Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Island Blue Plebejus saepiolus insulanus in Canada – 2000

Photo of an Island Blue Plebejus saepiolus insulanus specimen (dorsal view). The wings are light blue with yellowy brown outside margins. There is a dark elongated spot in the upper half of the forewing.

Table of Contents

Document Information

List of Figures

List of Appendices

Top of Page


Document Information

Island Blue Plebejus saepiolus insulanus

Photo of an Island Blue Plebejus saepiolus insulanus specimen (dorsal view). The wings are light blue with yellowy brown outside margins. There is a dark elongated spot in the upper half of the forewing.

Endangered – 2000

COSEWIC -- Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada

COSEWIC status reports are working documents used in assigning the status of wildlife species suspected of being at risk. This report may be cited as follows:

Please note: Persons wishing to cite data in the report should refer to the report (and cite the author(s)); persons wishing to cite the COSEWIC status will refer to the assessment (and cite COSEWIC). A production note will be provided if additional information on the status report history is required.

COSEWIC. 2000. COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Island Blue Plebejus saepiolus insulanusin Canada. Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada. Ottawa. vi + 8 pp.

For additional copies contact:

COSEWIC Secretariat
c/o Canadian Wildlife Service
Environment Canada
Ottawa, ON
K1A 0H3

Tel.: 819-953-3215
Fax: 819-994-3684
Email: COSEWIC/COSEPAC@ec.gc.ca
Website: www.cosewic.gc.ca

Également disponible en français sous le titre Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bleu insulaire (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) au Canada.

Cover illustration:
Island Blue -- © Crispin Guppy

© Her Majesty the Queen in Right of Canada, 2012.
Catalogue No.
ISBN

Top of Page


COSEWIC Assessment Summary

Assessment Summary – November 2000

Common name
Island Blue

Scientific name
Plebejus saepiolus insulanus

Status
Endangered

Reason for designation
An extremely restricted endemic of southern Vancouver Island, this species was last recorded in 1979. There remains a remote possibility that it still persists in poorly surveyed habitat.

Occurrence
British Columbia

Status history
Designated Endangered in November 2000. Assessment based on a new status report.

Top of Page

COSEWIC Executive Summary

Island Blue Plebejus saepiolus insulanus

The Island Blue, Plebejus saepiolus insulanus, occurred on Vancouver Island from Saratoga Beach south to Victoria. It has not been seen since 1964 and is considered to be extinct. Elsewhere, other subspecies of Plebejus saepiolus feed on clover, Trifolium, species. Urbanization, introduced weeds and/or control of forest fires may have eliminated the larval hostplant for the Island Blue.

COSEWIC Mandate

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) determines the national status of wild species, subspecies, varieties, and nationally significant populations that are considered to be at risk in Canada. Designations are made on all native species for the following taxonomic groups: mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, lepidopterans, molluscs, vascular plants, lichens, and mosses.

COSEWIC Membership

COSEWIC comprises representatives from each provincial and territorial government wildlife agency, four federal agencies (Canadian Wildlife Service, Parks Canada Agency, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, and the Federal Biosystematic Partnership), three nonjurisdictional members and the co-chairs of the species specialist groups. The committee meets to consider status reports on candidate species.

Definitions (2000)

Wildlife Species
Any indigenous species, subspecies, variety, or geographically defined population of wild fauna and flora.

Extinct (X)
A species that no longer exists.

Extirpated (XT)
A species no longer existing in the wild in Canada, but occurring elsewhere.

Endangered (E)
A wildlife species facing imminent extirpation or extinction.

Threatened (T)
A wildlife species likely to become endangered if limiting factors are not reversed.

Special Concern (SC)*
A species of special concern because of characteristics that make it particularly sensitive to human activities or natural events.

Not at Risk (NAR)**
A species that has been evaluated and found to be not at risk.

Data Deficient (DD)***
A species for which there is insufficient scientific information to support status designation.

* Formerly described as “Vulnerable” from 1990 to 1999, or “Rare” prior to 1990.

** Formerly described as “Not In Any Category”, or “No Designation Required.”

*** Formerly described as “Indeterminate” from 1994 to 1999 or “ISIBD” (insufficient scientific information on which to base a designation) prior to 1994.

The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) was created in 1977 as a result of a recommendation at the Federal-Provincial Wildlife Conference held in 1976. It arose from the need for a single, official, scientifically sound, national listing of wildlife species at risk. In 1978, COSEWIC designated its first species and produced its first list of Canadian species at risk. Species designated at meetings of the full committee are added to the list.

The Canadian Wildlife Service, Environment Canada, provides full administrative and financial support to the COSEWIC Secretariat.

Top of Page


COSEWIC Status Report on the Island Blue Plebejus saepiolus insulanus in Canada - 2000.

