American Plaice - Consultations on listing under the Species at Risk Act

Information summary and questionnaire for consultations on adding two American Plaice populations to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk

November 1, 2013 to January 31, 2014

Populations:

  • Maritime
  • Newfoundland and Labrador

We would like to receive your comments on the potential impacts of adding four populations of American Plaice to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk.

Your comments are important.

Consultations: let your opinion be heard

The Species at Risk Act acknowledges that all Canadians have a role to play in preventing the disappearance of wildlife species.

Before deciding whether any of these American Plaice populations will be added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk, we would like your opinion, comments and suggestions regarding the possible ecological, cultural and economic impacts of listing or not listing these populations under the Species at Risk Act.

Consultation on two American Plaice populations

When all distribution and biological data were considered, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada identified three populations of American Plaice: Arctic, Maritime, and Newfoundland and Labrador. However, this document will only focus on Maritime and Newfoundland and Labrador populations, as little is known about the Arctic population and there are insufficient data to determine its status.

Facts on American Plaice

American Plaice, a relatively slow growing fish, has a uniquely flattened body. When a young plaice emerges from its egg, it has a typical fish shape. During its development, once the plaice has settled on the bottom of the ocean, the side of its body becomes flattened and its left eye migrates to the right side of the body, allowing the plaice to swim on its side. The upper side (where both eyes are now located) is colored in a way that camouflages the plaice in the sediment. In American Plaice, both eyes are almost always found on the right side of the body.

At one time, American Plaice was probably one of the most abundant flatfish in the Northwest Atlantic and was one of the major commercially exploited groundfish species in Canadian fisheries.

American Plaice

Why are these populations of American Plaice at risk?

Using the best available information, the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada has determined that:

  • Overfishing is thought to be responsible for the decline of American Plaice.
  • Fishing, directed or bycatch, likely poses a threat to American Plaice populations.
  • In recent decades, increased natural mortality, thought to be caused by predation and unfavorable environmental conditions, appears to be a major cause in the failure of the stocks to recover significantly even with reduced fishing.

This table presents the status assigned by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada and the decline in the adult abundance over the past three generations for the two populations of American Plaice.

Status assigned by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife
Population (NAFO Areas)COSEWICStatusDecline in Adult Abundance
(over the past three generations, i.e. 48 yeArs)
Maritime (4RSTVWX)Threatened67-86%
Newfoundland and Labrador (2+3KLNOPsPn)Threatened94-96%

This map shows the location the two American Plaice populations (or designatable units) targeted for this consultation, according to Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization (NAFO) areas. The Newfoundland and Labrador population is located in the waters immediately south of the Hudson Strait southeast to the Grand Banks (east of Newfoundland) and west to Cape Ray (southwestern tip of Newfoundland) (NAFO areas 2GHJ3K, 3LNO and 3Psn). The Maritime population is found in areas west of Newfoundland, the lower Estuary and the Gulf of St. Lawrence, the entire Scotian Shelf and Bay of Fundy as well as the Canadian portion of Georges Bank (NAFO areas 4RSTVWX).

Map of American Plaice populations (designatable units)under consultation(by Northwest Atlantic Fisheries Organization [NAFO] areas)

Map

Adding a Population to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk

The process of listing a species under the Species at Risk Act consists of several steps. It begins with an assessment by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and ends with a government of Canada decision whether or not to add a species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. Consultations are conducted to gather the views of Canadians and are an important step in this process.

Who assigned an endangered status to these populations of American Plaice?

COSEWICis an independent committee of experts that assesses and designates which wildlife species are in some danger of disappearing from Canada. The status of several American Plaice populations in Canada was assessed in 2010. This assessment was based on the best available information, including scientific data, community knowledge and Aboriginal traditional knowledge, where available.

