Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Backgrounder
Recovery of Species Listed Under the Species at Risk Act

The purposes of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) are to prevent wildlife species from being extirpated or becoming extinct, to provide for the recovery of extirpated, endangered and threatened species, and to manage species of special concern to prevent them from becoming endangered or threatened.

To deliver on those goals, the Species at Risk Act requires recovery strategies for all endangered species. Recovery strategies identify what needs to be done to stop or reverse the decline of a species. Each recovery strategy sets goals and objectives, identifies critical habitat to the extent possible, and describes the research and management activities that are needed. Strategies are prepared in cooperation and consultation with provincial and territorial governments, wildlife management boards, Aboriginal organizations and stakeholders.

These strategies may cover more than one species which occur in the same geographic area or ecosystem, or which have similar threats. Currently, recovery strategies addressing 105 species at risk have been posted as final or proposed on the Species at Risk Public Registry at http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca with 100 recovery strategies moving through various consultation and approval processes. As well, there are currently more than 150 recovery teams made up of experts from the federal-provincial-territorial governments and conservation activists on the ground across Canada working on recovery planning for species and their habitat. New recovery strategies are posted to the registry throughout the year.

Examples of Recovery Strategies:

Among the recovery strategies that have been recently posted on the SARA Public Registry are strategies for the Whooping Crane, the Cucumber Tree, the Swift Fox, and the Aurora Trout. These species highlight examples of Canadian land-based species, aquatic species, migratory birds as well as the geographical spread of the diverse Canadian species within our country.

Whooping Crane

Whooping Crane

The Whooping Crane is a flagship species in the North American wildlife conservation movement and symbolizes the struggle for survival that characterizes many endangered species worldwide. It is a large, distinctive, and photogenic bird, popular with the public and the media, and is often used to illustrate endangered species literature.

Once numbering in the several thousands, the Whooping Crane approached the brink of extinction in the 1940s, when only 21 Whooping Cranes remained in the world. Luckily, these large majestic birds were saved from extinction, and by March 2007, the Canadian migratory Whooping Crane population grew to 237 birds. While on the precarious road to recovery, Whooping Cranes remain listed as an endangered species in Canada and the United States.

Historically, population declines were caused by shooting and destruction of nesting habitat in the prairies as a result of agricultural development. Today, the Whooping Crane remains an endangered species because of its low population numbers, slow reproductive potential due to delayed sexual maturity and limited recruitment into the population, a hazardous migration route traversed twice annually, and many human pressures on the wintering grounds. Current threats to the wild cranes include collisions with human made objects such as power lines, shooting, predators, disease, habitat destruction, severe weather, and a loss of two-thirds of the original genetic diversity. Threats to the captive cranes include disease, accidents, and limited genetic diversity.

The overall recovery goal for the Whooping Crane is to protect, restore, and manage the species to be self-sustaining in the wild, no longer requiring the protections of the Species at Risk Act and the U.S. Endangered Species Act. The long-term recovery goal is to establish 1,000 Whooping Cranes in North America by 2035.

The recovery strategy for the Whooping Crane identifies areas of critical habitat on the breeding grounds within Wood Buffalo National Park. Wood Buffalo National Park is protected under the Canada National Parks Act. To afford the highest level of protection, the breeding habitat is designated as a Special Preservation area. The breeding grounds are also designated as a Wetland of International Importance by the Ramsar Convention and an Important Bird Area by BirdLife International. Because of these designations, the critical habitat is protected from a number of anthropogenic threats.

Among the proposed recovery strategies that have been posted on the SARA public registry for consultation are strategies for the Northern Spotted Owl in British Columbia, the Leatherback Seaturtle, the Barrens Willow in Newfoundland, and the Piping Plover in Prairie Canada. These species highlight examples of Canadian land-based species, aquatic species, migratory birds as well as the geographical spread of the diverse Canadian species within our country.

Cucumber Tree

Cucumber Tree is the only native Magnolia species in Ontario. It is a forest species which can grow to a height of 30 m in its Ontario range. The leaves are large, simple and without teeth. Large greenish-yellow flowers emerge in early summer and are pollinated by beetles and other insects. The tree is named for the slight resemblance of the immature fruit to a cucumber.

