Frequently Asked Questions - Emergency Order for the Protection of the Western Chorus Frog (Great Lakes / St. Lawrence - Canadian Shield Population)

The Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) below are meant to provide Canadians and businesses with basic information about the Emergency Order for the Protection of the Western Chorus Frog (Great Lakes / St. Lawrence - Canadian Shield Population).

Note:
(a) A “metapopulation” is a term used to refer to a group of populations of a species that are connected together by migration.

  1. What is the purpose of these regulations?

  2. What are the key elements of these regulations?

  3. How do these regulations affect Canadian businesses?

  4. What is the timeline for implementation?

  5. Where can I get more information?

1. What is the purpose of these regulations?

The purpose of the Emergency Order for the Protection of the Western Chorus Frog (Great Lakes / St. Lawrence - Canadian Shield Population) hereafter referred to as “the Order”, is to provide protection for the La Prairie metapopulation of the Western Chorus Frog (GLSLCS), following the conclusion that the species faces an imminent threat to its recovery, including by protecting the habitat identified in the Order to stabilize the population and help its recovery.  The recovery strategy for this species as well as additional information is available on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

The Minister of the Environment makes a recommendation to the Governor in Council to issue an Emergency Order under section 80 of the Species at Risk Act when he or she is of the opinion that the species faces an imminent threat to its survival or recovery. An Emergency Order can protect a listed wildlife species on both federal and non-federal lands.

2. What are the key elements of these regulations?

The Emergency Order identifies habitat that is necessary for the recovery of the Western Chorus Frog (GLSLCS). The area covered by the Order is approximately 2 square kilometers of partially developed land in the municipalities of La Prairie, Candiac and St-Philippe (located outside of Montreal, Quebec) approximately half of which is currently a conservation park.

The Emergency Order also contains year-round prohibitions that apply to this area. Under the Emergency Order, it is prohibited to:

  1. remove, compact or plow the soil;
  2. remove, prune, damage, destroy or introduce any vegetation, such as a tree, shrub or plant;
  3. drain or flood the ground;
  4. alter surface water in any manner, including by altering its flow rate, its volume or the direction of its flow;
  5. install or construct, or perform any maintenance work on, any infrastructure;
  6. operate a motor vehicle, an all-terrain vehicle or a snowmobile anywhere other than on a road or paved path;
  7. install or construct any structure or barrier that impedes the circulation, dispersal or migration of the Western Chorus Frog;
  8. deposit, discharge, dump or immerse any material or substance, including snow, gravel, sand, soil, construction material, greywater or swimming pool water; and
  9. use or apply a pest control product as defined in section 2 of the Pest Control Products Act or a fertilizer as defined in section 2 of the Fertilizers Act.

Activities related to public safety and health that are authorized under provincial law are exempted from the Order.

3. How do these regulations affect Canadian businesses?

The Government of Canada’s goal is to achieve the best protection for the Western Chorus Frog (GLSLCS), while minimizing impacts on the developers, builders and private land owners in the area.

Of the prohibited activities within the geographic scope of the Order, the prohibitions concerning altering the state of the land, vegetation and surface water hydrology (prohibitions a), b) and d)), and the installation /maintenance of infrastructure (prohibition e) may have the most impact on Canadian businesses. Specifically, the Order would prevent development of residential units in phases 5 and 6 of the Symbiocité residental project in La Prairie, while allowing phases 1 through 4 of the residential development to be completed. The geographic scope of the Order does not include the sites identified for the future construction of community infrastructure, such as the arena and the school.

It is also anticipated that utility companies would need to apply for SARA permits to conduct maintenance of infrastructure in the area covered by the Order or to construct new infrastructure. Businesses would also need to take into account the prohibition on the modification of surface-water hydrology (prohibition d)) if undertaking any development activities close to the area covered by the Order.

4. What is the timeline for implementation?

The Emergency Order for the Protection of the Western Chorus Frog (Great Lakes / St. Lawrence - Canadian Shield Population) made under the authority of the Species at Risk Act, will come into force on July 8, 2016.

5. Where can I get more information?

For more information on the Emergency Order for the Protection of the Western Chorus Frog (Great Lakes / St. Lawrence - Canadian Shield Population) please visit the Emergency Order Summary: Western Chorus Frog (GLSLCS).

