High level summary of the SARA Minister's round table
November 17, 2014

PDF Version

The Species at Risk Act (SARA) requires that, at least every two years, the federal Minister of the Environment convene a round table of persons interested in matters respecting the protection of wildlife species at risk in Canada.

The fifth SARA round table was held in Ottawa on November 17, 2014 and involved representatives from government, Aboriginal communities, industry, wildlife management boards, ranchers, hunters and trappers, and non-governmental organizations.

The discussion focused on areas where the Federal government can increase collective success in conserving species at risk and improve implementation of SARA. These included Aboriginal Traditional Knowledge (ATK), SARA and the North, and efforts to enhance stewardship in the protection of species at risk.

Aboriginal traditional knowledge

Participants identified a number of key elements needed for effective and appropriate consideration of ATK in SARA implementation, including: an ongoing commitment to considering and applying ATK throughout the SARA process; funding and other support for working with ATK holders; ongoing education and awareness efforts;  adequate infrastructure to work with ATK holders to gather ATK (e.g., Wildlife Management Boards and processes in place in communities) ;and increased  process flexibility in applying this knowledge.

A need for increased transparency and upfront communication about the objectives, intentions, and requirements of project or program was identified by numerous participants.  For Aboriginal communities, it must be clear how and why they are being engaged in providing their ATK and how their ATK is going to be specifically applied. Participants noted that Aboriginal communities are more likely to work with the Federal government if project or program leaders “close the loop” with ATK holders, explaining how and why their ATK was applied and the outcomes of the initiative.

Participants also suggested that the Federal government increase the role, authority and capacity of Aboriginal communities to participate in all stages of the SARA implementation process, including the gathering and incorporation of ATK. They also noted the importance of enhanced access to funding by ATK holders and their communities to build longer-term capacity to support conservation of species at risk.

SARA and the North

With respect to the North, participants called for greater collaboration, coordination, education and communication among and between all levels of government, wildlife management boards, and communities, as early as possible in the SARA process. This requires fostering greater awareness of existing legislative and policy frameworks in the North, ensuring that participants are informed and truly understand how their advice and recommendations will be incorporated into all stages of the decision-making process, and working towards more meaningful communication and engagement with people on the ground (i.e. people who live with the species and are custodians of the land).

They also noted the importance of working proactively to take conservation action before species become at risk in the North. This includes working more actively with wildlife management land use planning boards and making funding available to support a range of data and planning needs in the North.  Participants also highlighted the need to adopt landscape and ecosystem approaches when dealing with species at risk, as opposed to focusing on individual species. At the same time, they noted that at present neither the wildlife management boards nor the land use planning boards have adequate data or resources to address cumulative effects on species.

Enhancing stewardship

An overall theme emerging from the discussion on stewardship was the importance of maintaining an early, open, and transparent dialogue between the Federal government, other levels of government, land owners and land managers. Participants emphasized that this is crucial to the longer-term success of protection and recovery efforts.

Participants welcomed the Federal government’s interest in innovative stewardship tools, while noting that existing tools should not be neglected. They suggested that the Federal government look at successful efforts in other jurisdictions (e.g. the US Endangered Species Act), as well as existing voluntary initiatives that stakeholders are familiar with (e.g. environmental farm plans, agricultural beneficial management practices, industry certification), and market-based incentives such as the Alternative Land Use Services program or habitat banks.

Overall, participants emphasized there is no one-size fits all solution to stewardship, and that what might work for a small landowner is very different from what will work for a large resource developer. They noted that effective stewardship tools will likely demonstrate the following characteristics: be results-based; have adequate monitoring; be adaptive and flexible; and be informed by science and local/community knowledge.

Participants underscored the importance of results-based stewardship actions moving forward, and advised the Federal government develop concrete next steps for initiating pilot projects for conservation agreements and other stewardship tools under the Act.

