Pugnose Minnow

Consultation Workbook on the proposed listing of the... Pugnose Minnow

Proposed Risk Status: Threatened
November 2013

Pugnose Minnow

Common Name: Pugnose Minnow
Scientific name: Opsopoeodus emiliae
SARAStatus: Special Concern (June 2003)
COSEWIC Status:
 Threatened (May 2012)
Region: Ontario

Figure 1. A mature Pugnose Minnow (illustration © Joseph R. Tomelleri)

This species has recently been re-assessed as Threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). It was previously listed as Special Concern in 2003 under the federal Species at Risk Act and a management plan was developed in 2009. If the species is listed as threatened under SARA, a recovery strategy will be developed.

General Description

The Pugnose Minnow (Opsopoeodus emiliae) is a small, short-lived and somewhat mysterious fish in the carp and minnow family (Cyprinidae). As its name suggests, it has a tell-tale rounded snout, as well as the following other features:

  • small, slender and elongated body, reaching a maximum length of about 6 cm;
  • bluntly rounded snout and very small, upturned mouth;
  • forked tail and short pectoral (behind the head) fins;
  • silvery-coloured with a distinct, thin black line running the full length of each side of the body;
  • criss-cross pattern of scaling on the upper body;
  • nine dorsal rays (spines in the back fin) compared to eight dorsal rays like other Canadian minnows; and
  • spawning males turn dark silver-blue and develop many small, sharp tubercles around the mouth.

Distribution

In Canada, the Pugnose Minnow is only found in southwestern Ontario, where small populations are limited to Lake St. Clair and its smaller tributaries, and the Detroit and Sydenham rivers. Its small numbers have made research on this fish a challenge, and exact sizes of remaining populations in Canada are not known. However, recent monitoring suggests the Pugnose Minnow has been lost from the Thames River, and that its historical range has decreased by more than 80 per cent. In the United States, the Pugnose Minnow is common and widespread, from Texas to Wisconsin and across to South Carolina and Florida.

map

Figure 2: Map of the distribution of the Pugnose Minnow in Canada.

Habitat & Life History

More research is needed on the biology and preferred Canadian habitat of the Pugnose Minnow, as it is typically found here in areas considered less ideal than where they were historically found--possibly because their ideal habitat no longer exists. For example, Pugnose Minnow used to be found in habitats described as clear, slow-moving, heavily vegetated waters, but are now typically found in warm, turbid (murky), slow-moving waters, with little to no vegetation, over substrates (bottoms) of silt, clay or sand.

The lifespan of the Pugnose Minnow is believed to be three years, and sexual maturity is likely reached at one year of age. The spawning behaviour of this fish is unique compared to other North American cyprinids. In late spring, spawning males choose a flat surface, such as the underside of a rock, and lead females there to lay eggs. The females will lay up to 120 eggs at a time in a single layer along the flat surface and the males guard the nest and eggs from predators. Spawning is repeated many times over six to seven days and the eggs will typically hatch after six days.

Diet

The Pugnose Minnow mainly feeds on small aquatic insects such as midges, but may also eat larval fishes and eggs and small aquatic crustaceans such as water fleas. Its upturned mouth suggests this fish is a mid-water or near-surface feeder.

Threats

The loss of clean, clear, well-vegetated stream, river, and lake habitats is the most likely threat to the survival and recovery of the Pugnose Minnow in Canada today. Wetland destruction and vegetation removal, increased sediment input, turbidity (murkiness) and nutrients (nitrates and phosphates) from urbanization and agriculture are considered the main reasons for the small size of remaining populations of this fish in Canada. Climate change and competition with invasive fish and mussel species are also possible threats to its survival and recovery.

Similar Species

The Pugnose Minnow most resembles the Pugnose Shiner (Notropis anogenus) and the Golden Shiner (Notemigonus crysoleucas), but is different from these fishes - and all other Canadian minnows - because of its extra ninth dorsal ray. The Golden Shiner is also deeper and thinner from side to side, and has a larger anal fin (more than 11 rays). The black lateral line on the Pugnose Shiner also runs all the way to its chin, whereas on the Pugnose Minnow, the line stops at its nose.