Classification and Nomenclature

Until very recently, the Island Blue, Plebejus saepiolus insulanus (Blackmore, 1919) (Lepidoptera: Lycaenidae) was considered to be restricted to southeastern Vancouver Island, but there is confusion in the application of the insulanus subspecies name in the United States. In Oregon, the insulanus subspecies name was used for a few isolated populations that occur on the immediate coast (Hinchliff, 1994). In Washington there are no known populations on the immediate coast. The populations further inland in the Olympic Mountains are classified as belonging to the subspecies saepiolus (Hinchliff, 1996). Since subspecies are normally considered to be contiguous, similar populations (Hinchcliff, 1994, 1996), usage of the name P. s. insulanus for the Oregon and Washington populations is incorrect.

By contrast, Scott (1986) uses the subspecies name insulanus to apply to all P. saepiolus populations from northwest California through western Oregon and Washington and southwest British Columbia. This interpretation is much too inclusive.

Regardless of the application of the taxon name in the United States, the taxonomic status in Canada will not change. The Vancouver Island populations are a distinct subspecies found nowhere else in Canada.

Top of Page

Distribution

Plebejus saepiolus insulanus was found in Canada only on Vancouver Island, British Columbia (Figure 1). Museum records (Appendix I) indicate that the subspecies occurred only on the east side of Vancouver Island from Saratoga Beach south to Victoria. Historically this was considered the entire world distribution of the Island Blue (Jones, 1951), making the butterfly a Canadian endemic species. Recent application of the subspecies name Island Blue to coastal Oregon populations of P. saepiolus (Hinchliff, 1994) but not to coastal Washington populations (Hinchliff, 1996) is an error.

Top of Page

Protection and Status

Guppy (personal communication) erroneously reported a 1993 population of the Island Blue, but the voucher specimens were identified as Glaucopsyche lygdamus, not the Island Blue. There are no known records of P. s. insulans since 1964. I did not encounter the Island Blue in an extensive field survey I did in 1995 in appropriate habitat throughout southeastern Vancouver Island north to Comox. Thus the subspecies is presumed Extinct. The revised TNC ranking is G5T5; N1; S1.

Figure 1. Global distribution of the Island Blue (dots), restricted to the east side of Vancouver Island, British Columbia.

Map of the global distribution of the Island Blue, which is restricted to the southeastern side of Vancouver Island, British Columbia. Occurrences of the Island Blue are indicated by black dots. Also shown is the distribution of the Greenish Blue Plebejus saepiolus amica (black squares), across mainland British Columbia, Alberta, and extreme southern Alaska.

Map of the global distribution of the Island Blue, which is restricted to the southeastern side of Vancouver Island, British Columbia. Occurrences of the Island Blue are indicated by black dots. Also shown is the distribution of the Greenish Blue Plebejus saepiolus amica (black squares), across mainland British Columbia, Alberta, and extreme southern Alaska.

Since Vancouver Island north of Comox has never been surveyed at the peak flight time for the Island Blue, there is a remote possibility that the butterfly may still exist there. If the Washington and Oregon populations of this species were to be accepted as P. s. insulans, the Island Blue would be extirpated in Canada.

Top of Page

Population Size and Trend

Since the Island Blue has not been seen since 1964, and since there are no data from earlier years, population size and trends are unknown.

Top of Page

Habitat Requirements

Nothing is known about the habitat of other subspecies of P. saepiolus on Vancouver Island. Elsewhere, the species requires open but not dry areas with enough moisture to support the larval foodplant, Trifolium sp, which probably means that the species occurs in disturbed areas.

Top of Page

General Biology

The larvae of P. saepiolus require members of the Trifolium genus as their specific larval foodplant (Emmel & Emmel, 1973). One clover species native to Vancouver Island, T. wormskjoldii Lehn., has been recorded as a foodplant of this butterfly species (Scott, 1986). It is possible that non-native plant species have invaded disturbed sites on Vancouver Island and thus Trifolium sp. is not as common as it once was. The coastal Oregon populations of Trifolium sp. are known to be affected by weeds (Hammond, personal communication).

Almost nothing is known about the biology of the Island Blue. Museum data indicate that the butterfly had a single generation per year with the adults flying from late May to early August, depending on elevation and the time when warm spring weather begins on Vancouver Island.

Top of Page

Limiting Factors

Other subspecies of P. saepiolus require Trifolium spp as their specific larval foodplants (Emmel & Emmel, 1973). No other limiting factors are known and other subspecies of the butterfly range widely in Canada the United States.

Top of Page

Special Significance

The adults and larvae of P. saepiolus are normally found near clover along open streams and moist disturbed sites, such as old roads or campgrounds. The recent rarity of this species probably reflects the successful spread of many introduced weed species which grow in these disturbed sites. This butterfly has similar requirements to the Dun Skipper, Euphyes vestris vrstris, another simperiled butterfly.