You can also contact Environment and Climate Change Canada’s Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS) at ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca or toll free at 1-800-668-6767. For more information or inquiries, please contact the CWS Quebec Regional Office or the CWS headquarters in Gatineau, QC in writing at the addresses below:

Quebec Region
Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment and Climate Change Canada
801-1550, avenue D'Estimauville
Québec, QC
G1J 0C3

Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment and Climate Change Canada
351 Saint-Joseph Boulevard
Gatineau, QC
K1A 0H3

This document is intended to provide contextual information on the Emergency Order for the Protection of the Western Chorus Frog (Great Lakes / St. Lawrence - Canadian Shield Population). It does not replace the Species at Risk Act or the Emergency Order for the Protection of the Western Chorus Frog (Great Lakes / St. Lawrence - Canadian Shield Population). In the event of any inconsistencies, the Species at Risk Act and the Emergency Order for the Protection of the Western Chorus Frog (Great Lakes / St. Lawrence - Canadian Shield Population) shall prevail.

For more information

To learn about upcoming or ongoing consultations on proposed federal regulations, visit the Canada Gazette and Consulting with Canadians websites.

Foire aux questions  – Décret d’urgence visant la protection de la rainette faux-grillon de l’ouest (population des Grands Lacs / Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien)

La Foire aux questions  vise à fournir aux Canadiens et aux entreprises des renseignements de base sur le Décret d’urgence visant la protection de la rainette faux-grillon de l’ouest (population des Grands Lacs / Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien).

Remarque :
(a) Une « métapopulation » est un terme utilisé pour désigner un regroupement de populations d'une espèce qui peuvent être reliées entre elles par la migration d’individus

  1. Quel est le but de ce règlement?

  2. Quels sont les éléments clé de ce règlement?

  3. Comment ce règlement affectera-t-il les entreprises canadiennes?

  4. Quel est le calendrier de mise en œuvre?

  5. Où puis-je obtenir d’autres renseignements?

1. Quel est le but de ce règlement?

Le Décret d’urgence visant la protection de la rainette faux grillon de l’ouest (population des Grands Lacs / Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien), ci-après appelé « le décret », vise à assurer la protection de la métapopulation de La Prairie de la rainette faux-grillon de l’ouest (GLSLBC), compte tenu de la conclusion que l’espèce fait face à une menace imminente pour son rétablissement, notamment en protégeant l’habitat désigné dans le décret, afin de stabiliser la population et de soutenir son rétablissement. Le programme de rétablissement ainsi que des informations supplémentaires sur cette espèce, peuvent être consultés à partir du Registre public des espèces en péril.

Conformément à l’article 80 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, le ou la ministre est tenue de recommander au gouverneur en conseil de prendre un décret d’urgence si il ou elle estime qu’une espèce sauvage désignée en péril est exposée à des menaces imminentes à sa survie ou à son rétablissement. Un décret d’urgence peut protéger une espèce sauvage inscrite tant sur le territoire domanial que sur le territoire non domanial.

2. Quels sont les éléments clé de ce règlement?

Le décret d’urgence désigne l’habitat nécessaire au rétablissement de la rainette faux-grillon de l’ouest (GLSLBC). La zone à laquelle le décret s’applique correspond à environ 2 kilomètres carrés de terres partiellement aménagées dans les municipalités de La Prairie, Candiac et St-Philippe (situées à la périphérie de Montréal, Québec) dont près de la moitié est actuellement un parc de conservation.

Le décret comprend un certain nombre d’interdictions applicables toute l’année à cette zone. Aux termes du décret d’urgence, il est interdit :

  1. de retirer, de tasser ou de labourer la terre;
  2. d’enlever, de tailler, d’endommager, de détruire, ou d’introduire toute végétation, notamment des arbres, des arbustes ou des plantes;
  3. de drainer ou, d’ennoyer, le sol; 
  4. d’altérer de quelque autre façon que ce soit les eaux de surface, notamment de modifier leur débit, leur volume ou le sens de leur écoulement, ou d’altérer de quelque autre façon que ce soit les eaux de surface
  5. d’installer ou de construire une infrastructure, ou de procéder à toute forme d’entretien d’une infrastructure;
  6. de circuler avec un véhicule routier, un véhicule tout-terrain ou une motoneige ailleurs que sur la route ou les sentiers pavés;
  7. d’installer ou de construire des ouvrages ou des barrières qui font obstacle à la circulation, à la dispersion ou à la migration de la rainette faux-grillon de l’Ouest;
  8. de verser, de rejeter, de déposer ou d’immerger toute matière ou substance, notamment de la neige, du gravier, du sable, de la terre, des matériaux de construction, des eaux grises ou des eaux de piscines; et
  9. d’utiliser ou d’épandre tout engrais au sens de l’article 2 de la Loi sur les engrais, ou tout produit antiparasitaire au sens de l’article 2 de la Loi sur les produits antiparasitaires.