Socio-Economic Considerations

When a species is being considered for listing under the Species at Risk Act, an analysis of the benefits and costs of listing must be developed.

For more details, please contact the SARA Regional Manager.

Summary of the Cost-Benefit Analysis

The purpose of the socio-economic analysis is to examine the incremental costs and benefits to Canadians that result from listing the Pugnose Minnow as Threatened under the federal Species at Risk Act.

In Canada, the Pugnose Minnow is found in southwestern Ontario. The Pugnose Minnow is currently protected under Ontario’s Endangered Species Act, 2007 (ESA 2007) as a Threatened species and a provincial recovery strategy will be developed to manage the species and prevent further decline. The ESA 2007 and the Ontario Fishery Regulations prevent the intentional harvest of Pugnose Minnow as bait, and the potential for incidental harvest of Pugnose Minnow through the baitfish industry is low. The Pugnose Minnow and its habitat are also protected under the Fisheries Act* and Pugnose Minnow is currently listed as Special Concern under Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act. Pugnose Minnow is also included in the Sydenham River recovery plan.

When a species is listed as Threatened under the Species at Risk Act, the general prohibitions to protect the species take effect.  Following listing, a recovery strategy and an action plan are prepared, and critical habitat is identified. The critical habitat becomes protected once a ministerial order has been put in place. Permits/agreements authorizing activities affecting a listed wildlife species can be entered into, and there can be exemptions for activities that are permitted by a recovery strategy or action plan.

As the Pugnose Minnow is not fished, the general prohibitions under the Species at Risk Act are not anticipated to have an impact. The Pugnose Minnow and its habitat currently receive protection under Ontario’s Endangered Species Act, 2007 and the cost of developing the federal recovery strategy is anticipated to be negligible. Consequently, listing the Pugnose Minnow as Threatened under the Species at Risk Act is anticipated to result in low or negligible socio-economic impacts.

* Note: In 2012, amendments to the Fisheries Act were passed into law, and were in force as of November 25, 2013. As the Pugnose Minnow’s distribution currently overlaps with those fisheries protected under the Fisheries Act (i.e., commercial, recreational or Aboriginal fisheries), its habitat is consequently protected.

Let us know what you think

This workbook is part of a public consultation process to get your feedback on whether to add the Pugnose Minnow to the Species at Risk Act (SARA) List.  Your answers to the following questions will help determine the federal Government’s decision.

It is important that you understand how the proposed listing can help to protect and recover Pugnose Minnow, and how it may impact on your activities.  As a legally threatened species, automatic prohibitions of SARA would apply.

These prohibitions make it illegal to kill, harm, harass, possess, collect, buy, sell or trade an Extirpated, Endangered or Threatened species. It is also generally illegal to damage or destroy the places these species live. These prohibitions do not apply to species of Special Concern.

If a wildlife species is added to the SARA List as an Extirpated, Endangered or Threatened species, the federal government must prepare a strategy for its recovery. The recovery strategy outlines known threats to the species, identifies the habitat it needs to survive, and highlights gaps in knowledge. It also sets a goal for the species’ recovery.

A recovery strategy must be completed within two years if it is listed as Threatened.  Note that the recovery strategy process will also involve further consultation.

How to use this questionnaire:

Please provide your responses to the questions on the following pages. We welcome feedback from all individuals, regardless of whether you are involved in activities that may or may not be affected by this listing.

Please also use extra sheets to expand your answers as needed.

Please return your completed comments by February 28, 2014 to the following federal Species at Risk office:

SARA Regional Manager
Fisheries and Oceans Canada
501 University Crescent
Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N6
Email: fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Toll-free: 1-866-538-1609

Or provide comments directly through the SARA Registry.

 

The information you provide is important.
We appreciate the time and effort you take to complete this questionnaire.

Proposed SARA Listing of Pugnose Minnow

1. Are you in favour of listing the Pugnose Minnow as a Threatened species?

checkbox Yes
checkbox No
checkbox Undecided

Please explain your decision.


