Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Whitefish

Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Whitefish (Coregonus huntsmani) in Canada

Atlantic Whitefish

poisson

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

 SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is “to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.”

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation,recoveryis the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened or extirpated species is arrested or reversed, and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species’ persistence in the wild. A species will be consideredrecoveredwhen its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk.  Sections 37–46 of SARA (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/the_act/default_e.cfm) spell out both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk.  Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What’s next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

 To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/)and the web site of the Recovery Secretariat    (http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/recovery/default_e.cfm).

Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Whitefish (Coregonus huntsmani)

in Canada

 [Proposed]

August 2006

Recommended citation:

Department of Fisheries and Oceans. 2006. Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Whitefish (Coregonus huntsmani) in Canada [Proposed]. Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Ottawa: Fisheries and Oceans Canada. 42 pp.

Additional copies:

You can download additional copies from the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/)

Cover illustration: Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Maritimes Region

Également disponible en français sous le titre

« Programme de rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique (Coregonus huntsmani) au Canada»

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, 2006. All rights reserved.

ISBN    To come

Cat. no.   To come

Content (excluding the cover illustration) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Declaration

This proposed recovery strategy for the Atlantic whitefish has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions described in the preface. Fisheries and Oceans Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the Atlantic whitefish as required by the Species at Risk Act.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Fisheries and Oceans Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the National Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans invites all Canadians to join Fisheries and Oceans Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the Atlantic whitefish and Canadian society as a whole. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will support implementation of this strategy to the extent possible, given available resources and its overall responsibility for species at risk conservation. The Minister will report on progress within five years.

This strategy will be complemented by one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species. The Minister will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians interested in or affected by these measures will be consulted.

Responsible Jurisdictions

Under the Species at Risk Act, the responsible jurisdiction for the Atlantic whitefish is Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Atlantic whitefish occur onlyin Nova Scotia, and its respective government also cooperated in the production of this recovery strategy.

Authors

This document was prepared based on advice from the Atlantic Whitefish Conservation and Recovery Team.

The Atlantic Whitefish Conservation and Recovery Team (AWCRT), hereafter referred to as ‘the Recovery Team’, was formed in the fall of 1999 in response to concerns regarding the survival of the Atlantic whitefish in Nova Scotia. Successful recovery is dependent on a transparent and inclusive approach that is acceptable to a variety of community interests; therefore the Recovery Team draws membership from all sectors that have an interest in protecting the species. The Recovery Team is thus comprised of tri-partite government members: the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO), Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources (NSDNR), and Nova Scotia Department of Agriculture and Fisheries (NSDAF), as well as their clients, industry, and stakeholders.

Meetings are held at least once a year. Members of the Recovery Team when this and the 2002 Recovery Strategy was developed are listed below. Key functions of the Recovery Team include:

  • advise DFO on the development of a recovery strategy and action plan;
  • coordinate Recovery Team member/organization involvement in recovery actions including environmental, biological, technical and social (educational and stewardship) program initiatives, and;
  • communicate recovery activities to others.

Membership:

Member OrganizationCurrent and past members
Bluenose Coastal Action FoundationCook, Brooke
Bridgewater – Public Service Commission

Feener, Larry

Fox, Mike

Canadian Association of Smallmouth AnglersWeare, Mark
Dalhousie University

Cook, Adam

Hasselman, Danc

DesBrisay MuseumSelig, Gary
DFO, Science - Diadromous Fish (Maritimes)

Bradford , Rod

Davison, Bev

Longard, David

Longue, Philip

Marshall, Larry (former co-chair)

O’Neil, Shane

O'Reilly, Patrick

Whitelaw, John

DFO, Fisheries Management (Maritimes)

Burton, Clifford

Manderville, Darin

Marshall, Ian (current chair)

Purdy, Jeff

Stevens, Greg

Sweeney, Anne

DFO, Species at Risk Coord. Office (Maritimes)

Barnes, Bob (former co-chair)

Cullen, Lynn

Loch , John (former acting co-chair)

McPherson, Arran

Querbach, Kirsten

Robichaud-LeBlanc, Kim

DFO, Oceans - Habitat Management (Maritimes)

Hamilton, Anita

Schaefer, Heidi

Wheaton, Thomas

DFO, Communications (Maritimes)

Myers, Carl

McKinnon, Chastity

DFO, Policy and Economics (Maritimes)Rudd, Murray
Environment CanadaDavidson, Kevin
Hebbville Village CommissionBarkhouse, Murray
Native Council of Nova ScotiaMartin, Tim
Nova Scotia Dept. of Agriculture and FisheriesLeBlanc, Jason
Nova Scotia Dept of Environment & Labour

Green, Bob

Helmer, Leif

Nova Scotia Dept. of Natural ResourcesElderkin, Mark
Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History

Gilhen, John (current co-chair)

Hebda, Andrew

Nova Scotia Power Corporation

Burgess, Carys

Meade, Ken

Petite Rivière Watershed Advisory Group

Bell, Doug

Brown, Wally

Bryant, David

South Shore Naturalists

Comolli, Jill

Smith, Judith

Tusket River Environmental Protection Assoc.

