COSEWIC Status Appraisal Summary on the Island Marble Euchloe ausonides insulanus in Canada – 2010

Table of Contents

Document Information


Document Information

Extirpated – 2010

COSEWIC status appraisal summaries are working documents used in assigning the status of wildlife species suspected of being at risk in Canada. This report may be cited as follows:

COSEWIC. 2010. COSEWIC status appraisal summary on the Island Marble Euchloe ausonides insulanus in Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. viii pp.

Production note:
This status appraisal summary constitutes a review of classification of the Island Marble Euchloe ausonides insulanus in Canada which was last assessed by COSEWIC in 2000. The 2000 COSEWIC Status Report on the Island Marble Euchloe ausonides insulanus in Canada is posted on the Species at Risk Public Registry link.

COSEWIC would like to acknowledge James Miskelly for writing the status appraisal summary on the Island Marble Euchloe ausonides insulanus in Canada, prepared under contract with Environment Canada. This status appraisal summary was overseen and edited by Laurence Packer, Co–chair of the Arthropods Specialist Subcommittee.

For additional copies contact:

COSEWIC Secretariat
c/o Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0H3

Tel.: 819–953–3215
Fax: 819–994–3684
E–mail
Website

Également disponible en français sous le titre Sommaire du statut de l’espèce du COSEPAC sur le Marbré insulaire (Euchloe ausonides insulanus) au Canada.

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2010.
Catalogue No. CW69–14/2–3–2010E–PDF
ISBN 978–1–100–16630–8

Top of Page


COSEWIC Assessment Summary

Assessment Summary – April 2009

Common name
Island Marble

Scientific name
Euchloe ausonides insulanus

Status
Extirpated

Reason for designation
* A reason for designation is not specified when a review of classification is conducted by means of a status appraisal summary.

Occurrence
British Columbia

Status history
Extirpated by 1910. Designated Extirpated in April 1999. Status re–examined and confirmed in May 2000 and in April 2010.

Top of Page

COSEWIC Status Appraisal Summary

Euchloe ausonides insulanus
Island Marble - Marbré insulaire

Jurisdictions: BC

Current COSEWIC Assessment:

Status category:

XT = Extirpated

Date of last assessment: May 2000

Reason for designation at last assessment: This butterfly was formerly found on two islands off the west coast, but disappeared from both sites by 1910 because of loss of the larval host plant. It has not been seen in Canada since that time.

Criteria applied at last assessment: N/A

If earlier version of criteria was applied1, provide correspondence to current criteria: N/A.

Top of Page

Recommendation: Update to the status report NOT required (species’ status category remains unchanged)

Reason:
sufficient information to conclude there has been no change in status category.

Top of Page

Evidence (indicate as applicable):

Wildlife species:

Change in eligibility, taxonomy or designatable units: no

Explanation:

No additional data since previous assessment.

 

Range:

Change in Extent of Occurrence (EO): no

Change in Area of Occupancy (AO): no

Change in number of known or inferred current locations: no

Significant new survey information: yes

Explanation:

Considerable effort has been devoted to butterfly surveys in the historic range of the Island Marble in Canada since 2001.  Southeastern Vancouver Island and the Gulf Islands have been surveyed extensively in a series of projects aimed at threatened and endangered butterflies.  The British Columbia Ministry of Environment and Environment Canada have been the major proponents of these projects and the principal investigators have been Crispin Guppy, Nick Page, James Miskelly, and Jamie Fenneman.  At least 500 person hours have been spent conducting professional surveys in the historic range of the Island Marble during the period of the year that the species is detectable.  In additional, butterfly enthusiasts on southern Vancouver Island have volunteered at least 2000 person hours conducting surveys in the historic range of the Island Marble since 2001 (Victoria Natural History Society 2001–2008).  The Island Marble has not been detected in these surveys.

 

Population Information:

Change in number of mature individuals: no

Change in total population trend: no

Change in severity of population fragmentation: no

Change in trend in area and/or quality of habitat: no

Significant new survey information: no

Explanation:

There are no known Canadian populations.

 

Threats:

Change in nature and/or severity of threats: no

Explanation:

No additional data since previous assessment.

 

Protection:

Change in effective protection: no

Explanation:

No additional data since previous assessment.

