Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for Northern Abalone (Haliotis kamtschatkana) in Canada (Final Version)

cover pic of north abalone
Northern abalone

September 2007

Declaration
Responsible Jurisdictions
Authors
Acknowledgments
Strategic Environmental Assessment Statement
Residence
Preface
Executive Summary

About the Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series

What is the Species at Risk Act (SARA)?

SARA is the Act developed by the federal government as a key contribution to the common national effort to protect and conserve species at risk in Canada. SARA came into force in 2003 and one of its purposes is“to provide for the recovery of wildlife species that are extirpated, endangered or threatened as a result of human activity.”

What is recovery?

In the context of species at risk conservation, recovery is the process by which the decline of an endangered, threatened, or extirpated species is arrested or reversed and threats are removed or reduced to improve the likelihood of the species’ persistence in the wild. A species will be considered recovered when its long-term persistence in the wild has been secured.

What is a recovery strategy?

A recovery strategy is a planning document that identifies what needs to be done to arrest or reverse the decline of a species. It sets goals and objectives and identifies the main areas of activities to be undertaken. Detailed planning is done at the action plan stage.

Recovery strategy development is a commitment of all provinces and territories and of three federal agencies -- Environment Canada, Parks Canada Agency, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada -- under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk.  Sections 37–46 of SARA outline both the required content and the process for developing recovery strategies published in this series.

Depending on the status of the species and when it was assessed, a recovery strategy has to be developed within one to two years after the species is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk.  Three to four years is allowed for those species that were automatically listed when SARA came into force.

What’s next?

In most cases, one or more action plans will be developed to define and guide implementation of the recovery strategy. Nevertheless, directions set in the recovery strategy are sufficient to begin involving communities, land users, and conservationists in recovery implementation. Cost-effective measures to prevent the reduction or loss of the species should not be postponed for lack of full scientific certainty.

The series

This series presents the recovery strategies prepared or adopted by the federal government under SARA. New documents will be added regularly as species get listed and as strategies are updated.

To learn more

To learn more about the Species at Risk Act and recovery initiatives, please consult the SARA Public Registry and the Web site of the Recovery Secretariat  (http://www.speciesatrisk.gc.ca/recovery/).

Recommended citation:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada. 2007. Recovery Strategy for the Northern Abalone (Haliotis kamtschatkana) in Canada.Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Vancouver. vi + 31 pp.


Additional copies:

Additional copies can be downloaded from the SARA Public Registry (http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/)

Cover illustration: Pauline Ridings, Fisheries & Oceans Canada.

Également disponible en français sous le titre :

« Programme de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie (Haliotis kamtschatkana) au Canada »

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, represented by the Minister ofFisheries and Oceans, 2007. All rights reserved.

ISBN                       987-0-662-46915-5

Catalogue no.     En3-4/35-2007E-PDF

 

Content (excluding the illustrations) may be used without permission, with appropriate credit to the source.

Declaration

The recovery strategy for the northern abalone has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions described in the Preface. Fisheries and Oceans Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the northern abalone as required under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). This recovery strategy also constitutes advice to other jurisdictions and organizations on the recovery goals, approaches and objectives that are recommended to protect and recover the species.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Fisheries and Oceans Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the National Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans invites all Canadians to join Fisheries and Oceans Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the species and Canadian society as a whole. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will support implementation of this strategy to the extent possible, given available resources and its overall responsibility for species at risk conservation. Implementation of the strategy by other participating jurisdictions and organizations is subject to their respective policies, appropriations, priorities, and budgetary constraints.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new information. The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans will report on progress within five years.

This strategy will be complemented by one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species. The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians interested in or affected by these measures will be consulted.