Top of Page

List of participating organizations

  • Alberta Beef Producers
  • Canadian Association of Petroleum Producers
  • Canadian Cattlemen’s Association
  • Canadian Electricity Association
  • Canadian Federation of Agriculture
  • Canadian Federation of Outfitter Associations
  • Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society
  • Canadian Wildlife Federation
  • Coastal Forest Products Association
  • COSEWIC ATK Subcommittee
  • County of Forty Mile
  • Credit Valley Conservation
  • Cypress County
  • Earth Rangers
  • Forest Products Association of Canada
  • Gwich’in Renewable Resources Board
  • Kitikmeot Regional Wildlife Board
  • Kivalliq Wildlife Board
  • LIFT Philanthropy Partners
  • Lower Similkameen Indian Band
  • Makivik Corporation
  • Nature Conservancy Canada
  • Nature Trust of New Brunswick
  • Northwest Territories Environment and Natural Resources
  • Nova Scotia Nature Trust
  • Nunavut Department of Environment, Wildlife Management
  • Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated
  • Qikiqtaaluk Wildlife Board
  • Sahtu Renewable Resources Board
  • Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities
  • Saskatchewan Stock Growers Association
  • Sustainable Canada
  • Vancouver Aquarium
  • Yukon Fish and Wildlife Management Board

Top of Page

Rapport de haut niveau de la table ronde ministérielle sur la LEP
17 novembre 2014

Version PDF

La Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) exige que, au moins tous les deux ans, la ministre fédérale de l’Environnement convoque une table ronde avec les personnes intéressées par les questions concernant la protection des espèces sauvages en péril au Canada.

La cinquième table ronde sur la LEP a eu lieu à Ottawa le 17 novembre 2014 avec des représentants de gouvernements, de collectivités autochtones, de l’industrie, de conseils de gestion de la faune et d’organisations non gouvernementales, ainsi que des propriétaires de ranch, des chasseurs et des trappeurs.

La discussion abordait des sujets où le gouvernement fédéral peut accroître notre réussite collective quant à la conservation des espèces en péril et améliorer la mise en œuvre de la LEP. Cela comprenait les Connaissances traditionnelles autochtones (CTA), la mise en œuvre de la LEP dans le Nord, et les efforts requis pour améliorer l’intendance quant à la protection des espèces en péril.

Connaissances traditionnelles autochtones

Les participants ont déterminé un certain nombre d’éléments clés nécessaires pour tenir compte de façon efficace et approprié des CTA pour la mise en œuvre du LEP, notamment : un engagement continu pour tenir compte des CTA et les appliquer, dès le début du processus de mise en œuvre; le financement et autres formes de soutien pour travailler avec les détenteurs des CTA; les activités continues d’information et de sensibilisation; une infrastructure adéquate pour travailler avec les détenteurs des CTA pour recueillir des CTA (ex : les conseils de gestion de la faune et les processus déjà mis en place dans les collectivités) et augmenter la souplesse du processus pour l’application de ces connaissances.

Un grand nombre de participants ont indiqué souhaiter plus de transparence et de communications directes sur les objectifs, les intentions et les exigences des responsables de programme ou de projet. Dans le cas des collectivités autochtones, elles veulent savoir clairement comment et pourquoi on fait appel à leurs CTA, ainsi que la façon dont leurs CTA seront utilisées. Les participants ont souligné que les collectivités autochtones sont plus enclines à travailler avec le gouvernement fédéral si les responsables du projet et du programme bouclent la boucle avec les détenteurs des CTA, en leur disant comment et pourquoi leurs CTA ont été utilisées et en leur présentant les résultats de l’initiative.

Les participants ont également suggéré que le gouvernement fédéral accroisse le rôle, l’autorité et les capacités des collectivités autochtones afin de participer à toutes les étapes de la mise en œuvre de la LEP, y compris la collecte et l’intégration des CTA. Ils soulignent aussi l’importance pour les détenteurs des CTA et leurs collectivités d’avoir un accès amélioré au financement afin de renforcer à plus long terme leur capacité et favoriser la conservation des espèces en péril.

La LEP et le Nord

En ce qui concerne le Nord, les participants en ont appelé à une collaboration, une coordination, une information et une communication accrues entre tous les échelons du gouvernement, les conseils de gestion de la faune et les collectivités, le plus tôt possible dans le processus de la LEP. Il faut favoriser une meilleure connaissance des cadres législatifs et politiques actuels dans le Nord, en s’assurant que les participants sont informés et comprennent réellement comment leurs conseils et recommandations seront incorporés à toutes les étapes du processus décisionnel. Il faut de plus tendre vers une communication et une mobilisation sincère avec les personnes sur le terrain (soit ceux qui vivent avec les espèces en péril et qui sont des gardiens du territoire).

