A Memorandum of Understanding to Harmonize the Designation of Rare, Threatened and Endangered Species under the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement and the Listing of Wildlife Species at Risk under the Species at Risk Act

This Memorandum of Understanding comes into effect on this 28th day of May, 2008.

Between: HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF CANADA as represented by the Minister of the Environment responsible for the Department of the Environment (DOE) and for the Parks Canada Agency (PCA) and by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans responsible for the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO)

and

The Nunavut Wildlife Management Board (hereinafter the NWMB)

Hereinafter the Parties.

Whereas DOE, PCA and DFO are committed to ensuring that the listing process for wildlife species under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) fully complies with the terms of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement (NLCA);

Whereas the Parties wish to harmonize the designation of rare, threatened and endangered species under the NLCA and the listing of wildlife species at risk under SARA;

Whereas this Memorandum of Understanding reflects that Crown consultation will occur with Inuit; it is not intended to set out the details of that process;

And Whereas the timelines in this Memorandum of Understanding, and any consideration of extensions or abridgements, are subject to any such requirements of procedural fairness as are applicable in the circumstances.

NOW THEREFORE, THE PARTIES TO THIS MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING AGREE AS FOLLOWS:

1.0 PURPOSE OF THE MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING

1.1 The purpose of this Memorandum of Understanding is to set out actions and timelines for fair and efficient listing decisions for wildlife species that meet the requirements of the NLCA and SARA and is not intended to be legally binding. For greater certainty, this Memorandum of Understanding does not create or limit any legal rights, duties or obligations, including with respect to fairness, and is not a contract.

2.0 LISTING PROCESSES

2.1 Subject to clauses 2.2 to 2.4, the Parties will follow the harmonized standard listing process set out in Part 3.0.

2.2 Where the NWMB determines that an abridged listing process would be fair and efficient and would meet the requirements of the NLCA and SARA, the Parties will develop an abridged listing process and comply with it, including any consequent timeline changes. If the Parties cannot agree on a fair and efficient abridged listing process, then the harmonized standard listing process set out in Part 3.0 will be followed.

2.3 Where a Party is of the view – after providing reasonable notice and substantive reasons to the other Party – that the listing process as set out in Part 3 should be extended, the Parties will develop a fair and efficient extended listing process and comply with it, including any consequent timeline changes. If the Parties cannot agree on a fair and efficient extended listing process, then the harmonized standard listing process set out in Part 3.0 will be followed but with an additional three months incorporated into the times set out in clauses 3.7 to 3.17.

2.4 The Minister, on the Minister’s own initiative, may refer a management matter related to an emergency listing (SARA 29) to the NWMB. Where a matter is referred, the NWMB will deal expeditiously with it. The NWMB will respond to Ministerial initiatives with decisions in time to permit the Minister to meet his/her national and international obligations (NLCA 5.3.25).

3.0 HARMONIZED STANDARD LISTING PROCESS

Year 1

April - May

3.1 The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) holds its species assessment meeting and makes its assessments.

3.2 If DOE/PCA/DFO considers that an abridged listing process may be advisable, it provides information and seeks the views of the relevant communities and Inuit organizations with respect to the species and the advisability of such an abridged listing process.

June

3.3 DOE/PCA/DFO informs the NWMBin writing of assessment results at the NWMB’s June meeting. The NWMB will promptly forward the results to Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) and to the Nunavut Inuit Wildlife Secretariat (NIWS).

August

3.4 COSEWIC provides the Minister and the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council with its species assessments and reasons for designation. A copy of the assessments and reasons is included in the Public Registry (SARA 25(1)).

September

3.5 At the September quarterly meeting of the NWMB, DOE/PCA/DFO provides another update in writing to the NWMB on the COSEWIC assessment(s) and reasons for designation for Nunavut species and the best available community and other relevant information including views collected as per clause 3.2 . The NWMB will promptly forward the update and information to NTI and to the NIWS. Subject to clauses 2.2, 2.3 and 2.4, the Parties continue thereafter to follow the harmonized standard listing process set out in clauses 3.6 to 3.17.

November

3.6 Within 90 days of receiving a copy of the COSEWIC species assessments and reasons for designation (see clause 3.4), the Minister includes Response Statements in the Public Registry indicating how he or she intends to respond to each species assessment and, to the extent possible, provides timelines for action (SARA 25(3)).