Responsible Jurisdictions

  • Fisheries & Oceans Canada
  • Parks Canada Agency
  • Government of British Columbia

Authors

The Abalone Recovery Team (Appendix 1) prepared this recovery strategy for Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Acknowledgments

The development of the recovery strategy for northern abalone was the result of valuable contributions by a number of individuals and organizations.  The Abalone Recovery Team is grateful to the following reviewers for their valuable advice and contributions on the 2002 recovery strategy: Paul Breen, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, New Zealand; Konstantin Karpov, California Fish and Game; Michele Patterson, World Wildlife Fund; Scoresby A. Shepherd, South Australian Research and Development Institute; Norm Sloan, Parks Canada; Anne Stewart, Bamfield Huu-ay-aht Community Abalone Project Society; and Jane Watson, Malaspina University-College.

The recovery team also acknowledges the many people who provided advice and comments through consultation workshops, and the following individuals for their written submissions in 2002: Lorne Clayton, IEC International Collaborative Marine Research and Development Ltd.; Erica Boulter, World Wildlife Fund; Robert DeVault, Outer Coast Oysters; Larry Golden; Michele James, Underwater Harvesters Association; Stefan Ochman, Fisheries Manager, Huu-ay-aht First Nation;  Dawn Renfrew, Bamfield Marine Sciences Center; Fred Hawkshaw; Mike Featherstone, Pacific Urchin Harvesters Association; Mark Biagi, Community Futures Development Corporation of Powell River and John Shepherd, Northwest Community College.

Fisheries & Oceans Canada would like to thank the numerous individuals and their organizations that are working to achieve the long-term recovery of northern abalone.

Strategic Environmental Assessment Statement

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, the purpose of a Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats.

This recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the northern abalone. The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered. The SEA concluded that this strategy will clearly benefit the environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects. Refer to the following sections of the document in particular:Needs of the Northern Abalone, Approaches Recommended to Meet Recovery Objectives, and Effects on other species. 

Residence 

SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or

hibernating[SARA S2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry.

Preface

Northern abalone is a marine species under federal jurisdiction of the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans under the Fisheries Act and the Species at Risk Act (SARA).  SARA (Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species.  The northern abalone was listed as threatened under SARA in June 2003. 

The Province of British Columbia has jurisdiction over the use of seabed and foreshore under the BC Land Act.  Aquaculture facilities are subject to licensing under the BC Fisheries Act.   Artificial movements of northern abalone into and within coastal waters and to aquaculture facilities are subject to review and licencing by the federal-provincial Introductions and Transfers Committee.  Under the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act, Parks Canada Agency has involvement in abalone management and protection in National Marine Conservation Areas (NMCAs).  The Province of BC and Parks Canada Agency have cooperated in the development of this recovery strategy. 

Fisheries & Oceans Canada formed the Abalone Recovery Team in 2001 to develop the ‘National Recovery Strategy for the Northern Abalone in British Columbia’, which was adopted under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk in 2002.  In 2007, the recovery strategy was updated to meet the requirements of SARA (this document). 

This proposed recovery strategy meets SARA requirements (Sections 39-41) in terms of content and process and covers the period 2007-2012. 

Executive Summary

The northern or pinto abalone has been declining in numbers and distribution in surveyed areas of coastal British Columbia (B.C.), Canada, as documented by regular surveys since the late 1970s.  The northern abalone fisheries in B.C. were closed to all harvest in 1990 to protect the remaining population.  Despite the complete ban on harvest, the population continued to decline and showed no sign of recovery.  As a result, northern abalone were assigned a threatened status by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) in April 1999.  In June 2003, northern abalone were legally listed and protected as threatened under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). 

Illegal harvest is considered to be the most significant threat to northern abalone.  The northern abalone is especially vulnerable to harvest because this species has a patchy distribution, short larval period, is slow growing, relatively long-lived, has low or sporadic recruitment, and mature individuals, which tend to accumulate in shallow water, are easily accessible to harvesters.  Low recruitment in an area, over a protracted period of several years, further threatens the northern abalone population by not replenishing the reproductive adults that have died from natural causes or illegal harvest. While low recruitment caused by unfavourable environmental and biotic factors usually can not be predicted nor controlled, ensuring that there are sufficient adult northern abalone to reproduce each year will allow recruitment to occur when environmental conditions are favourable.  Future threats may include habitat loss in localized areas to works or developments on, in and under the water in the event they are unregulated and predation by sea otters in areas where northern abalone are already severely depleted. 

