Public Notice on the Minister of the Environment's Reconsideration of the Emergency Order for Boreal Caribou

On January 13, 2012, as directed by the Federal Court, the Minister of the Environment reconsidered his decision in respect of whether there is an imminent threat to the survival or recovery of the boreal caribou.

The Minister’s initial decision had been set aside by the Federal Court on July 28, 2011, and the matter returned to him for reconsideration.

In his reconsideration, the Minister considered what was before him on the date of the initial decision, as well as new, relevant information that had arisen since his initial decision. He also considered, as directed by the Court, the honour of the Crown, and the purposes of the Species at Risk Act (SARA) and of section 80 of SARA.

Based on all the information before him, the Minister determined that there was no imminent threat to the survival or recovery of the boreal caribou, as listed on Schedule 1 of the List of Wildlife Species at Risk.

The Minister made this determination taking into account that there are approximately 32,000 caribou in Canada, 64% of which are in self-sustaining populations. Furthermore, while there are threats to the recovery of certain populations, there is still sufficient time to take management actions that would achieve recovery objectives set out in the proposed recovery strategy.

Avis public concernant le nouvel examen fait par le ministre de l'Environnement au sujet du décret d'urgence

Tel que stipulé par la Cour fédérale le 13 janvier 2012, le ministre de l’Environnement a révisé sa décision concernant la possibilité qu’une menace imminente pèse sur la survie ou le rétablissement du caribou boréal.

La première décision du Ministre a été renversée par la Cour fédérale le 28 juillet 2011 et la cause lui a été retournée pour qu’il la prenne de nouveau en considération.

Dans ce nouvel examen, le Ministre a examiné la situation qui prévalait au moment de la décision initiale ainsi que les renseignements nouveaux et pertinents reçus depuis lors. Il a aussi tenu compte des directives la Cour, de l’honneur de la Couronne et des objectifs de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) et de la section 80 de la LEP.

D’après les renseignements qu’il a reçus, le Ministre a déterminé qu’il n’y a pas de menace imminente à la survie ou au rétablissement du caribou boréal, tel que mentionné à l’Annexe 1 de la Liste des espèces en péril.

Le Ministre a pris sa décision en tenant compte du fait qu’il y a environ 32 000 caribous au Canada, dont 64 % des populations sont autosuffisantes. En outre, même si le rétablissement de certaines populations est en difficulté, il y a encore assez de temps pour prendre des mesures de gestion qui permettront d’atteindre les objectifs de rétablissement prévus dans la proposition de programme de rétablissement.