Description of residence for Swift Fox (Vulpes velox) in Canada

Section 33 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) prohibits damaging or destroying the residence of a listed threatened, endangered, or extirpated species. SARA defines residence as: "a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating" [s.2(1)].

The prohibition comes into effect in different ways depending on the jurisdiction responsible for the species. Because the Swift Fox is not under pre-existing federal jurisdiction, the residence prohibition is only automatically in effect on federal lands on which the species occurs. SARA also contains a provision to prohibit the destruction of non-federal species' residences on provincial, territorial, and private lands by way of an Order by the Governor in Council (GIC), if the Minister of the Environment recommends it necessary to do so [s.34(2), 35(2)]. Unless such an Order is made, responsibility for this species remains with Provinces and Territories.

The following is a description of residence for the Swift Fox (Vulpes velox), created for the purposes of increasing public awareness and aiding enforcement of the above prohibition. Swift Foxes are known to have two types of residences - natal dens and shelter dens.

Assessment summary - November 2009

Common name - Swift fox

Scientific name - Vulpes velox

Status - Threatened

Reason for designation - This species was extirpated from Canada in the 1930s. Following reintroduction programs in Alberta and Saskatchewan initiated in 1983, they have re-established populations in these areas and in northern Montana. Population numbers and distribution have increased since that time, with the current estimate in Canada having doubled to 647 since the last COSEWIC assessment in 2000. Connectivity between populations has also improved during this time, particularly through northern Montana. Since 2001, population numbers and distribution have remained stable and habitat for this species within Canada appears to be saturated. Most improvement in overall population status can be attributed to populations in Montana, which are still demonstrating increasing trends in numbers and distribution. Deteriorating habitat in Canada and the threat of disease (as seen in other canids) could threaten the continued recovery of this species.

Occurrence - Alberta, Saskatchewan

Status history - Last seen in Saskatchewan in 1928. Designated Extirpated in April 1978. Status re-examined and designated Endangered in April 1998 after successful re-introductions. Status re-examined and confirmed in May 2000. Status re-examined and designated Threatened in November 2009.

Figure 1. Distribution of Swift Fox (Vulpes velox) in Canada (Environment Canada)

Figure 1. Distribution of Swift Fox (Vulpes velox) in Canada (Environment Canada)
Long description of Figure 1

Map of Southern Saskatchewan and Alberta showing the distribution range of Swift Fox (Vulpes velox) in Canada. The map was produced by Environment Canada. Most Swift Foxes currently occur in the southernmost portion of the prairies near the Alberta-Saskatchewan border, in and around Grasslands National Park in south-central Saskatchewan.

1) Natal den

Any tunnel and connected chambers used by a Swift Fox to give birth and rear kits is considered a residence.

Physical appearance and context

Swift Foxes are primarily prairie specialists and occur in short and mixed grass prairie in southern Alberta and Saskatchewan1. Swift Foxes often modify prairie burrows such as, but not limited to, badger (Taxidea taxus), black-tailed prairie dog, and Richardson's ground squirrel holes and use them as natal den sites2,3. In the spring and summer (circa April - August), den complexes typically having one or more central chambers connected to the surface by tunnels4,5 are used to rear young. Pairs in Canada have been documented to use up to eight different multiple entrance den sites during the kit birthing/rearing period9,10. The use of 13 different dens has been reported throughout one year6. The maximum number of dens used on the Canadian prairie may be greater if Swift Foxes are similar to Kit Foxes where the use of up to 50 dens per fox has been documented10.

Adult Swift Foxes are thought to choose dens based on their location and physical characteristics, particularly for the selection of natal den sites that usually have more entrances compared to temporary escape or shelter dens3,6,7,8. Additionally, at Swift Fox natal den entrances there are typically distinctive long, narrow dirt trailings compared to the mound of dirt at badger diggings.

On the Canadian prairie, the location and physical characteristics of Swift Fox natal den sites were compared to prairie burrows (typically badger)3. The model identified five variables (position on hill, distance from water, distance from roads/trails, new grass height, and slope of hills) that discriminated occupied dens from unoccupied sites with an overall classification success of 83%. Essentially, occupied natal dens (compared to unoccupied sites) used for rearing kits were not located randomly but were found on hilltops with gradual slopes, with relatively higher grass, further from water, and closer to roads and/or trails3.