The immediate recovery goal is to halt the decline of the existing wild northern abalone population in order to reduce the risk of northern abalone becoming endangered. 

The long-term recovery goal is to increase the number and densities of wild northern abalone to levels where the population becomes self-sustainable within five biogeographic zones, Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands), Queen Charlotte and Johnstone Straits, North and Central Coast, Georgia Basin, and West Coast of Vancouver Island, in order to remove northern abalone from threatened status.  The goal of increasing northern abalone to sustainable levels can be expected to take several decades.

The recovery objectives on which northern abalone’s recovery will be monitored over the next five years are:

  1. To observe that mean densities of large adult (> 100 mm shell length (SL)) northern abalone do not decline below 0.1 per m2 at surveyed index sites in Haida Gwaii and North and Central Coast, and that the percentage of surveyed index sites with large adult (> 100 mm SL) northern abalone does not decrease below 40%.
  2. To observe that the mean total density estimates at newly established index sites in the Queen Charlotte and Johnstone Straits do not decline below the level observed in 2004 (0.06 northern abalone per m2 and 0.02 northern abalone per m2, respectively), and the mean total density estimates for the West Coast of Vancouver Island do not decline below the level observed in 2003 (0.09 northern abalone per m2). 
  3. To observe at the index sites (in areas without sea otters) that the annual estimated mortality rate for mature (≥ 70 mm SL) northern abalone is reduced to <0.20 and the mean densities of mature (≥ 70 mm SL) northern abalone are increased to ≥ 0.32 per m2.
  4. To observe at the index sites (in areas without sea otters) that the proportion of quadrats (m2) with northern abalone is increased to > 40%.

The approaches recommended for the long-term to meet the recovery objectives are:

  1. maintaining the fisheries closures;
  2. implementing a proactive protection plan;
  3. implementing a communication campaign to stop illegal harvest and raise public awareness;
  4. undertaking research and rebuilding experiments;
  5. monitoring the population status. 

Critical habitat for northern abalone has not been identified.  Critical habitat may exist in certain habitats where juvenile survival is better, or where the reproducing adults contribute to a larger portion of the total recruitment.  Identification of these key habitats is an important component to the abalone research and rebuilding plans. 

One or more action plans, which provide the specific details for recovery implementation, will be completed within three years of completion of the recovery strategy.

Fisheries and Oceans Canada has facilitated the completion of this recovery strategy with the assistance of the Abalone Recovery Team.  Through workshops, public consultations andexternal reviews, other government agencies, stewardship groups, First Nations communities, universities, external experts, businesses, private citizens, international organizations and non-government organizations (NGOs) have also contributed to the recovery strategy.  Many of these groups are actively working to help stop the decline and remove this species from the threatened status list.

To report suspicious or illegal harvesting activities call 1-800-465-4336 and help protect northern abalone.

Table of Contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie (Haliotis kamtschatkana) au Canada (Final)


Haliotide pie

Septembre  2007

Déclaration
Autorités responsables
Auteurs
Remerciements
Évaluation environnementale stratégique
Résidence
Préface
Résumé

La série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Qu’est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP)?

La LEP est la loi fédérale qui constitue l’une des pierres d’assise de l’effort national commun de protection et de conservation des espèces en péril au Canada. Elle est en vigueur depuis 2003 et vise, entre autres, àpermettre le rétablissement des espèces qui, par suite de l'activité humaine, sont devenues des espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées.

Qu’est-ce que le rétablissement?