Dukeshire, Danny

Patten, Patrick

Acknowledgments

 This recovery strategy has been developed through the cooperative effort of the Atlantic Whitefish Conservation and Recovery Team (AWCRT).  In the development of such, this document draws heavily on a draft National recovery strategy prepared by Doug Rowland on behalf of the AWCRT in 2001. DFO is grateful to the Recovery Team and Mr. Rowland and the many individuals who provided information and advice contributing to the development of this document. We also thank Dave Longard of DFO Science and Stanley Johnston of DFO Oceans for preparing the maps in this document. Furthermore, Fisheries and Oceans Canada wishes to recognize the invaluable input provided by the broader interested public in the consultation process (see Appendix III for a record of consultations).

Strategic Environmental Assessment

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The recovery planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are incorporated directly in the strategy itself, but are also summarized below.

Amajor challenge facing the recovery of Atlantic whitefish is the lack of general knowledge about the species biology, its abundance and habitat requirements, as well as assessing the impact of identified threats and appropriate measures to mitigate these threats. However, this recovery strategy will benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the Atlantic whitefish. The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered as (re)-introduction of the species into watersheds other than the Tusket and Petite rivers could have ecological consequences.  Negative consequences to other recreational fisheries and/or species will be mitigated to the extent possible and socio-economic costs fully estimated in a subsequent Action Plan. Potential impacts are expected to be site-specific and strategies to address impacts will be developed in advance of taking recovery actions.

Residence

SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or

hibernating[SARA S2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted when available on the SARA public registry: http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_e.cfm

Preface

The Atlantic whitefish, although presently land-locked, is an anadromous fish by nature, and is under the jurisdiction of the federal government. The Species at Risk Act (SARA, Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species. The Atlantic whitefish was listed as endangered under SARA in June 2003.  Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Maritimes Region, led the development of this recovery strategy. The proposed strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39-41). It was developed in cooperation or consultation with (see Appendix III for full record of consultations), as appropriate:

  • Responsible Jurisdictions;
  • aboriginal groups;
  • environmental non-government groups;
  • industry stakeholders, and;
  • landowners.
Table of Contents

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du corégone de l'Atlantique

Programme de rétablissement du corégone de l'Atlantique (Coregonus huntsmani) au Canada

Corégone de l'Atlantique

poisson

La série de programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu’est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l’une des pierres d’assise de l’effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, à permettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Qu’est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d’une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l’espèce à l’état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l’état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu’est-ce qu’un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d’une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs des activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l’étape du plan d’action.

L’élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux -- Environnement Canada, l’Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada -- dans le cadre de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d’un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l’élaborer (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/the_act/).

Selon le statut de l’espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l’inscription de l’espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle-ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Et ensuite?

Dans la plupart des cas, un ou plusieurs plans d’action seront élaborés pour définir et guider la mise en oeuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les recommandations contenues dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour permettre la participation des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des conservationnistes à la mise en oeuvre du rétablissement. Le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin d’une espèce.

La série de programmes de rétablissement

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s’ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites à la Liste des espèces en péril et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca) et le site Web du Secrétariat du rétablissement (http://www.especesenperil.gc.ca/recovery/).

Programme de rétablissement du
corégone de l’Atlantique (Coregonus huntsmani)

au Canada (Projet)

août  2006 

Citation recommandée

Ministère des Pêches et des Océans. 2006. Programme de rétablissement du corégone de l'Atlantique (Coregonus huntsmani) au Canada (projet). Série de programmes de rétablissement en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Pêches et Océans Canada. Ottawa. 59 pages.

 Exemplaires additionnels :

Des exemplaires additionnels peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site web du Registre de la LEP (www.registrelep.gc.ca).

Illustration de la couverture :Pêches et Océans Canada, Région des Maritimes

Also available in English under the title

"Recovery Strategy for the Atlantic Whitefish (Coregonus huntsmani) in Canada [proposed]".

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, 2006. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN    To come

No de cat.   To come

Le contenu du présent document (sauf l'illustration de la couverture) peut être utilisé sans permission, à condition que la source en soit adéquatement mentionnée.

