Description of critical habitat of Least Bittern and Prothonotary Warbler in Point Pelee National Park of Canada

The Least Bittern (Ixobrychus exilis) is a migratory bird protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act as a threatened species. In Canada, the Least Bittern occurs south of the Canadian Shield in Manitoba, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia. It breeds in freshwater and brackish marshes with tall emergent plants interspersed with open water.

The Prothonotary Warbler (Protonotaria citrea) is a migratory bird protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act as an endangered species. In Canada, the Prothonotary Warbler breeds primarily along the shores of Lake Erie, nesting in cavities that were created naturally (e.g. by rot or decay) or excavated by primary cavity nesters, such as Black-capped Chickadees (Poecile atricapilla) and Downy Woodpeckers (Picoides pubescens), or in suitably designed artificial nest boxes erected for the species.

The Multi-species Action Plan for Point Pelee National Park of Canada and Niagara National Historic Sites of Canada identifies critical habitat for these species in Point Pelee National Park of Canada.

Notice is hereby given, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, that 90 days after the date of publication of this notice, subsection 58(1) of the Act will apply to the critical habitat of the Least Bittern and Prothonotary Warbler, identified in the action plan for these species that is included in the Species at Risk Public Registry, and that is located within Point Pelee National Park of Canada, the boundaries of which are described in Schedule 1 to the Canada National Parks Act.

August 17, 2016

Eric Nielson
Acting Field Unit Superintendent
Southwestern Ontario Field Unit

Description de l’habitat essentiel du petit blongios et de la paruline orangée au parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée

Le petit blongios (Ixobrychus exilis) est un oiseau migrateur protégé aux termes de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en tant qu’espèce menacée. Au Canada, on trouve des petits blongios dans le sud du Bouclier canadien au Manitoba, en Ontario, au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Nouvelle-Écosse. L’oiseau se reproduit dans les marais d’eau douce ou salée dominés par de grandes plantes émergentes entourées de zones d’eau libre.

La paruline orangée (Protonotaria citrea) est un oiseau migrateur protégé en vertu de la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et inscrite à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril en tant qu’espèce en voie de disparition. Au Canada, la paruline orangée se reproduit principalement sur les rives du lac Érié, où elle niche dans des cavités formées naturellement (par exemple par la pourriture ou la décomposition) ou creusées par des nicheurs cavicoles primaires comme la mésange à tête noire (Poecile atricapilla) et le pic mineur (Picoides pubescens), ou encore dans des nichoirs artificiels convenables aménagés à cette fin.

Le Plan d’action visant des espèces multiples dans le parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée et les lieux historiques nationaux du Canada du Niagara décrit l’habitat essentiel de ces espèces dans le parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée.

Avis est par la présente donné que, conformément au paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, 90 jours après la publication du présent avis, le paragraphe 58(1) de la Loi sera applicable à l’habitat essentiel du petit blongios et de la paruline orangée, décrit dans le plan d’action pour ces espèces inscrites au Registre public des espèces en péril, se trouvant dans les limites du parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée, décrites à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.

Le 17 août 2016

Le directeur d’unité de gestion intérimaire
Unité de gestion du Sud-Ouest de l’Ontario
Eric Nielson