Western Chorus Frog (Pseudacris triseriata) and Boreal Chorus Frog (P. maculata):  clarification concerning the wildlife species listed under SARA in light of recent taxonomic interpretations

James P. BogartFootnote 1, Eric B. TaylorFootnote 2, and Ruben BolesFootnote 3

November 2015

Note: At its November 2015 Wildlife Species Assessment Meeting (November 22-26, 2015) COSEWIC considered the document entitled "Western Chorus Frog (Pseudacris triseriata) and Boreal Chorus Frog (P. maculata): clarification concerning the wildlife species listed under SARA in light of recent taxonomic interpretations" written by J.P. Bogart, E.B. Taylor and R. Boles.  COSEWIC subsequently produced its own statement dated November 26, 2015, and it has also been published on the Species at Risk Public Registry.

Preface

This document was produced in response to a request by Environment Canada to clarify recent taxonomic advances on the Western Chorus Frog and Boreal Chorus Frog and their implications for the chorus frogs listed as Threatened under the Species at Risk Act in 2010. COSEWIC will discuss the document at their upcoming meeting on 22-26 November 2015, and it will be proposed to make it available to the public through the Species at Risk Registry.

In 2008, COSEWIC assessed the status of Western Chorus Frog (Pseudacris triseriata) in Canada. It assessed the Carolinian population as Not at Risk and the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield population as Threatened. The latter population was listed under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) in 2010. The geographic distributions of both populations are shown in Figure 1, which is reproduced from COSEWIC’s status report (COSEWIC 2008a).

Some authorities (Crother 2012; Dodd 2013; Frost 2013) have recently allocated chorus frogs in southeastern Ontario and in southwestern Québec (i.e., those frogs in the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield population) to a different species, Boreal Chorus Frog (Pseudacris maculata), whose range in Canada had been previously limited to the prairie provinces and western Ontario. This revision to the geographic range of both species is based on data from Lemmon et al. (2007) and supplemental genetic data, which identified two genetic lineages within southern Ontario and Québec based on mitochondrial DNA. The genetic lineage found in southeastern Ontario and southwestern Québec corresponded to that of Boreal Chorus Frog, while the lineage from extreme southern Ontario corresponded to Western Chorus Frog (P. triseriata), which is also found in the adjacent U.S.A. (see Figure 2).

Figure 1. Distribution of Western Chorus Frog (Pseudacris triseriata) in Canada as interpreted by COSEWIC in their 2008 assessment. The Carolinian population (pink shading) was assessed as Not at Risk, while the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield population (grey shading above the pink) was assessed as Threatened. Source: COSEWIC (2008a).
Map: Western Chorus Frog observations in southern Ontario and Quebec
Map © Environment Canada, 2015
Long description for Figure 1

Map showing Western Chorus Frog observations in southern Ontario and Quebec, in the Carolinian and the Great Lakes / St. Lawrence faunal provinces. Observations above the grey area fall within a third faunal province, the Canadian Shield.

 

The findings of Lemmon et al. (2007) were considered in COSEWIC’s 2008 assessment. However, COSEWIC argued that the discovery of populations possessing a mitochondrial DNA lineage similar to that of Boreal Chorus Frog was not necessarily sufficient to consider those populations as Boreal Chorus Frogs. Other amphibian species are known to possess multiple distinct mitochondrial DNA lineages, some of which may be similar to completely different species as a result of, for instance, historical hybridization between species. In such situations, changes to the species boundaries may not follow, and other data such as from nuclear DNA, morphology, behaviour, etc, are generally also considered to more fully understand taxonomic relationships. In the case of chorus frogs from southeastern Ontario and southwestern Québec, the mitochondrial DNA evidence was relatively recent in 2008 and corroborating evidence was lacking at that time to support the recognition of Boreal Chorus Frog there. As such, COSEWIC considered it premature to consider the chorus frogs in southeastern Ontario and southwestern Québec to be Boreal Chorus Frog (P. maculata). COSEWIC instead retained the taxonomic interpretation from Platz (1989), which considers all chorus frogs in southern Ontario and southwestern Québec as the Western Chorus Frog (P. triseriata). Notwithstanding taxonomic uncertainty, COSEWIC did use the geographic distribution of the mitochondrial DNA lineages, in part, to establish the boundary between the two populations for Western Chorus Frog that were assessed, namely the Carolinian population and the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield population.