 


 

2. The following questions provide us with information about how you value the Pugnose Minnow. Please choose the response that best describes your opinion.

a. I believe it is important to maintain the Pugnose Minnow so that future generations can enjoy them.

checkbox Strongly disagree   checkbox  Disagree   checkbox  Neutral   checkbox  Agree   checkbox  Strongly agree

b. I believe the Pugnose Minnow plays a significant role in maintaining a healthy ecosystem.

checkbox Strongly disagree   checkbox  Disagree   checkbox  Neutral   checkbox  Agree   checkbox  Strongly agree

c. I believe the Pugnose Minnow has social and/or cultural significance to my community.

checkbox Strongly disagree   checkbox  Disagree   checkbox  Neutral   checkbox  Agree   checkbox  Strongly agree

d. I believe the Pugnose Minnow is an important part of our national heritage.

checkbox Strongly disagree   checkbox  Disagree   checkbox  Neutral   checkbox  Agree   checkbox  Strongly agree

e. I believe the Pugnose Minnow is an important subsistence food source.

checkbox Strongly disagree   checkbox  Disagree   checkbox  Neutral   checkbox  Agree   checkbox  Strongly agree

f. I believe the Pugnose Minnow has economic value (recreational or commercial values).

checkbox Strongly disagree   checkbox  Disagree   checkbox  Neutral   checkbox  Agree   checkbox  Strongly agree

g. I believe the Pugnose Minnow provides job opportunities (e.g. tourism) to the local economy.

checkbox Strongly disagree   checkbox  Disagree   checkbox  Neutral   checkbox  Agree   checkbox  Strongly agree

h. Others? (please specify)


 


 

3. The following questions provides us with information about how you perceive the following threats to the Pugnose Minnow. Please choose the response that best describes your opinion.

a.  Farming/ Agriculture: Threats to species includes the modification of habitat (e.g. pollution, sedimentation, salinization, water turbidity, reduction in oxygen levels, drainage works, and changes in water levels due to irrigation).

checkbox Very low    checkbox Low    checkbox Moderate    checkbox High    checkbox Very high

b.  Ecosystem modification (Altered flow regimes): Water management and alteration of natural flow patterns can modify habitat areas and migration routes.

checkbox Very low    checkbox Low    checkbox Moderate    checkbox High    checkbox Very high

c.  Ecosystem modification (Urban development and land use practices): Damage to habitat and poor water quality resulting from urban development and agricultural practices.

checkbox Very low    checkbox Low    checkbox Moderate    checkbox High    checkbox Very high

d. Invasive species: Threats to species includes competition with native wild native populations for resources and shelter. 

checkbox Very low    checkbox Low    checkbox Moderate    checkbox High    checkbox Very high

e. Climate change: Threats to species include the modification of habitats (e.g. water temperature, salinity, distribution of ice, breeding and feeding grounds); negative impacts on reproduction seasons; modification of food chain flows (e.g. plankton species). (*Pugnose Minnow in Ontario are believed to be at the northern extent of their range)

checkbox Very low    checkbox Low    checkbox Moderate    checkbox High    checkbox Very high

f. Other: Do you have any other comments about other possible threats to the Pugnose Minnow that may threaten their survival or recovery?


 

4. The following questions provide us with information about how the listing of the Pugnose Minnow could impact you or your activities.

a. Based on what you have learned about the Species at Risk Act, do you think adding the Pugnose Minnow to the SARA List would impact your activites?

checkbox Not at all    checkbox Not much    checkbox Don’t know    checkbox Yes, a bit    checkbox Yes, a lot

Why?


 


 

5. Do you feel that the listing of the Pugnose Minnow will have economic, social and/or ceremonial impacts to you?

checkbox Not at all    checkbox Not much    checkbox Don’t know    checkbox Yes, a bit    checkbox Yes, a lot

In what way?


