Vol. 139, No. 2 -- January 26, 2005

Registration
SI/2005-2 January 26, 2005

SPECIES AT RISK ACT

Order Giving Notice of Decisions not to add Certain Species to the List of Endangered Species

P.C. 2005-5 January 12, 2005

Her Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, pursuant to subsections 27(1.1) and (1.2) of the Species at Risk Act(see footnote a) (the Act), hereby

(a) decides not to add the Cultus population (Oncorhynchus nerka) and Sakinaw population (Oncorhynchus nerka) of Pacific sockeye salmon, as well as the polar bear (Ursus maritimus), the Northwestern population of the grizzly bear (Ursus arctos) and the Western population of the wolverine (Gulo gulo) to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk (the List) set out in Schedule 1 to the Act;

(b) refers the assessment for speckled dace (Rhinichthys osculus) back to the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) for further information and consideration;

(c) approves that the Minister of the Environment include the statement attached as Annex 1 to the Order in the public registry (the public registry) established under section 120 of the Act setting out the reasons for not adding the Cultus population (Oncorhynchus nerka) and the Sakinaw population (Oncorhynchus nerka) of Pacific sockeye salmon to the List;

(d) approves that the Minister of the Environment include the statement attached as Annex 2 to the Order in the public registry setting out the reasons for not adding the polar bear (Ursus maritimus), the Northwestern population of the grizzly bear (Ursus arctos) and the Western population of the wolverine (Gulo gulo) to the List; and

(e) approves that the Minister of the Environment include the statement attached as Annex 3 to the Order in the public registry setting out the reasons for referring the assessment for speckled dace (Rhinichthys osculus) back to COSEWIC for further information and consideration.

ANNEX 1

STATEMENT SETTING OUT THE REASONS FOR NOT
ADDING THE CULTUS POPULATION (ONCORHYNCHUS NERKA) AND THE SAKINAW POPULATION
(ONCORHYNCHUS NERKA) OF PACIFIC SOCKEYE
SALMON TO THE LIST

Although the COSEWIC assessments for the Cultus and Sakinaw populations make it clear that those populations are at very low levels and are at risk of biological extinction, adding them to the List as "endangered" would lead to severe consequences for the south coast British Columbia (BC) sockeye salmon fishing sector and for the coastal communities, including first nations, who depend on salmon fishing. It would trigger automatic prohibitions on killing, harming, harassing, capturing or taking those species, unless permits authorizing a person to engage in those activities could be issued by the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans under the Act or the activities affecting the two populations are permitted by a recovery strategy, an action plan or a management plan and are also authorized under an Act of Parliament.

A financial analysis, informed through consultations with aboriginal organizations and various stakeholders, based on projections of the impact of listing, over the current four-year cycle (2004-2007), of BC Fraser River sockeye salmon was completed. The analysis shows that if those populations continue to decline, the gross value of the south coast BC sockeye fishing sector would be reduced by approximately $125 million over the current four-year cycle, as a result of the severe fishery restrictions required to reduce mortality on the Cultus and Sakinaw populations to a level that would give some probability of their survival or recovery, consistent with a listing under the Act. That reduction would be over and above the approximately $75 million reduction in gross value to the fishing sector that will be experienced as a result of current measures implemented by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans to protect those sockeye salmon populations. The fishing sector includes the commercial and recreational industry as well as first nation's food, social and ceremonial fishing. Moreover, there would be consequent impacts on coastal communities who are dependent on the Fraser River sockeye salmon fishery. Approximately 25% of commercial fishers are aboriginal people.

The consequences from listing could be so severe that, considering the restrictions necessary to protect those populations, there would likely be no marine commercial fishery on Fraser River sockeye salmon in three of those four years. In all four years, the food, social and ceremonial fishing requirements of many first nations who harvest in marine waters would likely not be achieved. After two years in the four-year cycle, the food, social and ceremonial fishing requirements of first nations in the Fraser River area below the Vedder River would likely not be met. Processors heavily dependant on sockeye salmon would also be negatively impacted. Those impacts on the south coast BC sockeye salmon fishery and the coastal communities would extend with lasting effects to future four-year cycles of Fraser River sockeye salmon.