Figure 2. Distribution of genetic lineages of a group of closely related chorus frog species in North America as determined by Lemmon et al. (2007) from mitochondrial DNA sequences. The genetic lineage found to be associated with Western Chorus
Frogs (Pseudacris triseriata) is shown as grey diamonds against a blue-green background that includes southwestern Ontario. The lineage associated with Boreal Chorus Frogs (P. maculata) is shown as black dots against the pink background, which is predominantly in the west. Note the presence of the Boreal Chorus Frog-type lineage in a disjunct region in southeastern Ontario and southwestern Québec (shown in pink), an area where Western Chorus Frog had previously been considered to occur. Source: Lemmon et al. (2007).
Map: Distribution of genetic lineages of a group of closely related chorus frog species in North America as determined by Lemmon et al. (2007) from mitochondrial DNA sequences.
Map © Environment Canada, 2015
Long description for Figure 2

Map showing the distribution of genetic lineages of a group of closely related chorus frog species in North America as determined by Lemmon et al. (2007) from mitochondrial DNA sequences. The genetic lineage found to be associated with Western Chorus Frogs (Pseudacris triseriata) is shown as grey diamonds against a blue-green background that includes southwestern Ontario. The lineage associated with Boreal Chorus Frogs (P. maculata) is shown as black dots against the pink background, which is predominantly in the west. Note the presence of the Boreal Chorus Frog-type lineage in a disjunct region in southeastern Ontario and southwestern Québec (shown in pink), an area where Western Chorus Frog had previously been considered to occur. Source: Lemmon et al. (2007).

 

Whatever name is ascribed to them in the literature, chorus frogs within southeastern Ontario and southwestern Quebec are listed under the Act as Threatened. As COSEWIC clarified in a supplement to its assessment (COSEWIC 2008b), the southern boundary of the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield population is demarcated explicitly by the Terrestrial Amphibians and Reptiles Faunal Provinces line shown in Figure 4 of COSEWIC’s status report (Figure 1 in this document). The northern boundary extends just beyond the northern boundary of the Great Lakes St. Lawrence Faunal Province, to include a narrow southern fringe of the adjacent Canadian Shield Faunal Province where there are a small number of occurrences (Figure 1). NatureServe (2015), a non-profit organization that provides high-quality scientific expertise for conservation, currently considers the chorus frogs assessed as Threatened by COSEWIC (2008a) to be Boreal Chorus Frog. These frogs have been assigned a NatureServe rank of imperiled (S2) in Québec.

When COSEWIC reassesses the status of the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield  population, it will take new available chorus frog research into account. For example, recent genetic and acoustic data support the contention that the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield population of chorus frogs is the Boreal Chorus Frog, P. maculata (Rogic et al. 2015). A possible outcome of COSEWIC’s upcoming reassessment (anticipated around 2017-2018) is the adoption of the name Boreal Chorus Frog for this population. If this occurs, COSEWIC will examine the entire Canadian distribution of that species, which includes large parts of mid-western Canada (see Figure 2), to determine whether population components therein warrant separate status assessments in accordance with COSEWIC guidelines (COSEWIC 2014).

Based on its geographic distribution and other factors, it would be highly unlikely that COSEWIC would assess the entire Canadian distribution of Boreal Chorus Frog as a single unit. In particular, a large distance separates the area in southeastern Ontario and southwestern Québec from the more western portion of the species distribution, likely reflecting different post-glacial histories of chorus frogs in the two regions.  They also occupy almost entirely separate Amphibians and Reptiles Faunal Provinces. Consequently, these differences would qualify as both “discrete” and “evolutionarily significant” (COSEWIC 2014).  As such it is anticipated that the Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield population currently listed under SARA would continue to be assessed separately from the mid-western population in Canada.

References

COSEWIC. 2008a. COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Western Chorus Frog Pseudacris triseriata Carolinian population and Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield population in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. vii + 47 pp.

