambre ou du tunnel), le blocage de l'entrée ou du tunnel empêchant l’accès à la chambre de ponte, ou encore une perturbation à proximité provoquant l'effondrement du terrier ou l'abandon du nid (explosion ou utilisation de machines lourdes près des terriers ou nouvelle perturbation constante après occupation du terrier). Toute tentative de déplacer le réseau de terriers et les couvées constituerait également un acte d’endommagement ou de destruction de la résidence d'une Chevêche des terriers.

Période et fréquence d'occupation

La Chevêche des terriers réside au Canada d'avril à octobre (environ de 180 à 200 jours). Les mêmes terriers sont souvent réutilisés au cours des saisons de reproduction subséquentes et peuvent être réoccupés après une année d'absence (c.-à-d. en sautant une année d'occupation). En conséquence, les sites de nidification de la Chevêche des terriers devraient être considérés comme des résidences et donc protégés toute l’année. Les terriers de nidification devraient être considérés des résidences pendant deux années complètes après le dernier mois d'occupation connue (c.-à-d. octobre). Si la date exacte de la dernière occupation est inconnue, tout terrier présentant des signes d’occupation antérieure (restes d’ossements ou autres traces de proies, présence de fumier, de fientes, de boulettes de régurgitation ou de plumes) devrait obligatoirement être protégé pendant une année, à partir du mois d’octobre de l'année de sa découverte.

Des terriers artificiels ont été installés pour la Chevêche des terriers en Saskatchewan et en Colombie-Britannique depuis le début des années 1980. Installés comme il faut, ces terriers ne présentent aucune différence externe (au-dessus du sol) avec les terriers naturels. Avec un nettoyage et un entretien annuel, les terriers artificiels correctement construits7 offrent les mêmes fonctions que les terriers naturels créés par des animaux fouisseurs. Les terriers artificiels peuvent aussi être occupés pendant plusieurs années successives, ou après une ou plusieurs années d’abandon. Les terriers artificiels devraient donc recevoir les mêmes protections obligatoires que les terriers naturels : deux années complètes après le dernier mois d'occupation connue (octobre).

2) Le terrier de repos

Aspect physique et contexte

Tout terrier (naturel ou artificiel) habituellement utilisé par la Chevêche des terriers comme endroit de repos. Les terriers de repos ont les mêmes caractéristiques générales que les terriers de nidification (c.-à-d. excavés au départ par des blaireaux d'Amérique, des écureuils terrestres, des chiens de prairie, des marmottes ou des renards); ils peuvent être utilisés par la suite comme terriers de nidification, pour autant qu'ils disposent d’une chambre de ponte adéquate. Comme pour les terriers de nidification, on trouve autour de l’entrée et du monticule des terriers de repos des fientes, des boulettes de régurgitation, mais aucune accumulation caractéristique de fumier de bétail déchiqueté (figure 4). Les mâles reproducteurs ont d’habitude un ou deux sites de repos préférés (situés normalement dans un périmètre de 150 mètres du terrier de nidification) qu'ils occupent pendant que la femelle pond, incube et élève la couvée au nid. Une fois envolé du nid, chaque jeune Chevêche d'une couvée occupe en moyenne cinq différents terriers de repos avant la migration6,9.

Figure 4. Terrier de repos typique de la Chevêche des terriers

Figure 4. Terrier de repos typique de la Chevêche des terriers

Fonction

Le terrier de repos est généralement utilisé pour le repos, pour entreposer des proies, pour se protéger contre les prédateurs, tels que les éperviers, les faucons, les aigles, les gros strigidés ou les coyotes, ou pour se protéger des intempéries, telles que les vents forts, les averses ou le soleil brûlant.

Endommagement et destruction de la résidence

Toute activité qui, à n’importe quel moment, aurait pour effet de détruire la fonction du terrier de repos constituerait un acte d’endommagement ou de destruction de la résidence. Voir exemples dans la section des terriers de nidification.

Période et fréquence d'occupation

On trouve la Chevêche des terriers près des terriers pendant toute la saison de reproduction1,4,8 et après l’envol des oisillons, et les mêmes terriers de repos sont normalement réutilisés pendant des jours ou des semaines. Puisqu'ils sont souvent établis dans le voisinage des terriers de nidification, et qu'ils peuvent être réutilisés après une période temporaire de non occupation, les terriers de repos devraient recevoir la même durée de protection que les terriers de nidification, soit deux années complètes après le dernier mois d'occupation connue (octobre).

Renseignements supplémentaires

Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements sur la Chevêche des terriers

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la LEP

Bibliographie

1 Wellicome, T.I., et E.A. Haug. 1995. Second update of status report on the Burrowing Owl in Canada, Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC), Service canadien de la faune, Environnement Canada, Ottawa (Ontario).

2 Todd, M.W. et P.C. James.1989. Habitat selection in Canadian Burrowing Owl, Résumé de Raptor Research Foundation Conference, Veracruz, Mexique.

3 Plumpton, D.L., et R.S. Lutz. 1993. Nesting habitat use by Burrowing Owl in Colorado, Journal of Raptor Research, 27:175-179.

4 Haug, E.A., B.A. Millsap et M.S. Martell.1993. « Burrowing Owl (Speotyto cunicularia) », in The Birds of North America, numéro 61 (A. Poole and F. Gill, éd.), Philadelphia, The academy of Natural Sciences, Washington, DC, The American Ornithologists’ Union.

5 Wellicome, T.I. 2000. Effects of food on reproduction in Burrowing Owl during three stages of the breeding season, Thèse de doctorat, University of Alberta.

6 Todd, L.D. 2001. Survival and dispersal of juvenile Burrowing Owl (Athene cunicularia) during the post-fledging, pre-migratory period, Thèse de maîtrise, University of Regina.

7 Poulin, R.G., T.I. Wellicome, R. Longmuir et D. Scobie.1998.Burrowing Owl Nest Box Construction and Installation Procedures, Saskatchewan Environment & Resource Management, Fish & Wildlife Branch, 9 pages.

8 Clayton, K.M., et J.K. Schmutz. 1999.« Is the decline of Burrowing Owl Speotyto cunicularia in prairie Canada linked to changes in Great Plains ecosystems? », Bird Conservation International, 9:163-185.

9 King, R.A. et J.R. Belthoff. 2001.« Post-fledging dispersal of burrowing owls in southwestern Idaho: characterization of movements and use of satellite burrows », Condor ,103:118-126.