Description of critical habitat of the Pacific Water Shrew in Widgeon Valley National Wildlife Area

The Pacific Water Shrew (Sorex bendirii) is a small mammal listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act. In Canada, the Pacific Water Shrew is typically found in riparian areas in southwestern British Columbia.

The Recovery Strategy for the Pacific Water Shrew (Sorex bendirii) in Canada, available at www.sararegistry.gc.ca/species/speciesDetails_e.cfm?sid=141, identifies critical habitat for the species in a number of areas. A portion of this critical habitat is included in the Widgeon Valley National Wildlife Area, a federally protected area.

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, subsection 58(1) of that Act applies, 90 days after publication of this notice, to the critical habitat of the Pacific Water Shrew, as identified in the recovery strategy for that species that is included in the Species at Risk Public Registry, within the following federally protected area: Widgeon Valley National Wildlife Area, the boundaries of which are described in Schedule 1 of the Wildlife Area Regulations made pursuant to the Canada Wildlife Act.

Interested parties are invited to contact Environment Canada to request clarification regarding the location, biophysical attributes and protection of this species’ critical habitat. However, some details may be withheld to protect the species and its critical habitat.

July 8, 2015

SARAH WREN
Acting Director
Species at Risk Management
Canadian Wildlife Service

Description de l’habitat essentiel de la musaraigne de Bendire dans la réserve nationale de faune de la vallée Widgeon

La musaraigne de Bendire (Sorex bendirii) est un petit mammifère inscrit à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Au Canada, la musaraigne de Bendire fréquente les secteurs riverains du sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique.

Le Programme de rétablissement de la musaraigne de Bendire (Sorex bendirii) au Canada, disponible au www.sararegistry.gc.ca/species/speciesDetails_f.cfm?sid=141, désigne l’habitat essentiel de cette espèce dans un certain nombre de lieux. Une partie de cet habitat essentiel est inclus dans la réserve nationale de faune de la vallée Widgeon, une aire protégée fédérale.

Avis est donné par la présente que, conformément au paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, le paragraphe 58(1) de cette loi s’applique, 90 jours après la publication du présent avis, à l’habitat essentiel de la musaraigne de Bendire, désigné dans le programme de rétablissement de cette espèce -- lequel document est affiché dans le Registre public des espèces en péril -- et dont une partie est située dans l’aire protégée fédérale suivante : la réserve nationale de faune de la vallée Widgeon, laquelle est décrite à l’annexe 1 du Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada.

Les parties intéressées qui désirent obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’emplacement, les caractéristiques biophysiques et la protection de l’habitat essentiel de cette espèce sont invitées à communiquer avec Environnement Canada. Cependant, certaines demandes d’information pourraient être refusées afin de protéger l’espèce et son habitat essentiel.

Le 8 juillet 2015

La directrice intérimaire
Gestion des espèces en péril
Service canadien de la faune

SARAH WREN