COSEWIC. 2008b. Supplemental Information on Boundary Lines and Designatable Units for the Western Chorus Frog Pseudacris triseriata Carolinian population Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield population in Canada. Accessed December 2013.

COSEWIC 2014. Guidelines for recognizing designatable units. The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife. Accessed November 2015.

Crother, B. I. (ed.). 2012. Scientific and Standard English Names of Amphibians and Reptiles of North America North of Mexico, with Comments Regarding Confidence in Our Understanding. SSAR Herpetological Circular 39:1-92.

Dodd, C.K. Jr. 2013. Frogs of the United States and Canada. Volume 1. The Johns Hopkins University Press, Baltimore, USA.

Frost, Darrel R. 2013. Amphibian Species of the World: an Online Reference. Version 5.6 (9 January 2013). Electronic Database accessible at American Museum of Natural History, New York, USA.

Lemmon, E.M., A.R. Lemmon, J.T. Collins, J.A. Lee-Yaw, D.C. Cannatella. 2007. Phylogeny-based delimitation of species boundaries and contact zones in the trilling chorus frogs (Pseudacris). Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution 44:1068-1082.

NatureServe (2015). NatureServe Explorer: An online encyclopedia of life [web application]. Version 7.1. NatureServe, Arlington Virginia. (Accessed: November 1, 2015).

Platz, J.E. 1989. Speciation within the chorus frog Pseudacris triseriata: morphometric and mating call analyses of the Boreal and western subspecies. Copeia 1989: 704-712.

Rogic, A., N. Tessier, S. Noël, A. Gendron, A. Branchaud, F-J. Lapointe. 2015. A “trilling” case of mistaken identity: call playbacks and mitochondrial DNA identify chorus frogs in southern Québec (Canada) as Pseudacris maculata and not P. triseriata. Herpetological Review 46: 1-7.


Footnotes

Footnote 1

Professor Emeritus, Department of Integrative Biology, University of Guelph. COSEWIC member and Co-chair of the COSEWIC Amphibians and Reptiles Specialist Subcommittee.

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Department of Zoology, Biodiversity Research Centre and Beaty Biodiversity Museum, University of British Columbia, and Chair of COSEWIC.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, and member of COSEWIC.

Return to footnote 3

Rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest (Pseudacris triseriata) et rainette faux-grillon boréale (Pseudacris maculata) : clarification concernant les espèces sauvages inscrites en vertu de la LEP à la lumière d'interprétations taxinomiques récentes

James P. BogartNote 1, Eric B. TaylorNote 2, et Ruben BolesNote 3

Novembre 2015

Remarque : Lors de sa réunion d'évaluation des espèces sauvages de novembre 2015 (du 22 au 26 novembre 2015) le COSEPAC a examiné le document intitulé "Rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest (Pseudacris triseriata) et rainette faux-grillon boréale (Pseudacris maculata) : clarification concernant les espèces sauvages inscrites en vertu de la LEP à la lumière d'interprétations taxinomiques récentes" rédigé par J.P. Bogart, E.B. Taylor and R. Boles.  Le COSEPAC a par la suite produit son propre énoncé de clarification en date du 26 novembre 2015. Cet énoncé a également été publié sur le Registre public des espèces en péril.

Préface

Le présent document a été produit en réponse à une demande faite par Environnement Canada afin de clarifier les découvertes taxinomiques récentes sur la rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest et la rainette faux-grillon boréale, ainsi que leurs conséquences sur les rainettes faux-grillons inscrites comme espèce « menacée » en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en 2010. Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) discutera du document à sa prochaine réunion, du 22 au 26 novembre 2015, et il sera proposé que le document soit mis à la disposition du public par l'intermédiaire du Registre public des espèces en péril.

En 2008, le COSEPAC a évalué la situation de la rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest (Pseudacris triseriata) au Canada. Il a évalué la population carolinienne comme espèce « non en péril » et la population des Grands Lacs/Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien comme espèce « menacée ». Cette dernière a été inscrite en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) en 2010. La répartition géographique des deux populations est présentée à la figure 1, qui est tirée du rapport de situation du COSEPAC (COSEPAC, 2008a).

