Information summary for consultations on the proposed listing of Bull Trout (Western Arctic) as special concern under the Species at Risk Act

As part of the consultation process, the Government of Canada would like to hear your comments on the potential impacts of listing the Western Arctic population of Bull Trout (Salvelinus confluentus), as special concern under the Species at Risk Act (SARA).

What is the Species at Risk Act?

As part of its strategy for the protection of species at risk, the Government of Canada proclaimed the Species at Risk Act in 2003. One of the purposes of the Act is to provide for the legal protection of wildlife species and the conservation of biological diversity. The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) has the mandate to conduct assessments on the status of wildlife species and categorize them according to their level of risk for extinction (extinct, extirpated, endangered, threatened, or special concern). The Government of Canada considers the scientific evidence, the comments received from Canadians during consultations, and the potential socio-economic impacts before making a decision whether or not to include the species on the List of Wildlife Species at Risk under SARA. Recovery planning is undertaken for all listed species, and prohibitions are put in place protecting species assessed as extirpated, endangered or threatened, from being harmed. Prohibitions do not apply to species of special concern; however, a management plan will be prepared.

photo of bull trout
Image: Adult Bull Trout
Photo credit: Fisheries and Oceans Canada

About Bull Trout

The Bull Trout belongs to the salmon and trout family, and is part of the char subgroup that includes Dolly Varden, Lake Trout, Brook Trout and Arctic Char. Bull Trout has a long and slender body, a large broad head and prominent upper jaw with a slightly forked tail fin. Highly colorful, its back is olive-green to blue-grey, sides are silvery with small pink, lilac, yellow-orange or red spots, the belly is pale in colour, and may become yellow, orange or red in males during spawning and the pelvic and anal fins have white leading edges with no black line.  Size at maturity is dependent upon life history.

The Canadian distribution extends throughout British Columbia and western Alberta, with a northern limit into the southern Yukon and the central portion of the Northwest Territories. Based on genetic analysis, range disjunction and distribution, Bull Trout have been divided into five designated units (DU): Southcoast BC populations (DU1); Western Arctic (DU2); Yukon (DU3); Saskatchewan-Nelson (DU4); and Pacific populations (DU5).

Map showing distribution of Bull Trout, Western Arctic populations as described in the following paragraphs

Map: The Bull Trout, Western Arctic populations (DU2), include those populations in the Mackenzie River system and major tributaries, such as the Liard, Peace and Athabasca rivers.

Proposed SARA Status: Special Concern

The level of protection and recovery actions undertaken for a species listed under SARAdepends on its assessed level of risk for extinction. Bull Trout, Western Arctic population has been assessed by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) as a species of special concern. This is the lowest level of risk category and indicates that this species is not presently endangered, but is considered to be sensitive to human activities and natural events due to biological factors and/or threats.

Threats to the Species

The greatest threats to Bull Trout include degraded and fragmented habitat resulting from development and the introduction of non-native species. Bull Trout are vulnerable to hybridization with introduced Brook Trout in areas where both species now occur. Impacts from oil and gas development, forestry, mining, transportation infrastructure and hydroelectric projects affect habitat by increasing siltation and water temperatures or decreasing stream flow volumes. In turn, these changes reduce reproductive success. As well, barriers to fish movement, such as dams, weirs, and elevated stream temperatures, fragment migratory corridors required for spawning. Overfishing may also remain a threat. As Bull Trout are difficult to distinguish from other char and trout being recreationally fished, the misidentification by fishers also poses a risk.

Protection and Recovery of Species under the SARA

If the Bull Trout, Western Arctic populations are added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk as a species of special concern, they will not be subject to restrictions under SARA; however, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will be required to produce a management plan for the species in an effort to ensure that it does not become further at risk due to human activity. A management plan will include conservation measures for the species and set goals and objectives for maintaining sustainable population levels.

Possible Management Measures

If the Bull Trout, Western Arctic population, is listed under SARA, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will, in collaboration and consultation with stakeholders and partners, use the best available information to develop a management plan.

