Threehorn Wartyback

Consultations on listing under the Species at Risk Act

Threehorn Wartyback (Photo credit: Fisheries and Oceans Canada)
Threehorn Wartyback (Photo credit: Fisheries and Oceans Canada)

wartyback-obliquaire-questionnaire.pdf (729 kb, Get Adobe Reader)

One of the purposes of the Species at Risk Act (SARA), proclaimed by the Government of Canada in 2003, is to provide for the legal protection of wildlife species and the conservation of biological diversity.

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) has the mandate to conduct assessments on the status of wildlife species and categorize them according to their level of risk for extinction (extinct, extirpated, endangered, threatened, or special concern).

The Government of Canada considers scientific evidence, comments received from Canadians during consultations, and potential socio-economic impacts before making a decision whether or not to include the species on the List of Wildlife Species at Risk under SARA.

Recovery planning is undertaken for all listed species, and prohibitions are put in place protecting species assessed as extirpated, endangered or threatened.

As part of the consultation process, the Government of Canada would like to hear your opinions on listing the Threehorn Wartyback as Threatened under the Species at Risk Act, and any comments on the potential positive and negative impacts this listing would have on you, your industry, your community and/or the ecosystem.

The Threehorn Wartyback has recently been assessed as “Threatened” by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Before deciding whether this species will be protected under the Species at Risk Act, Fisheries and Oceans Canada would like your opinion, comments and suggestions regarding the possible ecological, cultural and economic impacts of listing or not listing it.

Please provide your input by September 15, 2014 using the survey or go to the Species at Risk Public Registry Website.

Threehorn Wartyback

The Threehorn Wartyback is one of Canada’s 54 freshwater mussel species and the only mussel of the genus Obliquaria found in Canada. It is a rare mussel, only found in North America, and it reaches an average length of 4 centimetres. Its thick shell is circular to triangular in shape, with shell colour ranging from green, tan or brown. There is a single row of 2-5 large knobs or “horns” across the tops of both shells. A complete species profile on the Threehorn Wartyback can be found on the Fisheries and Oceans Canada website.

In Canada, the Threehorn Wartyback was historically known only in Ontario, in Lake St. Clair, the Detroit River, western Lake Erie and the Sydenham, Thames and Grand rivers. It is now believed to be lost from the Great Lakes, though small populations remain in the Sydenham, Thames and Grand rivers.

Distribution map of the Threehorn Wartyback in Canada

distribution map

Proposed listing under SARA: Threatened

In 2013, the Threehorn Wartyback was assessed as Threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). If listed as Threatened under the Species at Risk Act, a recovery strategy and action plan will be developed.

Threats

Remaining Threehorn Wartyback mussels are significantly threatened by pollution related to urban and agricultural activities. Specifically, it is the sediment loading that leads to the clogging of the mussel’s gill structures, while nutrient loading and contaminants degrade water quality and overall habitat. Infestations of aquatic invasive species also remain a threat. Specifically, the Zebra Mussel is largely responsible for the loss of Threehorn Wartyback populations within the Great Lakes and connecting channels. By attaching to the Threehorn Wartyback by the hundreds, Zebra Mussels interfere with the native mussel’s ability to feed, move, breathe and reproduce. The Zebra Mussel continues to similarly threaten the remaining riverine populations of the Threehorn Wartyback. Additionally, Round Gobies are currently impacting native fish communities, including fish hosts that support native mussels. Human recreational activities, such as driving all-terrain vehicles (ATVs) over fragile mussel beds in the Sydenham River, are also another known threat.

Special significance of the species

Freshwater mussels are molluscs, soft-bodied animals without a skeleton (invertebrates) that live on the bottom of streams, rivers, lakes and ponds. They use a muscular foot to burrow and crawl and have a pair of hinged shells.  Mussels are filter feeders -- nature’s water purifiers -- and are food for other wildlife like fishes, otters, mink, muskrats and some birds.  They are also among the most endangered creatures in the world.

Possible management measures

If the Threehorn Wartyback is listed under SARA, Fisheries and Oceans Canada will, in collaboration and consultation with stakeholders and partners, use the best available information to develop a recovery strategy and action plan for the species.