 

Rescue Effect:

Evidence of rescue effect: no

Explanation:

The closest populations to Canada are small, declining, and located at least 15 km away across Haro Strait (Miskelly and Potter 2008). There is no evidence that the species can cross such a wide expanse of unsuitable habitat. Other subspecies of Euchloe ausonides disperse an average of less than 200 m per day (Scott 1975a). The greatest recorded dispersal distance is 3 km (Scott 1975b).

 

Quantitative Analysis:

Change in estimated probability of extirpation: no

Details:

The species is already extirpated.

 

Summary and Additional Considerations:

Recent studies of the Island Marble in San Juan County, Washington, where the butterfly still persists, have provided much new information about it habitats and ecology.  Contrary to previous reports (Shepard 2000, Guppy and Shepard 2001, Parks Canada Agency 2006), there is no evidence that it has ever been found in Garry Oak woodland or has ever been associated with rockcress (Arabis sp.) as a larval host plant (Miskelly and Potter 2005, Miskelly and Fleckenstein 2006, Miskelly and Potter 2008).  Extant populations of Island Marble are found in old fields, along eroding shorelines, in disturbed native grassland, and around tidal lagoons.  Larval host plants are field mustard (Brassica campestris), tall tumble mustard (Sisymbrium altissimum) and tall pepper–grass (Lepidium virginicum).  Only the latter is a native species. 

The historic Canadian range of the Island Marble has been extensively surveyed since 2001 in an effort to locate it along with other at risk butterflies.  These surveys have targeted a variety of habitats, including the habitats used by the Island Marble in its extant American range.  During these surveys, neither the Island Marble nor apparently suitable habitat has been detected.  All available evidence suggests that the Island Marble is extirpated in Canada.

Top of Page

List of reviewers:

The Status Appraisal Summary was sent to the following jurisdictions for review:

  • Canadian Wildlife Service
  • Parks Canada Agency
  • Province of British Columbia (Dave Fraser)
  • Members of the COSEWIC Arthropods Species Specialist Subcommittee
  • Members of the Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge Subcommittee (Donna Hurlburt and Dan Benoit)

Top of Page

Consultations:

Heron, Jennifer.  Chair, British Columbia Invertebrates at Risk Recovery Team. Invertebrate specialist, BC Ministry of Environment. Vancouver, BC.

Top of Page

Sources of information:

Guppy, C.S. and J.H. Shepard. 2001. The butterflies of British Columbia. Royal BC Museum and UBC Press, Victoria and Vancouver, BC.

Miskelly, J. and J. Fleckenstein.  2006.  Surveys for Island Marble butterfly (Euchloe ausonides insulanus) in San Juan County, Washington, 2006.  Natural Heritage Report 2007–01. Washington Department of Natural Resources, Olympia, WA.

Miskelly, J. and A. Potter. 2005.  2005 surveys for Island Marble Butterfly (Euchloe ausonides insulanus) in northern coastal Washington.  Report to Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, Olympia, WA.

Miskelly, J. and A. Potter. 2008.  Surveys for Island Marble butterfly (Euchloe ausonides insulanus) in San Juan County, Washington, 2007.  Report to Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, Olympia, WA.

Parks Canada Agency. 2006. Recovery Strategy for Multi–species at Risk in Maritime Meadows Associated with Garry Oak Ecosystems in Canada. In Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series. Parks Canada Agency, Ottawa, ON.

Scott, J.A. 1975a. Movements of Euchloe ausonides (Pieridae). Journal of the Lepidopterists’ Society 29(1): 24–31.

Scott, J.A. 1975b. Flight Patterns among eleven species of diurnal lepidoptera. Ecology 56: 1367–1377.

Shepard, J.H. 2000. Status Report on the Island Marble, an Undescribed Subspecies of Euchloe ausonides (Lucas) (Lepidoptera: Pieridae) in British Columbia. Committee on the Status of Wildlife in Canada, Ottawa, ON.

Victoria Natural History Society. 2001–2008. Unpublished data associated with Victoria Butterfly Counts. Victoria, BC.