Cucumber Tree has a very limited distribution in Canada, occurring in only two areas of southern Ontario. The total number of naturally occurring trees and saplings is currently 283, following recent intensive census and mapping exercises. In addition, over 100 seedlings have been counted most of which occur in one single population. Limited recruitment within their forest habitats has been observed. The threat of landscape fragmentation and small population sizes needs to be better understood to refine recovery actions.

The goal of this recovery strategy is to conserve and if necessary restore Cucumber Tree to self-sustaining populations in both regions of its native Canadian range in extreme southwestern Ontario.

Some of the recovery approaches identified in the recovery strategy, beyond protecting what is there, are dependent on current and future research, to better understand the species pollination biology, seed dispersal, seedling establishment and population genetics. The report outlines and prioritizes research programs necessary to support the implementation of the recovery actions. Critical habitat has been identified for six populations that have ten or more mature trees.

Swift Fox

Swift FoxSwift foxes are found predominately in short- and mixed-grass prairie areas of North America. Swift foxes were previously extirpated from Canada. As of the 2006 census, a small population of approximately 647 animals has been established in Alberta and Saskatchewan through reintroductions. Animals are successfully breeding in the wild, although the species is potentially at risk from predation and habitat loss.

Major threats to swift foxes include: habitat loss, degradation and fragmentation; predation and competitive exclusion by coyotes and red fox; mortality from vehicles; disease; poisoning and trapping. Changes in climate and associated habitat changes and range shifts also contribute to an uncertain future for swift foxes.

The long-term recovery goal is to restore, by 2026, a self-sustaining swift fox population of 1,000 or more mature, reproducing foxes that does not experience greater than a 30% population reduction in any 10-year period. To assess progress, an additional short-term recovery goal has also been described as follows: ensure a mature, reproducing population of at least 250 foxes by 2012. Partial identification of critical habitat will be completed for the swift fox in an addendum to the recovery strategy, to be completed in 2008.

Aurora Trout

Aurora trout are generally believed to be a form of brook trout that are exclusively native to only two lakes - Whirligig Lake and Whitepine Lake. Both lakes are located in the same watershed within Lady Evelyn Smoothwater Provincial Park, about 110 kilometres north of Sudbury, Ontario. While Aurora trout are very similar to the brook trout, significant differences have been noted in colouration, skeletal features, and possibly spawning behaviour. These differences are used to support arguments for Aurora trout to receive a subspecies designation.

Aurora trout populations were reported as declining as early as the 1940s and were extirpated from the wild by 1967 due to lake acidification. After lake alkalinity was improved through lake liming treatments, Aurora trout were re-established in both native lakes in the mid-1990s.

The primary long-term goal of this recovery strategy is to maintain the self-sustaining Aurora trout populations in both native lakes (Whirligig Lake and Whitepine Lake). In addition, three secondary recovery goals have been identified: To establish a secure, self-sustaining Aurora trout population in one or two non-native, well-buffered lakes (lakes with low acidity levels) to act as a wild brood stock refuge for the populations in Whitepine Lake and Whirligig Lake; to clarify the taxonomic status of the Aurora trout by determining if Aurora trout are, in fact, distinguishable from brook trout by their genetic DNA; and to maintain a captive breeding program. Critical habitat has been identified as both native lakes and is within Lady Evelyn Smoothwater Provincial Park.

Federal-Provincial-Territorial Cooperation Key to Recovery Plans:

The Government of Canada has been working in cooperation with provincial and territorial jurisdictions, wildlife management boards and Aboriginal organizations to prepare recovery strategies that are based on the best available knowledge and that are supported by all parties.

Recovery strategies for species at risk are part of the conservation approach that Canadians want governments to undertake. Conserving Canada's biodiversity is vital to the health of the environment and to Canada's long-term economic prosperity.