If a population is listed…

A recovery strategy will be developed to identify threats and measures to be implemented to address these threats. Automatic prohibitions will also apply. It will be illegal to kill, harm, harass, take, possess, capture, buy, sell or trade American Plaice from these populations. Critical habitat - the habitat necessary for the survival and recovery of American Plaice - will be protected.

For a copy of the COSEWICAmerican Plaice Assessment and Status Report or other information, visit the Species at Risk Public Registry

Answers to a Few of Your Questions

Why list these American Plaice populations?

According to the COSEWICassessment, these populations have declined considerably and are now considered threatened. The prohibitions that would be implemented under the Species at Risk Act would offer added protection for these populations. Listing would also initiate recovery planning with key partners.

Would the directed commercial American Plaice fishery continue if these populations were listed?

If these populations of American Plaice were added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk, directed American Plaice commercial fisheries would be prohibited.

What would happen if I captured American Plaice while fishing other groundfish species?

Bycatch or retention may be allowed under certain conditions (e.g. any bycatch of American Plaice may need to be released back into the water in the best possible condition). However, it would be prohibited to buy, sell or trade American Plaice from these populations.

Would I be able to continue recreational fishing of American Plaice if it was listed?

If these populations of American Plaice were added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk, recreational fishing would likely be prohibited.

Would my Aboriginal community be able to continue to fish American Plaice for food, social and ceremonial purposes if it was listed?

Under certain conditions, Aboriginal fisheries for food, social and ceremonial purposes may continue.

Questionnaire

You can make a difference: your comments are important!

The purpose of these questions is to obtain your comments on adding two American Plaice populations to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk. If you cannot use our interactive PDF questionnaire (1,13 MB), please submit your comments using the comment form. Please identify the populations you are commenting on:

  • Maritime
  • Newfoundland and Labrador

1. Do you support adding one or several American Plaice populations as endangered to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk? Why?

2. What would be the positive impacts of listing one or two American Plaice populations on your activities, the community, the environment, the culture and economy?

3. What would be the negative impacts of listing one or more American Plaice populations on your activities, the community, the environment, the culture and economy?

4. Do you have any other comments on the listing of one or several populations of American Plaice as threatened?

5. If you are answering on behalf of an Aboriginal community or organization, an industry, a small business1, an association or organization, please specify which one.

6. In what province or territory do you live? In what province or territory does your organization operate?

Your name and contact information (optional):

 


1Defined as any business, including its affiliates, that has fewer than 100 employees or between $30,000 and $5 million in annual gross revenues.

Plie canadienne - Consultations pour l’inscription en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Sommaire d’information et questionnaire pour la consultation au sujet de l’ajout de deux populations de plie canadienne à la Liste des espèces en péril

1er novembre 2013 au 31 janvier 2014

Populations :

  • des Maritimes
  • de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Nous souhaitons recueillir vos commentaires sur les impacts possibles de l’ajout de deux populations de plie canadienne à la Liste des espèces en péril.

Vos commentaires sont importants.

Consultation :  faites connaître votre point de vue

La Loi sur les espèces en péril reconnaît le fait que tous les Canadiens et les Canadiennes ont un rôle à jouer pour prévenir la disparition des espèces sauvages.

Avant de décider si ces populations de plie canadienne seront ajoutées ou non à la Liste des espèces en péril, nous souhaitons donc obtenir votre opinion, vos commentaires et suggestions au sujet des répercussions écologiques, culturelles et économiques possibles de l’inscription ou de la non-inscription de ces populations en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Consultation sur deux populations de plie canadienne

À la suite de l’étude de l’ensemble des données sur la répartition et des données biologiques, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada a défini trois populations de plie canadienne : les populations de l’Arctique, des Maritimes et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Cette consultation ne porte que sur les populations des Maritimes et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, étant donné qu’on en sait peu au sujet de la population Arctique et qu’il n’y a pas suffisamment de données pour déterminer l’état de la population.