 


 

6. If your activity is impacted by listing the Pugnose Minnow, would you be willing to change your activity?

checkbox Not at all    checkbox Not much    checkbox Don’t know    checkbox Yes, a bit    checkbox Yes, a lot

How?


 


 

7. All Canadian households, as well as industry, pay for the protection of all legally listed species under SARA. How much would you be willing to pay (in Canadian dollars) each year for the conservation, protection and recovery efforts for the Pugnose Minnow?

checkbox $0   checkbox $10   checkbox $20   checkbox $50   checkbox $100   checkbox more than $100

 

This last section is personal and confidential. We recognize that it is not insignificant to ask people to share personal information. To that end, we will adhere to strict ethical standards of privacy in doing further research with this information. Unless directed otherwise by the respondents, no information will be reported that can be attributed to any particular individual.

9. In what capacity are you completing this questionnaire?

checkbox  Individual    checkbox  Representative of a group

 

10. Where do you live?

checkbox British Columbia
checkbox Alberta
checkbox Saskatchewan
checkbox Manitoba
checkbox Quebec
checkbox Nova Scotia
checkbox New Brunswick
checkbox Prince Edward Island
checkbox Newfoundland & Labrador
checkbox Yukon
checkbox Northwest Territories
checkbox Nunavut
checkbox Ontario

 

11. Which sector do you represent?

checkbox Aboriginal community
checkbox Aboriginal organization
checkbox Academic community
checkbox Agriculture / Farming
checkbox Environmental organization
checkbox Fishing – aquaculture
checkbox Fishing – commercial
checkbox Fishing – recreational
checkbox Forestry
checkbox Government (specify level)
checkbox Hydro-electric
checkbox Manufacturing
checkbox Oil and gas
checkbox Professional services

checkbox Other ____________________

 

12. What is your age?

checkbox  Under 20
checkbox  20 - 29
checkbox  30 - 39
checkbox  40 - 49
checkbox  50 - 59
checkbox  60 or over

 

13. What is your gender?

checkbox  Female   checkbox  Male

Please add any other comments or concerns (add additional sheets if necessary) that you would like to have considered.


 


 


 


 

Thank you for taking the time to complete this survey.

Le petit-bec

Cahier de consultation sur la possibilité d’ajouter l’espèce à la liste des espèces en péril ... Le petit-bec

Statut de risque proposé : Menacée
novembre 2013

Le petit-bec

Nom commun : Le petit-bec
Nom scientifique : Opsopoeodus emiliae
Statut selon la LEP: Préoccupante (juin 2004)
Statut selon COSEPAC : Menacée  (mai 2012)
La région : Ontario

Figure 1. Un petit-bec adulte (illustration © Joseph R. Tomelleri)

Cette espèce a été désignée comme une espèce mancée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Son inscription à la liste de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) fédérale est actuellement préoccupante et un plan de gestion était fait en 2009. Si l’espèce est inscrite en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, il faut établir un programme de rétablissement connexe.

Description générale

Le petit-bec (Opsopoeodus emiliae), un petit poisson plutôt mystérieux à la durée de vie courte, appartient à la famille des carpes et des ménés (Cyprinidae). Ce poisson a un museau arrondi et particulier, comme son nom le laisse entendre, et les caractéristiques suivantes :

  • un petit corps mince et allongé, dont la longueur maximale est d’environ 6 cm;
  • un museau faiblement arrondi et une très petite bouche tournée vers le haut;
  • une queue fourchue et de courtes nageoires pectorales (derrière la tête);
  • de couleur argentée avec une mince bande noire et distincte tout le long de chacun de ses flancs;
  • des écailles entrecroisées sur la partie supérieure du corps;
  • neuf rayons dorsaux (des épines sur la nageoire arrière), qui se distinguent des huit rayons dorsaux des autres ménés du Canada;
  • pendant le frai, les mâles prennent une couleur bleu-argenté foncée et développent de nombreux petits tubercules pointus autour de la bouche.