ANNEX 2

STATEMENT SETTING OUT THE REASONS FOR NOT
ADDING THE POLAR BEAR (URSUS MARITIMUS), THE
NORTHWESTERN POPULATION OF THE GRIZZLY BEAR
(URSUS ARCTOS) AND THE WESTERN POPULATION OF
THE WOLVERINE (GULO GULO) TO THE LIST

With regard to the assessment process, the Nunavut Wildlife Management Board (NWMB) feels that the status reports on which COSEWIC based their assessments of the species for special concern were based on criteria and processes in place before the Act came into force and that those reports do not satisfy the new requirements to incorporate the best available community knowledge and aboriginal traditional knowledge. The NWMB also stated that consultations have not been sufficient. Those species are not being added to the List at this time in order to consult further with the NWMB so as to determine how its concerns can be addressed. The Minister may reconsider the matter after those consultations have been completed.

ANNEX 3

STATEMENT SETTING OUT THE REASONS FOR
REFERRING THE ASSESSMENT FOR SPECKLED DACE
(RHINICHTHYS OSCULUS) BACK TO COSEWIC FOR
FURTHER INFORMATION AND CONSIDERATION

The COSEWIC assessment of "endangered" may well be consistent with the fact that the speckled dace is a rare species with a very restricted distribution in Canada. However, there are several points in the COSEWIC status report that require better documentation, and the impact of a key threat mentioned in the COSEWIC status report has been reduced subsequent to the COSEWIC assessment. Accordingly, further information and consideration on the following points are required to clarify the biological basis for the assessment:

The COSEWIC's status report published on the public registry established under the Act indicates that a proposed dam project would "result in the loss of as much as 22% of the existing Canadian habitat" (page 28). However, the status report elsewhere indicates that the dam would flood either 2.5 km or 2.7 km of speckled dace habitat and that speckled dace are found at sites along 112 km of watersheds in southern British Columbia, which would indicate that the dam would impact around 2% of existing habitat rather than 22%. Clarification of the potential impact of the dam is required since the COSEWIC assessment summary published on the public registry refers to the "construction of a proposed dam" as a key factor in the assessment.

The COSEWIC's status report was completed in 2002. Since the status report and the assessment were completed, design changes have been made to the dam project, which would considerably reduce its impact on the upstream habitat of speckled dace. Specifically, the area flooded will be reduced from 2.5 km to 350 m. Since the dam project is identified as a key factor in the assessment, further consideration of whether this change in impact would affect the assessment is required.

Further consideration of whether the status report should be revised to better support the technical summary and the assessment summary is required. Specifically, the technical summary of the status report refers to an estimated decline of at least 10% per year for this species. Further information on the basis for this estimate would be essential to clearly document the conclusion and to ensure that the status report's information supports a decision on whether to list and to take subsequent recovery actions.

"Urban and industrial development" are referred to in the assessment summary as threats to the species but are not documented in the status report. Further information on this would help to clarify the basis for the assessment and to support any listing discussions.

In light of the above, further consideration should be given to whether the overall assessment of "endangered" is justified.

EXPLANATORY NOTE

(This note is not part of the Order.)

On January 15, 2004, the Minister of the Environment received the assessments of the status of 91 species from the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). On April 21, 2004, the Governor in Council (GIC) acknowledged receipt of the assessments of 79 of those 91 species. Those assessments initiated a nine-month period for consultations regarding the listing of those species and the GIC decision on whether or not to add those species to the List of Wildlife Species at Risk (the List) set out in Schedule 1 to the Species at Risk Act (the Act) or to refer the matter back to COSEWIC for further information or consideration. That nine-month period ends on January 21, 2005.

A proposed Order was published in the Canada Gazette, Part I, on October 23, 2004, recommending the listing of 76 of the 79 species assessed by COSEWIC.

The Order confirms the Governor in Council's decision not to add, under subsection 27(1.1) of the Act, to the List the Sakinaw and Cultus populations of Pacific sockeye salmon, the polar bear, the Northwestern population of the grizzly bear and the Western population of the wolverine and to refer the assessment for speckled dace back to COSEWIC for further information and consideration.

The decision not to add the Sakinaw and Cultus populations of Pacific sockeye salmon to the List and to refer the speckled dace back to COSEWIC for further information and consideration was made on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment, in consultation with the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, taking into account the assessments provided by COSEWIC. The decision was informed by responses received during consultations with the Province of British Columbia, stakeholder groups and aboriginal peoples, and by comments received during the 30-day public consultation period following the pre-publication of the proposed Order.