Quelques faits sur la plie canadienne

La plie canadienne, un poisson dont la croissance est relativement lente, a un corps aplati très particulier. Au moment de l’éclosion, elle a la forme d’un poisson typique. Lors de son développement, au moment où la plie s’installe sur le fond marin, le côté de son corps s’aplatit et son oeil gauche migre vers le côté droit, pour que la plie puisse nager sur le côté. Le côté supérieur (qui comporte maintenant les deux yeux) est habituellement coloré de sorte que la plie puisse se camoufler dans les sédiments. Chez la plie canadienne, les deux yeux se retrouvent presque toujours du côté droit de son corps.

À une certaine époque, la plie canadienne figurait parmi les espèces de poisson plat les plus abondantes dans le nord-ouest de l’Atlantique. Elle a également été l’une des espèces de poisson de fond commerciales les plus exploitées dans les pêches canadiennes.

Plie canadienne

Pourquoi ces populations de plie canadienne sont-elles en péril?

À l’aide de la meilleure information disponible, le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada a déterminé que :

  • On croit que la surpêche a été la principale cause du déclin de la plie canadienne.
  • La pêche, dirigée ou accessoire, constitue probablement une menace pour ces populations de plie canadienne.
  • Au cours des dernières décennies, une augmentation de la mortalité naturelle, qui découlerait de la prédation et de conditions environnementales défavrables, semble avoir été une cause majeure de l’absence d’un rétablissement significatif malgré une réduction de la pêche.

Ce tableau présente les statuts octroyés par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada et le déclin de l’abondance des adultes, et ce, pour les deux populations de plie canadienne. La première colonne représente les populations, la seconde colonne énumère les statuts et la troisième représente la baisse en pourcentage de l'abondance de la population adulte au cours des trois dernières générations (environ 48 ans).

Statuts octroyés par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada
Population (zones de l’OPANO)Statut COSEPACDéclin de l’abondance des
adultes sur 3 générations
(nombre d’années)
Maritimes(4RSTVWX)Menacée67-86 %
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (2+3KLNOPsPn))Menacée94-96 %

Cette carte présente la localisation des deux populations de plie canadienne (ou unités désignables) ciblées par cette consultation, selon les zones de l'Organisation des pêches de l'Atlantique Nord-Ouest (OPANO). La population de plie canadienne de la région de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador se trouve dans les eaux qui commencent immédiatement au sud du détroit d'Hudson au sud-est du Grand Banc (à l'est de Terre-Neuve) et s'étendent à l'ouest du cap Ray (extrémité sud-ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador) (dans les divisions 2GHJ3K, 3LNO et 3Psn de l'OPANO). La population de la plie canadienne des Maritimes comprend les secteurs de l'ouest de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et l'estuaire maritime et le golfe du Saint-Laurent, tout le plateau néo-écossais et la baie de Fundy, ainsi que la partie canadienne du banc Georges (les divisions 4RSTVWX de l'OPANO).

Carte des populations (unités désignables) de plie canadienne visées par la consultation (selon les zones de l’Organisation des pêches de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest [OPANO])

Carte

L’inscription d’une population à la liste des espèces en péril

Le processus d’inscription de la Loi sur les espèces en péril est constitué de plusieurs étapes. Il commence avec l’évaluation de la situation par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) pour se terminer par une décision du gouvernement du Canada d’ajouter ou non la population à la Liste des espèces en péril. Les consultations sont une étape importante de ce processus et visent à connaître le point de vue des Canadiennes et des Canadiens.

Qui a donné le statut d’espèce en voie de disparition à ces populations de plie canadienne?

Le COSEPAC, un comité indépendant composé de spécialistes, évalue et désigne les espèces sauvages qui risquent de disparaître du Canada. L’évaluation de la situation des différentes populations de plie canadienne du Canada a été réalisée en 2010. Cette évaluation est basée sur la meilleure information disponible, ce qui inclut les données scientifiques, les connaissances de la collectivité et le savoir traditionnel autochtone, lorsque disponibles.