Function

Natal dens provide a safe place for giving birth and rearing kits.

Damage and destruction of residence

Any alteration that destroys the function of single or multiple entrance natal dens would constitute damage or destruction of the residence. This would include, but is not limited to, habitat change near the den, including ploughing or disturbing native short or mixed grassland communities, particularly when such changes lead to the blocking or abandonment of a den.

In a report created for Environment Canada, setback distances were recommended for petroleum industry activities that affect species at risk12. In Saskatchewan, these recommended distances are 500m from a Swift Fox den for most activities during the February 15 to August 31, except for high-level disturbances (eg. permanent structures, roads) for which a setback distance of 2000m from a den is recommended. From September 1 until February 14 the recommended setback distances are 100m, 500m, and 2000m for low, medium, and high-level disturbances, respectively12. These setback distances were adopted by Saskatchewan Environment and Resource Management to be used as activity restriction guidelines for sensitive species in natural habitats13 Setback distances for Alberta in the Environment Canada report reflect the provincial guidelines.

Alberta Fish and Wildlife Division recommend setback distances from Swift Fox dens of 500m for all activities between February 15th and July 31st (breeding season)11. These setback distances change between August 1st and February 14th, to 50m for low-level disturbances such as surveying and monitoring, 100m for short-term vegetation disturbance (eg. low footprint seismic activities), and 500m for the creation of human structures, disturbance of soils or long-term vegetation disturbance (e.g., wellsite, powerline, pipeline, battery, road) 11.

Period and frequency of occupancy

Swift foxes are among the most den dependent of all canids and use natal and shelter dens throughout the year. Repeated use of dens by canids has been described for many North American canid species including the closely related kit foxes10, although each den is not necessarily used every year5,6,14. This repeated use of natal and shelter dens has also been observed for wild Swift Foxes in Canada7,9,10.

Dens used by parents and young between April 1 and August 31 are natal dens and should be considered as such for 5 years since the last known occupancy. Burrows > 11 cm with a clear tunnel within 800 m of occupied natal rearing dens should be protected from April 1 to August 31.

2) Shelter den

Any tunnel and connected chambers used by a Swift Fox for shelter from weather or escape from predators is considered a residence.

Physical appearance and context

Swift foxes often modify prairie burrows such as badger holes for use as shelter dens throughout the year2,3. However, they may use unmodified badger or similar sized holes as shelter dens as well7. Entrance holes for shelter dens may be smaller (≥ 11 cm diameter with a clear tunnel) than entrance holes for natal dens and typically shelter dens have fewer entrances than natal dens7,9. Opportunistic use of appropriate sized holes may occur during predator avoidance.

Function

Shelter dens serve as shelter from weather extremes and as escape refugia from predators. They are particularly important as refugia from predators during spring and fall dispersal and from weather extremes during the winter.

Damage and destruction of residence

Any alteration that destroys the function of shelter dens would constitute damage or destruction of the residence. This would include, but is not limited to, habitat change near the den, including ploughing or disturbing native short or mixed grassland communities, particularly when such changes lead to the blocking or abandonment of a den.

Period and frequency of occupancy

Any shelter den should be protected for 5 months from the time of last known occupancy. Occupancy can be determined from fox sightings, tracks, scats, prey remains, fresh digging or hair around the entrance.

Additional information

For more information on the Swift Fox

For more information on SARA

Recommended citation

Please cite this document as:

Government of Canada. Species at Risk Act Public Registry. Residence Descriptions. Description of residence for Swift Foxes (Vulpes velox) in Canada.

References

1 Allardyce, D., and M. A. Sovada. 2003. A review: ecology, historical distribution and status of Swift Foxes in North America. In M. Sovada and L. Carbyn, eds. Swift fox conservation in a changing world. Canadian Plains Research Center, University of Regina

2 Herrero S, Schroeder C, Scott-Brown M. 1986. Are Canadian foxes swift enough? Biological Conservation 36:159-167.

3 Pruss S.D. 1999. Selection of natal dens by the Swift Fox (Vulpes velox) on the Canadian prairies. Canadian Journal of Zoology 77:646-652.