November to mid February (Year 1/Year 2)

3.7 DOE/PCA/DFO conducts relevant public consultations in Nunavut including with relevant Inuit organizations.

Mid-April

3.8 DOE/PCA/DFO provides in writing to the NWMB the consultation report(s) for Nunavut species, including any Departmental response(s), as well as available summary(ies) of consultations in other jurisdictions, all in English and Inuktitut. The NWMBwill promptly forward the report(s), response(s) and summary(ies) to NTI and to the NIWS.

NWMB public consideration process

May - September

3.9 By May 31, DOE provides the NWMBwith what the Minister is considering with respect to SARA listing, and requests in writing an approval decision or decisions by October 15. DOE also provides the NWMBin writing with the best available information in English and Inuktitut. The NWMB will promptly forward the DOE request and best available information to NTI and to the NIWS.

3.10 Shortly thereafter, the NWMB provides public notice that it will conduct a public consideration of what the Minister is considering with respect to SARA listing at its September quarterly meeting. This public consideration is necessary in order to meet fairness requirements. The NWMB places the best available information related to the proposed listing on its Meeting Registry no later than 11 weeks prior to the September quarterly meeting, and issues an invitation for written response submissions (NWMB Meeting Procedures).

3.11 For the purposes of clauses 3.9 and 3.10, best available information includes:

  • 3.11.1 Species assessments and reasons as per clause 3.4;
  • 3.11.2 Response statements posted on the SARA Public Registry as per clause 3.6;
  • 3.11.3 Consultation reports for Nunavut species, any Departmental response(s) and available summary(ies) of consultations in other jurisdictions, provided by DOE/PCA/DFO as per clause 3.8;
  • 3.11.4 Available relevant public documentation that DOE/PCA/DFO used in arriving at what the Minister is considering with respect to SARA listing; and
  • 3.11.5 Any additional relevant information that the NWMBconsiders to also constitute best available information.

3.12 Response submissions in English and Inuktitut are filed with the NWMB no later than four weeks prior to the September quarterly meeting (NWMBMeeting Procedures).

3.13 At its September quarterly meeting, the NWMB conducts a public consideration of what the Minister is considering with respect to SARA listing. At the meeting, DOE/PCA/DFO will present what the Minister is considering with respect to SARA listing and the best available information.

NLCA decision-making process

 

September - October 3.14

The NWMB commences the NLCA decision-making process by making a confidential decision with respect to each proposed listing (NLCA 5.2.34(f)), and forwarding it to the Minister – and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, in the case of an aquatic species – (NLCA 5.3.17) by no later than October 15th.

November

3.15 The Minister considers the NWMB’s decision, and either accepts or rejects that decision in writing. If the Minister rejects the NWMB’s initial decision, he or she provides written reasons (NLCA 5.3.18) a minimum of three weeks prior to the NWMB’s December quarterly meeting.

December

3.16 If the Minister rejects the NWMB’s initial decision, the NWMB reconsiders the decision, on a confidential basis, at its December quarterly meeting, and makes a final decision. The NWMB forwards that decision to the Minister – and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, in the case of an aquatic species – and may make that final decision public (NLCA 5.3.21). The decision is forwarded within ten days of the conclusion of the meeting.

January

3.17 The Minister accepts, rejects or varies the NWMB’s final decision (NLCA 5.3.22). If the Minister accepts or varies the NWMBdecision, he or she proceeds forthwith to do all things necessary to implement the final decision or the final decision as varied (NLCA 5.3.23).

4.0 CONSULTATION WITH THE NWMB

4.1 DOE/PCA/DFO will consult in a timely manner with the NWMB regarding policies, operational guidelines or other such matters under development that could directly or indirectly affect the species at risk listing or delisting process in Nunavut.

5.0 AMENDMENT, REVIEW AND TERMINATION

5.1 This Memorandum of Understanding may be amended and annexes may be added or deleted with the mutual written consent of the Parties and consultation with NTI as appropriate.

5.2 Unless the Parties decide to renew it, this Memorandum of Understanding will terminate 10 years after the date of its execution. The Parties will review the effectiveness of this Memorandum of Understanding five years from the date of its execution.

5.3 Any Party may terminate this Memorandum of Understanding 90 days after consulting with and providing written notice to the other Party. The NWMB Chairperson will provide written notice to the Minister and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, if it is the intention of the NWMB to terminate the Memorandum of Understanding. HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF CANADA as represented by the Minister and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans will provide written notice to the NWMB Chairperson if it is the intention of HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF CANADA as represented by the Minister and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans to terminate this Memorandum of Understanding.