Ils soulignent aussi l’importance de travailler de façon proactive pour adopter des mesures de conservation avant que les espèces dans le Nord soient en péril. Il faut notamment travailler plus activement avec les conseils de planification de l’aménagement du territoire et de gestion de la faune et accorder un financement pour répondre à divers besoins en matière de données et de planification dans le Nord. Les participants soulignent également la nécessité d’adopter des approches à l’égard des paysages et des écosystèmes lorsque l’on traite des espèces en péril, plutôt que de se pencher uniquement sur des espèces particulières. Parallèlement, ils soulignent que, pour le moment, ni les conseils de gestion de la faune ni les conseils de planification de l’aménagement du territoire ne possèdent les données ou les ressources adéquates pour aborder la question des effets cumulatifs sur les espèces.

Améliorer l’intendance

Un thème qui s’est dégagé de la discussion sur l’intendance portait sur l’importance de permettre dès que possible un dialogue ouvert et transparent entre le gouvernement fédéral, d’autres paliers de gouvernement, les propriétaires fonciers et les gestionnaires des terres. Les participants ont insisté sur cet aspect essentiel à la réussite à long terme des efforts de protection et de rétablissement.

Les participants ont accueilli positivement l’intérêt du gouvernement fédéral de se doter d’outils novateurs pour l’intendance tout en soulignant qu’il ne faudrait pas négliger les outils actuels. Les participants ont également suggéré que le gouvernement fédéral examine des mesures couronnées de succès adoptées par d’autres administrations (p. ex., la loi sur les espèces en voie de disparition des États-Unis), ainsi que les initiatives volontaires existantes que les intervenants connaissent bien (p. ex., les plans environnementaux en agriculture, les pratiques de gestion agricole bénéfiques, la reconnaissance de l’industrie), et des incitatifs fondés sur le marché tels que le programme de Service alternatif d’utilisation des terres ou les banques sur l’habitat.

Les participants ont généralement souligné qu’il n’existe aucune solution universelle à l’intendance et que ce qui peut fonctionner pour un petit propriétaire foncier pourrait être très différent de ce qui fonctionnerait pour un grand exploitant. Ils indiquent que des outils efficaces pour l’intendance devront certainement posséder les caractéristiques suivantes : être fondés sur les résultats; comprendre une surveillance adéquate; être adaptables et souples; être fondés sur la science et les connaissances locales et des collectivités.

Les participants ont fait ressortir l’importance pour progresser, d’adopter des mesures d’intendance fondées sur les résultats et ils ont conseillé le gouvernement fédéral d’élaborer les prochaines étapes concrètes pour lancer des projets pilotes sur les accords de conservation et d’autres outils d’intendance aux termes de la Loi.

Liste des organismes participants

Alberta Beef Producers

Association canadienne des producteurs pétroliers

Canadian Cattlemen’s Association

Association canadienne de l’électricité

Fédération canadienne de l’agriculture

Fédération canadienne des associations de pourvoiries

Société pour la nature et les parcs du Canada

Fédération canadienne de la faune

Association des produits forestiers côtiers

Sous-comité sur les CTA du COSEPAC

Comté de Forty Mile

Credit Valley Conservation

Cypress County

Éco Héros

Association des produits forestiers du Canada

Office des ressources renouvelables des Gwich’in

Conseil régional de gestion des ressources fauniques de Kitikmeot

Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques de Kivalliq

Partenaires philanthropes LIFT

Bande indienne de Lower Similkameen

Société Makivik

Conservation de la nature Canada

Fondation pour la protection des sites naturels du Nouveau‑Brunswick

Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Nova Scotia Nature Trust

Department of Environment, Wildlife Management, Nunavut

Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated

Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques de Qikiqtaaluk

Office des ressources renouvelables des Sahtú

Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities

Association des éleveurs de bétail de la Saskatchewan

Sustainable Canada

Aquarium de Vancouver

Commission de gestion de la faune aquatique et terrestre du Yukon