Déclaration

Le programme de rétablissement visant le corégone de l’Atlantique ici proposé a été élaboré en collaboration avec les compétences énumérées ci-dessous sous la rubrique « Avant-Propos ». Pêches et Océans Canada a examiné le document et l’a adopté comme programme de rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique conformément à la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Pour que le rétablissement de cette espèce soit couronné de succès, il faudra compter sur la détermination et la coopération des nombreux intervenants qui participeront à la mise en œuvre du présent programme, car ni Pêches et Océans Canada ni aucune autre compétence ne pourrait à lui seul y parvenir. Conformément à l’esprit de l’Accord pancanadien pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans invite tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes à unir leurs forces à celles du Ministère pour soutenir et appliquer le présent programme, qui profitera à la fois au corégone de l’Atlantique et à l’ensemble de la société canadienne. Pêches et Océans Canada s’efforcera d’appuyer la mise en œuvre du programme, en fonction de ses ressources et des diverses priorités en matière d’espèces en péril. Tous les cinq ans, le Ministre rendra compte des progrès réalisés.

Le présent programme sera complété par un ou plusieurs plans d’action qui exposeront en détail chacune des mesures de rétablissement devant être prises pour favoriser la conservation des espèces visées par le programme. Le Ministre fera le nécessaire pour que les Canadiens et Canadiennes intéressés ou touchés par ces mesures soient autant que possible consultés.

Compétences responsables

En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, la compétence responsable du corégone de l’Atlantique est Pêches et Océans Canada. Le corégone de l’Atlantique se trouve uniquement en Nouvelle-Écosse, et le gouvernement de cette province a également collaboré à la production du présent programme de rétablissement.

Auteurs

Le présent document a été préparé sur la recommandation de l’Équipe de conservation et de rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique.

L’Équipe de conservation et de rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique (ECRCA), ci‑après l’« Équipe de rétablissement », a été formée à l’automne 1999 pour répondre aux préoccupations concernant la survie des corégones de l’Atlantique en Nouvelle-Écosse. Le succès du rétablissement dépend d’une approche transparente et inclusive qui est acceptable pour une variété d’intérêts communautaires; par conséquent, les membres de l’Équipe de rétablissement proviennent de tous les secteurs ayant un intérêt pour la protection de l’espèce. Tripartite, l’Équipe de rétablissement est composée de membres provenant du ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO), du ministère des Richesses naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse (MRNNE) et du ministère de l’Agriculture et des Pêches de la Nouvelle-Écosse (MAPNE), de même que de leurs clients, de l’industrie et d’intervenants.

Des réunions sont tenues au moins une fois par année. Les membres de l’Équipe de rétablissement lors de l’élaboration du présent document et du programme de rétablissement de 2002 sont énumérés ci‑dessous. Parmi les fonctions clés de l’Équipe de rétablissement :

  • conseiller le MPO en ce qui concerne l’élaboration d’un programme de rétablissement et d’un plan d’action;
  • coordonner la participation des membres et des organisations de l’Équipe de rétablissement aux mesures de rétablissement, notamment aux initiatives environnementales, biologiques, techniques et sociales (sensibilisation et intendance);
  • communiquer les activités de rétablissement aux autres.

Membres

Organisation membreMembres actuels et passés
Bluenose Coastal Action FoundationCook, Brooke
Bridgewater – Public Service Commission

Feener, Larry

Fox, Mike

Association canadienne des pêcheurs à la ligne de l’achigan à petite boucheWeare, Mark
Université Dalhousie

Cook, Adam

Hasselman, Danc

DesBrisay MuseumSelig, Gary
MPO, Science -- poissons diadromes (Maritimes)

Bradford, Rod

Davison, Bev

Longard, David

Longue, Philip

Marshall, Larry (ancien coprésident)

O’Neil, Shane

O'Reilly, Patrick

Whitelaw, John

MPO, Gestion des pêches (Maritimes)

Burton, Clifford

Manderville, Darin

Marshall, Ian (président actuel)

Purdy, Jeff

Stevens, Greg

Sweeney, Anne

MPO, Bureau de coordination pour les espèces en péril (Maritimes)

Barnes, Bob (ancien coprésident)

Cullen, Lynn

Loch, John (ancien coprésident intérimaire)

McPherson, Arran

Querbach, Kirsten

Robichaud-LeBlanc, Kim

MPO, Océans -- Gestion de l’habitat (Maritimes)

Hamilton, Anita

Schaefer, Heidi

Wheaton, Thomas

MPO, Communications (Maritimes)