COSEWIC History

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) was created in 1977 as a result of a recommendation at the Federal–Provincial Wildlife Conference held in 1976. It arose from the need for a single, official, scientifically sound, national listing of wildlife species at risk. In 1978, COSEWIC designated its first species and produced its first list of Canadian species at risk. Species designated at meetings of the full committee are added to the list. On June 5, 2003, the Species at Risk Act (SARA) was proclaimed. SARA establishes COSEWIC as an advisory body ensuring that species will continue to be assessed under a rigorous and independent scientific process.

COSEWIC Mandate

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) assesses the national status of wild species, subspecies, varieties, or other designatable units that are considered to be at risk in Canada. Designations are made on native species for the following taxonomic groups: mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fishes, arthropods, molluscs, vascular plants, mosses, and lichens.

COSEWIC Membership

COSEWIC comprises members from each provincial and territorial government wildlife agency, four federal entities (Canadian Wildlife Service, Parks Canada Agency, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, and the Federal Biodiversity Information Partnership, chaired by the Canadian Museum of Nature), three non–government science members and the co–chairs of the species specialist subcommittees and the Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge subcommittee. The Committee meets to consider status reports on candidate species.

Definitions (2010)

Wildlife Species
A species, subspecies, variety, or geographically or genetically distinct population of animal, plant or other organism, other than a bacterium or virus, that is wild by nature and is either native to Canada or has extended its range into Canada without human intervention and has been present in Canada for at least 50 years.

Extinct (X)
A wildlife species that no longer exists.

Extirpated (XT)
A wildlife species no longer existing in the wild in Canada, but occurring elsewhere.

Endangered (E)
A wildlife species facing imminent extirpation or extinction.

Threatened (T)
A wildlife species likely to become endangered if limiting factors are not reversed.

Special Concern (SC)*
A wildlife species that may become a threatened or an endangered species because of a combination of biological characteristics and identified threats.

Not at Risk (NAR)**
A wildlife species that has been evaluated and found to be not at risk of extinction given the current circumstances.

Data Deficient (DD)***
A category that applies when the available information is insufficient (a) to resolve a species’ eligibility for assessment or (b) to permit an assessment of the species’ risk of extinction.

* Formerly described as “Vulnerable” from 1990 to 1999, or “Rare” prior to 1990.
**  Formerly described as “Not In Any Category”, or “No Designation Required.”
***  Formerly described as “Indeterminate” from 1994 to 1999 or “ISIBD” (insufficient scientific information on which to base a designation) prior to 1994. Definition of the (DD) category revised in 2006.

The Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, provides full administrative and financial support to the COSEWIC Secretariat.


1 An earlier version of the quantitative criteria was used by COSEWIC from October 1999 to May 2001 and is available on the COSEWIC website.

Sommaire du statut de l’espèce du COSEPAC sur le Marbré insulaire Euchloe ausonides insulanus au Canada – 2010

Table des matières

Information sur le document


Information sur la document

Disparue du pays – 2010

Les sommaires du statut de l’espèce du COSEPAC sont des documents de travail servant à déterminer le statut des espèces sauvages au Canada que l’on croit en péril. On peut citer le présent document de la façon suivante :

COSEPAC. 2010. Sommaire du statut de l’espèce du COSEPAC sur le marbré insulaire(Euchloe ausonides insulanus) au Canada. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Ottawa. viii p.

Note de production :
Ce sommaire du statut constitue une révision de la classification du marbré insulaire(Euchloe ausonides insulanus) au Canada, dont la dernière évaluation par le COSEPAC date de 2000. Le rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le marbré insulaire (Euchloe ausonides insulanus) au Canada (2000) est affiché dans le Registre public des espèces en péri.

Le COSEPAC aimerait remercier James Miskelly qui a rédigé le sommaire du statut sur le marbré insulaire (Euchloe ausonides insulanus) au Canada, préparé en vertu d’un contrat conclu avec Environnement Canada. Laurence Packer, coprésident du Sous-comité de spécialistes des arthropodes, a supervisé le présent sommaire du statut de l'espèce et en a fait la révision.