Dans le contexte de la conservation des espèces en péril, le rétablissement est le processus par lequel le déclin d’une espèce en voie de disparition, menacée ou disparue du pays est arrêté ou inversé et par lequel les menaces à sa survie sont éliminées ou réduites de façon à augmenter la probabilité de survie de l’espèce à l’état sauvage. Une espèce sera considérée comme rétablie lorsque sa survie à long terme à l’état sauvage aura été assurée.

Qu’est-ce qu’un programme de rétablissement?

Un programme de rétablissement est un document de planification qui identifie ce qui doit être réalisé pour arrêter ou inverser le déclin d’une espèce. Il établit des buts et des objectifs et indique les principaux champs des activités à entreprendre. La planification plus élaborée se fait à l’étape du plan d’action.

L’élaboration de programmes de rétablissement représente un engagement de toutes les provinces et de tous les territoires ainsi que de trois organismes fédéraux -- Environnement Canada, l’Agence Parcs Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada -- dans le cadre de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril. Les articles 37 à 46 de la LEP décrivent le contenu d’un programme de rétablissement publié dans la présente série ainsi que le processus requis pour l’élaborer.

Selon le statut de l’espèce et le moment où elle a été évaluée, un programme de rétablissement doit être préparé dans un délai de un à deux ans après l’inscription de l’espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP. Pour les espèces qui ont été inscrites à la LEP lorsque celle-ci a été adoptée, le délai est de trois à quatre ans.

Et ensuite?

Dans la plupart des cas, un ou plusieurs plans d’action seront élaborés pour définir et guider la mise en oeuvre du programme de rétablissement. Cependant, les recommandations contenues dans le programme de rétablissement suffisent pour permettre la participation des collectivités, des utilisateurs des terres et des conservationnistes à la mise en oeuvre du rétablissement. Le manque de certitude scientifique ne doit pas être prétexte à retarder la prise de mesures efficientes visant à prévenir la disparition ou le déclin d’une espèce.

La série de Programmes de rétablissement

Cette série présente les programmes de rétablissement élaborés ou adoptés par le gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la LEP. De nouveaux documents s’ajouteront régulièrement à mesure que de nouvelles espèces seront inscrites à la Liste des espèces en péril et que les programmes de rétablissement existants seront mis à jour.

Pour en savoir plus

Pour en savoir plus sur la Loi sur les espèces en péril et les initiatives de rétablissement, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP et le site Web du Secrétariat du rétablissement (http://www.especesenperil.gc.ca/recovery/).

 

Référence à citer

Pêches et Océans Canada.  2007. Programme de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie (Haliotis kamtschatkana) au Canada. Série de Programmes de rétablissement de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Pêches et Océans Canada, Vancouver. vi + 31 pp.



Exemplaires supplémentaires

Des exemplaires supplémentaires peuvent être téléchargés à partir du site Web du Registre public de la LEP.

Illustration de la couverture : Pauline Ridings, Pêches et Océans Canada.

Also available in English under the title:

« Recovery Strategy for the Northern Abalone (Haliotis kamtschatkana) in Canada »

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, représentée par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, 2007. Tous droits réservés.

ISBN :                                                     978-0-662-07286-7

Numéro de catalogue :      En3-4/35-2007F-PDF

Le contenu du présent document (sauf l’illustration de la couverture) peut être utilisé sans permission, à condition que la source soit adéquatement citée.

Déclaration

Le présent programme de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie a été préparé en collaboration avec les instances mentionnées dans la Préface. Pêches et Océans Canada a passé en revue le présent document et l’accepte en tant que programme de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie, conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Le présent programme de rétablissement constitue également un avis à l’intention d’autres instances et organismes en regard des buts, des approches et des objectifs de rétablissement qui sont recommandés pour la protection et le rétablissement de l’espèce.