The implementation of the Species at Risk Act reinforces the Government of Canada's commitment to ensure the protection for species at risk and their ecosystems. Under the Act, stewardship is the first response to habitat conservation. Protecting species at risk is a shared responsibility by all Canadians. The government is committed to continuing to work with Canadians in implementing the Species at Risk Act.

All Canadians are invited to join the Government of Canada in supporting and implementing recovery strategies for the benefit of individual species and Canadian society as a whole. For individuals interested in helping species at risk, these strategies provide a wealth of information on threats to the species and their recovery needs. Landowners implicated by critical habitat identification are being consulted and are cooperating on critical habitat protection.

More information on the Species at Risk Act, the national recovery program, the Habitat Stewardship Program for species at risk, and on Canada's Strategy for the Protection of Species at Risk, can be found on the Internet at: www.sararegistry.gc.ca; or call Environment Canada's Inquiry Centre at: 1-800-668-6767.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Fiche d'information
Rétablissement d’espèces désignées - Loi sur les espèces en péril

Les objectifs de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du Canada sont d'empêcher la disparition, voire l'extinction, d'espèces sauvages, de rendre possible le rétablissement d'espèces disparues du pays, en voie de disparition ou menacées et de gérer les populations d'espèces préoccupantes de façon à empêcher qu'elles ne soient menacées de disparaître.

Favorisant la réalisation de ces objectifs, la LEP exige que l'on dresse pour chaque espèce en voie de disparition un programme de rétablissement, c'est à dire ce qu'il faut faire pour arrêter et même renverser la diminution des populations. Chaque programme de rétablissement contient des buts et objectifs, définit autant que possible l'habitat essentiel et décrit les travaux de recherche et de gestion nécessaires. On le prépare en consultation et collaboration avec le ou les gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux en cause, le conseil de gestion de la faune, les organisations autochtones et les autres intéressés.

Un programme de rétablissement peut s'appliquer à plusieurs espèces situées dans la même région ou écosystème ou menacées par des dangers semblables. Le registre public des espèces en péril (voir http://www.registrelep.gc.ca) compte des programmes finals ou proposés pour 105 espèces menacées, et 100 autres en sont à une étape ou l'autre de la procédure de consultation et d'approbation. En outre, plus de 150 équipes d'experts des administrations fédérale, provinciales et territoriales et d'activistes écologiques travaillent à planifier le rétablissement de différentes espèces et de leurs habitats. De nouveaux programmes de rétablissement sont affichés sur le site du registre public de la LEP à longueur d'année.

Exemples :

Récemment, les programmes de rétablissement y ont été ajoutés pour les espèces suivantes : la Grue blanche, le Magnolia acuminé, le renard véloce et l'Omble de fontaine aurora. Ces espèces constituent une bonne représentation des espèces terrestres et aquatiques, des oiseaux migrateurs de notre pays et de la diversité de leurs habitats.

La Grue blanche

La Grue blancheLa Grue blanche est l'une des espèces vedettes du mouvement nord-américain de conservation des espèces sauvages; elle symbolise la lutte pour la survie qui caractérise de nombreuses espèces en voie de disparition dans le monde. On se sert souvent de ce grand oiseau photogénique très prisé par le public pour illustrer des documents sur les espèces en péril.

Ayant déjà compté plusieurs milliers d'individus, la Grue blanche a frôlé la disparition dans les années 1940 : il n'en restait plus que 21 au monde. Heureusement, cet oiseau majestueux a été sauvé de l'extinction : en mars 2007, la population migratrice au Canada avait atteint 237 individus. Toujours sur la voie, précaire, du rétablissement, la Grue blanche reste inscrite comme espèce en voie de disparition au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Historiquement, ce sont la chasse et la destruction des aires de nidification par l'exploitation agricole dans les Prairies qui ont fait décliner le nombre de Grues blanches. L'espèce demeure en voie de disparition à cause de son petit nombre, de son faible potentiel reproductif une maturité sexuelle tardive et d'un faible recrutement à la population, de l'utilisation deux fois l'an d'une voie migratoire dangereuse et de nombreuses contraintes d'origine humaine dans les territoires d'hivernage. Parmi les menaces qui pèsent sur la Grue blanche sauvage, il y a les collisions avec des structures artificielles comme des lignes électriques, la chasse, la prédation, les maladies, la destruction d'habitats, le temps violent et la perte des deux tiers de sa diversité génétique initiale. Les facteurs qui menacent la Grue blanche en captivité comprennent les maladies, les accidents et une diversité génétique limitée.