4 Cutter, W.L. 1958. Denning of the Swift Fox in northern Texas. Journal of Mammalogy 39(1): 70 74.

5 Kilgore, D.L. Jr. 1969. An ecological study of the Swift Fox (Vulpes velox) in the Oklahoma panhandle. The American Midland Naturalist 81(2): 512 533.

6 Hillman, C.N., and J.C. Sharps. 1978. Return of Swift Fox to northern Great Plains. Proceedings of the South Dakota Academy of Science 57: 154 162.

7 Moehrenschlager, A. 2000. Effects of ecological and human factors on the behaviour and population dynamics of reintroduced Canadian Swift Foxes (Vulpes velox). Dissertation, University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom.

8 Olson, T. L. 2000. Population characteristics, habitat selection patterns, and diet of Swift Foxes in southeast Wyoming. M. Sc. Thesis. University of Wyoming, Laramie. 139pp.

9 Pruss S.D. 1994. An observational natal den study of wild Swift Fox (Vulpes velox) on the Canadian Prairie. M.E.Des. Alberta, Canada. University of Calgary.

10 Tannerfeldt, M., Moehrenschlager, A., and A. Angerbjörn. 2003. Den ecology of swift, kit and arctic foxes: a review. In M. Sovada and L. Carbyn, eds. Swift fox conservation in a changing world. Canadian Plains Research Center, University of Regina.

11 Alberta Fish & Wildlife Division. 2001. Recommended Land Use Guidelines for Protection of Selected Wildlife Species and Habitat Within Grassland And Parkland Natural Regions of Alberta.

12 Environment Canada. 2009. Petroleum Industry Activity Guidelines for Wildlife Species at Risk in the Prairie and Northern Region. Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, Prairie and Northern Region, Edmonton Alberta. 64p.

13 Saskatchewan Environment and Resource Management. 2003. Saskatchewan Activity Restriction Guidelines for sensitive species in natural habitats.

14 Egoscue, H.J. 1962. Ecology and life history of the kit fox in Toole County, Utah. Ecology 43(3): 481 497.

Description de résidence pour le renard véloce (Vulpes velox) au Canada

L'article 33 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) interdit d'endommager ou de détruire la résidence d'une espèce inscrite comme espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays. La LEP définit le mot « résidence » comme suit : « Gîte - terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable - occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l'élevage, les haltes migratoires, l'hivernage, l'alimentation ou l'hibernation » [paragr. 2(1)].

La mise en ?uvre de cette interdiction peut prendre diverses formes selon l'instance qui est responsable de l'espèce visée. Comme aucune disposition législative fédérale préexistante ne s'applique au renard véloce, l'interdiction visant la résidence ne s'applique automatiquement que dans les parties du territoire domanial fédéral où l'espèce est présente. La LEP contient aussi des dispositions interdisant la destruction des résidences situées hors du territoire domanial fédéral sur les terres provinciales, territoriales et privées en vertu d'un décret du gouverneur en conseil, si le ministre de l'Environnement en fait la recommandation [paragr. 34(2), 35(2)]. En l'absence d'un tel décret, l'espèce relève des autorités provinciales et territoriales.

Ce qui suit est une description de la résidence du renard véloce (Vulpes velox), créée afin d'accroître la sensibilisation du public et de favoriser l'application de l'interdiction décrite ci dessus. On sait que le renard véloce a deux types de résidence, soit le terrier natal et le terrier abri.