Top of Page

Recommendations

The Island Blue is considered to be extinct, but if future field work should discover a population of the Island Blue on Vancouver Island, immediate protection for the butterfly would be extremely important. If any United States populations can be assigned to the Island Blue subspecies, it would become possible to attempt to re-establish populations of the butterfly on Vancouver Island. It is my opinion, however, that none of the populations in the United States belong to the same subspecies as the Island Blue.

Top of Page

Evaluation

The last positively identified specimen of the Island blue, dates back to 1964. As stated above, because there are no more recent records of the species, it is recommended that the Island Blue be assigned the status of Extinct.

Top of Page

References

Emmel, T. C. & J. F. Emmel. 1973. The butterflies of southern California. Natural History Museum, Los Angeles Co. Scientific Series. 26: i-xi, 1-148.

Hinchliff, John. 1994. An atlas of Oregon butterflies. The Evergreen Aurelians. Corvallis, OR. i-v, 1-176, base map.

Hinchliff, John. 1996. An atlas of Washington butterflies. The Evergreen Aurelians. Corvallis, OR. i-vi, 1-162, base map.

Jones, J. R. J. Llewellyn Jones. 1951. An annotated check list of the Macrolepidoptera of British Columbia. Entomological Society of British Columbia Occasional Papers 1: i-v, i-ii, 1-148.

Scott, J. A. 1986. The butterflies of North America. Stanford University Press. Stanford, CA. i-xii, 1-583, pls. 1-64.

Top of Page

Biography: Jon H. Shepard

Mr. Jon H. Shepard has worked since 1994 as a consultant on Lepidopteran biodiversity in British Columbia. Before that, he taught at Selkirk College and at Notre Dame University in Nelson (BC), Athabasca University, Brandon University, and Northwest College. He spent the entire summer of 1995 in the field on southeast Vancouver Island examining the present-day distribution of that area's butterflies. He is the author of twelve papers on butterflies in peer reviewed scientific journals, chapters in three books, and four book reviews. In addition, Shepard has attended and presented papers at meeting as varied as the AAAS annual meeting and meetings of the Lepidopterist's Society. Most summers find him in the field in alpine and arctic areas where he works on the biogeography and systematics of Lepidoptera.

Top of Page

Appendix I. List of museum specimens of the Island Blue.
LocalityDate (y/m/d)CollectorHeld at
Bare Mt., BC1993-6-15J. McDunnoughCNC
Bevan, BC1993-7-6J. McDunnoughCNC
Bevan, BC1993-8-6J. McDunnoughAMNH
Big Sicker, BC1916-7-3?RBCM
Mt. Copper Canyon, BC1916-7-1?RBCM
Courtenay, BC1931-6-5dos Passos Coll.AMNH
Courtenay, BC1933-6-27J. McDunnoughAMNH
Courtenay, BC1933-6-27J. McDunnoughCNC
Courtenay, BC1933-7-3J. McDunnoughAMNH
Courtenay, BC1933-7-4J. McDunnoughCNC
Errington, BC1927-7-1G. H. LarnderRBCM
Errington, BC1927-7-4G. H. LarnderRBCM
Errington, BC1927-7-5G. H. LarnderRBCM
Errington, BC1927-7-10G. H. LarnderRBCM
Esquimalt, BC1990-6-17A. J. CrockerAMNH
Fitzgerald, BC1921-6-3[L. J. Lewis]QM
Fitzgerald, BC1921-6-3Lewis J. ClarkQM
Fitzgerald, BC1921-6-9L. J. LewisQM
Francis Park, BC1963-5-27G. A. HardyRBCM
Francis Park, BC1963-6-6G. A. HardyRBCM
Goldstream, BC1930-5-24?RBCM
Goldstream, BC1904-5-15?RBCM
Goldstream, BC1918-5-31E. H. BlackmoreCNC
Goldstream, BC1919-5-31?RBCM
Goldstream, BC1919-5-31G. O. DayRBCM
Goldstream, BC1919-6-8?RBCM
Goldstream, BC1920-5-31G. O. DayRBCM
Goldstream, BC1921-5-21G. O. DayRBCM
Goldstream, BC1926-4-28W. DownesCNC
Lost Lake, BC1924-6-8W. H. A. PreeceAMNH
Malahat, BC1952-7-10G. A. HardyRBCM
Malahat, BC1960-6-17G. A. HardyRBCM
Malahat, BC1961-6-16G. A. HardyRBCM
Malahat, BC1961-6-22G. A. HardyRBCM
Mt. Arrowsmith, BC1962-8-20R. GuppyCAS
Mt. Arrowsmith, BC1963-8-9Richard GuppyAMNH
Mt. Benson, BC1962-8-14R. GuppyCAS
Mt. Finlayson, BC1959-8-18G. A. HardyRBCM
Mt. Finlayson, BC1960-5-??RBCM
Mt. Finlayson, BC1960-5-28G. A. HardyRBCM
Mt. Finlayson, BC1960-6-2G. A. HardyRBCM
Mt. Finlayson, BC1960-6-8G. A. HardyRBCM
Mt. Malahat, BC1959-6-20R. GuppyCAS
Mt. Sicker, BC1963-6-6Richard GuppyAMNH
Observatory Hill, BC1960-6-4G. A. HardyRBCM
Observatory Hill, BC1963-6-6G.A. HardyRBCM
Quamichan L., BC1905-6-5G. O. DayRBCM
Royal Oak, BC??RBCM
Saanich, BC1929-5-10W. H. A. PreeceCNC
Saratoga Beach, BC1933-6-28J. McDunnoughCNC
Saratoga Beach, BC1933-7-7J. McDunnoughCNC
Shawinigan L., BC1963-6-29Richard GuppyAMNH
Spectacle L., BC1957-5-31G.A. HardyRBCM
Spectacle L., BC1960-5-24G.A. HardyRBCM
Spectacle L., BC1960-6-6G.A. HardyRBCM
Spectacle L., BC1960-6-14G.A. HardyRBCM
Victoria, BC1901-7-1?RBCM
Victoria, BC1902-5-23?AMNH
Victoria, BC1903-5-16E. M. AndersonCNC
Victoria, BC1910-5-23A. J. CrockerAMNH
Victoria, BC1910-5-31A. J. CrockerAMNH
Victoria, BC1911-5-5E. H. BlackmoreAMNH
Victoria, BC1911-6-11E. H. BlackmoreAMNH
Victoria, BC1916-5-11E. H. BlackmoreCNC
Victoria, BC1916-5-24E. H. BlackmoreCNC
Victoria, BC1920-5-31L. J. LewisQM
Victoria, BC1920-5-31Lewis J. ClarkQM
Victoria, BC1921-5-12W. DownesCNC
Victoria, BC1921-7-7L. J. LewisQM
Victoria, BC1921-7-7Lewis J. ClarkQM
Victoria, BC?-5-27A. J. CrockerAMNH
Victoria, BC?-6-15?RBCM
Victoria, BC?-6-17?RBCM
Victoria, BC?-6-18A. J. CrockerAMNH
Wellington, BC1920-6-21?RBCM
Wellington, BC1903-6-11?RBCM
Wellington, BC1904-6-25?RBCM
Wellington, BC1905-6-22?RBCM
Wellington, BC1960-7-18R. GuppyCAS
Wellington, BC??RBCM