Certaines autorités (Crother, 2012; Dodd, 2013; Frost, 2013) ont récemment classé les rainettes faux-grillons du sud-est de l'Ontario et du sud-ouest du Québec (c.-à-d. les rainettes de la population des Grands Lacs/Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien) sous une espèce différente, soit la rainette faux-grillon boréale (Pseudacris maculata), dont l'aire de répartition au Canada avait auparavant été limitée aux provinces des Prairies et à l'ouest de l'Ontario. Cette révision de l'aire de répartition géographique des deux espèces est fondée sur des données issues de Lemmon et al (2007) et de données génétiques supplémentaires, qui ont permis de déterminer deux lignées génétiques dans le sud de l'Ontario et du Québec basées sur l'ADN mitochondrial. La lignée génétique découverte dans le sud-est de l'Ontario et le sud-ouest du Québec correspondait à celle de la rainette faux-grillon boréale, tandis que la lignée de l'extrême sud de l'Ontario correspondait à la rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest (P. triseriata), qui se trouve également dans les régions adjacentes des États-Unis (voir la figure 2).

Figure 1. Répartition de la rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest (Pseudacris triseriata) au Canada telle qu’interprétée par le COSEPAC dans son évaluation de 2008. La population carolinienne (ombragé rose) a été évaluée comme espèce « non en péril », tandis que la population des Grands Lacs/Sain-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien (ombragé gris au-dessus du rose) a été évaluée comme espèce « menacée ». Source : COSEPAC (2008a).

Carte : Répartition de la rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest (Pseudacris triseriata) au Canada
Description longue pour la figure 1

Carte montrant les observations de la rainette faux-grillon de l’ouest dans le sud de l’Ontario et du Québec, à l’intérieur des deux provinces fauniques de la forêt carolinienne et des Grands Lacs / Fleuve Saint-Laurent. Les observations situées au-dessus de la zone voilée en gris se situent quant à elles dans une troisième province faunique, le Bouclier Canadien.

 

Les constatations de Lemmon et al (2007) ont été prises en compte dans l'évaluation du COSEPAC de 2008. Toutefois, le COSEPAC a souligné que la découverte de populations d'une lignée d'ADN mitochondrial semblable à celle de la rainette faux-grillon boréale n'était pas nécessairement suffisante pour considérer ces populations comme appartenant à la rainette faux-grillon boréale. D'autres espèces d'amphibiens sont connues pour avoir plusieurs lignées d'ADN mitochondrial distinctes, dont certaines peuvent être similaires à celles d’espèces complètement différentes à la suite, notamment, d'hybridation historique entre les espèces. Dans de telles situations, les changements aux limites des espèces peuvent ne pas suivre, et d'autres données telles que celles provenant de l'ADN nucléaire, de la morphologie, du comportement, etc., sont généralement aussi prises en compte afin de mieux comprendre les relations taxinomiques. Dans le cas de la rainette faux-grillon dans le sud-est de l'Ontario et le sud-ouest du Québec, les preuves par l’ADN mitochondrial étaient relativement récentes en 2008, et il manquait de preuves corroborantes à ce moment-là pour appuyer la reconnaissance de la rainette faux-grillon boréale dans ces régions. À ce titre, le COSEPAC a jugé qu'il était trop tôt pour considérer les rainettes faux-grillons du sud-est de l'Ontario et du sud-ouest du Québec comme étant des rainettes faux-grillons boréales (P. maculata). Le COSEPAC a plutôt retenu l'interprétation taxinomique de Platz (1989), qui considère toutes les rainettes faux-grillons du sud de l'Ontario et du sud-ouest du Québec comme étant des rainettes faux-grillons de l'ouest (P. triseriata). Malgré l'incertitude taxinomique, le COSEPAC a tout de même utilisé la répartition géographique des lignées d'ADN mitochondrial en partie, pour établir la limite entre les deux populations de rainettes faux-grillons de l'ouest qui ont été évaluées, à savoir la population carolinienne et la population des Grands Lacs/Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien.