Les activités liées associées à la santé ou à la sécurité publique qui sont autorisées par les lois provinciales sont exemptées du présent décret d’urgence.

3. Comment ce règlement affectera-t-il les entreprises canadiennes?

Le but du gouvernement du Canada est d’offrir la meilleure protection à la rainette faux-grillon de l’ouest (GLSLBC), tout en réduisant au minimum les répercussions sur les promoteurs, les constructeurs et les propriétaires fonciers privés dans la région.

Parmi les activités interdites dans la portée du décret d’urgence, celles concernant la modification du sol, de la végétation et de l'hydrologie des eaux de surface (interdictions a), b) and d)), et celle concernant l’installation ou la construction de toute infrastructure (interdiction e)) pourraient avoir le plus grand impact sur les entreprises canadiennes. Plus précisément, le décret d’urgence empêcherait la construction des unités résidentielles des phases 5 et 6 du projet résidentiel Symbiocité à La Prairie; les phases 1 à 4 pourraient cependant être achevées. La portée géographique du décret d’urgence ne s’étend pas aux sites prévus pour la construction d’infrastructures communautaires telles que l’aréna et l’école.

On s’attend également à ce que les entreprises de services publics obtiennent un permis accordé en vertu de la LEP pour effectuer l’entretien des infrastructures dans la zone visée par le décret d’urgence ou pour construire de nouvelles infrastructures. Les entreprises devraient également prendre en compte l’interdiction concernant la modification des caractéristiques hydrologiques des eaux de surface (interdiction d)) si elles souhaitaient entamer des activités de développement près de la zone visée par le décret d’urgence.

4. Quel est le calendrier de mise en œuvre?

Le Décret d’urgence visant la protection de la rainette faux-grillon de l’ouest (population des Grands Lacs/Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien – métapopulation de La Prairie), adopté en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, entrera en vigueur le 8 juillet 2016.

5. Où puis-je obtenir d’autres renseignements?

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le Décret d’urgence visant la protection de la rainette faux grillon de l’ouest (population des Grands Lacs / Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien), veuillez consulter le site Web Résumé du Décret d’urgence visant la protection de la rainette faux-grillon de l’ouest (GLSLBC – métapopulation de La Prairie).

Vous pouvez également communiquer avec le Service canadien de la faune (SCF) d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada par courriel à ec.enviroinfo.ec@canada.ca ou par téléphone sans frais au 1-800-668-6767. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements ou des réponses à vos questions, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau régional du Québec du SCF ou avec l’administration centrale du SCF à Gatineau, au Québec, par écrit aux adresses ci-dessous :

Région du Québec
Service canadien de la faune
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
1550, avenue d’Estimauville, bureau 801
Québec (Québec)
G1J 0C3

Service canadien de la faune
Environnement et Changement climatique Canada
351, boulevard Saint-Joseph
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 0H3

Le présent document vise à fournir des renseignements contextuels sur le Décret d’urgence visant la protection de la rainette faux grillon de l’ouest (population des Grands Lacs / Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien). Il ne se substitue pas à la Loi sur les espèces en péril ou au Décret d’urgence visant la protection de la rainette faux grillon de l’ouest (population des Grands Lacs / Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien). En cas de contradiction, la Loi sur les espèces en péril et le Décret d’urgence visant la protection de la rainette faux grillon de l’ouest (population des Grands Lacs / Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien) prévaudront.

Renseignements additionnels

Pour de plus amples renseignements concernant les consultations actuelles ou à venir sur les projets de règlement fédéraux, veuillez consulter la Gazette du Canada ou le site Web Consultations auprès des Canadiens.