AMNH – American Museum of Natural History
CNC – Canadian National Collection of Insects and Arachnids
RBCM – Royal British Columbia Museum

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bleu insulaire Plebejus saepiolus insulanus au Canada – 2000

Photographie d'un spécimen du bleu insulaire (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) (vue dorsale). Les ailes sont bleu clair avec des bordures extérieures brun jaune. La moitié supérieure des ailes antérieures est ornée d'une barre foncée.

Table des matières

Information sur le document

Liste des figures

Liste des annexes

Haut de la page


Information sur le document

Bleu insulaire Plebejus saepiolus insulanus

Photographie d'un spécimen du bleu insulaire (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) (vue dorsale). Les ailes sont bleu clair avec des bordures extérieures brun jaune. La moitié supérieure des ailes antérieures est ornée d'une barre foncée.

Espèce en voie de disparition – 2000

COSEPAC -- Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada

Les rapports de situation du COSEPAC sont des documents de travail servant à déterminer le statut des espèces sauvages que l’on croit en péril. On peut citer le présent rapport de la façon suivante :

Note : Toute personne souhaitant citer l’information contenue dans le rapport doit indiquer le rapport comme source (et citer les auteurs); toute personne souhaitant citer le statut attribué par le COSEPAC doit indiquer l’évaluation comme source (et citer le COSEPAC). Une note de production sera fournie si des renseignements supplémentaires sur l’évolution du rapport de situation sont requis.

COSEPAC. 2000. Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le bleu insulaire (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) au Canada. Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada. Ottawa. v + 9p.

Pour obtenir des exemplaires supplémentaires, s’adresser au :

Secrétariat du COSEPAC
a/s Service canadien de la faune
Environnement Canada
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0H3

Tél.: 819-953-3215
Téléc.: 819-994-3684
Courriel : COSEWIC/COSEPAC@ec.gc.ca
Site Web : www.cosewic.gc.ca

Also available in English under the title COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Island Blue Plebejus saepiolus insulanus in Canada.

Illustration/photo de la couverture :
Bleu insulaire -- © Crispin Guppy.

© Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada, 2011.
No de catalogue CW69-14/204-2002F-IN
ISBN 0-662-87600-8

Haut de la page


COSEPAC Sommaire de l'évaluation

Sommaire de l’évaluation – Novembre 2012

Nom commun
Bleu insulaire

Nom scientifique
Plebejus saepiolus insulanus

Statut actuel au Canada
Espèce en voie de disparition

Justification de la désignation
Une espèce extrêmement limitée et endémique du Sud de l'île de Vancouver, qui a été enregistrée pour la dernière fois en 1979. Il reste une faible possibilité qu'elle subsiste dans un habitat mal étudié.