Répartition

Au Canada, de petites populations se limitent au sud-ouest de l’Ontario, dans le lac Sainte-Claire et ses petits affluents, la rivière Detroit et la rivière Sydenham. La faible taille de ces populations complique les recherches, et la quantité exacte de petit-bec au Canada est inconnue. Cependant, selon des données de surveillance récentes, on craint que le petit-bec ait disparu de la rivière Thames, et que son aire de répartition historique ait subi une réduction de plus de 80 %. Aux États-Unis, le petit-bec est commun et répandu, du Texas au Wisconsin, ainsi qu’en Caroline du Sud et en Floride. 

carte

Figure 2 : Répartition du petit-bec au Canada

Habitat et cycle biologique

Des recherches supplémentaires sur la biologie et l’habitat de prédilection du petit-bec au Canada sont nécessaires. Aujourd’hui au Canada, ce poisson vit surtout dans des zones considérées moins favorables que celles de son aire de répartition historique, peut-être en raison de la disparition de son habitat idéal. Par exemple, le petit-bec vivait autrefois dans un habitat limpide et tranquille à la végétation abondante. Aujourd’hui, on le trouve le plus souvent dans des parties chaudes et calmes de rivières turbides dénuées ou presque de végétation aquatique, aux substrats (fonds) de limon, d’argile ou de sable.

On estime à trois ans la durée de vie du petit-bec, et on pense qu’il atteint sa maturité sexuelle vers un an. Le comportement de frai de ce poisson, en comparaison avec celui d’autres cyprinidés d’Amérique du Nord, est unique. Vers la fin du printemps, les mâles en frai choisissent une surface plane, sous un rocher par exemple, et y conduisent les femelles qui y pondent leurs œufs. Les femelles pondent jusqu’à 120 œufs à la fois, en une seule ligne le long de la surface plane, et les mâles protègent le nid et les œufs contre les prédateurs. Le petit-bec répète le processus de frai plusieurs fois au cours des six ou sept jours suivants, et les œufs éclosent habituellement après six jours.

Régime alimentaire

Le petit-bec se nourrit principalement de petits insectes aquatiques tels que les moucherons. Les larves de poissons, les œufs et les petits crustacés aquatiques peuvent également faire partie de son menu. La position de la bouche autorise à penser que cette espèce se nourrit près de la surface ou en eau peu profonde.

Menaces

La perte d’habitats limpides où la végétation est abondante, dans les cours d’eau, les rivières et les lacs, constitue la principale menace à la survie et au rétablissement du petit-bec au Canada. La destruction des terres humides et l’enlèvement de végétation, l’apport accru en sédiments, la turbidité (opacité) et les nutriments (nitrates et phosphates) de l’urbanisation et de l’agriculture sont considérés comme les principales raisons pour lesquelles les populations de petit-bec sont si faibles au Canada. Le changement climatique et la concurrence avec les espèces envahissantes de poissons et de moules constituent également des menaces à la survie et au rétablissement de ce poisson.

Espèces semblables

Le petit-bec ressemble le plus au méné camus (Notropis anogenus) et au méné jaune (Notemigonus crysoleucas), mais il se distingue de ces espèces, et de tous les autres ménés au Canada, par son neuvième rayon dorsal. Le méné jaune est plus haut et plus mince et possède une nageoire anale plus grande qui compte plus de 11 rayons. La bande latérale noire du méné camus se rend jusqu’au menton, tandis que celle du petit-bec s’arrête au nez.

Considérations socioéconomiques

Lorsqu’on envisage le classement d’une espèce comme espèce en péril en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril il faut en analyser les coûts et les avantages.

Pour plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec le gestionnaire régional de la LEP.

Résumé de l'analyse coûts/avantages

L’analyse socio-économique vise à examiner les coûts différentiels et les avantages pour la population canadienne découlant de l’inscription du petit-bec à la liste des espèces menacées en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Au Canada, le petit-bec se trouve dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Le petit-bec est actuellement protégé en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition de 2007 de l’Ontario (LEVD 2007) en tant qu’espèce menacée; un programme de rétablissement provincial sera élaboré afin de gérer cette espèce et de freiner son déclin. La LEVD 2007 et le Règlement de pêche de l’Ontario interdisent la capture intentionnelle du petit-bec pour l’utiliser comme appât, et le potentiel de capture accidentelle de ce poisson par l’industrie des poissons-appâts est faible. De plus, le petit-bec et son habitat sont protégés par la Loi sur les pêches*, et celui-ci figure sur la liste des espèces préoccupantes à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. En outre, le petit-bec fait partie du plan de rétablissement de la rivière Sydenham.