La réussite du rétablissement de cette espèce dépendra de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre de parties qui participent à la mise en œuvre des orientations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer sur Pêches et Océans Canada ou sur une autre instance seulement. Dans l’esprit de l’Accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans invite tous les Canadiens à se joindre à Pêches et Océans Canada pour appuyer le présent programme et le mettre en œuvre au profit de l’haliotide pie et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne. Pêches et Océans Canada s’appliquera à soutenir, dans la mesure du possible, l’exécution du présent programme avec les ressources disponibles et compte tenu de sa responsabilité générale à l’égard de la conservation des espèces en péril. L’exécution du programme par d’autres instances responsables et organismes participants est soumise à leurs politiques respectives, à leurs crédits disponibles, à leurs priorités et à leurs contraintes budgétaires.

Les buts, les objectifs et les méthodes de rétablissement recensés dans le présent programme sont fondés sur les meilleures connaissances actuelles et peuvent être modifiés à la lumière de nouvelles découvertes ou d’objectifs révisés. Le ministre rendra compte des progrès réalisés d’ici cinq ans.

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action détaillant les mesures de rétablissement qu’il faudra prendre pour appuyer la conservation de cette espèce viendront s’ajouter au présent programme. Le ministre mettra en œuvre des moyens pour s’assurer, dans la mesure du possible, que les Canadiens intéressés à ces mesures ou touchés par celles-ci soient consultés.

Autorités responsables

  • Pêches et Océans Canada
  • Agence Parcs Canada
  • Gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique

Auteurs       

L’équipe de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie (annexe 1) a préparé le présent programme de rétablissement pour Pêches et Océans Canada.

Remerciements

La préparation du programme de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie est le résultat de la contribution précieuse d’un certain nombre de personnes et d’organismes. L’équipe de r l’haliotide pie tient à remercier les principaux examinateurs pour leur avis et leurs contributions inestimables sur le programme de rétablissement de 2002 : Paul Breen, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, Nouvelle-Zélande; Konstantin Karpov, California Fish and Game; Michele Patterson, Fonds mondial pour la nature; Scoresby A. Shepherd, South Australian Research and Development Institute; Norm Sloan, Parcs Canada; Anne Stewart, Bamfield Huu-ay-aht Community Abalone Project Society; Jane Watson, Malaspina University-College.

L’équipe de rétablissement tient également à souligner l’apport des nombreuses personnes qui ont formulé des commentaires et des avis au cours des ateliers de consultation ainsi que les personnes suivantes pour leurs présentations écrites en 2002 :Lorne Clayton, IEC International Collaborative Marine Research and Development Ltd.; Erica Boulter, Fonds mondial pour la nature; Robert DeVault, Outer Coast Oysters; Larry Golden; Michele James, Underwater Harvesters Association; Stefan Ochman, gestionnaire des pêches, Première nation Huu-ay-aht;  Dawn Renfrew, Bamfield Marine Sciences Center; Fred Hawkshaw; Mike Featherstone, Pacific Urchin Harvesters Association; Mark Biagi, Community Futures Development Corporation of Powell River; John Shepherd, Northwest Community College.

Pêches et Océans Canada aimerait remercier les nombreuses personnes et organismes qui travaillent au rétablissement à long terme de l’haliotide pie.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, le but de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est d’incorporer les considérations environnementales dans l’élaboration de projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairée du point de vue environnemental.

La planification du rétablissement profitera aux espèces en péril et à la biodiversité en général. Il est toutefois reconnu que des programmes peuvent produire, sans que cela ne soit voulu, des effets environnementaux négatifs qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des impacts possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés.

Le présent programme de rétablissement  sera manifestement bénéfique pour l’environnement en favorisant le rétablissement de l’haliotide pie. La possibilité que ce programme ait des effets négatifs non voulus sur d’autres espèces a été prise en considération. L’EES conclut que le présent programme profitera manifestement à l’environnement et qu’il n’entraînera aucun effet négatif important. Se reporter aux sections suivantes du document : Besoins de l’haliotide pie, Approches recommandées pour atteindre les objectifs de rétablissement et Effets sur d’autres espèces. 