Répartition
Colombie Britannique

Historique du statut
Espèce désignée « en voie de disparition » en novembre 2000.

Haut de la page

COSEPAC Résumé

Bleu insulaire Plebejus saepiolus insulanus

Le bleu insulaire (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) se rencontrait dans l’île de Vancouver depuis Saratoga Beach jusqu’à Victoria, au sud. Il n’a pas été revu depuis 1964 et est tenu pour disparu. Ailleurs, d’autres sous-espèces du Plebejus saepiolus se nourrissent sur des trèfles (Trifolium spp.). L’urbanisation, l’introduction d’espèces envahissantes et la lutte contre les incendies de forêt ont peut-être éliminé la plante hôte de la chenille du bleu insulaire.

Mandat du COSEPAC

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) détermine la situation, à l'échelle nationale, des espèces, sous-espèces, variétés et populations (importantes à l'échelle nationale) sauvages jugées en péril au Canada. Les désignations peuvent être attribuées aux espèces indigènes des groupes taxinomiques suivants : mammifères, oiseaux, amphibiens, reptiles, poissons, mollusques, lépidoptères, plantes vasculaires, lichens et mousses.

Composition du COSEPAC

Le COSEPAC est formé de représentants des organismes provinciaux et territoriaux responsables des espèces sauvages, de quatre organismes fédéraux (Service canadien de la faune, Agence Parcs Canada, ministère des Pêches et des Océans et Partenariat fédéral en biosystématique) et de trois organismes non gouvernementaux, ainsi que des coprésidents des groupes de spécialistes des espèces. Le Comité se réunit pour examiner les rapports sur la situation des espèces candidates.

Définitions (2012)

Espèce
Toute espèce, sous-espèce, variété ou population indigène de faune ou de flore sauvage géographiquement définie.

Espèce disparue (D)
Toute espèce qui n'existe plus.

Espèce disparue du Canada (DC)
Toute espèce qui n'est plus présente au Canada à l'état sauvage, mais qui est présente ailleurs.

Espèce en voie de disparition (VD)
Toute espèce exposée à une disparition ou à une extinction imminente.

Espèce menacée (M)
Toute espèce susceptible de devenir en voie de disparition si les facteurs limitants auxquels elle est exposée ne sont pas inversés.

Espèce préoccupante (P)*
Toute espèce qui est préoccupante à cause de caractéristiques qui la rendent particulièrement sensible aux activités humaines ou à certains phénomènes naturels.

Espèce non en péril (NEP)**
Toute espèce qui, après évaluation, est jugée non en péril.

Données insuffisantes (DI)***
Toute espèce dont le statut ne peut être précisé à cause d'un manque de données scientifiques.

* Appelée « espèce rare » jusqu'en 1990, puis « espèce vulnérable » de 1990 à 1999
** Autrefois « aucune catégorie » ou « aucune désignation nécessaire ».
*** Catégorie « DSIDD » (données insuffisantes pour donner une désignation) jusqu'en 1994, puis « indéterminé » de 1994 à 1999.

Le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) a été créé en 1977, à la suite d'une recommandation faite en 1976 lors de la Conférence fédérale-provinciale sur la faune. Le Comité avait pour mandat de réunir les espèces sauvages en péril sur une seule liste nationale officielle, selon des critères scientifiques. En 1978, le COSEPAC (alors appelé CSEMDC) désignait ses premières espèces et produisait sa première liste des espèces en péril au Canada. Les espèces qui se voient attribuer une désignation au cours des réunions du comité plénier sont ajoutées à la liste.

Le Service canadien de la faune d’Environnement Canada assure un appui administratif et financier complet au Secrétariat du COSEPAC.

Haut de la page


Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Bleu insulaire Plebejus saepiolus insulanus au Canada - 2000.

Nom et classification

Jusqu’à tout récemment, le bleu insulaire (Plebejus saepiolus insulanus) (Blackmore, 1919) (Lépidoptères : Lycaenidae) était considéré comme endémique au sud-est de l’île de Vancouver. Cependant, il existe une certaine confusion entourant l’application du nom de sous-espèce insulanus à des populations des États-Unis. En Oregon, le nom de sous-espèce insulanus a été utilisé pour quelques populations isolées observées sur la côte (Hinchliff, 1994). Dans l’État de Washington, aucune population n’est répertoriée sur la côte, et celles observées dans les monts Olympic ont été répertoriées sous le nom de sous-espèce saepiolus (Hinchliff, 1996). Puisqu’on considère normalement comme sous-espèces des populations semblables et contiguës (Hinchcliff, 1994, 1996), on ne peut pas utiliser le nom de sous-espèce insulanus pour les populations de P. saepiolus de l’Oregon et de l’État de Washington.