Quand une espèce est classée en tant qu’espèce menacée au titre de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, les interdictions générales pour la protection de l’espèce entrent en vigueur. Un programme de rétablissement et un plan d’action sont préparés, l’habitat essentiel est désigné puis protégé, et un décret ministériel est appliqué, les permis ou ententes autorisant les activités représentant une menace pour une espèce sauvage inscrite sur la liste peuvent être délivrés ou conclus et des exemptions peuvent être accordées pour certaines activités permises en vertu d’un programme de rétablissement ou d’un plan d’action.

Comme le petit-bec n’est pas un poisson faisant l’objet d’une importante pêche commerciale ou récréative, les interdictions générales ne devraient pas avoir d’incidence socio-économique différentielle importante. Par ailleurs, on prévoit que les coûts supplémentaires pour l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement seront peu élevés. Ainsi, le classement du petit-bec comme espèce menacée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en périlentraînerait des répercussions socio-économiques faibles ou négligeables.

* NOTA : En 2012, des modifications à la Loi sur les pêches ont été adoptées et sont entrées en vigueur le 25 novembre 2013. La répartition du petit-bec se trouve dans les zones de pêche actuellement protégée en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches (i.e., la pêche commerciale, récréative ou autochtone), donc son habitat est aussi protégé.

Nous souhaitons connaître votre opinion

Ce cahier fait partie d’un processus de consultation du public visant à recueillir vos commentaires au sujet de l’inscription du petit-bec dans la liste visée par la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Vos réponses aux questions suivantes aideront le gouvernement fédéral à prendre une décision éclairée.

Il est important que vous compreniez en quoi l’inscription proposée peut aider à la protection et au rétablissement du petit-bec, et en quoi elle peut toucher vos activités. Étant donné que l’espèce est menacée aux termes de la Loi, les interdictions automatiques prévues dans la LEP s’appliqueraient.

Ainsi, il est interdit de tuer un individu d’une espèce disparue, en voie de disparition ou menacée, de lui nuire, de le harceler, de le posséder, de le collectionner, de l’acheter, de le vendre ou de l’échanger. Il est également interdit d’endommager ou de détruire l’habitat de ces espèces. Ces interdictions ne s’appliquent toutefois pas aux espèces préoccupantes.

Si une espèce sauvage est inscrite dans la liste des espèces disparues, en voie de disparition ou menacées de la LEP, le gouvernement fédéral est tenu d’élaborer un programme de rétablissement à son égard. Ce programme de rétablissement décrit les menaces connues pour l’espèce, définit l’habitat dont elle a besoin pour survivre et souligne les lacunes en matière de connaissances. Il fixe également un objectif de rétablissement pour l’espèce.

Si l’espèce est menacée, il faut mettre en oeuvre une stratégie de rétablissement tous les deux ans. Il y a lieu de noter que le programme de rétablissement entraîne d’autres consultations.

À propos de ce questionnaire :

Veuillez inscrire vos réponses sur les pages suivantes. Nous accueillons volontiers les commentaires, peu importe si vous participez ou non à des activités qui pourraient ou non être touchées par cette inscription.

Au besoin, veuillez utiliser des feuilles supplémentaires pour compléter vos réponses.

Veuillez retourner vos commentaires d’ici le 28 février 2014 au bureau fédéral des espèces en péril à l’adresse suivante :

Gestionnaire régional de la LEP
Pêches et Océans Canada
501, University Crescent
Winnipeg (Manitoba) R3T 2N6
Courriel : fwisar@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Numéro sans frais : 1-866-538-1609

Vous pouvez également faire parvenir vos commentaires directement au Registre de la LEP.