Résidence 

Dans la LEP, la « résidence » est définie comme suit : « Gîte – terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable – occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation. » [paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s’applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP.

Préface

L’haliotide pie  est une espèce marine qui relève de la compétence du ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches  et de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Conformément à l’article 37 de la LEP, le ministre compétent doit préparer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces qui ont été désignées comme étant disparues du pays, menacées ou en voie de disparition. L’haliotide pie a été désignée en tant qu’espèce menacée en vertu de la LEP en juin 2003.  

En vertu de la Land Act de la C.-B., l’utilisation du fond marin et des estrans relève de la compétence du gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique. Les aquaculteurs doivent détenir un permis délivré en vertu de la Fisheries Act de la C.-B.. Les mouvements artificiels de l’haliotide pie dans les eaux côtières et vers celles-ci ainsi que vers des installations aquicoles sont assujettis à un examen et à un permis délivrés par le Comité fédéral-provincial sur l’implantation et le transfert d’espèces. En vertu de la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada participe à la gestion et à la protection de l’haliotide pie dans les zones marines nationales de conservation (ZMNC). Le gouvernement provincial de la C.-B. et  l'Agence Parcs Canada ont collaboré à l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.

Pêches et Océans Canada a formé l'équipe de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie  en 2001 pour élaborer le Programme national de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie en Colombie-Britannique, lequel a été adopté en vertu de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril en 2002. En 2007, le Programme de rétablissement est mis à jour pour satisfaire aux exigences de la LEP (le présent document).

La présente proposition de programme de rétablissement respecte les exigences de la LEP (articles 39 à 41) sur le plan du contenu et du processus et couvre la période s’étendant de 2007 à 2012. 

Résumé

L’haliotide pie, ou ormeau nordique, affiche un déclin de ses effectifs et de sa répartition dans les zones étudiées du littoral de la Colombie-Britannique (C.-B.), au Canada, comme en témoignent les relevés qui y sont effectués de façon régulière depuis la fin des années 1970. En 1990, la pêche à l’haliotide pie a été fermée en C.-B. afin de protéger ce qu’il reste de la population. Malgré l’interdiction complète imposée sur la pêche, la population a continué de décliner et n’a montré aucun signe de rétablissement. En conséquence, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a attribué à l’haliotide pie le statut d’espèce menacée en avril 1999. En juin 2003, l’haliotide pie était officiellement inscrite et protégée en tant qu’espèce menacée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).

La pêche illégale est considérée comme la menace la plus importante pesant contre l’haliotide pie. Cette espèce est particulièrement vulnérable à la pêche en raison de sa répartition inégale (groupements), de la courte durée de son stade larvaire, de sa croissance lente, de sa longévité relativement longue, de son recrutement lent ou sporadique et, enfin, de la tendance des individus adultes à se regrouper dans des eaux peu profondes, où ils sont aisément accessibles aux  pêcheurs. Un faible recrutement dans une zone, lorsqu’il s’échelonne sur plusieurs années, accentue la menace qui pèse sur l’haliotide pie en ne permettant pas le renouvellement des adultes reproducteurs morts de causes naturelles ou prélevés dans le cadre de pêches illégales. Bien qu’un faible recrutement provoqué par des facteurs biotiques et environnementaux défavorables ne puisse d’ordinaire être prévu ni contrôlé, en s’assurant de la présence d’un nombre suffisant d’haliotides pies adultes qui se reproduisent chaque année, on s’assure d’un recrutement élevé lorsque les conditions environnementales sont favorables. Parmi les autres menaces potentielles, mentionnons les pertes d’habitats dans des zones localisées où s’effectuent des travaux ou des aménagements sur l’eau, dans l’eau ou sous l’eau sans qu’aucune réglementation ne soit appliquée, d’une part, et la prédation par les loutres de mer dans les zones où l’haliotide pie a déjà été fortement décimée, d’autre part.