The decision not to add the polar bear, the Northwestern population of the grizzly bear and the Western population of the wolverine at this time was made on the recommendation of the Minister of the Environment in order to further consult with the Nunavut Wildlife Management Board.

The GIC also approves that the Minister of the Environment include statements in the public registry setting out the reasons, under subsection 27(1.2) of the Act, for the decision not to add those five species to the List and to refer the assessment of one species back to COSEWIC. Those reasons are set out in Annexes 1 to 3 to the Order and will be posted on the website of the public registry established under the Species at Risk Act(www.sararegistry.gc.ca).

Footnote a

S.C. 2002, c. 29

Vol. 139, no 2-- Le 26 janvier 2005

Enregistrement
TR/2005-2 Le 26 janvier 2005

LOI SUR LES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL

Décret donnant avis des décisions de ne pas inscrire certaines espèces sur la Liste d'espèces en péril

C.P. 2005-5 Le 12 janvier 2005

Sur recommandation du ministre de l'Environnement et en vertu des paragraphes 27(1.1) et (1.2) de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (voir référence a) (la « Loi »), Son Excellence la Gouverneure générale en conseil :

a) décide de ne pas inscrire la population Cultus (Oncorhynchus nerka)et la population Sakinaw(Oncorhynchus nerka) du saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) du Pacifique, l'ours blanc (Ursus maritimus),la population du Nord-Ouest de l'ours grizzli(Ursus arctos) ni la population de l'Ouest du carcajou(Gulo gulo) sur la Liste des espèces en péril figurant à l'annexe 1 de la Loi (la « liste »);

b) renvoie l'évaluation du naseux moucheté (Rhinichthys osculus)au Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) pour renseignements supplémentaires et pour réexamen;

c) agrée que le ministre de l'Environnement mette dans le registre public établi en vertu de l'article 120 de la Loi (le « registre ») la déclaration qui figure à l'annexe 1 et qui énonce les motifs de la décision de ne pas inscrire sur la liste la population Cultus (Oncorhynchus nerka) et la population Sakinaw (Oncorhynchus nerka) du saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) du Pacifique;

d) agrée que le ministre de l'Environnement mette dans le registre la déclaration qui figure à l'annexe 2 et qui énonce les motifs de la décision de ne pas inscrire sur la liste l'ours blanc (Ursus maritimus), la population du Nord-Ouest de l'ours grizzli (Ursus arctos) ni la population de l'Ouest du carcajou (Gulo gulo);

e) agrée que le ministre de l'Environnement mette dans le registre la déclaration qui figure à l'annexe 3 et qui énonce les motifs du renvoi de l'évaluation du naseux moucheté (Rhinichthys osculus)au COSEPAC pour renseignements supplémentaires et pour réexamen.

ANNEXE 1

DÉCLARATION ÉNONÇANT LES MOTIFS DE LA
DÉCISION DE NE PAS INSCRIRE SUR LA LISTE LA
POPULATION CULTUS (ONCORHYNCHUS NERKA) ET LA
POPULATION SAKINAW (ONCORHYNCHUS NERKA) DU
SAUMON SOCKEYE (SAUMON ROUGE) DU PACIFIQUE

Bien que les évaluations du COSEPAC pour ces deux populations établissent clairement que leur nombre est très bas et qu'elles sont menacées d'extinction biologique, leur inscription sur la liste comme espèces en voie de disparition entraînerait de graves conséquences pour le secteur de la pêche du saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) de la côte sud de la Colombie-Britannique et pour les collectivités côtières, y compris les premières nations qui vivent de la pêche du saumon. Cela enclencherait l'interdiction générale de les tuer, de leur nuire, de les harceler, de les capturer ou de les prendre, sauf si le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, en vertu de la Loi, délivrait des permis autorisant ces activités ou si un programme de rétablissement, un plan d'action ou un plan de gestion permettait l'exercice des activités touchant ces deux populations et que celles-ci étaient également autorisées par une loi fédérale.