Figure 2. Répartition des lignées génétiques d'un groupe d'espèces de rainettes faux-grillons étroitement apparentées en Amérique du Nord, tel qu'il est déterminé par Lemmon et al (2007) grâce à des séquences d'ADN mitochondrial. La lignée génétique associée à la rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest (Pseudacris triseriata) est représentée par des diamants gris sur un fond bleu-vert qui comprend le sud-ouest de l'Ontario. La lignée associée à la rainette faux-grillon boréale (P. maculata) est représentée par des points noirs sur un fond rose, principalement dans l'ouest. Il convient de remarquer la présence de la lignée de type rainette faux-grillon boréale dans une région isolée du sud-est de l'Ontario et du sud-ouest du Québec (en rose), une région où l'on pense que la présence de la rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest a déjà été observée. Source : Lemmon et al (2007).

Carte montrant la répartition des lignées génétiques d'un groupe d'espèces de rainettes faux-grillon étroitement apparentées en Amérique du Nord
Description longue pour la figure 2

Carte montrant la répartition des lignées génétiques d'un groupe d'espèces de rainettes faux-grillon étroitement apparentées en Amérique du Nord, tel qu'il est déterminé par Lemmon et al (2007) grâce à  des séquences d'ADN mitochondrial. La lignée génétique associée à la rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest (Pseudacris triseriata) est représentée par des diamants gris sur un fond bleu-vert qui comprend le sud-ouest de l'Ontario. La lignée associée à la rainette faux-grillon boréale (P. maculata) est représentée par des points noirs sur un fond rose, principalement dans l'ouest. Il convient de remarquer la présence de la lignée de type rainette faux-grillon boréale dans une région isolée du sud-est de l'Ontario et du sud-ouest du Québec (en rose), une région où l'on pense que la présence de la rainette faux-grillon de l'ouest a déjà été observée.

 

Peu importe le nom qui leur est attribué dans la littérature scientifique, les rainettes faux-grillons du sud-est de l'Ontario et du sud-ouest du Québec sont inscrites en vertu de la Loi comme espèce « menacée ». Tel que cela a été précisé par le COSEPAC dans un complément à son évaluation (COSEPAC, 2008b), la limite sud de la population des Grands Lacs/Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien est démarquée explicitement par la ligne des provinces fauniques des amphibiens et des reptiles terrestres, illustrée à la figure 4 du rapport de situation du COSEPAC (figure 1 du présent document). La limite nord s'étend juste au-delà de la limite nord de la province faunique des Grands Lacs et du fleuve Saint-Laurent pour inclure une bordure sud étroite de la province faunique du Bouclier canadien adjacente, où l’on retrouve un petit nombre d'occurrences (figure 1). NatureServe (2015), un organisme à but non lucratif qui fournit une expertise scientifique de haute qualité à des fins de conservation, estime actuellement que les rainettes faux-grillons évaluées comme espèce « menacée » par le COSEPAC (2008a) sont des rainettes faux-grillons boréales. NatureServe a attribué à ces rainettes une cote S2 (en péril) au Québec.

Lorsque le COSEPAC réévaluera la situation de la population des Grands Lacs/Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien, il tiendra compte des nouvelles recherches disponibles sur la rainette faux-grillon. Par exemple, de récentes données génétiques et acoustiques appuient l'affirmation que les rainettes faux-grillons de la population des Grands Lacs/Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien sont des rainettes faux-grillons boréales, P. maculata, (Rogic et al., 2015). L'attribution du nom de rainette faux-grillon boréale à cette population est un résultat possible de la prochaine réévaluation du COSEPAC (prévue vers 2017-2018). Si cela se produit, le COSEPAC examinera l'ensemble de la répartition canadienne de cette espèce, ce qui comprend d'importantes parties du centre-ouest du Canada (figure 2), pour déterminer si les composantes de la population qui s'y trouve justifient des évaluations de la situation distinctes, conformément aux lignes directrices du COSEPAC (COSEPAC, 2014).