Information sur l'espèce (d'après le COSEPAC) :

Sommaire de l'évaluation - Novembre 2009

Nom commun
Renard véloce

Nom scientifique
Vulpes velox

Statut
Menacée

Justification de la désignation
L'espèce est disparue du Canada dans les années 1930. À la suite de programmes de réintroduction en Alberta et en Saskatchewan, lancés en 1983, des populations ont été réétablies dans ces régions et dans le nord du Montana. Les effectifs et la répartition de la population ont augmenté depuis, l'estimation actuelle au Canada se chiffrant maintenant à 647 individus, soit le double de ce que la population était lors de la dernière évaluation du COSEPAC en 2000. La connectivité des populations s'est aussi améliorée durant cette période, particulièrement dans le nord du Montana. Depuis 2001, les effectifs et la répartition de la population sont demeurés stables, et l'habitat de cette espèce au Canada semble être saturé. L'amélioration de la situation globale de la population est en majeure partie attribuable à la tendance à la hausse des effectifs et de la répartition des populations au Montana, tendance qui se poursuit actuellement. Au Canada, la détérioration de l'habitat ainsi que la menace de maladie (tel qu'observé chez d'autres canins) pourrait menacer le rétablissement de cette espèce.

Répartition
Alberta, Saskatchewan

Historique du statut
Espèce observée pour la dernière fois en Saskatchewan en 1928. Espèce désignée « disparue du pays » en avril 1978. Réexamen du statut : l'espèce a été désignée « en voie de disparition » en avril 1998 grâce à des réintroductions fructueuses. Réexamen et confirmation du statut en mai 2000. Réexamen du statut : l'espèce a été désignée « menacée » en novembre 2009.

Figure 1. Aire de répartition du renard véloce (Vulpes velox) au Canada (Environnement Canada).
Figure 1. Aire de répartition du renard véloce (Vulpes velox) au Canada (Environnement Canada).

Carte du sud de la Saskatchewan et de l'Alberta montrant la répartition géographique du renard véloce (Vulpes velox) au Canada. La population de renard véloce est concentrée dans la portion sud des prairies près de la frontière entre la Saskatchewan et l'Alberta, plus particulièrement dans et autour du Parc National du Canada des Prairies, dans le centre-sud de la Saskatchewan.

1) Terrier natal: tout tunnel et ses cavités attenantes que le renard véloce utilise pour la mise bas et l'élevage des petits sont considérés comme une résidence.

Aspect physique et contexte

Le renard véloce est essentiellement un spécialiste des prairies; on le trouve dans la prairie à herbes courtes et la prairie mixte du Sud de l'Alberta et de la Saskatchewan1. Le renard véloce modifie souvent les terriers de prairie, entre autres ceux du blaireau d'Amérique (Taxidea taxus), du chien-de-prairie à queue noire et du spermophile de Richardson, et s'en sert comme terrier natal2,3. Au printemps et à l'été (d'avril à août environ), les réseaux de terriers, qui possèdent généralement une ou plusieurs chambres centrales reliées à la surface par des tunnels4,5, sont utilisés pour élever les petits. On estime que les couples de renards véloces au Canada occupent jusqu'à huit différents terriers à entrées multiples pendant les périodes de mise bas et d'élevage des petits9,10, et qu'ils utilisent treize différents terriers au cours d'une année6. Le nombre maximum de terriers occupés dans les Prairies canadiennes serait peut être plus élevé si le renard véloce était semblable au renard nain, qui occupe quant à lui jusqu'à 50 terriers10.

On croit que le renard véloce adulte choisit des terriers en fonction de leur emplacement et de leurs caractéristiques physiques, notamment en ce qui concerne le choix des terriers natals, qui ont habituellement un plus grand nombre d'entrées que les refuges temporaires ou les terriers abris3,6,7,8. De plus, on observe généralement de longues traînées de terre étroites et distinctives à l'entrée du terrier natal du renard véloce, tandis que le blaireau d'Amérique marque l'entrée de son terrier d'un monticule de terre.

Dans les Prairies canadiennes, on a comparé l'emplacement et les caractéristiques physiques des terriers natals du renard véloce et ceux des autres terriers de prairie (généralement du blaireau d'Amérique)3. Le modèle ainsi conçu définit cinq variables (position sur la pente, distance des points d'eau, distance des routes et des sentiers, hauteur des nouvelles tiges de graminées et pente des collines) permettant de faire la distinction entre les terriers occupés et les terriers inoccupés dans 83 % des cas. Pour l'essentiel, les terriers occupés utilisés pour élever les petits se situaient au sommet des collines, sur des pentes douces, loin des points d'eau et à proximité de routes ou de sentiers3, et leur emplacement était caractérisé par des graminées relativement hautes.