À court terme, le but du rétablissement est d’arrêter le déclin de la population sauvage actuelle d’haliotides pies afin de réduire le risque que cette espèce devienne en voie de disparition. À long terme, le but du rétablissement est d’augmenter l’effectif et la densité de la population sauvage d’haliotides pies afin que l’espèce atteigne des niveaux durables dans cinq zones biogéographiques (Haida Gwaii [îles de la Reine-Charlotte], détroits de la Reine-Charlotte et de Johnstone, secteurs nord et centre de la côte, bassin de Georgia et côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver) afin de faire en sorte que l’haliotide pie ne soit plus menacée. L’atteinte du but consistant à accroître l’effectif d’haliotides pies jusqu’à des niveaux durables pourrait prendre plusieurs décennies.

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, les objectifs de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie seront les suivants :

  1. s’assurer que les densités moyennes d’haliotides pies adultes de grande taille (longueur de coquille [LC]³100 mm) ne diminuent pas en deçà de 0,1 par m2 sur les sites repères étudiés à Haida Gwaii et dans les secteurs nord et centre de la côte et que le pourcentage des sites repères étudiés où l’on trouve des haliotides pies adultes de grande taille (LC³100 mm) ne diminue pas en deçà de 40 %;
  2. s’assurer que les estimations de la densité totale moyenne aux sites repères nouvellement établis dans les détroits de la Reine-Charlotte et de Johnstone ne diminuent pas sous les niveaux observés en 2004 (0,06 haliotide pie par m2 et 0,02 haliotide pie par m2 respectivement) et que les estimations de la densité totale moyenne pour la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver ne diminuent pas sous le niveau observé en 2003 (0,09 haliotide pie par m2);
  3. s’assurer, aux sites repères (dans les zones sans loutres de mer), que le taux de mortalité annuelle estimée pour les haliotides adultes (LC³70 mm) diminue (< 0,20) et que les densités moyennes d’haliotides adultes (LC³70 mm) augmentent (³0,32 par m2);
  4. s’assurer, aux sites repères (dans les zones sans loutres de mer), que la proportion des quadrats (m2) où l’on trouve des haliotides pies augmente (> 40 %).

Les approches recommandées à long terme pour l’atteinte des objectifs de rétablissement sont les suivantes :

  1. le maintien des fermetures des pêches;
  2. la mise en application d’un plan de protection proactif (par le biais de programmes ciblés d’application de la loi et de surveillance côtière);
  3. la mise en œuvre d’une campagne de communication pour mettre un terme à la pêche illégale et pour sensibiliser le public;
  4. la réalisation de travaux de recherche et d’expériences de reconstitution des stocks;
  5. la surveillance de l’état de la population.

L’habitat essentiel de l’haliotide pie n’a pas été identifié. Il peut s’agir de zones où la survie des juvéniles est meilleure ou, encore, de zones où les adultes reproducteurs contribuent dans une plus forte proportion au recrutement total. L’identification de l’ habitat essentiel représente un composant important de tout plan de recherche sur l’haliotide pie et de reconstitution des stocks.

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action, lesquels donnent des détails spécifiques sur la mise en œuvre du rétablissement, seront réalisés dans les trois ans suivant l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.

Pêches et Océans Canada a contribué à l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement avec le concours de l’Équipe de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie. Dautres organismes gouvernementaux, groupes d’intendance, communautés des Premières nations, universités, experts externes, entreprises, membres du public, organismes internationaux et organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) ont également été mis à contribution par le biais d’ateliers, de consultations publiques et d’examens externes,. Nombre de ces groupes travaillent activement pour tenter de stopper le déclin de l’espèce et de la radier de la liste des espèces menacées.

Pour rapporter toute activité de pêche douteuse ou illégale, composer le 1-800-465-4336; vous contribuerez ainsi à protéger l’haliotide pie.

Table des matières