The Consultation Process – Your Comments

As part of the consultation process, the Government of Canada would like to hear your opinions on listing Bull Trout, Western Arctic population, as special concern under SARA, and any comments on the potential positive and negative impacts this listing would have on you, your industry, and/or the ecosystem. Your answers to the following questions will be used to help inform the decision whether or not to list the species under SARA:

  1. What would be the environmental, social, cultural, and economic impacts of listing this population under SARA?
  2. Do you support listing the Bull Trout, Western Arctic population as special concern on the List of Wildlife Species at Risk under SARA? Why or why not?
  3. Do you represent an industry, community, Aboriginal community or organization, or other group? If so, which group or sector do you represent?

To submit answers to the above questions or share your comments, please contact:

Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Species at Risk Management Division
501 University Crescent
Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N6
Telephone: 1-866-538-1609
E-mail: FWISAR@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

For a copy of the COSEWICassessment for this species, or for other general inquiries, please visit the Species at Risk Public Registry

Reference

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Bull Trout Salvelinus confluentus in Canada (2013)

Sommaire de l'information pour les consultations sur le projet d'inscription de l'omble à tête plate, populations de l'ouest de l'Arctique en tant qu'espèce préoccupante en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Dans le cadre du processus de consultation, le gouvernement du Canada souhaite entendre vos commentaires sur les effets potentiels de l'inscription de l'omble à tête plate (Salvelinus confluentus), populations de l'ouest de l'Arctique en tant qu'espèce « préoccupante » en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).

Qu'est-ce que la Loi sur les espèces en péril?

Dans le cadre de sa stratégie pour la protection des espèces en péril, le gouvernement du Canada a promulgué la Loi sur les espèces en péril en 2003. L'un des objectifs de cette Loi est de prévoir la protection légale des espèces sauvages et la conservation de la diversité biologique. Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a pour mandat de mener des évaluations sur la situation des espèces sauvages et de classer ces dernières en fonction de leur niveau de risque d'extinction (espèce disparue, disparue du Canada, en voie de disparition, menacée ou préoccupante). Avant de prendre la décision sur l'inclusion d'une espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril prévue par la LEP, le gouvernement du Canada examine les preuves scientifiques, les commentaires reçus des Canadiens au cours des consultations et les effets socioéconomiques potentiels. Sont mis en place des plans de rétablissement de la totalité des espèces inscrites de même que des interdictions pour protéger du danger les espèces établies comme étant en voie de disparition, menacées ou disparues du pays.  Si cette population est inscrite en tant qu’espèce préoccupante, elle ne sera pas soumise aux indictions de la loi. Néanmoins, le ministre sera tenu d’élaborer un plan de gestion.  

photo de l'omble

Image: Les ombles à tête plate adultes
Crédit photo: Pêches et Océans Canada

En savoir plus sur l'omble à tête plate

L'omble à tête plate appartient à la famille des saumons et des truites et il fait partie du sous-groupe qui comprend également le Dolly Varden, le touladi, l'omble de fontaine et l'omble chevalier. L'omble à tête plate possède un corps fin et long, une tête grande et large, ainsi qu'une mâchoire supérieure proéminente, et une nageoire caudale légèrement fourchue. Très coloré, il montre un dos vert olive à gris bleuâtre, des flancs d'une couleur argentée avec de petites taches roses, lilas, jaune-orange ou rouges, et un ventre de couleur pâle et pouvant devenir jaune, orange ou rouge chez les mâles pendant le frai. Une taille à maturité variant selon le cycle biologique.

Au Canada, l'aire de répartition comprend l'ensemble de la Colombie-Britannique et l'ouest de l'Alberta ainsi que le sud du Yukon et la partie centrale des Territoires du Nord-Ouest comme limite septentrionale. En se fondant sur des analyses génétiques et la fragmentation de l'aire de répartition, on a divisé les populations d'omble à tête plate en cinq unités désignables (UD) : côte sud de la Colombie-Britannique (UD1), ouest de l'Arctique (UD2), Yukon (UD3), Saskatchewan-Nelson (UD4) et Pacifique (UD5).

Carte montrant la répartition de l’omble à tête plate, populations de l’ouest de l’Arctique, au Canada, telle que décrite dans les paragraphes suivants

Carte : Les populations de l'ouest de l'Arctique (UD2) comprennent les populations du réseau hydrographique du fleuve Mackenzie et de ses principaux tributaires, notamment les rivières Liard, Peace et Athabasca.