Pour obtenir des exemplaires supplémentaires, s’adresser au :

Secrétariat du COSEPAC
a/s Service canadien de la faune
Environnement Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H3

Tél. : 819–953–3215
Téléc. : 819–994–3684
Courriel
Site Web

Also available in English under the title COSEWIC Status Appraisal Summary on the Island Marble Euchloe ausonides insulanus in Canada.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2010.
No de catalogue CW69–14/2–3–2010F–PDF
ISBN 978–1–100–95413–4

Haut de la page


COSEPAC - Sommaire de l’évaluation

Sommaire de l’évaluation – avril 2009

Nom commun
Marbré insulaire

Nom scientifique
Euchloe ausonides insulanus

Statut
Disparue du pays

Justification de la désignation
* Une justification de la désignation n'est pas précisée lorsqu'une révision de la classification est effectuée dans le cadre d'un sommaire du statut de l'espèce.

Répartition
Colombie-Britannique

Historique du statut
Espèce disparue du Canada avant 1910. Espèce désignée « disparue du pays » en avril 1999. Réexamen et confirmation du  statut en mai 2000 et en avril 2010.

Haut de la page

COSEPAC - Sommaire du statut de l’espèce

Euchloe ausonides insulanus
Marbré insulaire - Island Marble

Compétences : Colombie-Britannique

Évaluation actuelle du COSEPAC :

Catégories de statut :

DP = Disparue du pays

Date de la dernière évaluation : Mai 2000

Justification de la désignation de la dernière évaluation : Ce papillon se trouvait auparavant sur deux îles au large de la côte ouest, mais il a disparu des deux sites en 1910 en raison de la perte de la plante hôte de ses larves. Il n'a pas été observé au Canada depuis lors.

Critères appliqués lors de la dernière évaluation : S.O.

Si une version antérieure des critères a été appliquée, faire correspondre avec les critères actuels :S.O.

Haut de la page

Recommandation : La mise à jour du rapport de situation N'EST PAS nécessaire (la catégorie de statut de l'espèce demeure inchangée).

Justification :

Marque de contrôle = Données suffisantes pour conclure que la catégorie de statut demeure inchangée

Pas de Marque de contrôle = Données supplémentaires insuffisantes pour justifier une réévaluation.

Haut de la page

Preuves (préciser le cas échéant) :

Espèce sauvage :

Changement quant à l'admissibilité, la taxinomie ou les unités désignables : non

Explication :

Aucune donnée supplémentaire depuis l'évaluation précédente.

 

Répartition :

Changement de la zone d'occurrence : non

Changement de la zone d'occupation : non

Changement du nombre de localités actuelles connues ou inférées : non

Nouvelles données importantes issues de relevés : oui

Explication :

Des efforts considérables ont été fournis afin de mener des relevés sur les papillons dans le cadre de l'aire de répartition historique du marbré insulaire au Canada depuis 2001. Le sud-est de l'Île de Vancouver et les Îles Gulf ont fait l'objet de relevés approfondis dans le cadre d'une série de projets visant les papillons menacés et en voie de disparition. Le ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique et Environnement Canada ont été les principaux promoteurs de ces projets et les chercheurs principaux étaient Crispin Guppy, Nick Page, James Miskelly et Jamie Fenneman. Au moins 500 heures-personnes ont été consacrées à des relevés professionnels menés dans l'aire de répartition historique du marbré insulaire, pendant la période de l'année durant laquelle l'espèce est détectable. De plus, des amateurs de papillon dans le sud de l'Île de Vancouver se sont portés volontaires pour consacrer au moins 2000 heures-personnes à des relevés menés dans l'aire de répartition historique du marbré insulaire depuis 2001 (Victoria Natural History Society 2001-2008). Le marbré insulaire n'a pas été détecté dans le cadre de ces relevés.

Information sur la population :

Changement du nombre d'individus matures : non

Changement de la tendance de la population totale : non

Changement de la gravité de la fragmentation de la population : non

Changement de la tendance de la superficie et/ou de la qualité de l’habitat : non

Nouvelles données importantes issues de relevés : non

Explication :

Il n'existe aucune population canadienne connue.

 

Menaces :

Changement de la nature ou de la gravité des menaces : non

Explication :

Aucune donnée supplémentaire depuis l'évaluation précédente.

 

Protection:

Changement de la protection actuelle : non

Explication :

Aucune donnée supplémentaire depuis l'évaluation précédente.