Scott (1986) classe sous le nom de sous-espèce insulanus toutes les populations de P. saepiolus qui se rencontrent depuis le nord-ouest de la Californie jusqu’au sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique ainsi que dans l’ouest de l’Oregon et de l’État de Washington. Cette extension est abusive.

L’application du nom insulanus aux populations des États-Unis ne change rien au statut taxinomique du bleu insulaire au Canada. Les populations de P. saepiolus de l’île de Vancouver forment une sous-espèce distincte qu’on ne trouve nulle part ailleurs au Canada.

Haut de la page

Répartition

Le Plebejus saepiolus insulanus a été observé uniquement dans l’île de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique (figure 1), au Canada. Les spécimens de musées (annexe I) proviennent tous de la région de la côte est de l’île située entre Saratoga Beach et Victoria, au sud. Cette région constitue l’aire de répartition mondiale historique du bleu insulaire (Jones, 1951), considéré comme endémique au Canada. La classification récente sous le nom de sous-espèce insulanus des populations de P. saepiolus de la côte de l’Oregon (Hinchliff, 1994), mais non de celles de la côte de l’État de Washington (Hinchliff, 1996), est erronée.

Haut de la page

Protection et statut

En 1993, Guppy (communication personnelle) a signalé une population de P. s. insulanus, mais il s’agissait d’une erreur : les spécimens de référence appartenaient à l’espèce Glaucopsyche lygdamus. Il n’existe aucune mention du P. s. insulanus postérieure à 1964. En 1995, le rédacteur du présent rapport a fait des relevés exhaustifs dans les zones prometteuses de tout le sud-est de l’île de Vancouver jusqu’à Comox, vers le nord, mais n’a observé aucun spécimen du P. s. insulanus. On suppose donc que le bleu insulaire est disparu. Selon Conservation de la nature Canada, le classement révisé du bleu insulaire est G5T5; N1; S1.

Figure 1.  Répartition mondiale du bleu insulaire (points), limitée à la côte est de l’île de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique.

Carte de la répartition mondiale du bleu insulaire, limitée à la côte sud est de l'île de Vancouver, en Colombie Britannique. Les occurrences du bleu insulaire sont indiquées par des points noirs. La carte montre aussi la répartition du bleu verdâtre (Plebejus  saepiolus amica) (carrés noirs), dans la partie continentale de la Colombie Britannique, en Alberta, et dans l'extrême sud de l'Alaska.

Carte de la répartition mondiale du bleu insulaire, limitée à la côte sud-est de l’île de Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique. Les occurrences du bleu insulaire sont indiquées par des points noirs. La carte montre aussi la répartition du bleu verdâtre (Plebejus  saepiolus amica) (carrés noirs), dans la partie continentale de la Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, et dans l’extrême-sud de l’Alaska.

Comme aucun relevé n’a été fait au nord de Comox durant la principale période de vol du bleu insulaire, on ne peut écarter complètement la possibilité que celui-ci y soit présent. Si les populations de l’État de Washington et de l’Oregon étaient classées comme P. s. insulanus, le bleu insulaire serait classé comme espèce disparue au Canada.

Haut de la page

Taille et tendance des populations

Comme le bleu insulaire n’a pas été revu depuis 1964 et qu’il n’existe aucune donnée antérieure à cette date, il est impossible d’estimer la taille et la tendance de ses populations.

Haut de la page

Besoins en matière d’habitat

On ne connaît pas l’habitat des autres sous-espèces de P. saepiolus présentes dans l’île de Vancouver. Ailleurs, le P. saepiolus vit dans des milieux dégagés, suffisamment humides pour que puisse y pousser le trèfle (Trifolium spp.), plante hôte des chenilles. Il s’agit probablement de zones perturbées.

Haut de la page

Biologie

Les chenilles du P. saepiolus se nourrissent de plantes du genre Trifolium (Emmel et Emmel, 1973). Un Trifolium indigène dans l’île de Vancouver, le T. wormskjoldii Lehn., est répertorié comme plante hôte du P. saepiolus (Scott, 1986). Il est possible que, dans l’île, des zones perturbées aient été envahies par différentes espèces de plantes non indigènes et que les Trifolium y soient moins communs qu’autrefois. On sait que dans la région côtière de l’Oregon, les populations de Trifolium subissent la compétition de mauvaises herbes (Hammond, communication personnelle).

On ne sait presque rien de la biologie du bleu insulaire. Selon les données des musées, le bleu insulaire n’aurait qu’une génération par année, les adultes volant de la fin mai au début août, selon l’altitude et l’époque du réchauffement printanier dans l’île de Vancouver.