Myers, Carl

McKinnon, Chastity

MPO, Politiques et économique (Maritimes)Rudd, Murray
Environnement CanadaDavidson, Kevin
Hebbville Village CommissionBarkhouse, Murray
Native Council of Nova ScotiaMartin, Tim
Ministère de l’Agriculture et des Pêches de la Nouvelle-Écosse LeBlanc, Jason
Ministère de l’Environnement et du Travail de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Green, Bob

Helmer, Leif

Ministère des Richesses naturelles de la Nouvelle-ÉcosseElderkin, Mark
Musée d’histoire naturelle de la Nouvelle-Écosse

Gilhen, John (coprésident actuel)

Hebda, Andrew

Nova Scotia Power Corporation

Burgess, Carys

Meade, Ken

Groupe consultatif du bassin hydrographique de la Petite Rivière

Bell, Doug

Brown, Wally

Bryant, David

South Shore Naturalists

Comolli, Jill

Smith, Judith

Tusket River Environmental Protection Association

Dukeshire, Danny

Patten, Patrick

Remerciements

Le présent programme de rétablissement a été élaboré grâce aux efforts collectifs de l’Équipe de rétablissement. Ce document s’inspire considérablement de l’ébauche du programme national de rétablissement préparé par Doug Rowland au nom de l’Équipe de rétablissement en 2001. Le MPO remercie l’Équipe de rétablissement, M. Rowland et les nombreuses personnes qui ont fourni des renseignements et des conseils lors de l’élaboration du document. Nous remercions aussi Dave Longard, du MPO -- Sciences, et Stanley Johnston, du MPO -- Océans, qui ont préparé les cartes. De plus, le MPO souhaite reconnaître l’apport précieux fourni par le grand public lors du processus de consultation (voir l’annexe III pour un compte rendu des consultations).

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est réalisée pour tous les projets de rétablissement d’espèces en péril désignées aux termes de la LEP. Le but de cette évaluation est de garantir que les conséquences pour l’environnement des politiques, plans et programmes publics proposés seront prises en compte dès l’étape de leur élaboration, de manière à permettre une prise de décision éclairée.

Les programmes de rétablissement visent à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général, mais ils peuvent avoir des effets imprévus sur l’environnement. Le processus de planification du rétablissement, fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales, prend en compte directement tous les effets environnementaux et tout particulièrement l’impact possible sur des espèces non visées ou leur habitat. Les résultats de l’EES ont été intégrés au programme lui-même, mais ils sont également résumés ci-dessous.

Parmi les grands obstacles au rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique figurent le manque de connaissances générales sur la biologie, l’abondance et les besoins en matière d’habitat de l’espèce ainsi que l’évaluation des effets des menaces identifiées et des mesures d’atténuation de ces menaces. Toutefois, ce programme de rétablissement sera bénéfique pour l’environnement puisqu’il favorise le rétablissement du corégone de l’Atlantique. La probabilité que le programme cause par inadvertance des effets néfastes sur d’autres espèces a été étudiée, car la (ré)introduction de l’espèce dans des bassins hydrographiques autres que ceux de la rivière Tusket et de la Petite Rivière pourrait avoir des conséquences écologiques. Les conséquences négatives sur la pêche récréative et/ou d’autres espèces seront atténuées dans la mesure du possible, et les coûts socioéconomiques seront entièrement estimés dans un plan d’action ultérieur. Les impacts potentiels seront probablement propres à chaque site, et des stratégies visant à les contrer seront élaborées avant l’application de mesures de rétablissement.

Résidence

La LEP définit la résidence comme suit: Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable --occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage,l’alimentation ou l’hibernation [Paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence, ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s’applique pas à une espèce donnée, sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP:

http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/plans/residence_f.cfm.

Avant-propos

Le corégone de l’Atlantique, bien qu’il soit maintenant confiné aux eaux intérieures de la province, est un poisson de nature anadrome. Le gouvernement fédéral en est la compétence responsable. L’article 37 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) exige du ministre compétent qu’il prépare des programmes de rétablissement visant les espèces disparues, en voie de disparition ou menacées. Le corégone de l’Atlantique a été désigné « espèce en voie de disparition » aux termes de la LEP en juin 2003. La Région des Maritimes de Pêches et Océans Canada a dirigé l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement. Le programme ici proposé satisfait aux exigences de la LEP en termes de contenu et de processus (articles 39-41). Il a été élaboré en collaboration ou en consultation avec, le cas échéant (voir l’annexe III pour le compte rendu complet des consultations) :

  • les compétences responsables;
  • les groupes autochtones;
  • les groupes non gouvernementaux de l’environnement;
  • les intervenants de l’industrie;
  • les propriétaires fonciers.
Table des Matières