Une analyse financière, étayée par des consultations avec des organisations autochtones et divers intervenants, a été effectuée d'après une étude sur les répercussions d'une inscription durant l'actuel cycle de quatre ans (de 2004 à 2007) du saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) du fleuve Fraser de la Colombie-Britannique. Ses auteurs concluent que si le déclin des populations se maintient, la valeur brute du secteur de la pêche du saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) de la côte sud de la province diminuera d'environ 125 millions de dollars durant l'actuel cycle de quatre ans en raison de restrictions strictes imposées à la pêche en vue de ramener la mortalité des populations Cultus et Sakinaw à un niveau qui rendrait possible leur survie ou leur rétablissement, mesures qu'entraîne une inscription au titre de la Loi. Ces pertes s'ajouteraient à la diminution d'environ 75 millions de dollars de la valeur brute du secteur de la pêche subie en raison des mesures actuellement mises en œuvre par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans en vue de protéger ces populations. Le secteur de la pêche comprend les industries commerciale et récréative ainsi que la pêche des premières nations à des fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles. S'en ressentiraient également les collectivités côtières qui dépendent de la pêche du saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) du fleuve Fraser. Environ le quart des pêcheurs commerciaux sont des peuples autochtones.

Une telle inscription serait si lourde de conséquences que, vu les restrictions nécessaires pour protéger ces populations, il n'y aurait probablement pas de pêche commerciale en mer du saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) du fleuve Fraser pendant trois des quatre années du cycle actuel. Pour chacune de ces quatre années, les besoins des premières nations liés à la pêche en eaux maritimes à des fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles ne seraient probablement pas comblés. À mi-cycle, la situation serait la même pour les premières nations du fleuve Fraser en aval de la rivière Vedder. Les entreprises de transformation qui dépendent largement du saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) seraient également touchées. Ces incidences sur la pêche du saumon de la côte sud et sur les collectivités côtières s'étendraient de façon durable aux futurs cycles de quatre ans du saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) du fleuve Fraser.

ANNEXE 2

DÉCLARATION ÉNONÇANT LES MOTIFS DE LA
DÉCISION DE NE PAS INSCRIRE SUR LA LISTE L'OURS
BLANC (URSUS MARITIMUS), LA POPULATION DU NORD-
OUEST DE L'OURS GRIZZLI (URSUS ARCTOS) NI LA
POPULATION DE L'OUEST DU CARCAJOU (GULO GULO)

En ce qui concerne le processus d'évaluation, le Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques du Nunavut (CGRFN) est d'avis que les rapports de situation desquels le COSEPAC a tiré son évaluation de ces espèces en vue de les inscrire comme espèces préoccupantes étaient fondés sur des critères et des processus qui existaient avant l'entrée en vigueur de la Loi et qui ne respectent pas les nouvelles exigences visant l'intégration des meilleures connaissances des collectivités et des meilleures connaissances traditionnelles autochtones qui soient accessibles. Le conseil a également déclaré que les consultations n'ont pas été assez détaillés. On ne procède pas pour le moment à l'inscription de ces espèces sur la liste afin de tenir des consultations plus poussées avec le CGRFN sur la façon d'aborder ses préoccupations. Le ministre peut réexaminer le dossier au terme de ces consultations.

ANNEXE 3

DÉCLARATION ÉNONÇANT LES MOTIFS DU RENVOI DE
L'ÉVALUATION DU NASEUX MOUCHETÉ (RHINICHTHYS
OSCULUS) AU COSEPAC POUR RENSEIGNEMENTS
SUPPLÉMENTAIRES ET POUR RÉEXAMEN

La classification, par le COSEPAC, de l'espèce comme étant « en voie de disparition » découle peut-être du fait que ce poisson est rare et est clairsemé au Canada. Par contre, plusieurs éléments du rapport de situation du COSEPAC exigent une meilleure documentation, et l'importance d'une menace clé mentionnée dans ce rapport a été réduite à la suite de l'évaluation du COSEPAC. Par conséquent, des renseignements supplémentaires et un réexamen des éléments ci-après sont nécessaires pour clarifier le fondement biologique de l'évaluation.

Le rapport de situation du COSEPAC publié dans le registre précise que le barrage proposé entraînerait « la perte de 22 pour 100 de l'habitat existant au Canada » (page 31). Toutefois, il indique par ailleurs que le barrage inonderait de 2,5 km à 2,7 km de l'habitat du naseux moucheté et que celui-ci se trouve en des endroits situés le long de 112 km de bassins hydrographiques dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique; le barrage aurait donc une incidence sur environ 2 pour 100 de l'habitat existant plutôt que sur 22 pour 100. La clarification de l'incidence éventuelle du barrage est nécessaire, car le sommaire de l'évaluation du COSEPAC publié dans le registre mentionne que la « construction proposée d'un barrage » est l'un des facteurs clés de l'évaluation.