 

L’information que vous fournissez est importante.
Nous vous remercions du temps et des efforts que vous accordez à ce questionnaire.

Le petit-bec : L’inscription dans la liste comme menacée

1. Êtes-vous favorable à l’inscription du petit-bec dans la liste des espèces en péril (LEP)?

checkbox  Oui
checkbox  Non
checkbox  Indécis

Veuillez justifier votre choix.


 


 

2. Les questions suivantes nous fournissent de l’information au sujet de la valeur que vous accordez au petit-bec. Veuillez choisir la réponse qui décrit le mieux votre opinion.

a. Je crois qu’il est important de préserver le petit-bec pour que les générations futures puissent en profiter.

checkbox Fortement en désaccord  checkbox En désaccord  checkbox Neutre  checkbox En accord  checkbox Fortement en accord

b. Je crois que le petit-bec joue un rôle important dans le maintien d’un écosystème sain.

checkbox Fortement en désaccord  checkbox En désaccord  checkbox Neutre  checkbox En accord  checkbox Fortement en accord

c. Je crois que le petit-bec revêt une signification sociale ou culturelle dans ma collectivité.

checkbox Fortement en désaccord  checkbox En désaccord  checkbox Neutre  checkbox En accord  checkbox Fortement en accord

d. Je crois que le petit-bec constitue une partie importante de notre patrimoine.

checkbox Fortement en désaccord  checkbox En désaccord  checkbox Neutre  checkbox En accord  checkbox Fortement en accord

e. Je crois que le petit-bec constitue une source alimentaire importante.

checkbox Fortement en désaccord  checkbox En désaccord  checkbox Neutre  checkbox En accord  checkbox Fortement en accord

f. Je crois que le petit-bec représente une valeur économique (valeur commerciale ou récréative).

checkbox Fortement en désaccord  checkbox En désaccord  checkbox Neutre  checkbox En accord  checkbox Fortement en accord

g. Je crois que le petit-bec crée de l’emploi (par ex. tourisme) en faveur de l’économie locale.

checkbox Fortement en désaccord  checkbox En désaccord  checkbox Neutre  checkbox En accord  checkbox Fortement en accord

h. Autres? (veuillez préciser)


 


 

3. Les questions suivantes nous fournissent de l’information au sujet de la façon dont vous percevez les menaces suivantes pour le petit-bec. Veuillez choisir la réponse qui décrit le mieux votre opinion.

a. Agriculture : Les menaces pour l’espèce comprennent la modification de l’habitat (p. ex. pollution, sédimentation, salinisation, turbidité de l’eau, réduction des niveaux d’oxygène, travaux de drainage et modification des niveaux d’eau causée par l’irrigation).

checkbox Très faible    checkbox Faible    checkbox Modérée    checkbox Grave    checkbox Très grave

b. Modification de l’écosystème (urbanisation et habitudes d’utilisation des terres) : Habitats endommagés et mauvaise qualité de l’eau découlant de l’urbanisation et des habitudes d’utilisation des terres.

checkbox Très faible    checkbox Faible    checkbox Modérée    checkbox Grave    checkbox Très grave

c. Modification de l’écosystème (urbanisation et habitudes d’utilisation des terres) : des habitats endommagés et une mauvaise qualité de l’eau découlant de l’urbanisation et des pratiques agricoles.

checkbox Très faible    checkbox Faible    checkbox Modérée    checkbox Grave    checkbox Très grave

d. Espèces envahissantes : Les menaces pour l’espèce comprennent la compétition avec les populations sauvages indigènes à l’égard des ressources et des habitats.

checkbox Très faible    checkbox Faible    checkbox Modérée    checkbox Grave    checkbox Très grave

e. Changement climatique : Les menaces pour l’espèce comprennent la modification de l’habitat (p. ex. température de l’eau, salinité, répartition de la glace, des aires d’alimentation et des aires de reproduction), les répercussions négatives sur les saisons de reproduction et la modification de la chaîne alimentaire (p. ex. espèces de plancton).

