Emergency Order Summary – Greater Sage-Grouse

The purpose of the Emergency Order for the Protection of the Greater Sage-Grouse is to address the imminent threats to the survival and recovery of the Sage-Grouse to help stabilize the population and begin its recovery. The Government of Canada’s goal is to achieve the best protection for the Greater Sage-Grouse, while minimizing impacts on landowners and agricultural producers. The Emergency Order will come into force on February 18, 2014. The prohibitions contained in the Emergency Order only apply to habitat on federal and provincial crown lands in southeastern Alberta and southwestern Saskatchewan. Grazing will not be regulated by the Emergency Order. In areas where grazing can be modified to improve Greater Sage-Grouse habitat, the Government of Canada will provide incentives for voluntary stewardship measures through programs like the Habitat Stewardship Program for Species at Risk.

Prohibitions

The prohibitions apply on all relevant federal and provincial crown lands in south-eastern Alberta and south-western Saskatchewan. Schedule 1 of the Emergency Order contains a list of all the legal subdivisions where the Order applies (see Figure 1: Area where the Greater Sage-Grouse Emergency Order applies). To find out if your operations may be impacted by the Emergency Order, please refer to Schedule 1 of the Order, which can be found at the Canada Gazette. You can also contact Environment Canada by calling toll-free at 1-800-668-6767 or by e-mail at: Enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.

What is a legal subdivision?

A “legal subdivision” is a unit of land, described in the Dominion Land Survey System, that is ¼ of a quarter-section and has an area of approximately 16 ha or 400 m by 400 m.

A “quarter-section” is a unit of land, described in the Dominion Land Survey System, that has an area of approximately 64 ha or 800 m by 800 m.

Figure 1: Area where the Greater Sage-Grouse Emergency Order Applies

map

Long description for figure 1

Figure 1. Map describing where the Emergency Order for the Protection of the Greater Sage-Grouse applies in Canada. Federal and provincial crown lands, in Southeastern Alberta and Southwestern Saskatchewan, are subject to various prohibitions under the Order. The map legend indicates which prohibitions apply within each portion of the total area (1672 km²) covered by the Order. The map describes prohibitions that protect Sage-Grouse at all mating (or 'lekking') sites that have been used in any year between 2007 and 2012, which and also protect the nesting, brood-rearing, and wintering habitats that broadly surround those mating sites.

Top of Page

Nature of Prohibitions

Year-round, within the areas covered by the Emergency Order, it is prohibited:

  • To kill or move sagebrush, native grasses or native forbs (i.e. a type of herbaceous flowering plant)
    • This prohibition does not apply to lands that were already used for growing and harvesting non-native plants at any given time in 2011, 2012 or 2013, or in an area within 15 m of a road (reference: Paragraphs 3(1)(a)and (b) of the Order);
  • To construct or install new fencing, except when fencing is used to manage grazing animals and conforms with the “Standards for the design and construction of fences in Greater Sage-Grouse habitat”, as outlined in Schedule 2 of the Emergency Order (reference: Paragraph 3(1)(c) of the Order);

  • To construct or install new sources of chronic noise, for example by installing or constructing a structure that produces such noise or that houses a machine that produces such a noise, or to alter an existing structure or machine, or its use, in a way that results in the production of chronic noise.
    • Chronic noise is defined as a noise exceeding 45dB(A), lasting at least 60 minutes a day (total), and occurring at least 10 days in any given month. (reference: Paragraph 3(1)(d) of the Order);
  • To construct a new road or widen an existing one (reference: Paragraph 3(1)(e) of the Order);

  • To install or construct a new structure (not including a fence), machine or pole that exceeds 1.2 m in height, or to increase the height of an existing structure, machine or pole beyond 1.2 m in height.
    • Note that reconstructing, replacing or repairing a pole or structure (including a fence) that existed on the date of the coming into force of the Emergency Order is permitted, as long as it is replaced with a pole or structure whose dimensions do not exceed those of the existing pole or structure. It is also permitted to reconstruct, replace or repair a structure or machine whose dimensions and noise levels do not exceed those of the existing structure or machine that produces chronic noise (reference: Paragraph 3(1) (f) of the Order); and