 

Immigration de source externe :

Immigration de source externe constatée : non

Explication :

Les populations les plus proches du Canada sont petites, en déclin et situées à au moins 15 km du détroit d’Haro (Miskelly et Potter, 2008). Il n'existe aucune preuve selon laquelle l'espèce est capable de traverser une superficie de cette ampleur composée d'habitats non propices. D'autres sous-espèces de l'Euchloe ausonides sont réparties à une distance moyenne inférieure à 200 m par jour (Scott, 1975a). La plus grande distance de dispersion consignée est de 3 km (Scott, 1975b).

 

Analyse quantitative :

Changement de la probabilité de disparition du pays : non

Précisions :

L'espèce a déjà disparu.

 

Sommaire et autres points à examiner :

Des études récentes portant sur le marbré insulaire dans le comté de San Juan, Washington, où l'espèce existe toujours, ont permis d'obtenir de nouveaux renseignements en matière d'habitats et d'écologie. Contrairement aux rapports précédents (Shepard, 2000; Guppy et Shepard, 2001; Parcs Canada, 2006), aucune preuve ne permet d'indiquer que l'espèce a été observée dans les régions boisées du chêne de Garry ou qu'elle est associée à l'Arabette de Lyall (Arabis sp.) qui joue le rôle de plante hôte de ses larves (Miskelly et Potter, 2005; Miskelly et Fleckenstein, 2006; Miskelly et Potter, 2008). Des populations existantes de marbrés insulaires ont été observées dans d'anciens champs, le long du littoral érosif, dans les terres herbeuses indigènes perturbées et autour de lagunes à marée. Les plantes hôtes des larves sont la moutarde des oiseaux (Brassica campestris), le sisymbre élevé (Sisymbrium altissimum) et la lépidie de Virginie (Lepidium virginicum). Seule la dernière plante citée est une espèce indigène.

L’aire de répartition historique du Canada du marbré insulaire a fait l'objet de relevés approfondis depuis 2001 afin de le repérer avec d'autres espèces de papillons en péril. Ces relevés ont porté sur différents habitats, y compris les habitats utilisés par le marbré insulaire dans son aire de répartition existante en Amérique. Au cours de ces relevés, ni le marbré insulaire, ni les habitats apparemment propices n'ont été détectés. Tous les éléments de preuve disponibles semblent indiquer que le marbré insulaire a disparu au Canada.

Haut de la page

Liste des examinateurs :

Le sommaire du statut de l'espèce a été transmis aux fins d'examen aux autorités compétentes suivantes :

  • Service canadien de la faune
  • Parcs Canada
  • Province de la Colombie-Britannique (Dave Fraser)
  • Membres du Sous-comité de spécialistes des espèces d'arthropodes du COSEPAC
  • Membres du Sous-comité de spécialistes des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones (Donna Hurlburt et Dan Benoit)

Haut de la page

Personnes-ressources :

Heron, Jennifer. Présidente de l'équipe du rétablissement des invertébrés en péril de la Colombie-Britannique. Spécialiste des invertébrés, ministère de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique. Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique.

Haut de la page

Sources d’information :

Guppy, C.S., et J.H. Shepard. 2001. The butterflies of British Columbia, Royal BC Museum et UBC Press, Victoria et Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique).

Miskelly, J., et J. Fleckenstein. 2006. Surveys for Island Marble butterfly (Euchloe ausonides insulanus) in San Juan County, Washington, 2006, Natural Heritage Report 2007-01, Washington Department of Natural Resources, Olympia (Washington).

Miskelly, J., et A. Potter. 2005. 2005 surveys for Island Marble Butterfly (Euchloe ausonides insulanus) in northern coastal Washington, rapport au Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, Olympia (Washington).

Miskelly, J., et A. Potter. 2008. Surveys for Island Marble butterfly (Euchloe ausonides insulanus) in San Juan County, Washington, 2007, rapport au Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, Olympia (Washington).

Agence Parrs Canada. 2006. Recovery Strategy for Multi-species at Risk in Maritime Meadows Associated with Garry Oak Ecosystems in Canada, in Species at Risk Act Recovery Strategy Series, Agence Parcs Canada, Ottawa (Ontario).

Scott, J.A. 1975a. Movements of Euchloe ausonides (Pieridae), Journal of the Lepidopterists’ Society 29(1):24-31.

Scott, J.A. 1975b. Flight Patterns among eleven species of diurnal lepidoptera, Ecology 56:1367-1377.