checkbox Très faible    checkbox Faible    checkbox Modérée    checkbox Grave    checkbox Très grave

f. Autre : Avez-vous d’autres commentaires au sujet de menaces possibles envers la survie ou le rétablissement du méné miroir?

checkbox Très faible    checkbox Faible    checkbox Modérée    checkbox Grave    checkbox Très grave


 

4. Les questions suivantes nous fournissent de l’information sur les répercussions qu’aura l’inscription du petit-bec sur vous ou vos activités.

a. Selon ce que vous avez appris au sujet de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, croyez-vous que l’inscription du petit-bec dans la liste de la LEP aurait des répercussions sur vos activités?

checkbox Aucunement    checkbox Très peu    checkbox Je ne sais pas    checkbox Un peu    checkbox Beaucoup

Pourquoi?


 


 

5. Croyez-vous que l’inscription du petit-bec dans la liste aura des répercussions économiques, sociales ou rituelles?

checkbox Aucunement    checkbox Très peu    checkbox Je ne sais pas    checkbox Un peu    checkbox Beaucoup

De quelle façon?


 


 

6. Si vos activités étaient touchées par l’inscription du petit-bec dans la liste, seriez-vous prêt à les modifier?

checkbox Aucunement    checkbox Très peu    checkbox Je ne sais pas    checkbox Un peu    checkbox Beaucoup

De quelle façon?


 


 

7. Tous les foyers canadiens, ainsi que les industries, déboursent pour la protection des espèces inscrites légalement dans la liste en vertu de la LEP. Combien seriez-vous prêt à débourser (en dollars canadiens) chaque année pour les efforts de conservation, de protection et de rétablissement du petit-bec?

checkbox 0 $   checkbox 10 $   checkbox 20 $    checkbox 50 $   checkbox 100 $   checkbox plus de 100 $

 

Cette dernière section est personnelle et confidentielle. Nous reconnaissons la valeur des renseignements personnels que nous recueillons. À cette fin, nous adopterons des normes d’éthique rigoureuses en matière de protection des renseignements personnels pour nos recherches subséquentes. À moins d’avis contraire de la part du répondant, aucune information pouvant mener à son identification ne sera divulguée.

9. À quel titre avez-vous rempli ce questionnaire?

checkbox Individu    checkbox  Représentant d'un groupe

10. Où habitez-vous?

checkbox Colombie-Britannique
checkbox Alberta
checkbox Saskatchewan
checkbox Manitoba
checkbox Québec
checkbox Nouvelle-Écosse
checkbox Nouveau-Brunswick
checkbox Île-du-Prince-Édouard
checkbox Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
checkbox Yukon
checkbox Territoires du Nord-Ouest
checkbox Nunavut
checkbox Ontario

 

11. Quel secteur représentez-vous?

checkbox Collectivité autochtone
checkbox Milieu de l’enseignement
checkbox Organisme environnemental
checkbox Secteur agricole
checkbox Secteur de la foresterie
checkbox Secteur des services professionnels
checkbox Secteur gouvernemental (préciser le niveau)
checkbox Secteur de la pêche – aquaculture
checkbox Secteur de la pêche – commerciale
checkbox Secteur de la pêche – récréative
checkbox Secteur de l’hydro-électricité
checkbox Secteur de la pêche – commerciale
checkbox Secteur du pétrole et du gaz

checkboxAutre ____________________

 

12. Quel âge avez-vous?

checkbox  Moins de 20 ans
checkbox  de 20 à 29 ans
checkbox  de 30 à 39 ans
checkbox  de 40 à 49 ans
checkbox  de 50 à 59 ans
checkbox  plus de 60 ans

 

13. Quel est votre sexe?

checkbox  Femme   checkbox  Homme

Veuillez ajouter tout commentaire ou toute préoccupation dont vous aimeriez nous faire part (vous pouvez utiliser d’autres feuilles au besoin).


 


 


 


 

Merci de prendre le temps de répondre à ce sondage.