Between April 1 and May 30, during the period from 1.5 hours before sunset until 1.5 hours after sunrise:

  • It is prohibited to operate a facility, vehicle or machine so that it produces noise exceeding 45dB(A) within 3.2 km of leks (Greater Sage-Grouse mating sites) (reference: Paragraph 4(1)of the Order).
    • This prohibition does not apply to a person who is driving a motor vehicle to or from a residential building, to or from an area where they conduct an agricultural operation or to visit a person conducting an agricultural operation.

The above prohibitions in the Emergency Order do not apply inside or within 100 m of:

  1. a residential building that exists on the date of the coming into force of the Order;
  2. a building that is used for the purposes of an agricultural operation if it exists on the date of the coming into force of the Order;
  3. a shelter that is used for the purposes of an agricultural operation if it remains at the same place where it was located on the date of the coming into force of the Order; or
  4. a structure or machine that is used to feed, handle, treat or provide water to grazing animals if it is used at that same place where it was used before the coming into force of the Order.

Why are the Greater Sage-Grouse at risk in Canada?

Greater Sage-Grouse are listed as endangered under the federal Species at Risk Act (SARA). The Greater Sage-grouse now occupy only about seven percent of their historic range in Canada. Populations in Canada are threatened by a number of factors, such as habitat loss and degradation, habitat fragmentation, inclement weather, predation and disease. Habitat changes that reduce the amount or degrade the quality of sagebrush vegetation will have negative consequences for the Greater Sage-Grouse.

Sage-Grouse can survive and reproduce well in sagebrush grassland habitats along with livestock production.

What you can do

  • Restrict noisy activities to daylight hours during mating season (April 1 to May 30 each year);
  • Ensure your fencing minimizes impacts to Greater Sage-Grouse by following the fence design standards set out in Schedule 2 of the Emergency Order;
  • Maintain native grasslands, sagebrush and native forbs on your property;
  • Adopt grazing practices that are beneficial to Sage-Grouse;
  • Avoid approaching and disturbing leks in April and May;
  • Avoid building or installing tall vertical structures in Greater Sage-Grouse habitat, which can act as lookouts for predators of the Greater Sage-Grouse;
  • Take measures to eliminate areas where standing water can accumulate, to reduce risks of West Nile virus propagation;
  • Avoid planting trees within Sage-Grouse habitat, especially on or near leks.

What happens if I do not comply with the emergency Order?

The Government of Canada will work with stakeholders to assist them in understanding the Order, how it affects them and what they need to do to comply. Environment Canada will be directly contacting affected stakeholders, hosting community meetings and posting questions and answers regarding the Order on the Species at Risk Public Registry. Stakeholders will also be able to contact Environment Canada directly with any questions they may have.

In the event of a contravention of the Emergency Order, the Species at Risk Act (SARA) provides for penalties, including liability for costs, fines, or in some cases, imprisonment or alternative measures. SARA also provides for inspections, search and seizure operations by enforcement officers designated under SARA.

Under the penalty provision of the Act, a corporation found guilty of an offence punishable on summary conviction is liable to a fine of not more than $300,000, a non-profit corporation is liable to a fine of not more than $50,000, and any other person is liable to a fine of not more than $50,000, or to imprisonment for a term of not more than one year, or to both. A corporation found guilty of an indictable offence is liable to a fine of not more than $1,000,000, a non-profit corporation to a fine of not more than $250,000, and any other person to a fine not more than $250,000 or to imprisonment for a term of not more than five years, or to both.

The Emergency Order will be complemented by support for voluntary actions to protect and conserve Greater Sage-Grouse.  The Government of Canada will continue to provide incentives for voluntary stewardship measures through programs like the Habitat Stewardship Program for Species at Risk.

