Description of Small-flowered Sand-verbena critical habitat in the Canadian Forces Base Suffield National Wildlife Area

The Small-flowered Sand-verbena (Tripterocalyx micranthus) is an annual plant listed on Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act. In Canada, the Small-flowered Sand-verbena is restricted to southeastern Alberta and southwestern Saskatchewan on sandy soils and active or semi-stabilized sand dunes.

The Recovery Strategy for the Small-flowered Sand-verbena (Tripterocalyx micranthus) in Canada identifies critical habitat for the species in a number of areas, including a federally protected area.

Notice is hereby given that, pursuant to subsection 58(2) of the Species at Risk Act, subsection 58(1) of that Act applies, 90 days after publication of this notice, to the critical habitat of the Small-flowered Sand-verbena, as identified in the recovery strategy for that species that is included in the Species at Risk Public Registry, within the following federally protected area: Canadian Forces Base Suffield National Wildlife Area, the boundaries of which are described in Schedule I of the Wildlife Area Regulations made pursuant to the Canada Wildlife Act.

Interested parties are invited to contact Environment Canada to request clarification regarding the location, biophysical attributes and protection of this species’ critical habitat. However, some details may be withheld to protect the species and its critical habitat.

June 19, 2015

SARAH COSGROVE
Acting Director
Species at Risk Management
Canadian Wildlife Service

Description de l’habitat essentiel de l’abronie à petites fleurs dans la réserve nationale de faune de la base des Forces canadiennes Suffield

L’abronie à petites fleurs (Tripterocalyx micranthus) est une plante annuelle inscrite à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Au Canada, l’abronie à petites fleurs est limitée au sud-est de l’Alberta et au sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan dans les sols sablonneux et sur les dunes actives ou semi-stabilisées.

Le Programme de rétablissement de l’abronie à petites fleurs (Tripterocalyx micranthus) au Canada désigne l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce dans un certain nombre de lieux, notamment dans une aire protégée fédérale.

Avis est donné par la présente que, conformément au paragraphe 58(2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, le paragraphe 58(1) de cette loi s’appliquera, 90 jours après la publication du présent avis, à l’habitat essentiel de l’abronie à petites fleurs, désigné dans le programme de rétablissement de cette espèce -- lequel document est affiché dans le Registre public des espèces en péril -- et situé dans l’aire protégée fédérale suivante : la réserve nationale de faune de la base des Forces canadiennes Suffield, laquelle est décrite à l’annexe I du Règlement sur les réserves d’espèces sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces sauvages du Canada.

Les parties intéressées qui désirent obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’emplacement, les caractéristiques biophysiques et la protection de l’habitat essentiel de cette espèce sont invitées à communiquer avec Environnement Canada. Cependant, certaines demandes d’information pourraient être refusées afin de protéger l’espèce et son habitat essentiel.

Le 19 juin 2015

La directrice intérimaire
Gestion des espèces en péril
Service canadien de la faune
SARAH COSGROVE