Protection and recovery of species under SARA

If the Threehorn Wartyback is added to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk as Threatened, it will be legally protected under SARA and subject to prohibitions. It will be illegal to kill, harm, harass, capture or take a Threehorn Wartyback, or possess, buy, sell or trade any part of one unless authorized by a permit issued under SARA. It will also be illegal to destroy the critical habitat of the Threehorn Wartyback – the habitat necessary for its survival and recovery – once it is identified in the recovery strategy or action plan.

Questions

  1. Which stakeholder group best represents you or your organization?
    1. Aboriginal
    2. Academic
    3. General public
    4. Government
    5. Industry
    6. Non-profit organization
    7. Small business
    8. Wildlife Management Board
    9. Other? ________________________
  2. Do you think protecting the Threehorn Wartyback under the Species at Risk Act would have economic, environmental, cultural and/or social BENEFITS for your organization?

  3. Do you think protecting the Threehorn Wartyback under the Species at Risk Act would have economic, environmental, cultural and/or social COSTS for your organization?

  4. Should the Government of Canada add the Threehorn Wartyback as Endangered to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk for protection under the Species at Risk Act?

  5. Do you have any other comments about this listing consultation that you would like us to consider?

L’obliquaire à trois cornes

Consultations sur l’inscription en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

obliquaire à trois cornes (Crédit photo : Pêches et Océans Canada)
Obliquaire à trois cornes (Crédit photo : Pêches et Océans Canada)

obliquaire-questionnaire.pdf (729 ko, Obtenir Adobe Reader)

Un des objectifs de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) promulguée par le gouvernement du Canada en 2003 est de prévoir la protection légale des espèces sauvages et la conservation de la diversité biologique.

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a pour mandat de mener des évaluations sur la situation des espèces sauvages et de classer ces dernières en fonction de leur niveau de risque d’extinction (espèce disparue, disparue du Canada, en voie de disparition, menacée ou préoccupante).

Avant de prendre la décision d’ajouter une espèce à la Liste des espèces en péril prévue par la LEP, le gouvernement du Canada examine les preuves scientifiques, les commentaires reçus des Canadiens et des Canadiennes au cours des consultations et les effets socioéconomiques potentiels.

La planification du rétablissement est effectuée pour l’ensemble des espèces inscrites, et des interdictions entrent en vigueur pour protéger les espèces évaluées comme étant disparues du pays, en voie de disparition, ou menacées.

Dans le cadre du processus de consultation, le gouvernement du Canada aimerait connaître votre avis sur l’inscription de l’obliquaire à trois cornes en tant qu’espèce menacée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Il aimerait aussi obtenir vos commentaires sur les effets positifs et négatifs que cette inscription pourrait avoir sur vous, sur votre industrie, sur votre communauté ou sur l’écosystème.

L’obliquaire à trois cornes a récemment été évaluée comme étant menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Avant de décider si cette espèce sera protégée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Pêches et Océans Canada souhaite obtenir votre opinion, vos commentaires et suggestions au sujet des répercussions écologiques, culturelles et économiques possibles de son inscription ou non-inscription.

Veuillez fournir vos commentaires en utilisant le questionnaire ou en ligne sur le site Web du Registre public des espèces en péril d’ici le 15 septembre 2014.

L’obliquaire à trois cornes

L’obliquaire à trois cornes fait partie des 54 espèces de moules d’eau douce du Canada. C’est une moule rare que l’on retrouve uniquement en Amérique du Nord et est le seul membre du genre Obliquaire au Canada. Il s’agit d’une moule de taille moyenne, de longueur moyenne de 4 cm. La coquille est épaisse, de forme circulaire ou triangulaire, et la couleur de la coquille peut être le vert, le beige ou le brun.  Une seul rangée de 2 à 5 bourrelets ou « cornes » sur le dessus de la coquille. Un profil complet de l’obliquaire à trois cornes se trouve sur le site Web de Pêches et Océans Canada.

Au Canada, par le passé, cette moule se trouvait uniquement en Ontario, dans le lac Sainte-Claire, dans la rivière Détroit, dans l’Ouest du Lac Érié et dans les rivières Sydenham, Thames et Grand. On croit qu’elle a disparu des Grands Lacs, mais il en reste quelques petites populations dans les rivières Sydenham, Thames et Grand.

