Description of critical habitat for the Dusky Dune Moth, the Smooth Goosefoot and the Western Harvest Mouse, dychei subspecies, in the Canadian Forces Base Suffield National Wildlife Area

The Dusky Dune Moth (Copablepharon longipenne), the Smooth Goosefoot (Chenopodium subglabrum) and the Western Harvest Mouse (Reithrodontomys megalotis dychei) are species that are listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act.

The Dusky Dune Moth is a small inconspicuous sand dune specialist moth endemic to North America that has specialized habitat requirements. The Dusky Dune Moth is associated with sparsely vegetated active sand dunes and sand blowouts that occur in the southern regions of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

The Smooth Goosefoot is an annual plant species in the Goosefoot family with green flowers in widely spaced clusters, erect and branching stems, and shiny black seeds. The Smooth Goosefoot is associated with semi-arid sand dune complexes in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.

The Western Harvest Mouse is a small, nocturnal and long-tailed brownish mouse that often nests near the base of shrubs in dry shrub-steppe habitats that contain extensive cover. In Canada, the Western Harvest Mouse has only been found in Alberta.

The Recovery Strategy for the Dusky Dune Moth (Copablepharon longipenne) in Canada, the Recovery Strategy for the Smooth Goosefoot (Chenopodium subglabrum) in Canada, and the Recovery Strategy for the Western Harvest Mouse dychei subspecies (Reithrodontomys megalotis dychei) in Canada, identify critical habitat for the species in a number of areas, including a federally protected area.

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, subsection 58(1) of that Act applies, 90 days after this publication, to the critical habitat of the Dusky Dune Moth, the Smooth Goosefoot and the Western Harvest Mouse, dychei subspecies, as identified in the recovery strategies for these species -- that are included in the Species at Risk Public Registry -- within the Canadian Forces Base Suffield National Wildlife Area, the boundaries of which are described in Schedule I of the Wildlife Area Regulations made pursuant to the Canada Wildlife Act.

Interested parties are invited to contact Environment and Climate Change Canada to request clarifications regarding the location, biophysical attributes and protection of these species’ critical habitat. Note, however, that some details may be withheld to protect the species and their critical habitat.

February 10, 2016

SARAH WREN
Acting Director
Species at Risk Management
Canadian Wildlife Service

Description de l’habitat essentiel de la noctuelle sombre des dunes, du chénopode glabre et de la souris des moissons de la sous-espèce dychei, dans la réserve nationale de faune de la base des Forces canadiennes Suffield

La noctuelle sombre des dunes (Copablepharon longipenne), le chénopode glabre (Chenopodium subglabrum) et la souris des moissons (Reithrodontomys megalotis dychei) sont des espèces inscrites à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

La noctuelle sombre des dunes est un petit papillon nocturne peu visible spécialiste des milieux dunaires, endémique de l’Amérique du Nord et qui requiert un habitat particulier. La noctuelle sombre des dunes est associée aux dunes actives, à couvert végétal clairsemé ou aux creux de déflation présents dans le sud de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba.

Le chénopode glabre est une plante annuelle de la famille des Chénopodiacées. Ses fleurs sont vertes et réunies en amas très espacés. Sa tige est dressée et ramifiée et ses graines sont noires et luisantes. Le chénopode glabre est associé aux complexes dunaires semi-arides de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba.

La souris des moissons est une petite souris nocturne, brunâtre à longue queue qui construit souvent son nid près de la base des arbustes des steppes arbustives sèches caractérisées par un couvert étendu. Au Canada, la souris des moissons a été répertoriée seulement en Alberta.

Le Programme de rétablissement de la noctuelle sombre des dunes (Copablepharon longipenne) au Canada, le Programme de rétablissement du chénopode glabre (Chenopodium subglabrum) au Canada, et le Programme de rétablissement de la souris des moissons de la sous-espèce dychei (Reithrodontomys megalotis dychei) au Canada, désignent l’habitat essentiel pour ces espèces dans un certain nombre de lieux, notamment une aire protégée fédérale.

Avis est donné par la présente que, conformément au paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, le paragraphe 58(1) de cette loi s’appliquera, 90 jours après la publication du présent avis, à l’habitat essentiel de la noctuelle sombre des dunes, du chénopode glabre et de la souris des moissons de la sous-espèce dychei, désigné dans les programmes de rétablissement de ces espèces -- lesquels documents sont affichés dans le Registre public des espèces en péril -- et situé dans l’aire protégée fédérale suivante : la réserve nationale de faune de la base des Forces canadiennes Suffield, laquelle est décrite à l’annexe I du Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada.

Les parties intéressées qui désirent obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’emplacement, les caractéristiques biophysiques et la protection de l’habitat essentiel de ces espèces sont invitées à communiquer avec Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Cependant, certaines demandes d’information pourraient être refusées afin de protéger les espèces et leur habitat essentiel.

Le 10 février 2016

La directrice intérimaire
Gestion des espèces en péril
Service canadien de la faune

SARAH WREN