Fonction

Les terriers natals servent de refuge pour la mise bas et l'élevage des petits.

Endommagement et destruction de la résidence

Toute altération qui détruit la fonction des terriers natals à entrée unique ou à entrées multiples constitue un endommagement ou la destruction de la résidence. Cela comprendrait, entre autres, la modification de l'habitat à proximité du terrier, notamment le labourage ou la perturbation des communautés végétales indigènes, en particulier lorsque de tels changements mènent à l'obstruction ou à l'abandon du terrier.

Dans un rapport créé pour Environnement Canada, des distances de retrait ont été recommandées pour les activités de l'industrie pétrolière qui ont des conséquences sur les espèces en péril12. En Saskatchewan, les distances recommandées sont de 500 m d'un terrier pour la plupart des activités, du 15 février au 31 août, sauf pour les perturbations importantes (p. ex., construction de structures permanentes ou de routes) pour lesquelles on recommande une distance de retrait de 2000 m. Du 1er septembre au 14 février, les distances de retrait recommandées sont respectivement de 100 m , 500 m, et 2000 m pour les activités dont le niveau de dérangement est respectivement faible, moyen, et élevé12. Ces distances de retrait ont été adoptées par le Saskatchewan Environment and Resource Management en tant que directive de limitation des activités dans l'habitat naturel des espèces sensibles13. Dans le rapport créé pour Environnement Canada, les distances de retrait pour l'Alberta reflètent les directives adoptées par cette province.

La Fish and Wildlife Division de l'Alberta recommande de garder une distance de 500 m entre les terriers du renard véloce et le lieu où toute activité est pratiquée entre le 15 février et le 31 juillet (saison de reproduction)11. Cette distance change entre le 1er août et le 14 février : 50 m pour les activités comme l'arpentage ou la surveillance, 100 m pour la perturbation à court terme de la végétation (p. ex. des activités de levés sismiques à faible impact), et 500 m pour la création de structures artificielles, la perturbation des sols ou la perturbation à long terme de la végétation.

Période et fréquence d'occupation

Le renard véloce est l'un des canidés les plus dépendants de l'utilisation d'un terrier (terrier natal et terrier-abri), qu'il fréquente d'ailleurs tout au long de l'année. On a remarqué l'utilisation répétée d'un terrier chez beaucoup de canidés d'Amérique du Nord, y compris chez le renard nain11, une espèce proche, même si chaque terrier n'est pas nécessairement utilisé tous les ans5,6,14. On a aussi observé l'utilisation répétée d'un terrier natal et d'un terrier-abri chez le renard véloce sauvage du Canada7,9,10.

Les terriers utilisés par les parents et leurs petits entre le 1er avril et le 31 août sont des terriers natals et devraient être considérés de la sorte pendant cinq ans à partir de la dernière occupation connue. Les ouvertures de plus de 11 cm comprenant un tunnel visible situées à moins de 800 m d'un terrier natal utilisé pour l'élevage devraient être protégées entre le 1er avril et le 31 août.

2) Terrier-abri: Tout tunnel et ses cavités attenantes que le renard véloce utilise comme abri contre les intempéries et les prédateurs est considéré comme une résidence.

Aspect physique et contexte

Le renard véloce transforme souvent des terriers de prairie, tels que des trous de blaireau, en terrier-abri qu'il utilise tout au long de l'année2,3. Cependant, il se peut qu'il se serve aussi de trous de blaireau non modifiés ou d'une grosseur semblable comme terrier-abri7. Les terriers-abris possèdent typiquement moins d'entrées que les terriers natals7,9 et leur trou d'accès peut être plus petit (11 cm de diamètre ou plus avec un tunnel visible). Lorsque l'animal veut éviter un prédateur, il peut utiliser opportunément des trous de grosseur appropriée.