La répartition de l’obliquaire à trois cornes

Carte de répartition de l'obliquaire à trois cornes

Inscription proposée en vertu de la LEP : En voie de disparition

En 2013, cette espèce a été évaluée comme étant menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Si l’espèce est inscrite comme menacée en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, un programme de rétablissement et un plan d’action seront élaborés.

Menaces

Les obliquaires à trois cornes qui restent sont sérieusement menacés par la pollution des activités urbaines et agricoles. Plus précisément, c’est la charge de sédiments qui mène à l’engorgement de la structure des branchies de la moule, tandis que la charge de nutriments et les contaminants dégradent la qualité de l’eau et des habitats en général. Les infestations par les espèces aquatiques envahissantes demeurent aussi une menace. Plus particulièrement, la moule zébrée est largement responsable de la disparition des populations d’obliquaires à trois cornes dans les Grands Lacs et les chenaux de communication. En s’accrochant par centaines à l’obliquaire à trois cornes, la moule zébrée nuit à la capacité de la moule indigène de se nourrir, de se déplacer, de respirer et de se reproduire. La moule zébrée continue de menacer de la même façon les populations fluviales d’obliquaires à trois cornes qui restent. De plus, les gobies à taches noires ont actuellement de sérieuses répercussions sur les populations de poissons indigènes, y compris les poissons hôtes qui soutiennent les moules indigènes. Une autre menace bien connue est l’activité récréative humaine, comme la conduite de véhicules tout-terrain (VTT) sur les fragiles moulières de la rivière Sydenham.

Importance particulière de l’espèce

Les moules d’eau douce sont des mollusques au corps mou sans squelette, donc des invertébrés, qui vivent au fond des ruisseaux, des rivières, des lacs et des étangs. Elles utilisent leur pied musculeux pour creuser et ramper et elles sont dotées d’une paire de coquilles articulées. Ce sont des organismes filtreurs qui agissent comme des purificateurs d’eau naturels, et qui servent de nourriture à d’autres espèces comme les poissons, les loutres, les visons, les rats musqués et certains oiseaux. Les moules d’eau douce sont parmi les organismes les plus menacés de disparition sur terre.

Mesures de gestion possibles

Si l’obliquaire à trois cornes est inscrite en vertu de la LEP, Pêches et Océans Canada, en collaboration et en consultation avec les parties intéressées et ses partenaires, utilisera les meilleurs renseignements disponibles pour élaborer un programme de rétablissement et un plan d’action pour cette espèce.

Protection et rétablissement de l’espèce en vertu de la LEP

Si l’obliquaire à trois cornes est ajoutée à la Liste des espèces en péril comme menacée, elle sera protégée légalement en vertu de la LEP et des interdictions entreront en vigueur.  Il sera illégal de tuer cette espèce, de lui nuire, de la harceler, d’en capturer ou d’en prendre, d’en posséder, d’en vendre, d’en acheter ou d’en échanger, sauf en cas d’autorisation par un permis émis en vertu de la LEP. Il sera interdit de détruire l’habitat essentiel de l’obliquaire à trois cornes (c’est-à-dire l’habitat nécessaire à sa survie et à son rétablissement) dès que l’habitat essentiel sera désigné dans un programme de rétablissement ou dans un plan d’action.

Les questions :

  1. Quel groupe ou secteur vous ou votre organisation représente le mieux?
    1. Autochtones
    2. Administrations gouvernementales
    3. Conseil de gestion des ressources
    4. Grand public
    5. Industrie
    6. Milieu universitaire
    7. Organisme sans but lucratif
    8. Petites entreprises
    9. Autres ______________________________________
  2. Estimez-vous que la protection accordée à l’obliquaire à trois cornes en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril procurera des AVANTAGES économiques, environnementaux, culturels ou sociaux pour vous, votre entreprise ou votre collectivité?

  3. Estimez-vous que la protection accordée à l’obliquaire à trois cornes en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en périlengendrera des COÛTS environnementaux, culturels ou sociaux pour vous, votre groupe, votre bande, votre collectivité ou votre organisation?

  4. Le gouvernement du Canada devrait-il ajouter l’obliquaire à trois cornes à la Liste des espèces en péril à titre d'espèce en voie de disparition afin de lui accorder une protection en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril?

  5. Avez-vous d'autres commentaires dont vous aimeriez nous faire part concernant cette consultation sur l'inscription?