Shepard, J.H. 2000. Status Report on the Island Marble, an Undescribed Subspecies of Euchloe ausonides (Lucas) (Lepidoptera: Pieridae) in British Columbia, Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada, Ottawa (Ontario).

Victoria Natural History Society. 2001-2008. Unpublished data associated with Victoria Butterfly Counts, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique).

Historique du COSEPAC

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a été créé en 1977, à la suite d’une recommandation faite en 1976 lors de la Conférence fédérale–provinciale sur la faune. Le Comité a été créé pour satisfaire au besoin d’une classification nationale des espèces sauvages en péril qui soit unique et officielle et qui repose sur un fondement scientifique solide. En 1978, le COSEPAC (alors appelé Comité sur le statut des espèces menacées de disparition au Canada) désignait ses premières espèces et produisait sa première liste des espèces en péril au Canada. En vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) promulguée le 5 juin 2003, le COSEPAC est un comité consultatif qui doit faire en sorte que les espèces continuent d’être évaluées selon un processus scientifique rigoureux et indépendant.

Mandat du COSEPAC

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) évalue la situation, au niveau national, des espèces, des sous–espèces, des variétés ou d’autres unités désignables qui sont considérées comme étant en péril au Canada. Les désignations peuvent être attribuées aux espèces indigènes comprises dans les groupes taxinomiques suivants : mammifères, oiseaux, reptiles, amphibiens, poissons, arthropodes, mollusques, plantes vasculaires, mousses et lichens.

Composition du COSEPAC

Le COSEPAC est composé de membres de chacun des organismes responsable des espèces sauvages des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, de quatre organismes fédéraux (le Service canadien de la faune, l’Agence Parcs Canada, le ministère des Pêches et des Océans et le Partenariat fédéral d’information sur la biodiversité, lequel est présidé par le Musée canadien de la nature), de trois membres scientifiques non gouvernementaux et des coprésidents des sous–comités de spécialistes des espèces et du sous–comité des connaissances traditionnelles autochtones. Le Comité se réunit au moins une fois par année pour étudier les rapports de situation des espèces candidates.

Définitions (2010)

Espèce sauvage
Espèce, sous–espèce, variété ou population géographiquement ou génétiquement distincte d’animal, de plante ou d’une autre organisme d’origine sauvage (sauf une bactérie ou un virus) qui est soit indigène du Canada ou qui s’est propagée au Canada sans intervention humaine et y est présente depuis au moins cinquante ans.

Disparue (D)
Espèce sauvage qui n’existe plus.

Disparue du pays (DP)
Espèce sauvage qui n’existe plus à l’état sauvage au Canada, mais qui est présente ailleurs.

En voie de disparition (VD)*
Espèce sauvage exposée à une disparition de la planète ou à une disparition du pays imminente.

Menacée (M)
Espèce sauvage susceptible de devenir en voie de disparition si les facteurs limitants ne sont pas renversés.

Préoccupante (P)**
Espèce sauvage qui peut devenir une espèce menacée ou en voie de disparition en raison de l'effet cumulatif de ses caractéristiques biologiques et des menaces reconnues qui pèsent sur elle.

Non en péril (NEP)***
Espèce sauvage qui a été évaluée et jugée comme ne risquant pas de disparaître étant donné les circonstances actuelles.

Données insuffisantes (DI)****
Une catégorie qui s’applique lorsque l’information disponible est insuffisante (a) pour déterminer l’admissibilité d’une espèce à l’évaluation ou (b) pour permettre une évaluation du risque de disparition de l’espèce.

*  Appelée « espèce disparue du Canada » jusqu’en 2003. Appelée « espèce en danger de disparition » jusqu’en 2000.
** Appelée « espèce rare » jusqu’en 1990, puis « espèce vulnérable » de 1990 à 1999.
*** Autrefois « aucune catégorie » ou « aucune désignation nécessaire ».
**** Catégorie « DSIDD» (données insuffisantes pour donner une désignation) jusqu’en 1994, puis « indéterminé » de 1994 à 1999. Définition de la catégorie (DI) révisée en 2006.

Le Service canadien de la faune d’Environnement Canada assure un appui administratif et financier complet au Secrétariat du COSEPAC.