Fonction

Les terriers-abris servent de refuge contre les intempéries et les prédateurs. Ils sont particulièrement importants pour échapper aux prédateurs au printemps et à l'automne, au moment de la dispersion, et pour se protéger des intempéries extrêmes de l'hiver.

Endommagement et destruction de la résidence

Toute altération qui empêche le bon fonctionnement d'un terrier-abri constitue l'endommagement ou la destruction de la résidence. Cela comprend, entre autres, la modification de l'habitat près du terrier, y compris le labourage ou le dérangement des communautés indigènes de la prairie mixte ou de la prairie à herbes courtes, en particulier lorsque de tels changements mènent à l'obstruction ou à l'abandon du terrier.

Période et fréquence d'occupation

Tout terrier-abri devrait être protégé pendant les cinq mois qui suivent la dernière occupation connue. Celle-ci peut être déterminée à l'aide d'indices tels que des observations visuelles, des pistes, des excréments, des restes de proie, des trous fraîchement creusés ou des poils autour de l'entrée du terrier.

Information supplémentaire

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le renard véloce, consulter : http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/species/speciesDetails_f.cfm?sid=140

Pour tout renseignement sur la LEP, consulter : http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/default_f.cfm

Citation recommandée

Veuillez citer ce document de la façon suivante :

Gouvernement du Canada. Registre public de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Descriptions de la résidence. Description de résidence pour le renard véloce (Vulpes velox) au Canada, http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/document/dspDocument_f.cfm?documentID=140, (date de consultation).

Références

1Allardyce, D., and M. A. Sovada. 2003. A review: ecology, historical distribution and status of Swift Foxes in North America. In M. Sovada and L. Carbyn, eds. Swift fox conservation in a changing world. Canadian Plains Research Center, University of Regina

2Herrero S, Schroeder C, Scott-Brown M. 1986. Are Canadian foxes swift enough? Biological Conservation 36:159-167.

3Pruss S.D. 1999. Selection of natal dens by the Swift Fox (Vulpes velox) on the Canadian prairies. Canadian Journal of Zoology 77:646-652.

4Cutter, W.L. 1958. Denning of the Swift Fox in northern Texas. Journal of Mammalogy 39(1): 70 74.

5Kilgore, D.L. Jr. 1969. An ecological study of the Swift Fox (Vulpes velox) in the Oklahoma panhandle. The American Midland Naturalist 81(2): 512 533.

6Hillman, C.N., and J.C. Sharps. 1978. Return of Swift Fox to northern Great Plains. Proceedings of the South Dakota Academy of Science 57: 154 162.

7Moehrenschlager, A. 2000. Effects of ecological and human factors on the behaviour and population dynamics of reintroduced Canadian Swift Foxes (Vulpes velox). Dissertation, University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom.

8Olson, T. L. 2000. Population characteristics, habitat selection patterns, and diet of Swift Foxes in southeast Wyoming. M. Sc. Thesis. University of Wyoming, Laramie. 139pp.

9Pruss S.D. 1994. An observational natal den study of wild Swift Fox (Vulpes velox) on the Canadian Prairie. M.E.Des. Alberta, Canada. University of Calgary.

10Tannerfeldt, M., Moehrenschlager, A., and A. Angerbjörn. 2003. Den ecology of swift, kit and arctic foxes: a review. In M. Sovada and L. Carbyn, eds. Swift fox conservation in a changing world. Canadian Plains Research Center, University of Regina.

11Alberta Fish & Wildlife Division. 2001. Recommended Land Use Guidelines for Protection of Selected Wildlife Species and Habitat Within Grassland And Parkland Natural Regions of Alberta.

12Environment Canada. 2009. Petroleum Industry Activity Guidelines for Wildlife Species at Risk in the Prairie and Northern Region. Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, Prairie and Northern Region, Edmonton Alberta. 64p.

13Saskatchewan Environment and Resource Management. 2003. Saskatchewan Activity Restriction Guidelines for sensitive species in natural habitats.

14Egoscue, H.J. 1962. Ecology and life history of the kit fox in Toole County, Utah. Ecology 43(3): 481 497.

| Page d'introduction|