Haut de la page

Facteurs limitatifs

Les autres sous-espèces du P. saepiolus ont une spécificité d’hôte à l’état larvaire, les chenilles se nourrissant de trèfle (Trifolium spp.) (Emmel et Emmel, 1973). On ne leur connaît aucun autre facteur limitatif. Les autres sous-espèces du P. saepiolus sont très répandues au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Haut de la page

Importance de l’espèce

Les adultes et les chenilles du P. saepiolus se rencontrent normalement près de peuplements de trèfle établis dans des milieux dégagés à proximité de cours d’eau ou de zones perturbées humides (anciens terrains de camping ou bords de routes, etc.). La rareté récente du P. saepiolus s’explique probablement par les nombreuses espèces de mauvaises herbes qui ont envahi les zones perturbées. Les besoins du P. saepiolus sont semblables à celles de l’hespérie rurale (Euphyes vestris vestris), autre papillon en péril.

Haut de la page

Recommandations

Pour l’instant, le bleu insulaire est tenu pour disparu. Cependant, si une population de ce papillon venait à être découverte dans l’île de Vancouver, il serait extrêmement important de prendre des mesures immédiates pour assurer sa protection. Par ailleurs, s’il était établi que l’on trouve aux États-Unis une population de P. saepiolus appartenant à la sous-espèce insulanus, on pourrait tenter de rétablir des populations de bleu insulaire dans l’île de Vancouver. Le rédacteur du présent rapport est toutefois d’avis que de toutes les populations de P. saepiolus trouvées aux États-Unis, aucune n’appartient à la sous-espèce insulanus.

Haut de la page

Évaluation

Le dernier spécimen confirmé de bleu insulaire date de 1964. Comme le bleu insulaire n’a pas été revu depuis, il est recommandé de lui attribuer le statut d’espèce disparue.

Haut de la page

OUVRAGES CITÉS

Emmel, T.C., et J.F. Emmel. 1973. The butterflies of southern California, Natural History Museum, Los Angeles Co. Scientific Series, 26 : i-xi, 1-148.

Hinchliff, John. 1994. An atlas of Oregon butterflies, The Evergreen Aurelians. Corvallis (Oregon), i-v, 1-176, fond de carte.

Hinchliff, John. 1996. An atlas of Washington butterflies, The Evergreen Aurelians. Corvallis (Oregon), i-vi, 1-162, fond de carte.

Jones, J.R.J. Llewellyn Jones. 1951. An annotated check list of the Macrolepidoptera of British Columbia, Entomological Society of British Columbia Occasional Papers 1 : i-v, i-ii, 1-148.

Scott, J.A. 1986. The butterflies of North America. Stanford University Press. Stanford (Californie), i-xii, 1-583, plaque photographique, 1-64.

Haut de la page

L'Auteur

M. Jon H. Shepard travaille depuis 1994 comme expert-conseil en matière de diversité des lépidoptères de la Colombie-Britannique. Avant 1994, il a enseigné au Collège Selkirk et à l’Université Notre Dame à Nelson (C.-B.), à l’Université Athabasca, à l’Université de Brandon et au Collège Northwest. Il a consacré tout l’été 1995 à parcourir le sud-est de l’île de Vancouver afin d’étudier la répartition actuelle des lépidoptères de la région. Il est l’auteur de douze articles sur les lépidoptères publiés dans des revues scientifiques à comité de lecture. Il a également rédigé certains chapitres de trois livres ainsi que quatre comptes rendus critiques d’ouvrages. Il a assisté à des rencontres aussi diverses que les réunions annuelles de l’Association américaine pour l’avancement des sciences et les réunions de la Société des lépidoptéristes (Lepidopterists’ Society), où il a parfois présenté des articles de recherche. Il passe presque tous les étés en régions alpines ou arctiques à étudier la biogéographie et établir la classification des lépidoptères.

Haut de la page

Annexe 1. Spécimens du bleu insulaire conservés dans des musées.

