Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Management Plan for the Banded Killifish (Fundulus diaphanus), Newfoundland Population, in Canada

Banded Killifish (Newfoundland Population)

Banded Killifish (Newfoundland Population)

February 2011

About the Species at Risk Act Management Plan Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003, and one of its purposes is "to manage species of special concern to prevent them from becoming endangered or threatened."

What is a species of special concern?

Under SARA, a species of special concern is a wildlife species that could become threatened or endangered because of a combination of biological characteristics and identified threats. Species of special concern are included in the SARA List of Wildlife Species at Risk.

What is a management plan?

Under SARA, a management plan is an action-oriented planning document that identifies the conservation activities and land use measures needed to ensure, at a minimum, that a species of special concern does not become threatened or endangered.  For many species, the ultimate aim of the management plan will be to alleviate human threats and remove the species from the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. The plan sets goals and objectives, identifies threats, and indicates the main areas of activities to be undertaken to address those threats.

Management plan development is mandated under Sections 65-72 of SARA (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/approach/act/default_e.cfm).

A management plan has to be developed within three years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Five years is allowed for those species that were initially listed when SARA came into force.

What's next?

Directions set in the management plan will enable jurisdictions, communities, land users, and conservationists to implement conservation activities that will have preventive or restorative benefits. Cost-effective measures to prevent the species from becoming further at risk should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty and may, in fact, result in significant cost savings in the future.

The series

This series presents the management plans prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as plans are updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and conservation initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/).

Management Plan for the Banded Killifish (Fundulus diaphanus), Newfoundland Population, in Canada [Proposed]

2011 - 2016

February 2011

Recommended citation:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada. 2011. Management Plan for the Banded Killifish (Fundulus diaphanus), Newfoundland Population, in Canada [Proposed]. Species at Risk Act Management Plan Series. Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ottawa. v + 23 pp.


Additional copies:

Additional copies can be downloaded from the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/).

Cover illustration: Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Également disponible en français sous le titre
« Plan de gestion du fondule barré (Fundulus diaphanus), population de Terre Neuve, au Canada [Proposition]. »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of the Environment, 2011. All rights reserved.
ISBN 978-1-100-17429-7
Catalogue no. En3-5/12-2011E-PDF

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Recommended citation:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada. 2011. Management Plan for the Banded Killifish (Fundulus diaphanus), Newfoundland Population, in Canada [Proposed]. Species at Risk Act Management Plan Series. Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ottawa. v + 23 pp.

Additional copies:

Additional copies can be downloaded from the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/).

Cover illustration: Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Également disponible en français sous le titre
« Plan de gestion du fondule barré (Fundulus diaphanus), population de Terre Neuve, au Canada [Proposition]. »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister of the Environment, 2011. All rights reserved.
ISBN 978-1-100-17429-7
Catalogue no. En3-5/12-2011E-PDF

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Introduction

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Plan de gestion du fondule barré (Fundulus diaphanus), population de Terre-Neuve, au Canada

Fondule barré (population de Terre-Neuve)

Fondule barré (population de Terre Neuve)

Février 2011

Plans de gestion en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril - Quelques mots sur la collection

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril?

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) est une loi fédérale qui contribue à l'effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. La LEP, entrée en vigueur en 2003, vise notamment à « favoriser la gestion des espèces préoccupantes pour éviter qu'elles ne deviennent des espèces en voie de disparition ou menacées ».

Qu'est-ce qu'une espèce préoccupante?

Aux termes de la LEP, une espèce préoccupante est une espèce sauvage qui peut devenir une espèce menacée ou une espèce en voie de disparition par l'effet cumulatif de ses caractéristiques biologiques et des menaces qui pèsent sur elles. Les espèces préoccupantes sont inscrites sur la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP.

Qu'est-ce qu'un plan de gestion?

Aux termes de la LEP, un plan de gestion est un document de planification pragmatique qui expose les mesures de conservation et d'utilisation des terres à prendre pour empêcher, à tout le moins, qu'une espèce préoccupante devienne menacée ou en voie de disparition. Dans de nombreux cas, le plan de gestion a pour but ultime de réduire les menaces d'origine anthropique et de retirer l'espèce de la Liste des espèces en péril. Le plan fixe des buts et des objectifs, cerne les menaces et expose les principales activités à réaliser pour les éliminer.

Les dispositions régissant l'élaboration des plans de gestion figurent aux articles 65 à 72 de la LEP (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/approach/act/default_f.cfm).

Un plan de gestion doit être élaboré dans les trois ans qui suivent l'inscription de l'espèce sur la Liste des espèces en péril. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites au moment de l'entrée en vigueur de la LEP, le délai est de cinq ans.

Et ensuite?

Les directives contenues dans le plan de gestion habilitent les autorités responsables, les communautés, les utilisateurs des terres et les défenseurs de la nature à mettre en place des mesures de conservation qui auront des effets préventifs ou réparateurs. L'absence de preuves scientifiques ne doit pas servir de prétexte pour retarder la mise en oeuvre de mesures efficientes susceptibles d'empêcher que la situation d'une espèce en péril s'aggrave. En fait, ces mesures se soldent parfois dans l'avenir par d'importantes économies.

La série des plans de gestion

La série des plans de gestion réunit les plans de gestion élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral conformément à la LEP. La collection s'accroîtra à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites sur la Liste des espèces en péril, et que les plans de gestion seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir davantage

Pour en savoir davantage sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de conservation, prière de consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril. (http://www.registrelep.gc.ca).

Plan de gestion du fondule barré (Fundulus diaphanus), population de Terre-Neuve, au Canada [Proposition]

2011 - 2016

Février 2011

Citation recommandée

Pêches et Océans Canada. 2011. Plan de gestion du fondule barré (Fundulus diaphanus), population de Terre-Neuve, au Canada [Proposition]. Plans de gestion en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Pêches et Océans Canada. Ottawa. v + 23 p.


Exemplaires supplémentaires

On peut télécharger des exemplaires de cette publication à partir du Registre public de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/default_f.cfm).

Illustration de la couverture: Pêches et Océans Canada

Also available in English under the title: "Management Plan for the Banded Killifish (Fundulus diaphanus), Newfoundland Population, in Canada [Proposed].

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre de l'Environnement, 2011. Tous droits réservés
ISBN : 978-1-100-96204-7
No de catalogue : En3-5/12-2011F-PDF

Le contenu du présent document (à l'exception de l'illustration de la couverture) peut être utilisé sans permission, pourvu que sa source soit dûment mentionnée.

Introduction