6.0 SIGNATURES

IN WITNESS OF WHICH the Parties hereto have executed this Memorandum of Understanding through their authorized representatives

HER MAJESTY THE QUEEN IN RIGHT OF CANADA as represented by the Minister of the Environment responsible for the Department of the Environment and for the Parks Canada Agency and by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans responsible for the Department of Fisheries and Oceans Minister of the Environment Date Minister of Fisheries and Oceans

signature block 1

NUNAVUT WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT BOARD as represented by the Chairperson

signature block

Protocole d’entente visant à harmoniser la désignation des espèces rares, menacées et en voie de disparition dans l’accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut et dans la liste des espèces en péril de la Loi sur les espèces en péril

Le présent protocole d’entente entre en vigueur le 28 jour de mai 2007.

Entre :

SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DU CANADA représentée par le ministre de l'Environnement responsable du ministère de l’Environnement (MDE) et de l’Agence Parcs Canada (APC) et par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans responsable du ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO)

et

le Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques du Nunavut (ci après « le CGRFN »)

ci après « les parties ».

ATTENDU QUE le MDE, APC et le MPO sont déterminés à faire en sorte que le processus d'inscription des espèces sauvages en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) soit entièrement conforme aux termes de l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut (ARTN);

ATTENDU QUE les parties souhaitent harmoniser la désignation des espèces rares, menacées et en voie de disparition dans l'ARTN et dans la liste des espèces en péril de la LEP;

ATTENDU QUE le présent protocole d’entente tient compte du fait que la Couronne tiendra des consultations avec les Inuits; il ne vise pas à établir les détails de ce processus;

ET ATTENDU QUE les délais dans le présent protocole d’entente, ainsi que toute considération de prolongation ou d’abrégement, sont assujettis aux exigences d'équité procédurale applicables dans les circonstances.

EN CONSÉQUENCE, LES PARTIES AU PRÉSENT PROTOCOLE D’ENTENTE CONVIENNENT DE CE QUI SUIT :

1.0 BUT DU PROTOCOLE D’ENTENTE

1.1 Le présent protocole d’entente a pour but de définir les actions et les délais pour la prise de décisions équitables et efficientes quant à l’inscription des espèces sauvages qui répondent aux exigences de l’ARTN et de la LEP, et n'est pas juridiquement contraignant. Pour plus de certitude, le présent protocole d’entente ne vise pas à créer des droits légaux, des devoirs ou des obligations, ni à en limiter, y compris en ce qui concerne l'équité, et n'est pas un contrat.

2.0 PROCESSUS D’INSCRIPTION

2.1 Sous réserve des clauses 2.2 à 2.4, les parties suivront le processus d'inscription harmonisé et normalisé décrit dans la partie 3.0.

2.2 Lorsque le CGRFN établit qu'un processus d’inscription abrégé serait équitable et efficient et répondrait aux exigences de l’ARTN et de la LEP, les parties établissent un processus d’inscription abrégé et s'y conforment, ainsi qu’aux changements de délais éventuels qui en découlent. Si les parties ne peuvent s'entendre sur un processus d’inscription abrégé équitable et efficient, le processus harmonisé et normalisé décrit à la partie 3.0 est appliqué.

2.3 Lorsqu’une partie est d’avis - après avoir donné un préavis raisonnable et des raisons valables à l'autre partie - que le processus d'inscription décrit à la partie 3 devrait être prolongé, les parties établissent un processus d’inscription prolongé équitable et efficient, et s'y conforment, ainsi qu’aux changements de délais éventuels qui en découlent. Si les parties ne peuvent s'entendre sur un processus d’inscription prolongé équitable et efficient, le processus harmonisé et normalisé décrit à la partie 3.0 est appliqué, mais une période de trois mois est ajoutée aux délais établis dans les clauses 3.7 à 3.17.

2.4 Le Ministre , de sa propre initiative, peut renvoyer au CGRFN une question de gestion liée à une inscription d'urgence (art. 29 de la LEP). Une fois saisi de la question, le CGRFN la traite rapidement. Le CGRFN répond aux initiatives ministérielles par des décisions rendues en temps opportun, pour permettre au ministre de remplir ses obligations nationales et internationales (art. 5.3.25 de l’ARTN).