Le rapport de situation du COSEPAC a été terminé en 2002. Depuis l'achèvement de ce rapport et de l'évaluation, des modifications de conception ont été apportées au projet de barrage, lesquelles pourraient réduire considérablement l'incidence du barrage sur l'habitat du naseux moucheté en amont. En fait, la zone inondée sera réduite de 2,5 km à 350 m. Comme le projet de barrage est un facteur clé de l'évaluation, un réexamen est nécessaire pour voir si ce changement d'incidence influencera sur l'évaluation.

Un réexamen s'impose pour établir si le rapport de situation devrait être révisé afin de mieux étayer le résumé technique et le sommaire de l'évaluation. Dans le résumé technique du rapport de situation, il est fait mention d'un déclin estimatif d'au moins 10 pour 100 par année pour cette espèce. Des renseignements supplémentaires sur le fondement de cette estimation seraient essentiels pour documenter clairement la conclusion et veiller à ce que l'information du rapport de situation soutienne la décision quant à l'inscription et aux mesures de rétablissement ultérieures.

« L'expansion urbaine et industrielle » est qualifiée de menace pesant sur l'espèce dans le sommaire de l'évaluation, mais n'est pas documentée dans le rapport de situation. Plus de renseignements à ce sujet aideraient à clarifier le fondement de l'évaluation et à appuyer les discussions liées à l'inscription.

À la lumière de ce qui précède, un réexamen devrait être effectué en vue d'établir si la classification de l'espèce comme étant « en voie de disparition » est justifiée.

NOTE EXPLICATIVE

(La présente note ne fait pas partie du décret.)

Le 15 janvier 2004, le ministre de l'Environnement a reçu du Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) les évaluations de la situation de quatre-vingt-onze espèces. Le 21 avril 2004, la gouverneure en conseil a accusé réception de soixante-dix-neuf de ces évaluations. Cette réception a déclenché le délai de neuf mois relatif aux consultations concernant l'inscription de ces espèces et à la décision de la gouverneure en conseil d'inscrire ou non ces espèces sur la Liste des espèces en péril (la « liste ») figurant à l'annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (la « Loi ») ou de renvoyer le dossier au COSEPAC pour renseignements supplémentaires et pour réexamen. Ce délai expire le 21 janvier 2005.

Le 23 octobre 2004, un décret provisoire a été publié dans la Gazette du Canada Partie I, proposant d'inscrire soixante-seize des soixante-dix-neuf espèces évaluées par le COSEPAC.

Le présent décret confirme la décision de la gouverneure en conseil, en vertu du paragraphe 27(1.1) de la Loi, de ne pas inscrire sur la liste les populations Sakinaw et Cultus du saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) du Pacifique, l'ours blanc, la population du Nord-Ouest de l'ours grizzli ni la population de l'Ouest du carcajou et de renvoyer l'évaluation du naseux moucheté au COSEPAC pour renseignements supplémentaires et pour réexamen.

La décision de ne pas inscrire les populations Sakinaw et Cultus du saumon sockeye (saumon rouge) du Pacifique sur la liste et de renvoyer l'évaluation du naseux moucheté au COSEPAC pour renseignements supplémentaires et pour réexamen a été prise à la suite de la recommandation du ministre de l'Environnement, en consultation avec le ministre des Pêches et des Océans, et compte tenu des évaluations fournies par le COSEPAC. Cette décision était étayée par le résultat des consultations tenues avec la province de la Colombie-Britannique, les groupes d'intervenants et les peuples autochtones et des observations reçues au cours de la période de consultation publique de trente jours faisant suite à la publication préalable du décret.

Il a été décidé, sur recommandation du ministre de l'Environnement, de ne pas inscrire à ce moment-ci l'ours blanc, la population du Nord-Ouest de l'ours grizzli ni la population de l'Ouest du carcajou sur la liste pour tenir des consultations supplémentaires avec le Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques du Nunavut (CGRFN).

La gouverneure en conseil agrée aussi, en vertu du paragraphe 27(1.2) de la Loi, que le ministre de l'Environnement mette dans le registre une déclaration qui énonce les motifs de la décision de ne pas inscrire ces cinq espèces sur la liste et du renvoi de l'évaluation d'une espèce au COSEPAC. Ces motifs sont présentés dans les annexes du décret et ils seront affichés sur le site Web du registre (www.registrelep.gc.ca).

Référence a

L.C. 2002, ch. 29