Statut proposé en vertu de la LEP : préoccupante

Le niveau de protection et les actions de rétablissement entreprises pour une espèce figurant dans la liste de la LEP sont fonction de l'évaluation du niveau de risque d'extinction pour cette espèce. Les populations de l'omble à tête plate de l’ouest de l’Arctique ont été définies par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) comme une espèce préoccupante. Il s'agit du niveau de risque le plus faible, qui indique que cette espèce n'est pas actuellement en voie de disparition, mais qu'elle est considérée comme sensible aux activités humaines et aux événements naturels en raison de facteurs biologiques ou de menaces.

Menaces

Parmi les menaces les plus importantes qui pèsent sur l'omble à tête plate, on peut citer un habitat dégradé et fragmenté par le développement et l'introduction d'espèces non indigènes. L'omble à tête plate est susceptible de s'hybrider avec une espèce introduite comme l'omble de fontaine, ce qui constitue une menace dans les zones où les deux espèces coexistent. Le développement pétrolier et gazier, l'exploitation forestière et minière, l'infrastructure de transport et les projets hydroélectriques ont des répercussions : ils favorisent l'envasement, l'augmentation de la température de l'eau et la diminution du débit des cours d'eau. À leur tour, ces changements ont une incidence sur le succès reproducteur. De même, les obstacles au déplacement des poissons tels que les barrages et les déversoirs causent la fragmentation des voies de migration nécessaires pour le frai. La surpêche constitue aussi une menace. L'omble à tête plate est difficile à distinguer des autres espèces d'omble et de truite qui font l'objet de pêches récréatives; les erreurs d'identification de la part des pêcheurs constituent donc un autre risque.

Protection et rétablissement

Si les populations de l'omble à tête plate de l’ouest de l’Arctique sont ajoutées à la Liste des espèces en péril en tant qu'espèce préoccupante, elles ne feront pas l'objet d'interdictions aux termes de la LEP. Néanmoins, il sera demandé à Pêches et Océans Canada de produire un plan de gestion pour les populations afin de s'assurer qu'elles ne sont pas mises en péril par les activités humaines. Un plan de gestion en vertu de la LEPcomprendra des mesures de conservation de l'espèce et fixera des buts et des objectifs visant à maintenir des niveaux de population durables.

Mesures de gestion possibles

Si les populations de l'omble à tête plate de l’ouest de l’Arctique sont ajoutées à la liste de la LEP, Pêches et Océans Canada, en collaboration et en consultation avec les parties intéressées et avec ses partenaires, utilisera les meilleurs renseignements disponibles pour élaborer un plan de gestion.

Le processus de consultation – Vos commentaires

Dans le cadre du processus de consultation, le gouvernement du Canada aimerait connaître votre avis sur l'inscription des populations de l'omble à tête plate de l’ouest de l’Arctique en tant qu'espèce préoccupante en vertu de la LEP. Il aimerait aussi obtenir vos commentaires sur les effets positifs et négatifs que cette inscription pourrait avoir sur vous, votre industrie ou les écosystèmes. Vos réponses aux questions suivantes viseront à éclairer la décision à savoir s'il faut inscrire ou non l'espèce en vertu de la LEP.

  1. Quelles seraient les répercussions environnementales, sociales, culturelles et économiques si ces populations étaient ajoutées à la liste de la LEP?
  2. Appuyez-vous l'inscription de ces populations comme préoccupante sur la Liste des espèces en péril de la LEP? Si oui, pourquoi? Sinon, pourquoi?
  3. Représentez-vous un secteur d'activité, une collectivité, une communauté ou une organisation autochtone, ou un autre groupe? Si oui, quel groupe ou secteur représentez-vous?

Pour faire part de vos commentaires ou de vos réponses aux questions ci-dessus, veuillez communiquer avec :

Pêches et Océans Canada
Division de la gestion des espèces en péril
501, chemin University
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3T 2N6
Téléphone : 1-866-538-1609
Courriel : FWISAR@dfo-mpo.gc.ca

Pour obtenir une copie de l'évaluation du COSEPACconcernant cette espèce ou pour d'autres demandes de renseignements généraux, veuillez consulter le Registre public de la LEP.

Référence

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’omble à tête plate Salvelinus confluentus au Canada (2013)