L'objectif général du rétablissement de la Grue blanche est de la protéger, de la restaurer et de la gérer afin qu'elle devienne autosuffisante à l'état sauvage en Amérique du Nord; elle n'aurait alors plus besoin de la protection de la Loi sur les espèces en péril et de la Endangered Species Act des É. U. L'objectif à long terme : 1 000 Grues blanches en Amérique du Nord d'ici 2035.

Le programme de rétablissement inclut comme habitats essentiels l'aire de reproduction du parc national Wood Buffalo, protégé en vertu de la Loi sur les parcs nationaux du Canada. On a cherché à protéger cette aire au maximum en la désignant comme zone de conservation spéciale. Elle est aussi désignée comme zone humide d'importance internationale aux termes de la Convention de Ramsar et comme " zone aviaire importante " par BirdLife International. Ces désignations la protègent contre plusieurs menaces d'origine humaine.

Le Magnolia acuminé

Le Magnolia acuminé est la seule espèce indigène du genre Magnolia en Ontario. Essence forestière, il peut atteindre 30 mètres dans son aire de répartition en Ontario. Ses feuilles sont grandes, simples et non dentées. Ses grandes fleurs jaune verdâtre, qui s'épanouissent au début de l'été, sont pollinisées par des coléoptères et d'autres insectes. Le nom commun anglais de cet arbre, Cucumber Tree, est dû à la légère ressemblance du fruit immature avec le concombre.

Au Canada, la répartition du Magnolia acuminé est très restreinte : il n'est présent que dans deux régions du sud de l'Ontario. De récents travaux intensifs d'inventaire et de cartographie ont permis d'établir à 283 le nombre total d'arbres matures et de gaulis à l'état sauvage. En outre, plus de 100 semis ont été recensés, la plupart formant une seule population. Un recrutement modéré a été observé à l'intérieur de l'habitat forestier de l'espèce. Il faudrait mieux comprendre la menace que posent la fragmentation du paysage et la petite taille des populations pour raffiner les mesures de rétablissement.

Le programme de rétablissement vise à assurer la conservation du Magnolia acuminé et, au besoin, à réaménager l'espèce en populations autosuffisantes dans les deux régions de son aire de répartition canadienne naturelle, dans l'extrême sud-ouest de l'Ontario.

Certaines démarches du programme de rétablissement dépassent la simple protection des peuplements actuels et dépendent de recherches en cours ou même futures. En effet, il faudrait connaître mieux la biologie de pollinisation de l'espèce, la dispersion de ses graines, l'établissement des semis et la génétique des populations. Le rapport décrit et priorise les programmes de recherche nécessaires à la mise en œuvre des mesures de rétablissement. Des habitats essentiels ont été déclarés pour six peuplements de dix ou plus de dix arbres matures.

Renard véloce

Renard véloceLes renards véloces s'observent principalement dans les prairies à herbes courtes et à herbes mixtes d'Amérique du Nord. Ceux-ci étaient disparus du Canada. Lors du recensement de 2006, on a relevé une petite population de quelque 647 individus établie en Alberta et en Saskatchewan à la suite de réintroductions. Ses membres de reproduisent en liberté, bien qu'elle demeure à risque à cause de la prédation et de la perte d'habitat.

Le renard véloce est surtout exposé à la perte, la dégradation et la fragmentation de son habitat; à la prédation et à l'exclusion compétitive de la part du coyote et du renard roux; à la mortalité attribuable aux véhicules; à la maladie; à l'empoisonnement et au piégeage. Les changements climatiques, les modifications de son habitat et les mutations de son aire de répartition menacent également sa survie.