3.0 PROCESSUS D’INSCRIPTION HARMONISÉ ET NORMALISÉ

Année 1

Avril - mai

3.1 Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) tient sa réunion d'évaluation des espèces et fait ses évaluations.

3.2 If DOE/PCA/DFO considers that an abridged listing process may be advisable, it provides information and seeks the views of the relevant communities and Inuit organizations with respect to the species and the advisability of such an abridged listing process.

Juin

3.3 À la réunion de juin, le MDE/l’APC/le MPO informe par écrit le CGRFN des résultats de l'évaluation. Le CGRFN transmet rapidement les résultats à la Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) et au Secrétariat inuit des ressources fauniques du Nunavut (SIRFN).

Août

3.4 Le COSEPAC transmet au Ministre et au Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril ses évaluations des espèces et les raisons justifiant les désignations. Une copie des évaluations et des raisons est versée au registre (par. 25 (1) de la LEP).

Septembre

3.5 À la réunion trimestrielle du CGRFN tenue en septembre, le MDE/l’APC/le MPO fournit au CGRFN une autre mise à jour écrite des évaluations du COSEPAC et des raisons justifiant les désignations pour les espèces du Nunavut, et les meilleurs renseignements disponibles issus des collectivités et autres renseignements pertinents, y compris les opinions recueillies au titre de la clause 3.2. Le CGRFN transmet rapidement la mise à jour et les renseignements à la NTI et au SIRFN. Sous réserve des clauses 2.2, 2.3 et 2.4, les parties continuent par la suite d’appliquer le processus d’inscription harmonisé et normalisé décrit dans les clauses 3.6 à 3.17.

Novembre

3.6 Dans les 90 jours suivant la réception d'une copie des évaluations des espèces et des motifs de désignation du COSEPAC (voir clause 3.4), le Ministre verse au registre une déclaration précisant comment il se propose de réagir à chacune des évaluations et, dans la mesure du possible, selon quel échéancier (par. 25 (3) de la LEP).

Novembre à la mi-février (année 1/année 2)

3.7 Le MDE/l’APC/le MPO procède à des consultations publiques au Nunavut, notamment avec les organisations inuites pertinentes.

Mi-avril

3.8Le MDE/l’APC/le MPO fournit par écrit au CGRFN les rapports de consultation pour les espèces du Nunavut, y compris les réponses ministérielles, ainsi que les résumés des consultations tenues dans d'autres instances, le tout en anglais et en inuktitut. Le CGRFN transmet rapidement les rapports, les réponses et les résumés à la NTI et au SIRFN.

Processus d’examen public du CGRFN

Mai- septembre

3.9 Avant le 31 mai, le MDE indique au CGRFN ce que le ministre envisage en ce qui concerne l'inscription dans la LEP, et demande par écrit une décision ou des décisions d'agrément au plus tard le 15 octobre. Le MDE fournit également au CGRFN, par écrit, les meilleurs renseignements disponibles, en anglais et en inuktitut. Le CGRFN transmet rapidement la demande du MDE et les meilleurs renseignements disponibles à la NTI et au SIRFN.

3.10 Peu de temps après, le CGRFN publie un avis indiquant qu'il procédera, à sa réunion trimestrielle de septembre, à un examen public de la solution envisagée par le Ministre en ce qui concerne l'inscription dans la LEP. L’examen public est nécessaire afin de satisfaire aux exigences d'équité. Au plus tard 11 semaines avant la réunion trimestrielle de septembre, le CGRFN verse à son registre de réunion les meilleurs renseignements disponibles sur l’inscription proposée et lance une invitation à présenter des réponses écrites (procédures de réunion du CGRFN).

3.11 Aux fins des clauses 3.9 et 3.10, les meilleurs renseignements disponibles incluent :

  • 3.11.1 Les évaluations des espèces et les motifs appuyant les désignations, conformément à la clause 3.4;
  • 3.11.2 Les réponses affichées dans le registre de la LEP, conformément à la clause 3.6;
  • 3.11.3 Les rapports de consultation pour les espèces du Nunavut, les réponses ministérielles éventuelles et les résumés de consultations effectuées dans d'autres instances, fournis par le MDE/l’APC/le MPO, conformément à la clause 3.8;
  • 3.11.4 La documentation publique pertinente disponible que le MDE/l’APC/le MPO a utilisée pour arriver à la solution envisagée par le Ministre en ce qui concerne l'inscription dans la LEP;
  • 3.11.5 Toute autre information pertinente que le CGRFN estime également faire partie des meilleurs renseignements disponibles.