For more information

To get a copy of the entire Emergency Order (including Schedules 1 & 2), please visit the Canada Gazette, Part II.

For more information on the Greater Sage-Grouse, please see the species fact sheet attached (The Greater Sage-Grouse. August 2013. ISBN: 978-1-100-22289-9) or visit the Species at Risk Public Registry.

You can contact Environment Canada with any questions with regards to the Emergency Order by calling toll free at 1-800-668-6767 or by e-mail at: enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.

Résumé du Décret d’urgence visant la protection du Tétras des armoises

L'objectif du Décret d'urgence visant la protection du Tétras des armoises émis en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) consiste à répondre aux menaces imminentes qui pèsent sur la survie et le rétablissement du Tétras des armoises pour aider à stabiliser la population et commencer son rétablissement. Le but du gouvernement du Canada est d'obtenir la meilleure protection pour le Tétras des armoises tout en réduisant au minimum les répercussions sur les propriétaires fonciers et les producteurs agricoles. Le décret d’urgence entrera en vigueur le 18 février 2014. Les interdictions énoncées dans le décret d’urgence ne s’appliquent qu’à l’habitat du Tétras des armoises situé sur des terres publiques fédérales et provinciales du sud-est de l’Alberta et du sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan. Le pâturage ne sera pas visé par le décret d’urgence. Dans les secteurs où le pâturage peut être modifié de sorte à améliorer l’habitat du Tétras des armoises, le gouvernement du Canada offrira, par le biais de divers programmes, notamment le Programme d’intendance de l’habitat pour les espèces en péril, de solides incitatifs pour la prise de mesures d’intendance volontaires.

Interdictions

Les interdictions s’appliquent sur certaines terres publiques fédérales et provinciales du sud-est de l’Alberta et du sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan. L’annexe 1 du décret d’urgence dresse une liste de toutes les subdivisions légales où le décret s’applique (consulter la Figure 1. Aire géographique où s’applique le décret d’urgence visant le Tétras des armoises). Pour savoir si vos activités pourraient être affectées par le décret d’urgence, veuillez consulter l’annexe 1 du décret, qui est disponible dans la Gazette du Canada. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec Environnement Canada, par téléphone, en composant le numéro sans frais 1-800-668-6767, ou par courriel, à Enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.

Qu’est-ce qu’une subdivision légale?

Une « subdivision légale » est une unité de territoire décrite dans le système d'arpentage des terres du Canada, qui représente un quart d'un quart de section et a une superficie d'environ 16 hectares, ou 400 mètres par 400 mètres.

Un « quart de section » est une unité de territoire décrite dans le système d’arpentage des terres du Canada ayant une superficie d’environ 64 hectares, ou 800 mètres par 800 mètres.

Figure 1. Aire géographique où s’applique le décret d’urgence visant la protection du Tétras des armoises.

carte

Description longue pour la figure 1

Figure 1. Carte décrivant la zone touchée par le Décret d’urgence visant la protection du Tétras des armoises. Des interdictions variées stipulées dans le décret d'urgence s'appliquent sur des terres domaniales provinciales et fédérales dans le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan et dans le sud-est de l'Alberta. La légende de la carte indique interdictions qui s’appliquent au sein de chaque portion de la zone totale (1672 km²) touchées par le Décret. La carte décrit les interdictions qui protègent toutes les arènes de reproduction du Tétras des armoises qui ont été utilisées lors d’au moins une année entre 2007 et 2012 et qui protègent également la nidification, l'élevage de la couvée et l'hivernage qui entourent largement les arènes de nidification.