L'objectif à long terme est de rétablir, d'ici 2026, une population viable d'au moins 1 000 individus matures capables de se reproduire, et qui ne devrait pas subir une réduction supérieure à 30 % sur une période de dix ans. Afin d'évaluer l'évolution de ce programme, on a également établi un objectif de rétablissement à plus court terme : d'ici 2010, une population d'au moins 250 individus capables de se reproduire. Dans le cadre de la stratégie de rétablissement, on complétera en 2008 un addenda identifiant en partie l'habitat essentiel du renard véloce.

L'Omble de fontaine aurora

Il est généralement admis que l'Omble de fontaine aurora est une forme de l'Omble de fontaine (Salvelinus fontinalis) exclusivement indigène aux lacs Whirligig et Whitepine. Ces deux lacs sont situés dans le même bassin versant du parc provincial Lady Evelyn Smoothwater, à environ 110 kilomètres de Sudbury (Ontario). Bien qu'il existe de nombreuses similarités entre les deux Ombles, on a noté d'importantes différences chez l'Omble aurora : coloration, structure squelettique et peut-être même comportement pendant la fraie. Les arguments en faveur de sa désignation comme sous-espèce reposent sur ces différences.

On a noté la diminution des populations sauvages de l'Omble de fontaine aurora dès les années quarante; leur disparition vers 1967 est due à l'acidification des eaux. Après qu'un traitement à la chaux des deux lacs indigènes en ait rétabli le pH, l'Omble aurora y a été restauré vers le milieu des années 1990.

Le principal objectif à long terme du programme de rétablissement est de maintenir des populations viables dans les lacs Whirligig et Whitepine. Trois buts secondaires ont aussi été fixés : établir une population autosuffisante viable d'Ombles aurora dans un ou deux lacs non indigènes bien tamponnés (non acides), qui serviront de refuges pour un cheptel de géniteurs sauvages, pour le bénéfice des populations indigènes des lacs Whitepine et Whirligig; élucider le statut taxinomique de l'Omble aurora, c'est-à-dire déterminer si elle est distincte de l'omble de fontaine au niveau de la génétique moléculaire; enfin, maintenir le programme de reproduction en captivité. Les habitats essentiels cernés sont les deux lacs indigènes, dans le parc provincial Lady Evelyn Smoothwater.

La coopération fédérale-provinciale-territoriale est la clé

Le gouvernement du Canada collabore avec les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les conseils de gestion de la faune et les organisations autochtones afin de préparer des programmes de rétablissement qui reposent sur les meilleures connaissances disponibles et que tous les intéressés appuient.

Les programmes de rétablissement font partie des démarches que les Canadiens et Canadiennes veulent voir leurs gouvernements appliquer. Préserver la biodiversité de notre environnement est essentiel à la santé de celui-ci ainsi qu'à la prospérité économique à long terme du pays.

La mise en œuvre de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) renforce l'engagement du gouvernement à assurer la protection des espèces menacées et de leurs écosystèmes. D'après la Loi, l'intendance est la première mesure à prendre pour conserver un habitat. La protection des espèces est une responsabilité qui incombe à tous les citoyens. Le gouvernement est bien résolu à continuer de travailler avec ceux-ci afin d'appliquer la LEP.

Aussi le gouvernement invite-t-il l'ensemble des Canadiennes et Canadiens à s'associer avec lui et à soutenir la mise en œuvre de programmes de rétablissement, pour le bénéfice des espèces et de la société canadienne. Pour les personnes qui voudraient faire quelque chose pour les espèces en péril, les documents sur ces programmes sont des mines d'information sur les dangers et sur les mesures de rétablissement nécessaires. On consulte les propriétaires de terrains touchés par l'identification d'habitats essentiels, et ils coopèrent afin de protéger ces habitats.

Vous trouverez plus d'information sur la LEP, le programme national de rétablissement, le Programme d'intendance de l'habitat pour les espèces en péril et le Programme canadien de protection des espèces en péril à http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/; vous pouvez aussi appeler l'Informathèque d'Environnement Canada à 1-800-668-6767.