Agricultural Producers and the Sage-Grouse Recovery Strategy

PDF, 126 KB (Get Adobe Reader)

Successful recovery of the Sage-Grouse requires involvement of agricultural producers, local stakeholders and governments at all levels. For its part, the Government of Canada starts with developing a Recovery Strategy. The Recovery Strategy is a planning document that describes current scientific knowledge on threats to species and identifies critical habitat needed for the survival and recovery of the Sage-Grouse. The Recovery Strategy also identifies measures that could be taken to help stop the decline of Sage-Grouse. Voluntary stewardship actions by agricultural producers are important to Sage-Grouse recovery, and assistance is available from the Government of Canada to support activities recommended in the Recovery Strategy.

The Recovery Strategy for the Greater Sage-Grouse in Canada:

  • The Recovery Strategy is a planning document that makes general recommendations on what should be done to stop the decline of this species in Canada and to reach the long-term population objective. 
  • The Recovery Strategy describes what should be done if Sage-Grouse are to recover in Canada but does not regulate or prohibit activities. This planning document is not a regulation, it contains no legal prohibitions, and it is not legally enforceable.
  • The Recovery Strategy also outlines a wide variety of factors (both natural and human-associated, imminent and long-term) in the Sage-Grouse’s environment that likely need to be managed to allow the species to reach  the long-term population objective.
  • This document identifies the habitat (on provincial and federal Crown land and private land) that is critical for the species to reach the long-term population objective.
  • The Recovery Strategy informs the supported voluntary stewardship actions that will be the primary effort  to achieve survival and recovery of Sage-Grouse in Canada. Assistance is available to support specific voluntary stewardship activities.

The Recovery Strategy describes what should be done if Sage-Grouse are to recover in Canada but does not regulate or prohibit activities.

 

Emergency Protection Order or Recovery Strategy? Comparison Table
 Emergency protection OrderRecovery Strategy
Is it enforceable?YesNo
How much habitat is included?1672 km22812 km2
Is private land included?NoYes
What activities are addressed?Activities that may adversely affect the species and the habitat of the speciesGeneral description of the research and management activities needed to meet population objectives
Is grazing included?NoYes. Long-term overgrazing is listed as a potential factor in certain locations within Sage-Grouse habitat.
Are there any plans to change the Emergency Protection Order or the Recovery Strategy?No. There are no plans to expand the scope of the Emergency Protection Order. An amendment would be required to change the Emergency Protection Order.Yes. Recovery strategies are reviewed every five years.
Are funds available to assist in making my fences Sage-Grouse friendly and for other stewardship actions?YesYes

photo of sage grouse, © Environment Canada

 

 

Photo: © Environment Canada

Les producteurs agricoles et le programme de rétablissement du tétras des armoises

PDF, 121 ko (Obtenir Adobe Reader)

Le rétablissement du tétras des armoises repose sur la participation des producteurs agricoles, des intervenants locaux et de tous les ordres de gouvernement. Pour sa part, le gouvernement du Canada procède à l’élaboration d’un programme de rétablissement qui constitue en fait un document de planification décrivant l’état actuel des connaissances scientifiques sur les menaces qui pèsent sur cette espèce et l’habitat essentiel à la survie et au rétablissement du tétras des armoises. Le programme de rétablissement décrit également des mesures qui pourraient être prises pour freiner le déclin des populations de tétras des armoises. Les mesures d’intendance volontaires prises par les producteurs agricoles sont essentielles au rétablissement de l’espèce, et le gouvernement du Canada a prévu une aide pour financer des mesures recommandées dans le programme de rétablissement.

Le Programme de rétablissement du tétras des armoises au Canada :

  • Le Programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui contient des recommandations générales sur les mesures qui devraient être prises pour freiner le déclin des populations de tétras des armoises au Canada et atteindre les objectifs à long terme fixés. Le Programme de rétablissement décrit ce qui devrait être fait pour assurer le rétablissement du tétras des armoises au Canada, mais ne vise pas à réglementer ou à interdire des activités données. 
  • Ce document de planification n’est pas un règlement, il ne contient aucune interdiction légale et n’a pas force exécutoire.
  • Le Programme de rétablissement décrit également un vaste éventail de facteurs (d’origine naturelle ou humaine, imminents et à long terme) présents dans l’environnement du tétras des armoises qui doivent être encadrés pour atteindre les objectifs à long terme fixés quant au rétablissement des populations.
  • Ce document décrit l’habitat (sur les terres publiques fédérales et provinciales et les terres privées) jugé essentiel pour que l’espèce puisse atteindre les niveaux de rétablissement à long terme fixés.
  • Le Programme de rétablissement étaye les mesures d’intendance volontaires recommandées sur lesquelles reposent essentiellement la survie et le rétablissement des populations de tétras des armoises au Canada. Une aide est offerte pour soutenir certaines activités d’intendance volontaires.

Le Programme de rétablissement décrit ce qui devrait être fait pour assurer le rétablissement des populations de tétras des armoises au Canada, mais ne vise pas à réglementer ou à interdire des activités données.

Décret d’urgence ou Programme de rétablissement? Tableau comparatif
 Décret d’urgenceProgramme de rétablissement
ExécutoireOuiNon
Habitat couvert1 672 km22 812 km2
Terres privées comprisesNonOui
Activités viséesActivités qui pourraient nuire à l’espèce et à son habitatDescription générale des activités de recherche et de gestion nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs de rétablissement des populations.
Pâturages inclusNonOui. Dans certains secteurs qui servent d’habitat au tétras des armoises, le surpâturage à long terme constitue l’un des facteurs mentionnés dans le Programme.
Prévoit-on modifier le décret d’urgence ou le Programme de rétablissement?Non. Rien n’est prévu pour élargir la portée du décret d’urgence. La modification de l’ordonnance ne peut se faire qu’au moyen d’un amendement.Oui. Les programmes de rétablissement sont révisés tous les cinq ans.
Y a-t-il des fonds disponibles pour m’aider à adapter mes clôtures à l’habitat du tétras des armoises ou à adopter d’autres mesures d’intendance?OuiOui

photo du tétras des armoises, © Environnement Canada

 

Photo : © Environnement Canada