Haut de la page

Nature des interdictions

Le décret d'urgence contient les interdictions suivantes, qui s'appliquent toute l'année :

  • Détruire ou déplacer des plantes d’armoise, des graminées indigènes et des herbacées non graminoïdes indigènes (c.-à-d. un type de plantes herbacées à fleurs).
    • Cette interdiction ne s’applique pas dans des zones qui étaient utilisées pour la culture et la récolte de plantes non indigènes à un moment donné en 2011, 2012 ou 2013, ou dans une zone de 15 mètres en bordure d’une route (alinéas 3(1)a) et b) du décret);
  • Construire ou installer de nouvelles clôtures, sauf si celles-ci servent à gérer les animaux qui broutent et qu’elles respectent les normes énoncées à l’annexe 2 pour la conception et la construction de clôtures dans l’habitat du Tétras des armoises (alinéa 3(1)c) du décret).
  • Construire ou installer de nouvelles sources de bruit chronique, par exemple construire ou installer une structure produisant un bruit chronique ou destinée à héberger une machine produisant un bruit chronique, ou modifier une structure ou une machine existante, ou son utilisation, d'une façon qui entraîne la production de ce type de bruit chronique.
    • Le bruit chronique s’entend de sons de plus de 45 décibels (A) pendant au moins 60 minutes par jour (au total), au moins 10 jours par mois (alinéa 3(1)d) du décret).
  • Construire une nouvelle route ou élargir une route existante (alinéa 3(1)e) du décret).
  • Installer ou construire un nouveau poteau, structure (à l’exception d’une clôture) ou machine de plus de 1,2 mètre de hauteur, ou augmenter la hauteur des structures, machines ou poteaux existants au-delà de 1,2 mètre.
    • La reconstruction, le remplacement ou la réparation d'un poteau ou d'une structure (incluant une clôture) qui existait au moment de l'entrée en vigueur du décret d’urgence sera permis, à condition de les remplacer par des éléments dont les dimensions n'excèdent pas celles de l'élément existant. Il est également permis de reconstruire, de remplacer ou de réparer une structure ou une machine dont les dimensions et les niveaux de bruit ne dépassent pas celles de la structure ou de la machine existante qui produit un bruit chronique (alinéa 3(1)f) du décret).

Du 1er avril au 30 mai, pendant la période allant d’une heure et demie avant le coucher du soleil jusqu'à une heure et demie après le lever du soleil :

  • Il est interdit d’exploiter une installation, un véhicule ou une machine produisant un niveau de bruit d’une intensité supérieure à 45 décibels(A) dans un rayon de 3,2 kilomètres d’un lek (arènes de reproduction du Tétras des armoises) (paragraphe 4(1) du décret).
    • L'interdiction ne s'applique pas à une personne qui fait fonctionner un véhicule à moteur en direction ou en provenance d'un bâtiment d'habitation, en direction ou en provenance d'un lieu où elle exerce des activités agricoles ou pour visiter une personne qui exerce des activités agricoles.

Les interdictions dans le décret d’urgence ne s'appliquent pas à l'intérieur ou dans un rayon de 100 mètres des installations suivantes :

  1. un bâtiment d'habitation existant à la date d’entrée en vigueur du décret;
  2. un bâtiment utilisé pour une activité agricole qui existait à la date d’entrée en vigueur du décret;
  3. un abri utilisé pour une activité agricole, s’il demeure au même endroit que celui où il se trouvait à la date d’entrée en vigueur du décret;
  4. une machine ou un ouvrage utilisés pour l'alimentation, la manipulation, le traitement ou l'approvisionnement en eau des animaux qui broutent s’ils sont utilisés au même endroit que celui où ils étaient utilisés avant la date d’entrée en vigueur du décret.

Pourquoi le Tétras des armoises est-il en péril au canada?

Le Tétras des armoises est un oiseau qui figure sur la liste fédérale des espèces en voie de disparition de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Aujourd’hui, il n’occupe plus que 7 % de son aire de répartition historique au Canada. Les populations canadiennes se trouvent menacées par plusieurs facteurs, notamment la perte, la dégradation et la fragmentation de leur habitat, les intempéries, la prédation et les maladies. Les modifications de l’habitat qui réduisent la quantité ou diminuent la qualité des peuplements d’armoises auront des conséquences négatives pour le Tétras des armoises. Cet oiseau peut survivre et se reproduire dans un habitat constitué de prairies d’armoises et il peut cohabiter avec des animaux d’élevage.

