Description of Sprague’s Pipit critical habitat in the Last Mountain Lake National Wildlife Area, the Canadian Forces Base Suffield National Wildlife Area and Grasslands National Park of Canada

Sprague’s Pipit (Anthus spragueii) is a migratory bird protected under the Migratory Birds Convention Act, 1994 and is listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act. In Canada, Sprague’s Pipit breeds in southwest Manitoba, southern Saskatchewan and Alberta. The species is endemic to the grasslands of the Northern Great Plains.

The Recovery Strategy for Sprague’s Pipit (Anthus spragueii) in Canada identifies critical habitat for the species in a number of areas, including federally protected areas.

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, subsection 58(1) of that Act applies, 90 days after publication of this notice, to the critical habitat of Sprague’s Pipit, as identified in the recovery strategy for that species that is included in the Species at Risk Public Registry, within the following federally protected areas: Last Mountain Lake National Wildlife Area and Canadian Forces Base Suffield National Wildlife Area, the boundaries of which are described in Schedule I of the Wildlife Area Regulations made pursuant to the Canada Wildlife Act, and Grasslands National Park of Canada, the boundaries of which are described in Schedule 1 of the Canada National Parks Act.

Interested parties are invited to contact Environment Canada to request clarification regarding the location, biophysical attributes and protection of the critical habitat for this species. However, some details may be withheld to protect the species and its critical habitat.

June 19, 2015

SARAH COSGROVE
Acting Director
Species at Risk Management
Canadian Wildlife Service

Description de l’habitat essentiel du Pipit de Sprague dans la réserve nationale de faune de Last Mountain Lake, la réserve nationale de faune de la base des Forces canadiennes Suffield et le parc national des Prairies du Canada

Le Pipit de Sprague (Anthus spragueii) est un oiseau migrateur protégé par la Loi de 1994 sur la convention concernant les oiseaux migrateurs et est inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Au Canada, le Pipit de Sprague se reproduit dans le sud-ouest du Manitoba et le sud de la Saskatchewan et en Alberta. Cette espèce est endémique aux Grandes Plaines du Nord.

Le Programme de rétablissement du Pipit de Sprague (Anthus spragueii) au Canada désigne l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce dans un certain nombre de lieux, notamment dans des aires protégées fédérales.

Avis est donné par la présente que, conformément au paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, le paragraphe 58(1) de cette loi s’appliquera, 90 jours après la publication du présent avis, à l’habitat essentiel du Pipit de Sprague, désigné dans le programme de rétablissement de cette espèce -- lequel document est affiché dans le Registre public des espèces en péril -- et situé dans les aires protégées fédérales suivantes : la réserve nationale de faune de Last Mountain Lake et la réserve nationale de faune de la base des Forces canadiennes Suffield, lesquelles sont décrites à l’annexe I du Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada, et le parc national des Prairies du Canada, lequel est décrit à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.

Les parties intéressées qui désirent obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’emplacement, les caractéristiques biophysiques et la protection de l’habitat essentiel de cette espèce sont invitées à communiquer avec Environnement Canada. Cependant, certaines demandes d’information pourraient être refusées afin de protéger l’espèce et son habitat essentiel.

Le 19 juin 2015

La directrice intérimaire
Gestion des espèces en péril
Service canadien de la faune
SARAH COSGROVE