Description of critical habitat of Eastern Ribbonsnake (Atlantic population) and Vole Ears Lichen in Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada

The Eastern Ribbonsnake (Thamnophis sauritus) is a small, slender, semi-aquatic snake listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act. In Canada, the Eastern Ribbonsnake (Atlantic population) is typically found in the southwest interior of Nova Scotia.

The Vole Ears Lichen (Erioderma mollissimum) is a foliose macrolichen listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act. In Canada, the Vole Ears Lichen is known to occur in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Newfoundland.

The Multi-species Action Plan for Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada identifies critical habitat for these species within Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada.

Notice is hereby given, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, that 90 days after the date of publication of this notice, subsection 58(1) of the Act will apply to the critical habitat of the Eastern Ribbonsnake (Atlantic population) and the Vole Ears Lichen, as identified in the action plan for those species that are included in the Species at Risk Public Registry, and that is located within Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada, the boundaries of which are described in Schedule 1 to the Canada National Parks Act.

Julie Tompa
Field Unit Superintendent
Mainland Nova Scotia Field Unit

Description de l’habitat essentiel de la couleuvre mince (population de l’Atlantique) et de l’érioderme mou dans le parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik

La couleuvre mince (Thamnophis sauritus) est une petite couleuvre fine, semi-aquatique, inscrite à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Au Canada, la couleuvre mince (population de l’Atlantique) est habituellement observée dans la région sud-ouest de la partie continentale de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

L’érioderme mou (Erioderma mollissimum) est un macrolichen foliacé inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Au Canada, l’érioderme mou a été observé en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Nouveau-Brunswick et à Terre-Neuve.

Le Plan d’action visant des espèces multiples dans le parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik définit l’habitat essentiel de ces espèces dans le parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik.

Avis est donné par la présente que, en vertu du paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, 90 jours après la date de publication du présent avis, le paragraphe 58(1) de la Loi s’appliquera à l’habitat essentiel de la couleuvre mince (population de l’Atlantique) et de l’érioderme mou, tel qu’il est décrit dans le plan d’action pour ces espèces figurant au Registre public des espèces en péril, cet habitat étant situé dans le parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik, dont les limites sont décrites à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada.

La directrice d’unité de gestion
Unité de gestion de la Nouvelle-Écosse continentale
Julie Tompa