Et si une population est inscrite…

Un programme de rétablissement sera élaboré dans le but de déterminer les menaces et les mesures à mettre en place. De plus, des interdictions automatiques s’appliqueront. Il sera alors interdit de tuer, nuire, harceler, prendre, posséder, capturer, acheter, vendre ou échanger des morues franches de cette population. L’habitat essentiel, c’est-à-dire l’habitat nécessaire à la survie et au rétablissement de la plie canadienne, sera protégé.

Pour obtenir un exemplaire de l’Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPACsur la plie canadienne ou pour d’autres renseignements, veuillez consulter le Registre public des espèces en péril

Quelques réponses à vos questions

Pourquoi inscrire ces populations de plie canadienne?

Selon l’évaluation faite par le COSEPAC, l’abondance de ces deux populations de plie canadienne a connu un déclin marqué et elles sont désormais considérées en voie de disparition. Les interdictions qui seraient mises en place en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril constitueraient une protection supplémentaire pour ces populations. L’inscription permettrait également de planifier leur rétablissement avec les partenaires principaux.

Est-ce que la pêche commerciale dirigée à la plie canadienne se poursuivrait si ces populations étaient inscrites?

Si ces populations de plie canadienne étaient ajoutées à la Liste des espèces en péril, la pêche commerciale dirigée de ces populations serait interdite.

Qu’arriverait-il si je capturais accidentellement des morues franches pendant que je pêche d’autres espèces ?

Les prises accessoires de plie canadienne, avec ou sans rétention, pourraient être permises sous certaines conditions. Par exemple, toutes les prises accidentelles pourraient devoir être remises à l’eau dans la meilleure condition possible. Toutefois, il serait interdit d’acheter, de vendre ou d’échanger des morues franches de ces populations.

Pourrais-je continuer la pêche récréative à la plie canadienne si elle était inscrite?

Si ces populations de plie canadienne étaient ajoutées à la Liste des espèces en péril, la pêche récréative serait probablement interdite.

Est-ce que ma communauté autochtone pourrait continuer à pêcher la plie canadienne à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles si elle était inscrite?

Sous certaines conditions, la pêche pratiquée par des Autochtones à des fins alimentaires, sociales et rituelles pourrait continuer.

Questionnaire

Vous avez un rôle à jouer : vos commentaires sont importants!

Ces questions visent à recueillir vos commentaires sur l’ajout de deux populations de plie canadienne à la Liste des espèces en péril.  Si vous ne pouvez pas utiliser notre formulaire PDF interactif (1,13 Mo), veuillez soumettre vos commentaires en utilisant le formulaire pour commentaires, en mentionnant  la ou les populations qui vous concernent :

  • Population des Maritimes
  • Population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

1. Êtes-vous en faveur de l’ajout d’une ou plusieurs populations de plie canadienne à la Liste des espèces en péril? Pourquoi?

2. Quels seraient les impacts positifs sur vos activités, la communauté, l’environnement, la culture et l’économie si une ou plusieurs populations de plie canadienne étaient inscrites?

3. Quels seraient les impacts négatifs sur vos activités, la communauté, l’environnement, la culture et l’économie si une ou plusieurs populations de plie canadienne étaient inscrites?

4. Avez-vous d’autres commentaires à formuler sur l’inscription d’une ou plusieurs populations de plie canadienne?

5. Si vous répondez au nom d’une communauté autochtone, d’une industrie, d’une petite entreprise1, d’une collectivité, d’une association ou d’un organisme, veuillez indiquer son nom.

6. Dans quelle province ou territoire résidez-vous? Dans quelle province ou territoire votre organisation mène-t-elle ses opérations?

Votre nom et vos coordonnées (optionnel) :

 


1 Une petite entreprise se définit comme étant une entreprise – incluant ses filiales – de moins de 100 employés ou ayant un revenu brut entre 30 000 et 5 millions de dollars.