LocalitéDate (a/m/j)CollectionneurMusée
Bare Mt. (C.-B.)1993-6-15J. McDunnoughCNC
Bevan (C.-B.)1993-7-6J. McDunnoughCNC
Bevan (C.-B.)1993-8-6J. McDunnoughAMNH
Big Sicker (C.-B.)1916-7-3?RBCM
Mt. Copper Canyon (C.-B.)1916-7-1?RBCM
Courtenay (C.-B.)1931-6-5dos Passos Coll.AMNH
Courtenay (C.-B.)1933-6-27J. McDunnoughAMNH
Courtenay (C.-B.)1933-6-27J. McDunnoughCNC
Courtenay (C.-B.)1933-7-3J. McDunnoughAMNH
Courtenay (C.-B.)1933-7-4J. McDunnoughCNC
Errington (C.-B.)1927-7-1G. H. LarnderRBCM
Errington (C.-B.)1927-7-4G. H. LarnderRBCM
Errington (C.-B.)1927-7-5G. H. LarnderRBCM
Errington (C.-B.)1927-7-10G. H. LarnderRBCM
Esquimalt (C.-B.)1990-6-17A. J. CrockerAMNH
Fitzgerald (C.-B.)1921-6-3[L. J. Lewis]QM
Fitzgerald (C.-B.)1921-6-3Lewis J. ClarkQM
Fitzgerald (C.-B.)1921-6-9L. J. LewisQM
Francis Park (C.-B.)1963-5-27G. A. HardyRBCM
Francis Park (C.-B.)1963-6-6G. A. HardyRBCM
Goldstream (C.-B.)1930-5-24?RBCM
Goldstream (C.-B.)1904-5-15?RBCM
Goldstream (C.-B.)1918-5-31E. H. BlackmoreCNC
Goldstream (C.-B.)1919-5-31?RBCM
Goldstream (C.-B.)1919-5-31G. O. DayRBCM
Goldstream (C.-B.)1919-6-8?RBCM
Goldstream (C.-B.)1920-5-31G. O. DayRBCM
Goldstream (C.-B.)1921-5-21G. O. DayRBCM
Goldstream (C.-B.)1926-4-28W. DownesCNC
Lost Lake (C.-B.)1924-6-8W. H. A. PreeceAMNH
Malahat (C.-B.)1952-7-10G. A. HardyRBCM
Malahat (C.-B.)1960-6-17G. A. HardyRBCM
Malahat (C.-B.)1961-6-16G. A. HardyRBCM
Malahat (C.-B.)1961-6-22G. A. HardyRBCM
Mt. Arrowsmith (C.-B.)1962-8-20R. GuppyCAS
Mt. Arrowsmith (C.-B.)1963-8-9Richard GuppyAMNH
Mt. Benson (C.-B.)1962-8-14R. GuppyCAS
Mt. Finlayson (C.-B.)1959-8-18G. A. HardyRBCM
Mt. Finlayson (C.-B.)1960-5-??RBCM
Mt. Finlayson (C.-B.)1960-5-28G. A. HardyRBCM
Mt. Finlayson (C.-B.)1960-6-2G. A. HardyRBCM
Mt. Finlayson (C.-B.)1960-6-8G. A. HardyRBCM
Mt. Malahat (C.-B.)1959-6-20R. GuppyCAS
Mt. Sicker (C.-B.)1963-6-6Richard GuppyAMNH
Observatory Hill (C.-B.)1960-6-4G. A. HardyRBCM
Observatory Hill (C.-B.)1963-6-6G.A. HardyRBCM
Quamichan L. (C.-B.)1905-6-5G. O. DayRBCM
Royal Oak (C.-B.)??RBCM
Saanich (C.-B.)1929-5-10W. H. A. PreeceCNC
Saratoga Beach (C.-B.)1933-6-28J. McDunnoughCNC
Saratoga Beach (C.-B.)1933-7-7J. McDunnoughCNC
Shawinigan L. (C.-B.)1963-6-29Richard GuppyAMNH
Spectacle L. (C.-B.)1957-5-31G.A. HardyRBCM
Spectacle L. (C.-B.)1960-5-24G.A. HardyRBCM
Spectacle L. (C.-B.)1960-6-6G.A. HardyRBCM
Spectacle L. (C.-B.)1960-6-14G.A. HardyRBCM
Victoria (C.-B.)1901-7-1?RBCM
Victoria (C.-B.)1902-5-23?AMNH
Victoria (C.-B.)1903-5-16E. M. AndersonCNC
Victoria (C.-B.)1910-5-23A. J. CrockerAMNH
Victoria (C.-B.)1910-5-31A. J. CrockerAMNH
Victoria (C.-B.)1911-5-5E. H. BlackmoreAMNH
Victoria (C.-B.)1911-6-11E. H. BlackmoreAMNH
Victoria (C.-B.)1916-5-11E. H. BlackmoreCNC
Victoria (C.-B.)1916-5-24E. H. BlackmoreCNC
Victoria (C.-B.)1920-5-31L. J. LewisQM
Victoria (C.-B.)1920-5-31Lewis J. ClarkQM
Victoria (C.-B.)1921-5-12W. DownesCNC
Victoria (C.-B.)1921-7-7L. J. LewisQM
Victoria (C.-B.)1921-7-7Lewis J. ClarkQM
Victoria (C.-B.)?-5-27A. J. CrockerAMNH
Victoria (C.-B.)?-6-15?RBCM
Victoria (C.-B.)?-6-17?RBCM
Victoria (C.-B.)?-6-18A. J. CrockerAMNH
Wellington (C.-B.)1920-6-21?RBCM
Wellington (C.-B.)1903-6-11?RBCM
Wellington (C.-B.)1904-6-25?RBCM
Wellington (C.-B.)1905-6-22?RBCM
Wellington (C.-B.)1960-7-18R. GuppyCAS
Wellington (C.-B.)??RBCM

AMNH – Musée américain d’histoire naturelle
CAS – Académie des sciences de la Californie
CNC – Collection nationale canadienne d’insectes et d’arachnides
QM – Musée de Quesnel
RBCM – Musée royal de la Colombie-Britannique