Description of critical habitat of the northern bottlenose whale (Hyperoodon ampullatus), Scotian Shelf population, in the Gully Marine Protected Area

DEPARTMENT OF FISHERIES AND OCEANS

SPECIES AT RISK ACT

Description of critical habitat of the northern bottlenose whale (Hyperoodon ampullatus), Scotian Shelf population, in the Gully Marine Protected Area

The Scotian Shelf population of the northern bottlenose whale is listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act (SARA). The critical habitat for this population was identified in the Recovery Strategy for the Northern Bottlenose Whale (Hyperoodon ampullatus), Scotian Shelf Population, in Atlantic Canadian Waters (www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/document/doc1863f/ind_e.cfm). The recovery strategy, prepared under subsection 37(1) of SARA, was included in the SARA public registry on May 17, 2010.

Whereas a portion of the critical habitat of the northern bottlenose whale, Scotian Shelf population, occurs in a Marine Protected Area (MPA), a place referred to in subsection 58(2) of SARA, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans hereby describes that portion of critical habitat corresponding to Zone 1 of the Gully Marine Protected Area. For information regarding the remaining portions of critical habitat for this population, please refer to the above-mentioned recovery strategy.

Gully Marine Protected Area Zone 1

Located south of Nova Scotia, Canada, the Gully is the largest submarine canyon on the east coast of North America. The Recovery Strategy for the Northern Bottlenose Whale (Hyperoodon ampullatus), Scotian Shelf Population, in Atlantic Canadian Waters identifies the entirety of Zone 1 of the Gully MPA as critical habitat.

The geographical description of Zone 1 of the Gully Marine Protected Area can be found in the Gully Marine Protected Area Regulations, SOR/2004-112, and is available on the Canada Gazette at the following address: http://gazette.gc.ca/archives/p2/2004/2004-05-19/html/sor-dors112-eng.html.

Since northern bottlenose whales use the full depth range in these areas, breathing and socializing at the surface and diving to feed at or near the bottom, critical habitat for this species should be considered to include the entire water column and the seafloor.

August 15, 2010

GAIL SHEA
Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

[33-1-o]

| Introductory Page |

Description de l'habitat essentiel de la baleine à bec commune (Hyperoodon ampullatus), population du plateau néo-écossais, dans les eaux de la zone de protection marine du Gully

MINISTÈRE DES PÊCHES ET DES OCÉANS

LOI SUR LES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL

Description de l’habitat essentiel de la baleine à bec commune (Hyperoodon ampullatus), population du plateau néo-écossais, dans les eaux de la zone de protection marine du Gully

La population de baleine à bec commune du plateau néo-écossais est inscrite à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) et l’habitat essentiel de cette population est décrit dans le Programme de rétablissement de la baleine à bec commune (Hyperoodon ampullatus), population du plateau néo-écossais, dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique (www.registrelep-sararegistry.gc.ca/document/doc1863f/ind_f.cfm). Le programme de rétablissement, préparé en vertu du paragraphe 37(1) de la LEP, a été incorporé dans le registre public le 17 mai 2010.

Considérant qu’une portion de l’habitat essentiel de la population de baleine à bec commune du plateau néo-écossais se situe dans une zone de protection marine (ZPM), un endroit cité au paragraphe 58(2) de la LEP, la ministre des Pêches et des Océans décrit dans les présentes cette portion de l’habitat essentiel qui correspond à la zone de gestion 1 de la ZPM du Gully. Le programme de rétablissement présente des renseignements supplémentaires sur les autres portions de l’habitat essentiel de cette population.

Zone de gestion 1 de la ZPM du Gully

Le Gully, le plus important canyon sous-marin de la côte est de l’Amérique du Nord, est situé dans la partie sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse (Canada). Le Programme de rétablissement de la baleine à bec commune (Hyperoodon ampullatus), population du plateau néo-écossais, dans les eaux canadiennes de l’Atlantique précise que l’ensemble de la zone de gestion 1 de la ZPM du Gully est un habitat essentiel.

Les coordonnées géographiques de la zone de gestion 1 de la ZPM du Gully sont présentées dans le Règlement sur la zone de protection marine du Gully, DORS/2004-112, dans laGazette du Canada, à l’adresse http://gazette.gc.ca/archives/p2/2004/2004-05-19/html/sor-dors112-fra.html.

Étant donné que la baleine à bec commune utilise toute la gamme de profondeurs dans ces zones, notamment en respirant et socialisant à la surface et en plongeant pour s’alimenter au fond des eaux ou près du lit, il serait approprié d’envisager l’incorporation de l’entière colonne d’eau et du plancher océanique dans l’habitat essentiel de cette espèce.

Le 15 août 2010

La ministre des Pêches et des Océans
GAIL SHEA

[33-1-o]

| Page d'introduction |