À la lumière de la répartition géographique et d'autres facteurs, il est très peu probable que le COSEPAC évaluerait l'ensemble de la répartition canadienne de la rainette faux-grillon boréale comme une seule unité. Plus précisément, une grande distance sépare la région du sud-est de l'Ontario et du sud-ouest du Québec de la partie la plus à l'ouest de la répartition de l’espèce, reflétant probablement des historiques postglaciaires différents pour les rainettes faux-grillons dans les deux régions. Elles occupent d’autant plus des provinces fauniques des amphibiens et des reptiles presque entièrement distinctes. Par conséquent, ces différences pourraient être qualifiées à la fois de « distinctes » et d’« importantes dans l'évolution » (COSEPAC, 2014). À ce titre, on s'attend à ce que la population des Grands Lacs/Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien actuellement inscrite en vertu de la LEP continue d'être évaluée séparément de la population du centre-ouest du Canada.

Références

COSEWIC. 2008a. COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Western Chorus Frog Pseudacris triseriata Carolinian population and Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield population in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. vii + 47 pp. (Également disponible en français : COSEPAC. 2008a. Évaluation et rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la rainette faux-grillon de l’ouest (Pseudacris triseriata) population carolinienne et population des Grands Lacs et Saint-Laurent et du Bouclier canadien au Canada – Mise à jour. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Ottawa. vii + 47 p.).

COSEWIC. 2008b. Supplemental Information on Boundary Lines and Designatable Units for the Western Chorus Frog Pseudacris triseriata Carolinian population Great Lakes/St. Lawrence – Canadian Shield population in Canada. [Consulté en décembre 2013]. (Également disponible en français : COSEPAC. 2008b. Renseignements supplémentaires (lignes de demarcation et unites désignables) sur la rainette faux-grillon de l’ouest (Pseudacris triseriata) population carolinienne et population des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent – Bouclier canadien au Canada).

COSEWIC 2014. Guidelines for recognizing designatable units. The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife. [Consulté en novembre 2015]. (Également disponible en français : COSEPAC. 2014. Lignes directrices pour reconnaître les unités désignables. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada).

Crother, B. I. (ed.). 2012. Scientific and Standard English Names of Amphibians and Reptiles of North America North of Mexico, with Comments Regarding Confidence in Our Understanding. SSAR Herpetological Circular 39: 1-92.

Dodd, C.K. Jr. 2013. Frogs of the United States and Canada. Volume 1. The Johns Hopkins University Press, Baltimore, USA.

Frost, D.R. 2013. Amphibian Species of the World: an Online Reference (en anglais seulment). Version 5.6 (9 janvier 2013). [Base de données électronique]. American Museum of Natural History, New York, USA.

Lemmon, E.M., A.R. Lemmon, J.T. Collins, J.A. Lee-Yaw, et D.C. Cannatella. 2007. Phylogeny-based delimitation of species boundaries and contact zones in the trilling chorus frogs (Pseudacris). Molecular Phylogenetics and Evolution 44: 1068-1082.

NatureServe (2015). NatureServe Explorer: An online encyclopedia of life [application web] (en anglais seulement). Version 7.1. NatureServe, Arlington Virginia.

Platz, J.E. 1989. Speciation within the chorus frog Pseudacris triseriata: morphometric and mating call analyses of the Boreal and western subspecies. Copeia 1989: 704-712.

Rogic, A., N. Tessier, S. Noël, A. Gendron, A. Branchaud, et F-J. Lapointe. 2015. A “trilling” case of mistaken identity: call playbacks and mitochondrial DNA identify chorus frogs in southern Québec (Canada) as Pseudacris maculata and not P. triseriata. Herpetological Review 46: 1-7.


Notes

Note 1

Professeur émérite, Département de biologie intégrative, Université de Guelph. Membre du COSEPAC et coprésident du sous-comité de spécialistes des amphibiens et reptiles du COSEPAC.

Retour à la note 1

Note 2

Département de zoologie, Centre de recherche sur la biodiversité et Musée de la biodiversité Beaty, Université de la Colombie-Britannique, et président du COSEPAC.

Retour à la note 2

Note 3

Service canadien de la faune, Environnement Canada, et membre du COSEPAC.

Retour à la note 3