 

Ce que vous pouvez faire

  • Restreindre les activités bruyantes aux heures de clarté durant la saison de la reproduction (du 1er avril au 30 mai chaque année).
  • Veiller à ce que vos clôtures aient le minimum d’impacts sur le Tétras des armoises en suivant les normes de conception des clôtures énoncées à l’annexe 2 du décret d’urgence.
  • Laisser la prairie indigène, les plantes d’armoises et les plantes herbacées non graminoïdes indigènes pousser sur votre propriété.
  • Adopter des pratiques de pâturage qui sont bénéfiques pour le Tétras des armoises.
  • Éviter de vous approcher des leks et de les perturber en avril et mai.
  • Éviter de construire ou d’installer de hautes structures dans l’habitat du Tétras des armoises car elles peuvent servir de postes de guet à ses prédateurs.
  • Prendre des mesures pour éliminer les endroits où peut s’accumuler de l’eau stagnante afin de réduire le risque de propagation du virus du Nil occidental.
  • Éviter de planter des arbres dans l’habitat du Tétras des armoises, en particulier dans les leks ou à proximité.

Qu’arrivera-ti-il si vous ne respectez pas le décret d’urgence?

Le gouvernement du Canada collaborera avec les intervenants pour les aider à comprendre le décret, comment il les affecte et ce qu'ils doivent faire pour s’y conformer. Environnement Canada sera en contact direct avec les intervenants concernées, organisera des réunions communautaires et publiera des questions et réponses concernant le décret dans le Registre public des espèces en péril. Les intervenants seront également en mesure de communiquer avec Environnement Canada directement pour obtenir des réponses à toutes leurs questions.

En cas d’infraction au décret d’urgence, la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) prévoit des peines, y compris la responsabilité pour frais, des amendes ou, dans certains cas, l’emprisonnement ou des mesures de rechange. La LEP prévoit aussi des visites, ainsi que des opérations de fouille et de saisie, par des agents de l’autorité désignés en vertu de la LEP.

En vertu de la disposition de la Loi touchant les peines, une personne morale autre qu’une personne morale sans but lucratif reconnue coupable d’une infraction punissable par procédure sommaire est passible d’une amende maximale de 300 000 $; une personne morale sans but lucratif, d’une amende maximale de 50 000 $; et une personne physique, d’une amende maximale de 50 000 $ et d’un emprisonnement maximum d’un an, ou de l’une de ces peines. Une personne morale autre qu’une personne morale sans but lucratif reconnue coupable d’une infraction punissable par mise en accusation est passible d’une amende maximale de 1 000 000 $; une personne morale sans but lucratif, d’une amende maximale de 250 000 $; et une personne physique, d’une amende maximale de 250 000 $ et d’un emprisonnement maximum de cinq ans, ou de l’une de ces peines.

Un soutien à des actions volontaires pour protéger et conserver le Tétras des armoises accompagnera aussi le décret d’urgence. Le gouvernement du Canada continuera de fournir des incitatifs pour des mesures volontaires d'intendance grâce à des programmes tels que le Programme d'intendance de l'habitat pour les espèces en péril.

Pour plus d’information

Pour obtenir une copie du décret d’urgence (y compris les annexes 1 et 2), veuillez consulter la Gazertte du Canada, Partie II.

Pour un complément d’information sur le Tétras des armoises, veuillez consulter la fiche d’information (Le Tétras des armoises, août 2013, ISBN: 978-1-100-22289-9) ou le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet du décret d’urgence, vous pouvez communiquer avec Environnement Canada, par téléphone, en composant le numéro sans frais 1-800-668-6767, ou par courriel, à Enviroinfo@ec.gc.ca.