3.12 Les réponses en anglais et en inuktitut sont présentées au CGRFN au plus tard quatre semaines avant la réunion trimestrielle de septembre (procédures de réunion du CGRFN).

3.13 Lors de sa réunion trimestrielle de septembre, le CGRFN effectue un examen public de la solution envisagée par le Ministre en ce qui concerne l'inscription dans la LEP. À la réunion, le MDE/l’APC/le MPO présente la solution du Ministre en ce qui concerne l'inscription dans la LEP et les meilleurs renseignements disponibles.

Processus décisionnel de l’ARTN

Septembre-octobre

3.14 Le CGRFN commence le processus de prise de décision de l’ARTN en prenant une décision confidentielle à l'égard de chacune des inscriptions proposées (alinéa 5.2.34 f) de l’ARTN), et la transmet au Ministre - et au ministre des Pêches et des Océans dans le cas des espèces aquatiques - (par. 5.3.17 de l’ARTN) au plus tard le 15 octobre.

Novembre

3.15 Le Ministre examine la décision du CGRFN, et il l’accepte ou la rejette par écrit. Si le Ministre rejette la décision initiale du CGRFN, il présente par écrit les raisons de son rejet (par. 5.3.18 de l’ARTN), au moins trois semaines avant la réunion trimestrielle que le CGRFN tient en décembre.

Décembre

3.16 Si le Ministre rejette la décision initiale du CGRFN, ce dernier réexamine la décision, de manière confidentielle, à sa réunion trimestrielle de décembre, et prend une décision finale. Le CGRFN transmet cette décision au Ministre - et au ministre des Pêches et des Océans dans le cas d'espèces aquatiques – et il peut rendre publique la décision finale (par. 5.3.21 de l’ARTN). La décision est transmise dans les dix jours suivant la fin de la réunion.

Janvier

3.17 Le Ministre accepte, rejette ou modifie la décision finale du CGRFN (par. 5.3.22 de l’ARTN). Si le Ministre accepte ou modifie la décision du CGRFN, il prend immédiatement toutes les mesures nécessaires pour mettre en oeuvre la décision finale ou la décision finale modifiée (par. 5.3.23 de l’ARTN).

4.0 CONSULTATION AUPRÈS DU CGRFN

4.1Le MDE/l’APC/le MPO consulte, en temps opportun, le CGRFN au sujet des politiques, des directives opérationnelles ou autres questions du même type en cours d'élaboration qui pourraient directement ou indirectement influer sur le processus d’inscription ou de radiation des espèces en péril au Nunavut.

5.0 MODIFICATION, EXAMEN ET RÉSILIATION

5.1 Le présent protocole d’entente peut être modifié, et des annexes peuvent être ajoutées ou supprimées avec le consentement écrit des parties et par suite de consultations avec la NTI, comme il convient.

5.2 À moins que les parties décident de le renouveler, le présent protocole d’entente prendra fin 10 ans après la date de sa signature. Les parties examineront l'efficacité du protocole cinq ans après sa signature.

5.3 L’une ou l’autre des parties peut résilier le présent protocole d’entente 90 jours après avoir consulté l’autre partie et lui avoir fourni un avis écrit. Le président du CGRFN présente un avis écrit au Ministre et au ministre des Pêches et des Océans s’il a l'intention de résilier le protocole d'entente. SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DU CANADA, représentée par le Ministre et le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, fournit un avis écrit au président du CGRFN si SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DU CANADA, représentée par le Ministre et le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, a l’intention de mettre fin au présent protocole d’entente.

6.0 SIGNATURES

EN FOI DE QUOI, les représentants autorisés des parties ont signé le présent protocole d’entente.

SA MAJESTÉ LA REINE DU CHEF DU CANADA représentée par le ministre de l'Environnement responsable du ministère de l’Environnement et de l’Agence Parcs Canada et par le ministre des Pêches et des Océans responsable du ministère des Pêches et des Océans

Ministre de l’Environnement       Date

 

Ministre des Pêches et des Océans            Date

 

CONSEIL DE GESTION DES RESSOURCES FAUNIQUES DU NUNAVUT, représenté par le président

 

Président                    Date